Home » Ants » Fire Ant Control » Ascend Fire Ant Bait » All Reviews

Customer Reviews for Ascend Fire Ant Bait

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   5
4 stars   2
3 stars   0
2 stars   1
1 star   1
 
Average Customer Rating
4 of 5 stars
(9 customer reviews)

Write a Review

Ascend Fire Ant Bait
$29.84

Free Shipping!  Free Shipping!

Info / Buy Now


Sort By:

Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews)

  • 6 of 6 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   This product works!
    By Dash on 04/20/2012
    Verified Purchase

    We live in College Station, Texas where fire ants abound. The past 10 years we owned a home in the city and hired a pest control company to treat the yard every 3 months. Never had an ant problem. Recently we bought a home on 7 acres with a huge ant problem. Our pest control company does not treat such large acreage but gave us their secret. Ascend! I could not find the product locally and found DoMyOwnPestControl.com in an online search. I called the 800 number and was very pleased with the service by an actual person. I feel comfortable with this company and will order online from now on. To spread the granules we used a small spreader attached to our riding mower and spread most of the acreage. A hand spreader works if you have a normal size yard. You do not have to cover every inch as the ants take the granules back to the queen. Within days the ants disappeared! We have 10 plus years experience now with this product and I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Ascend Fire Ant Bait
    By Penny on 06/21/2010
    Verified Purchase

    This bait said it was good for other related ants (Pharoah Ants). I placed this product outdoors directly on my problem area and the ants seemed to walk over the bait and were not bothered by it. They did not eat it or cart it off into their nest. The bait stayed there for days before it rained and I still have my ant problem. It did not appear to work at all.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Ascend Fire Ant Bait
    By Ron on 10/01/2010
    Verified Purchase

    I have used this product for several years and it is the most effective product I have found. It works quickly and efficiently. I use it once every season and it takes care of my fire ant problems for the entire year. I delayed a bit in my annual treatment this year and, naturally, the fire ants started to take over my yard. Within 48 hours after application they were gone!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 6 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   This stuff works for my black ant problem
    By Ilovedolls on 05/10/2011
    Verified Purchase

    I live on an ant hill. I have had ants for the past 55 years. I have been using this product for the past 8 years. I sprinkle it around my house in the spring time and throughout the summer. I do not get ants coming in like I used to and even get through a whole summer without seeing them in the house. The only drawback to this product is that I have to reapply after it rains since water DEACTIVATES it. Still it is easier and more economical then using the bait traps. The ants just carry the pieces away, eat it and then die. Keeps the ants under control.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Dispensing in the key
    By Erik on 05/14/2012
    Verified Purchase

    I have used this product over the years and have noticed one thing. If you pile it too high and too close to the mound the fire ants will ignore it. Its better to spread it thinly around the mound maybe a 3 to 4 foot circle. The ants will find it and will bring it to the queen eventually, and it works.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   so far so good
    By "d" on 05/22/2014
    Verified Purchase

    Time will tell. So far Asend fire ant bait has helped tremendously. I live next to empty lots in Florida so I think the ants come over to my yard and set up camp. I sprinkle some Asend on the mound and in a few days their gone, It doesn't appear that I'm just chasing them around the yard like when I used Amdro. However I did broadcast when I first noticed them foraging. I have a lot of Wild birds in my yard and I did catch them pecking around the broadcast. The young lady at do my own told me the birds wouldn't eat it that they wouldn't like the way it smelled. I found out that birds don't have a very good sense of smell and they appeared to want to eat it. I moved my bird bath to where I wasn't broadcasting to keep them away from the product which helped a lot I also put some wild bird seed there to attract them to the area . Avermectin is known not to be toxic to birds and they even use Ivermectin for certain parasitic infections in birds. But I'm sure they could overdose. I guess its better than any other ant bait in that respect. I'm trying to avoid using a contact insecticide but still may have to if the situation progresses.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Best I've used.
    By on 06/23/2013

    After one use I almost eliminated every mound in my yard. This is the best fire ant bait I've used and I have tried many.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    2 of 5 Stars   Not all that impressed
    By Eric on 08/25/2012
    Verified Purchase

    Not really better than the stuff I get at Lowes that is 1/3 the price. Some fire ant beds thrived after treatment and others died away. Same ole same ole trying to figure out how to win the war against fire ants. I will keep trying with this stuff since I bought it, but I don't hold out much hope.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Fire ant elimination
    By V. on 09/24/2014
    Verified Purchase

    I have used this product south of the Dallas area and now East of Houston. I have had excellent results with completely eliminating the colony..using a small amount

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews)