Home » Yellow Jackets » Yellow Jacket Bait » Alpine Yellow Jacket Bait Station Kit with Onslaught » All Reviews

Customer Reviews for Alpine Yellow Jacket Bait Station Kit with Onslaught

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   8
4 stars   8
3 stars   2
2 stars   4
1 star   4
 
Average Customer Rating
3.5 of 5 stars
(26 customer reviews)

Write a Review


Sort By:

Displaying 1 to 26 (of 26 reviews)

  • 16 of 20 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   alpine bait station
    By Aj on 09/01/2011

    0 star is the rating I would give alpine, have been using for weeks but the wasp are worse and yes they are eating the bait but not being killed, waste of money.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    This kit is for yellow jackets only and not wasps.  This customer is using this kit for wasps and it is not labeled to do so which is probably why it is not getting the customer results. 

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 16 of 17 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Really worked for me
    By Dave on 09/18/2011
    Verified Purchase

    I tried the water-filled bag traps from my local garden store (the bags with an attractant where the yellow jackets crawl in but can't find their way out), and although the traps seemed to accumulate a lot of yellow jackets, my problem persisted. I found this product had been mentioned by a professor from UC Davis and decided to give it a try. I tested several kinds of bait and found they liked fish/shrimp cat food. I mixed a half-recipe, only 6 oz to start out and replaced it after 2 days. After 4 days the yellow jackets were gone. The bait stations are a little messy (and smelly!) to clean out afterwards, but I can't argue with the effectiveness. My wife and I can sit in the backyard again. As was mentioned in the FAQ, it can be a challenge to thoroughly mix so little poison with the bait. Using cat food helped because it was smooth and not lumpy. I also used a little extra water: I added the poison to a teaspoon of water, stirred, then carefully sprinkled the poison all over the bait, then thoroughly mixed for several minutes. So little poison is used, the supply should last for years. I give the product 5 stars for effectiveness but 3 stars for the care needed in mixing the bait, and the messy cleanup. 4 stars overall. I definitely recommend this product and will absolutely use it again next year.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 13 of 13 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Best Yellow Jacket Bait
    By A. on 08/22/2011
    Verified Purchase

    After trying everything else we could buy locally to get rid of our yellow jacket problem, we tried Alpine's kit. It seemed expensive, but you get a multi-year supply with it. It really works. Within three days, the problem was solved.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 12 of 12 people found this review helpful:

    3 of 5 Stars   Poison bait is the best control, but not Onslaught
    By Neal on 12/14/2014

    I have had excellent success for 10 years with baited yellow jacket traps, which have reduced my backyard yellow jacket problem almost to nil here in the SF Bay Area. I switched from other microencapsulated insecticides to Onslaught when the latter became registered for the purpose. I had mixed results with Onslaught -- better than not baiting (or using traps), but yellow jackets were still an annoyance when we were eating outside. Then I read a UC Riverside study (http://www.pestboard.ca.gov/howdoi/research/2009_yellowjacket.pdf) that reported that "The only registered bait (Onslaught®, microencapsulated esfenvalerate) was not effective as a bait toxicant against the western yellowjacket, V. pensylvani". They found that fipronil was the most effective, at a dosage level of only 0.025% in bait such as chicken or fish. Note that fipronil products such as Taurus SC are not listed for this purpose (i.e. the label does not officially say that it is OK in a yellow jacket bait).

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 9 of 9 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   IT WORKS - BE PATIENT
    By on 08/22/2013
    Verified Purchase

    I found the best way to use this product is as follows: Each morning make up bait by using plastic fork and spoon on paper plate. Place (4) 1/4 to 1/2 tea. of fancy feast salmon cat food on a paper plate. Using a medicine dropper, place on drop on each. Use the plastic fork to work it through and turn it over. Place each one in the bait station. Take them up at dusk when the bees have stopped working. Replace with fresh each morning. It took us about three weeks to get rid of yellow jackets under a deck that is close to the ground. We had a very large nest and maybe even two or three nest. Short of taking the deck apart there was no way to get to them. Next year I will use onslaught at the first sign of yellow jackets.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 7 of 7 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Use attractant too
    By Neal on 06/09/2012

    To get yellow jackets to swarm to the bait station, simply use some of the Rescue brand yellow jacket attractant (you can put some on a cotton ball, for example). This is the attractant used in yellow jacket traps. The attractant is very effective at luring yellow jackets. The bait and insecticide to the rest.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 6 of 7 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Works slowly but I think it works
    By Carolynn on 11/06/2013
    Verified Purchase

