Home » Lawn & Garden » Herbicides » Non-Selective Herbicides » Avenger Weed Killer Concentrate » All Reviews

Customer Reviews for Avenger Weed Killer Concentrate

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   5
4 stars   1
3 stars   1
2 stars   0
1 star   3
 
Average Customer Rating
3.5 of 5 stars
(10 customer reviews)

Write a Review


Sort By:

Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews)

  • 13 of 15 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Best weed killer
    By on 08/19/2013

    I have try a lot of weed killer but I have to say this is the best have. Do my own pest control has every thing I need. Thank You

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 12 of 14 people found this review helpful:

    3 of 5 Stars   So so
    By Cari on 09/11/2013

    I bought this product instead of Roundup because I have animals. I accidentally got a bit on my skin and it burned pretty bad. It smelled good, and it worked well on most weeds and grass when thoroughly saturated. I have 5 acres and it would cost me a fortune to use this on a regular basis. My suggestion is to try it to see if it works for you, especially if you have a smaller property. I have a little left after the area I sprayed and will be trying it out again.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 10 of 10 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Avenger killed my weeds
    By Ray on 07/15/2014

    We had 1000 square feet of weeds and I was looking for an environmentally friendly product. At nurseries I was advised that nothing worked except real poisons and should forget about the harm they cause. On line I discovered Avenger and gave it a try. A few hours after spraying, most of the weeds turned totally brown but there were some weeds and parts of weeds that were green because Avenger kills only where it touches and I'd missed some spots. Respraying just the green was quick because the green was easy to see. After the second spraying, the weeds were wiped out.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 8 of 8 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   weed killer
    By T.w.stevens on 07/19/2014
    Verified Purchase

    It works OK , is too expensive to use on large area tho, Weeds don't stay dead , doesn't seem to kill the roots .

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 8 of 8 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Effective organic herbicide
    By J on 10/19/2014

    I used this product to treat perennial weeds in my stone driveway. Previously I used a backpack flame weeder to do the same job. We we are organic farmers so chemicals are not an option. Avenger did a better job than flaming, keeping perennial grasses and weeds down for about one month after treatment. I reapplied again after about a month or two and it effectively knocked everything down again. I used it at the highest recommended concentration. I think it would work at a slightly lower rate as well, as it burned weeds down really quickly. I would recommend it and will definitely use it again.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Product changed?
    By Jonni on 08/24/2016

    I have been using this product for a few years and I haved loved it. Always did the job I purchased it for. I noticed this time it was a different color. It did not kill the weeds. It was a lot of work in the heat and then to have it not work was more than disappointing.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   It Works
    By James on 03/24/2016

    We have used many other products over 30 years with no success. We have even had a professional application with no success. We have already ordered more of this product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Good top kill
    By Jim on 11/17/2015

    Avenger is pricey but very effective at top kill for grasses and weeds. It is effective in cool weather (50 +). You do need to reapply, but after a few weeks, most areas give up and only spot treatment is necessary.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Doesn't phase most of our weeds
    By Darcy on 10/08/2015

    I mixed carefully and soaked the weeds. Not much happened so I increased the concentration to the next level. Crabgrass is green as can be. It did stunt some weeds but we have a nightshade weed in AZ that is notoriously hard to wipe out and it didn't phase it either. I'm so disappointed because I was really hoping there was a good alternative to Round UP (which the WHO says 'probably causes cancer.)

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 5 Stars   Didn't work for me
    By Rw on 11/07/2016

    I've used 3 gallons on grass growing through some recently installed decomposed granite. Last two gallons were mixed 2:1. Turns the grass brown then the grass grows right back. By 'right back' I mean within days.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    Avenger will only kill the existing plants that are sprayed with it; it will not prevent new growth. You may have a particularly hearty plant that requires different active ingredients for better kill, or you could be getting new growth from additional seeds. If you would like to let us know what specific plants you are treating, then we would be happy to offer you more specific advice as well. Thank you for your comments and your business!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews)