Home » Flies » Fly Traps » Advantage Fly Trap » All Reviews

Customer Reviews for Advantage Fly Trap

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   11
4 stars   1
3 stars   0
2 stars   2
1 star   0
 
Average Customer Rating
4.5 of 5 stars
(14 customer reviews)

Write a Review

Advantage Fly Trap
$21.78

Free Shipping!  Free Shipping!

Info / Buy Now


Sort By:

Displaying 1 to 14 (of 14 reviews)

  • 19 of 21 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Advantage Fly Trap Works Great
    By Larry on 07/06/2010
    Verified Purchase

    I purchased this because the flies are terrible this year. Within 3 days it reduced the amount of flies from about 10 always on me to less than 1 - 2 each time I sit out on the patio. Now I have to get a couple more for the front porch and back of the barn. My wife is not real crazy about the smell so I moved it off the patio. I told her just put it there to get it under control then moved it about 25 feet out in the yard. Still able to sit outside comfortably. Thanks again

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 8 of 8 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Works Well!!
    By Rb on 08/15/2012
    Verified Purchase

    Significantly cut down the blow fly population within 19 days. We hung it from a metal "shepherd's hook" plant holder. Liners and lure last a good amount of time.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Works Great
    By on 07/27/2013
    Verified Purchase

    This fly trap worked perfectly to rid us of the pesky horse flies that attack us while we are trying to enjoy our pool! We went to not being able to stay out there at all, to laying on floats and relaxing almost instantly! Thank you for this great trap. The only down side is changing it after couple of weeks, worst smell ever and so many flies!! Yuck!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   It works, is cleverly built, and easy to use
    By Thomas on 08/13/2013
    Verified Purchase

    I have an old jug type fly trap. it works. it's a mess to clean. Real nasty. The Advantage Fly Trap with the Advantage Fly Banquet works better. after 48 hours, i was amazed at the amount of flies it caught. The bottom entry seems to work great. I have it hanging about 6 inches off the ground - where the flies tend to spend the most time. It also has the top entry holes like the jug type of trap. A really big plus is the disposable liners. You can just pull it out and throw it away - no washing out dead, rancid flies. It's very sturdy, almost clever the way it opens and closes, quick to set up. And no mess with the freeze-dried bait - if you have ever gotten liquid fly bait on your fingers or spilled it, you know what i mean. It costs a little more, but in my opinion, well worth it. I seldom write reviews, but thought this series of products deserved a mention. And, DoMyOwnPestControl has one of the better sites, and the order was processed and delivered quickly.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    2 of 5 Stars   Advantage Fly Trap
    By Susan on 03/20/2015
    Verified Purchase

    It was easy to set up, but it has only captured a few flies. I still have lots of flies that fly in a square outside my front and back doors.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    If you are not catching many flies, you may want to try varying the trap placement. We recommend hanging fly traps about 30 feet away from the home since it will attract flies. You should also try to hang traps in a bright, sunny area with little wind. You can also vary the height to determine if hanging the trap slightly higher or lower is more effective.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   These work!
    By Dennis on 11/13/2013

    I have had a lot of trouble with hordes of flies congregating around my house two or three times a year. This past August my wife and celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary with 50 family members and friends. I bought six of the Advantage Fly Traps, placed them every 30 feet around my house and had very few flies as a consequence. What a relief!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Very Satisfied
    By Albert on 04/20/2015
    Verified Purchase

    Bought the Advantage Fly Trap and couldít be more satisfied, really does the job beyond my expectations, well worth the purchase. Did such a good job that I bought a second for a different area of the yard.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Fly control
    By John on 07/20/2014
    Verified Purchase

    This product has solved a problem that has been year round. It is easy to use and very effective. Used a bamboo tripod to hang at the recommended height and with adequate air flow the fly banquet brings the pests in and the trap keeps them for easy disposal.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Advantage Fly Trap Great Product
    By Judy on 07/23/2014
    Verified Purchase

    I am so happy to have found your website. It was almost impossible to sit in back yard with all the flies. Ordered fly trap and within 2 days it started catching flies. My dogs and I say thank you for a more pleasant summer.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Fly trap
    By Larry on 06/30/2015

    this fly trap works really well, sturdy construction, can be used over and over with new fly bait packs. I'm thinking the yellow canister also attracts fllies. The only problem is you can't see inside to see how full it is. place away from where people are. You want to draw the flies away from you and the odor from the fly bait can get strong.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 5 Stars   Attracts More Flies than it Catches
    By Craig on 06/04/2016

    Best combination is to use this or other fly trap with a kill bait sitting on top of the trap; double whammy kill and trap . Unless you empty the trap every few days, it will attract more flies into the area than it can handle. Adding additional traps only compounds the problems. If you clean weekly, it is not enough. After a few days, it attracts flies by the thousands, actually making the fly problem worse and more concentrated. I live in a S Florida residential area, so finding the source of the flies is not possible. We have to much decaying vegetation and moisture, plus neighbors do not diligently pick up their dog feces and if they do pick the stuff up, they just leave it uncovered in their trash for flies to breed. Suggested improvements, make it clear so you can see what's going on inside, make it larger so it holds more water, make it a top down entry only to increase the inside area for more dead flies. The cheap fly trap bags are just as effective, you can see what's going on inside, they're easy to dispose and you don't have to clean them out, just bag and toss them. I'm glad I only bought one advantage fly trap.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 Stars   advantage pest control
    By Arthur on 06/08/2016

    Has made a significant improvement to the pool area.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 Stars   Advantage Fly Trap WORKS!
    By Kellie on 06/24/2016

    We live on some acreage but have NO animals. The flies this year in Western Idaho started very early this year...like April! This device I hung about 30 feet from mud room door and 30 feet from our back patio door. The smell is little to none which I'm thrilled about! I hung it up the minute it came two weeks ago. Changed the attractant today. There were a zillion flies dead and some live ones walking around inside the trap! I'm AMAZED at how well this works. I think I need another one for the front of my yard...can I have a coupon please?!?!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 Stars   Good Riddance
    By Rick on 07/06/2016

    This collects and kills a unbelievable amount of fly's.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

Displaying 1 to 14 (of 14 reviews)