Home » Lawn & Garden » Turf & Lawn » Herbicides » Selective Herbicides » Selective Post Emergent Herbicides » Acclaim Extra Selective Herbicide » All Reviews

Customer Reviews for Acclaim Extra Selective Herbicide

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   12
4 stars   3
3 stars   0
2 stars   1
1 star   3
 
Average Customer Rating
4.1 of 5 stars
(19 customer reviews)

Write a Review


Sort By:

Displaying 1 to 19 (of 19 reviews)

  • 15 of 16 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Acclaim Extra works well to supress bermuda grass in fescue
    By Charles on 06/25/2011
    Verified Purchase

    This product works great to suppress Bermuda grass in my tall fescue lawn. I mix it with turflon ester, herbicide helper surfactant, and colorant. This is the third year of applications and I have seen quite a reduction in Bermuda grass, as well as immediate short term suppression after each application of which I make 3 or 4 during the growing season. DoMyOwnpestControl.com has the best price on this item I have found. I see a review that it did not work well in crabgrass and found the following information helpful for that issue. “For killing crabgrass well after it has germinated (e.g., Acclaim Extra), but they are effective only at killing young crabgrass plants. Because these young crabgrass plants are small, they are very difficult to detect in a lawn rendering post emergent herbicides far less useful than pre emergent herbicides for killing crabgrass (Beaulieu, 2011). Reference Beaulieu, D. (2011). How to Kill Crabgrass.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 13 of 13 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Only thing that got rid of Japanese Stiltgrass
    By Lowell on 07/28/2012
    Verified Purchase

    I tried other selective herbicides, adding surfactant, but only Acclaim got rid of most of the Japanese Stiltgrass invading my lawn. Only drawback is its price!! After doing some research, it seems this product is about all that really works for lawns to control this specific weed.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 8 of 9 people found this review helpful:

    2 of 5 Stars   Does not work that great
    By Richard on 08/15/2011
    Verified Purchase

    I purchased this thinking it wojuld be better than products I can get at Home depot. However, the Bayer All in One with Crabgrass control works better on Crabgrass. I also tried this on bermudagrass and it was completely ineffective. I have been following the directions to the letter and it just does not seem to work.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 8 of 8 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Japanese Stiltgrass is now under control.
    By Rick on 08/27/2012
    Verified Purchase

    Thanks to Acclaim! Roundup, which kills everything, was the only solution to rid Stiltgrass from my lawn. Two applications of Acclaim Extra Selective from a tank sprayer mixed with Adept surfactant are all that was needed…takes about 2 weeks to see results. Seems expensive but depending on the dilution 1 pint can make 80gal. 1 bottle should last me 3+ years.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 7 of 7 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Great product! Kills Japanese Stilt grass.
    By Scott on 08/07/2014
    Verified Purchase

    Acclaim killed all the Japanese Stilt grass that had invaded my lawn. Be patient though because it takes about 7-10 days to work. The leaves will begin to yellow after 5-7 days and then brown after 10-14 days. Definitely purchase the recommended Surfactant also. You will use less Acclaim and be able to treat your lawn much faster with better results. Acclaim also kills crab grass and seems to have thinned out some annual Bermuda grass that had invaded my lawn. Tip: I use a clear cough medicine measuring cup to measure out the recommended amount (.46oz=14ml) for my one gallon tank sprayer.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 6 of 13 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Crabgrass is winning
    By Duane on 06/14/2011
    Verified Purchase

    I applied Acclaim Extra at a rate a little higher than suggested because I wasn't sure how far my sprayer would cover. Anyway, it's been about 10 days and no sign of dying crabgrass.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Acclaim Extra Selective
    By Eileen on 09/28/2011
    Verified Purchase

    This is GREAT stuff. Only thing I could fiind to kill crabgrass.....which is always a pain in the late turf growing season. This is the only place I could find this product sold in pints. It's spendy....but it works. Thanks

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Effectively kills stiltgrass
    By Rs on 07/07/2015

    Awesome. Surfactant and dye are highly recommend. This is expensive stuff so you want to SEE where you are laying it down as well as making sure it coats rather than bead off the leaves. the blue dye gives a nice but subtle contrast. As always, wear a mask that will handle the vapor and latex/rubber gloves. Kill this crap before it takes over the forest and woods of the US.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Acclaim Extra/ Phenoxyprop-ethyl formulations
    By Steve on 10/15/2014

    I have used this product with somewhat mixed success. As mentioned on label, it suppresses, but does not control bermuda. Suppression lasts anywhere from 3 months to 2 years. As commercial applicator, I have just begun using it on crabgrass. It seems to work a bit more consistently than Quinchlorac (Drive) based formulations and has less frequent side effect to fescue. For those of you who are not getting results from this product, note that a non ionic surfactant is listed for sale along with Acclaim. Use it. You might also go over how carefully you measured and applied product to lawn area. I figure application of 2 gallons of spray to 1000 sq ft. area at labeled rates. If you don't apply product at labeled rates and 2 gal/1000, it is not likely to work.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Expensive but it works!
    By on 08/12/2013
    Verified Purchase

    I've had a problem with Japanese Stilt Grass growing in my lawn and none of three popular lawn herbicides would touch it. After hearing about Acclaim and seeing on the label it's intended for this weed, I bought some to try. It does work, if applied properly (I also used a surfactant to make the solution "stick" better to the blades of the weed). Although the price is high compared to other products, it was worth it to me to get rid of most of this invasive weed species by using a backpack sprayer and targeting it in 4000 sq. ft. of lawn. Also, I was pleased with the speed of delivery of this and other products from "youdoit."

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Kills Crabgrass in Zoysia
    By on 06/24/2013

    I used Acclaim to kill crabgrass in a 1-yr old zoysia lawn (from seed), worked great. I am also using it on Japanese Stiltgrass in other areas, and it is doing the job.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Home owner
    By Maarty on 07/25/2011
    Verified Purchase

    Acclaim extra works Great. A little pricey but it does the job. I would indeed purchase this product again. Very Satisfied Customer.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Acclaim works
    By on 09/02/2013
    Verified Purchase

    Takes about 2 or 3 weeks but it's killing the stilt grass. Will do a second treatment to get what I missed.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Acclaim
    By Rattypiel on 10/12/2013
    Verified Purchase

    It's the best stuff for post emergence control of crabgrass. I am so glad this product is available.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Acclaim Extra Selective Herbicide
    By Mike on 07/09/2014
    Verified Purchase

    I cannot give Acclaim Extra Selective Herbicide 5 stars because I'm reserving that for when they invent a magic bullet that kills bermuda grass dead without hurting fescue. But since Acclaim Extra does provide a tool for controlling (not killing) bermuda grass without killing my fescue, it does receive a good rating of 4 stars. About one spraying a month during warm weather keeps the bermuda grass sickly enough so it doesn't take over. Then comes cool weather and fescue can once again defend itself (about late September in east Tennessee).

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Works Great
    By on 08/23/2013
    Verified Purchase

    Just as described, it has worked against my crabgrass and a TON of Japanese Stiltgrass in my lawn. Both were treated late in the season so they were well established (which I knew wasn't optimal) but still worked really well. I used a handheld tank sprayer to apply. It should be noted that I didn't see ANYTHING for a week - then the weeds started turning colors.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 0 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Didn't work for me
    By Leslie on 09/27/2012
    Verified Purchase

    Tried this herbicide because it says it will kill many weed grasses in lawn. I have purpletop tridens invading my yard. I was hoping that this herbicide would kill it but it didn't do a thing to it. I guess I should have saved my money and time.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 0 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Did not work for my crabgrass
    By John on 08/17/2015
    Verified Purchase

    I am up to 3oz/gal and it is not killing anything. grab grass and many weeds still doing fine.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    Oh dear! We are sorry to hear the Acclaim did not work up to your expectations. Herbicides work well when used under optimal conditions but there are some environmental conditions that can diminish the efficacy of the products such heat or drought stressed weeds, recently mown weeds, etc. Please give our customer care team a call so we can help you troubleshoot the issue and get the herbicide working up to its potential: 866-581-7378

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 Stars   Best Price
    By Bob on 05/02/2016

    received as promised, timely and for the right price.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

Displaying 1 to 19 (of 19 reviews)