Home » Ants » Carpenter Ant Control » Advance Carpenter Ant Bait » All Reviews

Customer Reviews for Advance Carpenter Ant Bait

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   65
4 stars   10
3 stars   2
2 stars   2
1 star   9
 
Average Customer Rating
4.4 of 5 stars
(88 customer reviews)

Write a Review

Advance Carpenter Ant Bait
$23.00

Free Shipping!  Free Shipping!

Info / Buy Now


Sort By:

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 88 reviews)

  • 36 of 39 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Exodus complete (I think)
    By Jonathan on 07/13/2009
    Verified Purchase

    This is a follow-up to my last review, and an updated rating for Advance Carpenter Ant Bait. The running tally is: • 1,500+ dead or dying ants sucked up in the dirt devil • 6 queens (I can't believe I found 6). Scary. Glad I'm only renting. The activity is down to a minimum, and clearly their days are numbered since the live ones are moving very slow. (The toxins are taking effect) *evil laugh*. Each morning I find tiny ant graveyards in corners of the house that I had vacuumed clean the night before, and their numbers are decreasing. Good bye, carpenter ants. You will not be missed. If there's an ant afterlife, I hope it is an eternity closely resembling the final moments of your lives, twitching and convulsing uncontrollably, writhing in perceived pain. Advance: When you absolutely, positively have to kill every ant in the room. Accept no substitutes.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 33 of 34 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Advance Carpenter Ant Bait
    By Confidential on 05/08/2010

    I have been doing pest control for over 25 years now, even owned a few exterminating companies myself. If there is one bait that I am 100% confident in using for Carp. Ants, it is the Advance Carpenter Ant Bait. I have used this product for a number of years now and the insects acceptance of this formula is amazing. Almost as soon as I distribute it, I see the Carp. ants picking it up and carrying it right back to their nest! The kill effect is also great, I tell my customers give it 4-7 days and no more ants.................and I've never had to go back to retreat any yet! I am also a first time buyer of products at DoMyOwnPestControl and was very very happy with the price and the fast no cost delivery. And NO! They didn't pay me to say that! Now I found a place that I can rely on for the best products, good pricing and fast delivery!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 19 of 20 people found this review helpful:

    3 of 5 Stars   Carpenter Ant Bait
    By Pete on 08/25/2010

    Howdy, This was my second container of the Advance Ant Bait. The product arrive on time and in good order. My colony of carpenter ants took the Advance Bait for about two weeks and then totally ignored the bait. They would walk over or around and not pick up any bait. I did notice a reduction in ant activity of about 50% over the months of June and July while I kept the bait available for the ants. Thinking I had a "stale" batch of bait I decided to try a new container. No luck with the new container of bait I got in August. I gave up on the Advance Carpenter Ant Bait and tried the Max Force Gel Bait for carpenter ants. Once I got the colony to take the Gel Bait I had a 100% kill in two days.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 14 of 15 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   One word...WOW!
    By Becky on 07/02/2008

    All I have to say after my first application of Advance Carpenter Ant Bait is wow! The ants immediately scurried off with the bait down their little ant holes. The next day, about 18 hours later, they were up on the surface staggering around and dead! I hope all of their nasty babies enjoyed the feast too. Thanks!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 12 of 13 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Saw a reduction in 4-5 days
    By Carrie on 06/17/2008

    We had carpenter ants in the house and in our old fencing. I put some Advance Carpenter Ant Bait out and they went crazy carrying it back to the nest. Saw a reduction in ants in about 4-5 days. I also recommend the Talstar professional insecticide spray to use on your yard. It does not seem to deter the ants from the bait, like some other sprays.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 9 of 9 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Advance Carpenter Ant Bait
    By Haywood on 08/25/2010

    Remodeling older home, carpenter ants everywhere, tried some sprays and powder from local and large stores, the ants returned. A friend of the wife came by to see the house, the ant problem was talked about. She said no problem, she sent an email about Advance Ant Bait. I talked with a great sales lady and purchased the 2 lbs size and must say the problem was 98% reduced. I see some in the yard but not a one in the house. Very, very satisfied. Thank You, it does work.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 7 of 9 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Ants are gone!
    By Hb on 03/28/2007