    We had two yellow jacket nests this year. One was at the base of a tree in the side yard and the other was located next to the house under the drain that comes from the gutters and was inaccessible. We needed to get rid of the nests without risking damage to the tree roots or harm to ourselves. I first tried cat food in the bait stations but I think it was too late in the season. The yellow jackets weren't interested. So I tried a method I'd read about in these reviews, cutting a sponge to fit in the container and using sugar water with a bit of the insecticide added. I watched for weeks. I saw the yellow jackets on the sponges feeding but they were also going to the nests. Then suddenly the nests were vacate. I thought it might have been that the yellow jackets had vacated the nests because it was so late in the year, but a friend still had a very active nest in her yard, so I'm giving this kit credit for having finally worked. I'll certainly try it again next year if I discover other nests.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 6 of 7 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   I Don't Know What They Want!
    By Deborah on 09/07/2011
    Verified Purchase

    Either the wasps here in N. CA are too smart or they don't eat anything! I have tried the following with and without the bait on it with no interest from the wasps: raw chicken, cantaloupe, beer, tuna in water, catfood, a sweet glaze, soda. So I can't tell if the Onslaught Alpine Yellow Jacket bait station is good or not.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 6 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Onslaught Bait system
    By Andrew on 09/10/2013
    Verified Purchase

    It has been a week now since we used the Onslaught bait system and all I can say is that the volume of yellow jackets has actually increased significantly. It appears that all I am doing is feeding the yellow jackets. I also find it insane that you are forced to buy a pint of this material for $85 and the instructions ask you to use 1/4 teaspoon per 12 ounces of bait which is enough to fill about 30 of these pill containers. They give you four. I now have enough Onslaught to last 175 years if it worked.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    2 of 5 Stars   Not seeing any reduction yet.
    By Ron on 08/22/2011
    Verified Purchase

    We had a bad infestation,not seeing any reduction yet,giving some of the Onslaught to our neighbors to see if that helps.We do see the meat bees removing bait,so a good sign!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   So Easy to Use, and it Works..........
    By on 06/25/2013
    Verified Purchase

    I found that Salmon Cat Food works best here, draws the Yellow Jackets right in, and doesn't take them long to disappear. I am so appreciative of this product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Seems to be working
    By on 08/25/2013
    Verified Purchase

    The kit arrived on time and in good condition. I set out bait and seemed to have some improvement within a few days. I re-baited and didn't get back for about a week. At that point there was a marked decrease in the number of meat bees on my deck. They are not all gone, but so much better. Measuring and mixing the 1/4 tsp dose requires close attention, but is easier with cat food.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Nasty Bugs
    By on 08/04/2013
    Verified Purchase

    It is tough to tell how well they work. I find that more come to eat if I place it near a trap. We first tried tuna in it a we did not see any yellow jackets go in. Then we switched to raw chicken and this seems to work much better. There seems to be a decrease in numbers. They we so bad before, we could not even sit on our porch - now we can.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   They're still here . . .
    By Sandy on 10/01/2012
    Verified Purchase

    I have a systemic allergy to yellow jackets, so I am VERY interested in killing them all. They liked my choice of bait (tuna) and carried off pieces of the bait after Onslaught had been carefully mixed according to directions. I've cleaned and re-baited the traps five times so far, so why do I still see yellow jackets on my property? I'm awaiting the next approved pesticide for these critters, hopefully something more potent that will make them all go away.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 6 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Better delivery method
    By Mark on 08/22/2012

    Only 4 stars for now until I see a drop in the yellow jacket population. I am actively using this kit however, the jackets were more attracted to my hummingbird feeders with homemade nectar than they were to the cat food. Besides I practically gagged when I changed the cat food every 3 days. I now use onslaught with the homemade hummingbird nectar. You can get the details of this recipe by Googling homemade hummingbird food (4 water to 1 sugar boiled together). Then follow these directions: 1. add about an 1/8 tsp of onslaught into 16 oz of homemade nectar in a glass bottle labeled “bee poison.” 2. cut a clean household sponge into strips and insert the strips into the bait stations 3. position the cut sponge close to the holes in the bait station. I found the bees can get in but cannot get out and soon die without leaving with poisoned nectar. 4. Soak the sponge until there is about 1/8" to 1/4" of liquid in the bottom. This keeps the sponge moist and full for ~ 2 days. 5. Hang the station away from your hummingbird feeders. 6. Pour more poisoned nectar over the hanging bait station. This attracts them even more. 7. Watch and enjoy as the suck on the sponge and leave for their nest. 8. I’ve only done this for 3 days now and have not seen a drop in the population yet. But, they are more active now at the stations than they were with cat food.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Onslaught Yellow Jacket Bait Station
    By Carol on 09/12/2011
    Verified Purchase

