Home » Mold Control » Bora-Care with Mold-Care » All Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bora-Care with Mold-Care

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   20
4 stars   6
3 stars   1
2 stars   0
1 star   1
 
Average Customer Rating
4.6 of 5 stars
(28 customer reviews)

Write a Review

Bora-Care with Mold-Care
$104.00

Free Shipping!  Free Shipping!

Info / Buy Now


Sort By:

Displaying 1 to 28 (of 28 reviews)

  • 38 of 41 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Excellent Company!!
    By P on 12/27/2010
    Verified Purchase

    I discovered powderpost beetles in an old cottage. After doing significant research I decided to attack the problem myself using Boracare with Mold-Care. It would be much less expensive than hiring an exterminator. I ordered the product and had it within 3 days. I had a question about the application process and called them. They answered the phone right away and answered my questions completely. I will certainly turn to DoMyOwnPestControl in the future. Great company..... A+ all the way.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 37 of 38 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Third Purchase and Application of Boracare with Mold-Care
    By Mitch on 10/20/2011
    Verified Purchase

    After getting a $750 per room bid to do our house during remodeling, using this has saved me a ton of $$ and provided necessary protection against termites. Much of the remodel was replacing wood that was no longer structurally sound,  given it looked like balsa wood. From my experience I suggest: Read the labels and application instructions. Use protective gear - while its not toxic, using a good respirator, long rubber gloves and clothing that covers works especially if you use a sprayer - the product does atomized in the air. Use drop cloths if you are doing any overhead work. The residual on the floor is slippery. Any outlets or fixtures should be covered or wiped off afterward. The product can be sticky on non-porous surfaces. I used a blue dye in the mixture to leave a trail of where I sprayed. This is available from the website. One tablet per 5 gallons is plenty. A great product - fairly easy to use if you're a do-it-yourselfer and you can make certain that YOU cover everything that needs it. You also control when it gets done so if you need to apply here and there - this works.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 33 of 33 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Treating mold on sills in crawl space
    By George on 11/28/2011
    Verified Purchase

    The product arrived quickly. Instructions were clear. It seems to have solved my problem of mold on the sills in the crawl space under the house. I removed all of the old insulation before treating. New insulation was installed after treatment. One thing you might want to consider is that some product will drip onto the plastic poly. This will require time to dry before crawling back under the house. I had to rent a blower to get things dry again. Drying took several days. This means that if you intend to apply a second coat, you will have to wait several days for things to dry out. Don't forget to use a quality respirator, wear protective clothing to include gloves and goggles when handling the product. These items can be purchased at Lowe's

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 27 of 27 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Excellent mold killer
    By Jeanne on 03/26/2012
    Verified Purchase

    Sprayed in our attic and it killed the mold on contact. Had tried other products but nothing else worked like this.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 25 of 25 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Boracare with Mold Care
    By James on 06/25/2011
    Verified Purchase

    Shipped quickly and I appreciate the phone call to sort out a misordered product (my fault, not Do My Own). I ordered this for a porch flooring project. Product mixed well and although I dunked the wood pieces, turns out that a tank sprayer works just as well and much quicker. I did not know how much to order so ordered 2 jugs, but only needed one. The one jug, when mixed, was enough for 300 square foot of wood, sprayed both sides twice (it rained just after the first time) and still have about a gallon left over.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 16 of 16 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Boracare with Mold-Care
    By Je on 12/19/2011
    Verified Purchase

    Product was shipped very quickly. Very easy to mix and apply with standard hand pump sprayer. Blue coloring tablets easy to add and made it very easy to see where the product had been applied to. Would purchase again if need arises.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 11 of 11 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Great stuff
    By John on 09/19/2014
    Verified Purchase

    It is very thick - like cold molasses. Use HOT water to mix, and you must have the mixer attachment that goes on your drill. You can mix with a whisk, but it won't do a good job. Use a mask, gloves and Tyvek suit. It is a great product. It has a good, clean smell. One gallon covered two coats of 1288 square feet+. The crawl space was inspected 4 days after the spraying, and the guy said it looked great - no dried mold or mold residue (there had been a lot). We would recommend to anyone.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 11 of 11 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Customer Service
    By Phil on 07/16/2012
    Verified Purchase

    I've just used the Boracare with Mold-Care and it's great to finally find a solution to my mould problems--at least I hope it's the solution. Really, only time will tell how well it works. Though from what I have read I have high hopes. What I really am reviewing is the customer service. I have never dealt with a company with such stellar customer service. I emailed DoMyOwnPestControl numerous times both before and after purchase, and each time my emails were answered in a very short time: even over the weekend. On the day I was applying the Boracare with Mold-Care I emailed 3 times with questions, and each time I received an answer literally within minutes! I was amazed! I can't say enough about what a pleasure it is to do business with a company that is so much on the ball. You can deal with this company with confidence!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 9 of 9 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   read the directions!
    By John on 01/04/2015
    Verified Purchase

    From other reviews, this is the stuff to treat rough sawn lumber and logs to prevent damage by insects and mold. You must mix it in a solution of warm water gradually or it will go to the bottom of your sprayer or bucket and clog everything. I used a paddle attached to a drill and poured the Boracare in slow. If you use it within a few hours there is no problem. The Boracare by itself has no odor, but the Mold-care is a different story. Mixing in the mold-care was easier but it adds a potent smell that will get on your clothes and linger at the spray site for 24-48 hours. The smell kind of made me nauseated even though I wore a filtered respirator and gloves, long sleeves etc. Not looking forward to smelling this mess again, but I will probably have to.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 8 of 8 people found this review helpful:

    3 of 5 Stars   Sprayed on two weeks ago.
    By Don on 08/14/2012
    Verified Purchase

    So far so good. Seems to have dried fully and I assume the lingering bleach smell is from the Mold-Care part of the solution. Was easy to mix and 1 gallon covered the entire inside of my unfinished garage.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 6 of 33 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Product is more toxic than the mold
    By Cheryl on 02/07/2013
    Verified Purchase

    The product description on line was limited. Once I received it, the label says it is harmful to fish and the environment. Extremely toxic and should not even be on the market, let alone available to the general public. I returned it.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Insect and mold care
    By Ross on 11/12/2015

    This product has performed just as needed within my under house craw space with the house sitting on a cinderblock footings thus the moisture causes mold and mildew to a house that is 52 years old. It will assist in preventing any insect or termite damages.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Bora-Care with Mold-Care is good stuff
    By Randose on 09/01/2015

    Real happy with it. Showed immediate surface results from long-term water damage (leaking icemaker supply line), and I believe will continue to protect against mold, mildew and wood destroying fungus. Only complaint is mfr does not tighten the caps well, and was not shipped inside a plastic bag in event of leaks. So some product leaked into the cardboard carton during shipping. DMOPC made it right. Arrived really fast. Good folks.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Should have used this product first.
    By Mike on 03/23/2015

    I could have saved myself a ton of money by using this product originally when my 1700 sq fit deck was constructed. At least we caught the potential damage early and with Boracare our deck is protected for the future. Easy to use, easy clean up and long lasting. Great product. Mike

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Product works - Boracare with Mold Care
    By Jr on 07/11/2014
    Verified Purchase

    Good product. Three tries to ship product without leakage. Third try was delivered (internal bag / carton soaked, approx. 1/2 of product lost in shipment)

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Hope it works
    By Craigce on 09/29/2014
    Verified Purchase

    I mixed for long term termite control (1:1 for boracare) and mold protection (5:1 for Moldcare). It seemed like the best reviewed product and was specified in profession quote2 I had for the project. Even with hot water and power mixer some of the boracare product remain in gel consistency at bottom of pail, but not much, just enough to make disposal a concern.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Boracare with Mold-Care
    By Jace on 12/22/2014

    Well so far I am very impressed. The product acts very much like a wood conditioner. I had a crawl that was in bad shape. It is yellow pine so the wood held up well. Let's face it nothing can regrow damaged wood but this stuff looks like it is going to save what I have! I wiped down all the wood no fancy prep just removed; debris, bug matter and existing mold, then applied as instructed. The wood looks healthy and fresh and I noticed it is faring well midst the moisture problem I am working to correct. So far two thumbs up I rated it a 4 because I need 6 months plus to see how it works over time.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Boracare with Mold-Care
    By Stan on 08/11/2015

    I am well pleased with the Boracare product. It arrived quickly which is appreciated since logs were ready to install. I like that it does not change the color of the wood.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Quick and Easy
    By on 08/18/2013
    Verified Purchase

    I recieved my order of Boracare with Mold-care in an efficient amount of time. Directions for use were easily understood and simple to apply. The product worked as was described,the warranty on the product is exceptional. The members the product was applied to were left looking brand new. I recommend this product for the use on structural mold and fungicide to a foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Service
    By Bill on 09/09/2012
    Verified Purchase

    I liked the company, service was very prompt. It's only been three days since I used it.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Boracare with mold-care
    By Evelyn on 09/30/2016

    Used this product for my home that went through the Louisiana floods in August 2016. I have not seen any new mold growth. It's important that the bucket used is large enough to handle the mixture. The mixture should be stirred long enough that there does not feel like a "drag" on the stick.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   BoraCare with Mold
    By Robert on 02/19/2016

    Should sell the MoldCare seperatley

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Review
    By Dwayne on 09/06/2013

    Excellent product from company with excellent service! Easy to do business. Thanks

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Easy to Use
    By on 08/24/2013
    Verified Purchase

    Only time will tell if Bora-Car performs as stated, but ease of use is evident with the application. You need to be careful in using this product, but it is much cheaper than paying a service.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Mold Care
    By on 08/26/2013
    Verified Purchase

    I gave it four stars for two reasons. One: I just applied it and have not seen how effective the product is. Two: It is very pricy for the amount of area it covers once you start spraying. If you have a small mold problem, It may be the perfect product...follow there recommendation to use this product along with professional help for a larger mold problem. It is a bear, and not as effective, if you attempt a large project on your own.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 Stars   Great Stuff
    By Warren on 08/20/2016

    I won't repair or remodel without it. Every inch of exposed wood in the cellar and attic is treated with Boracare. This house is 180 yrs old and will still be here when the McMansion down the street turns to saw dust.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 Stars   Boracare with Mold-Care
    By Duane on 09/07/2016

    I'm not sure exactly how to rate this product based on performance because it was used purely as a preventative. However, it was very easy to use and pleasant-smelling. I was comfortable with the Boracare component, as it was specified on one of our construction projects.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 Stars   Louisiana Flood repair
    By Jan on 10/10/2016

    The product was easy to spray and we exactly what was described. Customer service was great and DoMyOwnPestControl will be my go to place for pest control.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

Displaying 1 to 28 (of 28 reviews)