    I used Advance Carpenter Ant Bait on these black ants in the bathroom. Before this, nothing worked. Those little ant-cans just get in the way. They seem to do nothing. I put a mere spoonful of advance around and blew it in the corners, the ants were gone in an hour!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 7 of 8 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Birds and Little Ants Loved It
    By Calvin on 08/11/2010
    Verified Purchase

    I read all the reviews and was really excited about using the Carpenter Ant bait. I found the nests and ant trails and then baited them. The Carpenter ants avoided the bait, while birds and little ants devoured it. I'm rather bummed. I tried the bait again and again but to no avail. This bait will get rid of your sugar ants, but you'll have to spray to get rid of the true carpenter ants. That's what I've resorted to doing.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 6 of 6 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Make me a Believer!
    By Jfs on 05/11/2015
    Verified Purchase

    I have done a lot of research on this pesky ants. After another failed visit from the "pros" to get rid of them I decided to try to do it myself, and although there are many positive reviews on here I remained skeptical. But then I thought it can't be worse than my local exterminator and I'm willing to give it a go. Prior to ordering and receiving the product I was confident I located the "main" nest and a secondary "satellite" nest closer to my house. Well, tonight was the first go at it. At dusk I went out and spread the bait around the base of the tree where I typically see a lot of activity, and near my garage door where I suspect is the secondary nest. A few hours later I go out with the flashlight and am astounded by the sheer volume of ants feeding on the bait and returning to their nest high in the tree. Same for the garage area. They did not go any further than the mounds of bait I put out. It was a virtual feeding frenzy. Too soon obviously to say what the end result will be, and I will update in next few days. But for now I can say that I feel the ants days seem to be numbered. Stay tuned.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 6 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   They ate it up for breakfast!
    By Kr on 05/31/2011
    Verified Purchase

    I HATE ANTS. I have tried not to take it personally over the years, but Carpenter ants invade my house every year and it upsets me. Nothing I bought at the big box stores worked. I just wanted them dead dead dead. But after reading online I realized I wasn't killing anything, they just kept moving their nests. So I bought Advance and tried an experiment: I found a nest of carpenter ants in my front yard and sprinkled some of this on it. I sat on my front step and watched: in about 5 minutes they started to haul it into the holes. I felt the taste of victory. It was going to rain a little that night so I covered up the nest with a piece of plastic to keep it all dry, and by morning all the Advance was gone. No more ants! I recently tried it in my backyard but those ants didn't go for it, but they did go for a sugar bait (Terro), which took a few days to have an effect, but it did work. So please remember: If Advance didn't work for you, keep in mind that ants' appetites fluctuate between protein and sugar. The person at DMOPC.com told me to test first by placing a bit of peanut butter on one piece of tinfoil and honey on another and see which they go for. Then put the right stuff down. I have paid for exterminators in the past who just came and sprayed inside my house. And one of them told me he was using the same stuff I bought at the store so I shouldn't call him anymore! I feel so taken now by them, they weren't solving anything. But now with DMOPC.com I am in control. Thanks so much for your site and service.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 6 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Advance Carpenter Ant Bait
    By Susan on 08/20/2010
    Verified Purchase

    This product was recommended by our local pest control service and we have been pleased to find a source to purchase and to be able to apply this ourselves. If you have an ant problem this is an excellent product. I would also like to mention that we are using it for what are called Little Blacks so it is not just for Carpenter ants.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Highly recommend!
    By Qt on 08/02/2011

