Home » Lawn & Garden » Hi-Yield Fire Ant Control With Acephate » All Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hi-Yield Fire Ant Control With Acephate

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   29
4 stars   4
3 stars   0
2 stars   1
1 star   0
 
Average Customer Rating
4.8 of 5 stars
(34 customer reviews)

Write a Review


Sort By:

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 34 reviews)

  • 39 of 39 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Stinks but works great!
    By Sue on 05/03/2008

    Acephate 75 SP is the best product I have found to get rid of fire ants!! I went into our local feed store one day and asked about poison for fire ants, because what I was buying at Walmart just was not working. So she told me this stuff stinks awful and is expensive but it works. She told me to mix about 4-5 teaspoonfuls into a small bag of cornmeal and just sprinkle it on the ant mounds and yahoo!! Fire ants be gone!! I will not use anything else!! I do not mind paying good money for a product that works, and this stuff does.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 17 of 18 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   acephae 75
    By Mrs.g.walker, on 01/05/2014
    Verified Purchase

    I been buying this for years, I use it for everything, outside, indoors etc. it kills them all, roaches, spiders, water bugs, I even loaned some to a friend and it killed bed bugs as well, I simply made up some in an old spray bottle and went around the baseboards, windows ledges, behind furniture, in between the cracks of dresser drawers, behind the commode, etc. any where you think they might hide, just use about 5 scoops and fill the rest with water & shake, it stinks like hell and dries with a white mist but wipe down and forget about your problem, repeat in 6 months. ok around kids and pets, but do wipe down with a dry damp cloth, not wet, you don't want to wash it away, don't have the kids or pets licking these areas, but I assure you they won't lick twice, it's bitter, stings & stinks, spray good and good out for a couple of hours, come home, air the place down a minute and happy, happy for the next 6 months, at least that's how I do it --enjoy!!!!!( ijs,& in my opinion).

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 14 of 15 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Honey bee control with Acephate
    By Bob on 06/09/2010

    I used Acephate to get rid of Honey Bees in the walls of a trailer at the deer lease. There were about 1000 bees going in a hole of the trailer. Put 3 large teaspoons in the hole after dark and we never saw another bee around the trailer, starting with the very next morning. I was told about this from a bee keeper here in Texas. It also does a great job on fire ants.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 13 of 13 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Awesome ant killer
    By Robert on 02/15/2012
    Verified Purchase

    This product is great, I mixed 1oz with 4-5 gallons of water and it killed all the ant's in the mound. Worth every penny. P.S. this stuff stinks but works.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 12 of 12 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Smells Terrible, but is Extremely Effective Fire Ant Killer
    By Herbert on 09/16/2012
    Verified Purchase

    The Acephate 75 SP that I purchased is very effective at combatting my fire ant problem. More care must be taken to seal the containers, gallon sized zip lock bags are ideal for this purpose, or the smell of the product is very offensive to the United States Postal Service. The smell from the box was so bad the Post Master of my post office made a special after hours trip to deliver the box to me rather than let it continue to smell his entire post office, prompting many complaints from postal customers. He was nice about the problem, and accepted my apology for the smell escaping from the packaging. I did not receive an open container in my shipment; however, there was some Acephate on the containers that apparently was the result of a different container having leaked. I will use this product in the future, but I hope that I do not receive complaints from my Post Master about the smell.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 11 of 15 people found this review helpful:

    2 of 5 Stars   Environmental hazard
    By Colleen on 09/27/2013

    If you are considering purchasing this product please read the MSDS. Please be aware that Acephate 75 SP is toxic to birds and highly toxic to bees. It can not be applied directly to water. It is not approved for use on playgrounds or residental turf, or pastures.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 10 of 10 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   As Promised
    By Helen on 09/10/2013
    Verified Purchase

    After reading good reviews for this product, I gave it a try. Mixed a little with some cornmeal and sprinkled around the red ant hill which was quite large. BOOM!! One day gone! I am happy happy happy. Btw, this is the first and only review I've ever done for anything. That's how impressed I am of this product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 9 of 9 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Great product, Great shipping.
    By Angela on 07/15/2010
    Verified Purchase

    This product arrived quickly and it works great. Thanks.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 7 of 8 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Good for cockroaches too!
    By Keith on 12/01/2011

    I bought this stuff about four years ago from a friend that said it was good for roaches. Well I've tried everything else and it works great. Haven't seen one in a long time.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 6 of 7 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   ace hate 75 SP
    By Carolyn on 08/12/2011
    Verified Purchase

    It seems to be working fine, fire ants are hard to get rid of, and this product seems to be much better than local store products.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Fire ants
    By on 07/15/2013
    Verified Purchase

    This stuff smells bad, but it works well.I treated several mounds and they all closed shop

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Great Product
    By Greg on 10/21/2013
    Verified Purchase

    I was growing extremely frustrated with my fire ant problem. There were little mounds all over my back yard, nothing i tried seemed to work against them. I took a chance on this stuff and let me tell you I'm glad I did. Within the first day activity came to a stop. It's been 5 days so far and still no activity. I will definitely be keeping a can of this on hand. Just beware of the horrible smell, it really is bad.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Acephate 75 SP killed fire ant hill right away
    By Pb on 12/10/2013
    Verified Purchase

    worked great; didn't smell as bad as others has noted; happy to have a product that does what it says it would do

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Acephate - Great Product and Great Service
    By on 07/09/2013
    Verified Purchase

    Always VERY fast shipping. Response to my product inquiries has also been VERY fast. One of my inquiries was about Acephate 75SP. I asked why I get mixed results - sometimes the fire ant mounds vanished without a trace. Other time the mound just moved a short distance. It was suggested that I sprinkle the powder around the mount and not directly on it (as per the product instructions). The mound elimination rate has improved noticeably.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   WORKS!
    By Carla on 04/30/2013

    I have tried to stay organic or at the very least use the fire ant baits but I had two problems. The first was that my goats like the taste of the bait and tried to eat it. The second was that it didn't seem to work very well. I felt like the ant bed just relocated. After using the Hi-Yield I have probably seen 80% less ant beds. When I check the bed I have treated, I never see any activity or live ants. I have decided it is better to use "heavy duty" treatment once or twice than to keep treating with the other products. Also because if it's strong smell my goats have no interest.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Very good buy
    By Kim on 04/18/2012
    Verified Purchase

    Super fast delivery and awesome product. Works perfectly just as described.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Acephate 75 SP
    By Frank on 07/08/2012
    Verified Purchase

    Great stuff. Ordered this several times.REALLY works.Kills the damn fire ants within a day.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   My first review, ever
    By Leon on 05/04/2013

    My neighbor told me to buy Acephate 75 sp and mix one cup with five pounds of cornmeal and sprinkle on ant hills. This mix has killed every ant hill on my 3 acre property. This has worked better than any product that I have ever used. I will buy more and highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   fire ant
    By Stanley on 07/19/2014
    Verified Purchase

    I tried everything from Home Depot Lowes etc. Nothing works like this product. Ants are gone in 24 hours. Don't waste you money on anything else.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Acephate 75
    By Brandy on 08/12/2013
    Verified Purchase

    Great stuff...it does smell terrible, but it works very well! I just ordered another container of the product just in case I fine more fire ants.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Great Product
    By on 08/17/2013
    Verified Purchase

    I have tried every Fire Ant product on the market and have never seen anything close to the Acephate product performance. Gulf coast of Texas has fire ants that take over but not in my yard! Buy it you'll love it!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   My Recent Order From DoMyOwnPestControl
    By Harry on 09/14/2011

    These folks are SUPERIOR! Great Price$, savings, excellent product.....I would recommend them to anyone looking for quality merchandise at a great price! I am not shopping for these products at Home Depot or Lowes again. Why pay more?

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Fire Ants HATE this stuff!
    By Billy on 11/04/2014
    Verified Purchase

    This stuff works great. Has a strong smell, but if you stay on top of all the mounds... you will win the war on fire ants! I shook a little on all my mounds and in a few hours they were abandoned. Yard is almost ant free.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   It Works! No More Fire Ants
    By Aj on 06/08/2014

    Spread 2~3 teaspoons of Acephate 75 SP on top of the fire ants mound, after 1~2 weeks the whole mound is empty, no new mound found either.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Works Great
    By Elaine on 10/24/2013
    Verified Purchase

    This product really works great. We put in a bottle with a shacker top (large holes in it) and sprinkled on the nests. They were gone the next day. Will purchase product again.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Should Call it Amazing Fire Ant Control
    By on 07/20/2013
    Verified Purchase

    What I received was not the hi-yield brand but was the same quantity (1lb can) and potency product. I applied this stuff to a few mounts just to test it out, a few big a few small, one teaspoon per mound and they are completely gone, no activity even on the big mounds after 3 days. Just FYI-The container carries the same warning--with limited experience I would only apply it as a spot treatment to the mound and not broadcast or shake it. I was careful but did manage to drop one teaspoon on the grass walking to a mound and the grass is gone in that one spot the product seemed to have no effect on the grass around the ant hills I treated just where the full dose hit the lawn. I wanted to share that in case you are looking for such lawn coverage product. Overall, I am happy and will continue to use this product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Similar to Orthene for Fire Ant Control
    By David on 03/27/2013

    Have used Orthene for years to control our pasture ant mounds in South Texas. This works out about same price per pound as what you get at Home Depot, although it is a higher percentage of Acephate (the active agent). I could not tell any difference in performance. Think the idea stated by another reviewer to mix with cornmeal and place on mounds is good idea...may be able to use less Acephate than putting out straight on mounds.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Fire Ant Control
    By John on 08/11/2012
    Verified Purchase

    I have been using fire ant control with Acephate 75 for some time and it is very effective at eliminating mounds. It is a great product and purchasing it online was very simple. With the free shipping it saved me the gas I would have used to purchase it at the local store.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Fire Ant Control
    By Leonard on 04/22/2013

    The best stuff I have found and the price is the lowest I could find

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   GREAT stuff
    By Steve on 11/19/2015

    I am new to the fire ant infestation in Texas & have tried several different products to rid of them. Have found Hi-Yield to be the most effective so far!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 34 reviews)