    This product is amazing. We were inundated with yellowjackets - so many, in fact, that we couldn't use our swimming pool during the day! Our cat couldn't eat her food in peace; swarms would surround her bowl, so we started feeding her indoors. I found the onslaught system online and ordered it. Though it took a few weeks, the number of yellowjackets decreased with each use, rendering our pool area useful again. The weather has now cooled but I will be ready in early spring to set up my onslaught system next year, and wipe out the nest BEFORE it becomes a problem. Thank you, Onslaught!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Yellow Jacket Bait
    By Shelley on 08/13/2013
    Verified Purchase

    So far our population of yellow jackets is decreasing. We have honey bees and in the past have lost hives to these pesky invaders. Not to mention the fact that I am highly allergic to them. Thanks for your product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    2 of 5 Stars   Is this enough
    By Stacy on 07/30/2012
    Verified Purchase

    I do not see how you can mix 1/4 teaspoon of onslaught with 10oz of bait! thats two 5oz cans of catfood and 1/4teaspoon can not mix with that amount of bait There is going to be alot of bait that has no onslaught in it no matter how much you mix it. can someone exsplain that to me? If it were liquid I could see it, But on a solid like catfood there is not enough at 1/4 teaspoon.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Yellow Jackets be gone, I hope!
    By Larry on 09/24/2011
    Verified Purchase

    I purchased the Bait Station Kit and was impressed with its ease of use. The Yellow Jackets were immediately taking the Onslaught mixed bait back to their nests. I mixed the poision with some finely chopped crab. Still waiting for the results.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    2 of 5 Stars   Yellow Jackets
    By Paolo on 09/26/2012
    Verified Purchase

    I tried this product and I’m sure it would have worked if only the buggers would have taken the bait. They would not enter the bait stations. I also tried it on baited paper plates near the entrance to the hive, but the yellow jacket would not stop to investigate. I tried chicken, fruit, fruit juice with no luck. It did kill a lot of flies though.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Yellow Jacket Bait station... very effective
    By Joseph on 09/29/2011
    Verified Purchase

    Last year at our annual 'cider fest' event the yellow jackets were intolerable. There were dozens swarming around our cider press all day and four of our guests received stings. After researching online we decided to give Onslaught a try. We were skeptical at first since we didn't see much activity at the bait stations. The day of our event was sunny and warm and we were fearful of a repeat of the previous year but to our delight only a very few yellow jackets were seen and no one was stung.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    3 of 5 Stars   Disappointed. Make your own bait stations.
    By Jerry on 08/08/2015

    The bait stations are poor quality plastic. For the price, I would expect that they not crack down the side when removing the lid. I'll give 3 stars for the insecticide. Zero for the expensive bait stations. I will convert old pill bottles in the future.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 5 Stars   get bait stations
    By Jc on 09/23/2016

    The Onslaught works well, but at a much higher concentration than suggested. I use 3/4 tsp with 3-4 oz of chicken. Also I added a few tablespoons of water or apple juice to make it easier to mix. The apple juice works to attract yellowjackets. I've also used the attractant in WHY yellowjacket traps. Good results are seen in a few days with higher concentration of Onslaught. The bait stations are completely useless. The string is only 3 inches long- couldn't even tie it to my little finger. Also the cap is too hard to remove and the yellowjackets need a hole in the top so they can easily get out. They need to be able to escape quickly to take the poison back to the nest. Otherwise, they just fly around inside until they die which isn't really effective. They want to exit from the top of the station not the side.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 5 Stars   Didn't get rid of the YJ's
    By Charlie on 08/30/2016

    I tried this in CA to get rid of yellow jackets in our yard. The YJs ate the poison with the bait but it did not diminish them. The containers are good though!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 0 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Seems to Have Worked
    By Paul on 09/21/2011
    Verified Purchase

    I had a significant reduction in Yellow Jackets after putting out the bait stations. I grow wine grapes and the bees were so bad, they appeared like a cloud in the vineyard. I did, however, spray with Venom the following day for brown marmorated stink bug control so I can't say for sure which was more effective but I will continue to use the bait stations next year for sure.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 5 Stars   So far so good
    By Terry on 09/28/2016

    Received the product in mid September put lots of samples out. Butterworth syrup worked the best. After 5 days the yellow jackets are almost gone. Had to put it on a paper plates. Bait stations didn't work well

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

Displaying 1 to 26 (of 26 reviews)