    The Advance granules work phenomenally. With a little luck I found the ant trail was coming in through my bulkhead, so I placed these granules quite heavily around there, and I could literally see thousands of ants coming in and out carrying little yellow granules all day (hehehe ... it was awesome!) Within two days the ants were considerably less and now two weeks later I haven't found one ant anywhere in my house or shed (also had big problem in shed). I used it in conjunction with the Max Force gel, and I'm not sure which one worked better, but the combo worked like a charm! Just a side note I called a well known pest control place to get a quote, and they quoted twice the amount what I paid for this, but said that although included in price there was no way they were going to be able to get rid of all ants with just one treatment and would have to come back. I consider what I bought here one treatment, and I don't think I'll be seeing any ants soon from the looks of things :-) And one other note, I liked this method better than the exterminators. They were going to bomb so that I'd have residue all over everything. Once the ants were gone here I cleaned up some remaining granules inside and no residue left to worry about. Highly recommend!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Works Great!
    By on 08/21/2013
    Verified Purchase

    Have an ash tree in the front yard that was totally infested with carpenter ants. Put this out one afternoon, around the base (about two table spoons). Watched the ants carry it all inside. Checked next afternoon no activity at all. That was two weeks ago and still no ants. This stuff really works.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Advance Carpenter Ant Bait
    By Robert on 09/14/2015

    This stuff is junk, the ants would have nothing to do with it. I put this out with Maxforces Carpenter Ant Bait, and they eat the Maxforce Bait and not the Advance Bait. The ant would walk right around it, and go to the Maxforce bait. It is a waste of money to buy.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    We recommend you use both a liquid ant bait and a granular ant bait because ants can be picky and will sometimes only accept the liquid bait and sometimes only accept the granule bait depending on what nutritional needs they are trying to meet. You can use both bait formulations at one time to insure effectiveness.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 7 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Awaiting the exodus
    By Jonathan on 07/10/2009
    Verified Purchase

    I just used Advance Carpenter Ant Bait yesterday. I put it in all the corners and crevices I've seen these ants walking around, which is just about everywhere. I even located a shrub outside that apparently the ants have been using to get into the attic where I assume they're nesting, and poured about a half a cup at the base. They immediately went after the bait, forming a train (if you will) taking it back to their colony. By midnight, however, there was SO MUCH ant activity that I had to break out the Raid spray. As it turns out, their colony is in the ceiling above the master bedroom. I woke up this morning to a few crawling on me, and about 100 or so ants on the floor, half of which were dead, maybe from the raid, maybe not. I can't be sure. I hope this is the beginning of the end. If not, I may need to seek heavier weaponry. Maybe adopt an Anteater? Can you even do that? ...time to search for exotic pets.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   very disapointed
    By Troy on 05/03/2012
    Verified Purchase

    I am very disappointed in this product. I set bait tray's around the house, but the carpenter ant's just walked over the top and did not eat at all.I also sprinkled it all around the out side of the house and it's been two weeks now and i actually have more carpenter ant's in my house now than i did before. Please don't waste your money on this product. A big wast of money!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   poor
    By Elf on 07/17/2012

    the ants never took the bait that i could see. read up on it and bait isn't the way to kill them. the ant continued to be everywhere. i don't want to wait till my house is deystroyed

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Like candy to my carpenter ants!
    By Phil on 07/11/2011
    Verified Purchase

    I thought it would take a day or so before the ants found the bait.....try 5 minutes. i was sitting on the deck drinking beer watching them carry the bait back to the nest almost feeling bad for them...almost!!!! worked like a charm-ants are gone in 2 days!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Over the side
    By Ibee on 07/13/2014

    The bait that I am trying, it seems that the ants come along and drop it off the edge of the fence that they use as a hiway.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Advance Carpenter Ant Bait saved me over $1000.00
    By on 08/06/2013

    Carpenter ants were nesting behind the wooden shakes on my home. The exterminator co wanted $500.00 to wipe out the nest. They would have to remove the wooden shakes and cut into the backer board and insulation. I would also have to hire a handyman to replace the shakes, insulation and backer board. The approximate cost was $600.00. When I read about Advance, I decided to try it out and I am glad I did. The carpenter ants took the bait back to the nest, and the nest was wiped out. I highly recommend this bait to anyone who wants to get rid of Carpenter ants. IT WORKS GREAT! And I saved $1100.00

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Advance Carpenter Ant Bait REALLY WORKS!!!
    By Michele on 10/05/2010
    Verified Purchase

    This stuff was amazing AND THOROUGH! In early May 2010, we were experiencing higher than normal black ant activity inside our home. We observed them to be coming from a small wooded area between the neighbor's house and our house crossing our driveway to our housefront. We applied the product on the driveway and along the front area of our house right where we saw them crossing. It rained during the first two weeks so we reapplied after each rain (twice). By the 3rd application, we saw no more ants scouting around anywhere inside our home. We continued to see them outside so we reapplied a few more times in a concentrated spot right at the corner of the house until we stopped seeing any outside. The whole summer was ANT FREE! After we stopped seeing any, we never reapplied and have plenty of product left! I think it not only took care of our problem, but our neighbor's too, as they were seeing bunches inside their home as well. BUY THIS PRODUCT IF YOU HAVE BLACK CARPENTER ANTS. It ABSOLUTELY WORKS! We are so glad we tried it. For years, we have never been totally free of these pests until now.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Ants all gone!
    By B on 06/07/2010

    This product works like a charm! It was recommended to us by our regular pest control man because it is what they use! The ants were all over and in my composter, which is in our back yard, and two days after using "Advance Carpenter Ant Bait" they were all gone, and I haven't seen any since!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Advance bait
    By Greg on 10/08/2014
    Verified Purchase

    The carpenter ants that were present, did not seem interested in it and walked right though or around it. Argentine fire ants loved it.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Carpenter ant eliminator
    By Retired on 08/29/2014

    After paying lots of $$$ to a "professional" exterminator to rid my home and property of carpenter ants, all they did was rid my wallet of $$$ and left the ants happy and thriving. I used a jug last year and FINALLY got the upper hand. I pinpointed the tree they were nesting in by using a flashlight at night and used a generous amount around the base of the tree. Two days later ALL the bait was gone and about two weeks later so were the ants. It's not cheap stuff, but WAY cheaper than hiring an overpriced non-effective exterminator! Got a second jug as a preventative measure as I have lots of dying/dead trees on my property.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Works Excellant
    By Jim on 07/20/2014
    Verified Purchase

    i used this for carpenter ants and small ants. I put the bait directly on the ant nest and they immediately started taking the bait back into the nest. I also put it around the base of trees, same result. within a week very few ants remained. Crazy, but I watched some ants carry the bait into my neighbors yard, 60 feet away.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Carpenter Ant Bait
    By Mike on 07/14/2014
    Verified Purchase

    I received the ant bait, and followed directions, and spread it around my home the day I received it. I had been seeing quite a few carpenter ants. It rained right after I put the bait out, and I was afraid it had ruined my bait. But since then, I haven`t even seen one carpenter ant around our home! We have been using a local exterminator company. But if I can buy products as good as Advance Carpenter Ant Bait from you, I plan to start doing my own pest control! Thanks! Mike Callahan Marion, North Carolina

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Carpenter ant bait
    By Christopher on 05/20/2013
    Verified Purchase

    Works better than advertised! Like giving ants crack cocaine!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Carpenter ants!
    By A.marion on 09/20/2015

    Product effective. Have used it before, new onslaught..desperate search for "Advance" online.. your site most easily navigated. Fast service & delivery much appreciated!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Fabulous product
    By John on 07/05/2015

    Carpenters coming in telephone wire from street to house, infested walls upstairs bedroom and family room downstairs. Spread ADVANCE where their extensive sawdust piles were and within minutes workers were carrying individual chips of Advance back into the tiny holes in sheetrock and baseboard. Let it sit a week while away, vacuumed up the stuff, put another fresh dose down both places...(In wall I drilled 1/2" hole and used funnel to put in a half cup)....that was six months ago. I had telephone company put kerosene baffle on line and move it....Great stuff....

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   First time user
    By Ed on 09/22/2014
    Verified Purchase

    I'm a new do it yourself pest control, easy to use, no more ant problems.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 88 reviews)