Home » Mosquitoes » BTI Mosquito Dunks » All Reviews

Customer Reviews for BTI Mosquito Dunks

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   39
4 stars   9
3 stars   2
2 stars   0
1 star   0

Best of
the Best
Average Customer Rating
4.7 of 5 stars
(50 customer reviews)

Write a Review

BTI Mosquito Dunks
$21.50

Free Shipping!  Free Shipping!

Info / Buy Now


Sort By:

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 50 reviews)

  • 16 of 18 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Mosquito Dunks Work for Our Large Pastures
    By Donna on 09/05/2010

    We purchased 100 mosquito dunks for a horrible mosquito problem we had in our pastures. We didn't want anything poisonous for animals, but we needed something to get rid of them. Since our last irrigation, they have been cut in half and we hope with another go around of it, that we can diminish them down even further. I like that it kills the larva. The only down side for us is with 5 acres of pasture it would be nice if I could find something less labor intensive, i.e., something I could just drip into our irrigation system without have to walk the whole area placing these donuts out. Great product. Does it come in a concentrated liquid form for irrigation?

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 12 of 13 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Control those mosquitoes
    By Ona on 05/03/2010
    Verified Purchase

    These are the best way to control mosquitoes in open rain barrels. We have used them for years but now that we have 5 barrels had to have a better price then at the box stores. Delighted for find them on line for 1/2 the price we had previously paid. We received them very quickly and have them in all the barrels at the present time.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 11 of 11 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Mosquito Dunks
    By Leslie on 06/30/2010

    I can't find dunks in Costa Rica, where I have a second home. Mosquitos down there can carry dengue and malaria. Yet preserving the environment for the great numbers of living things down there requires using something organic and natural. I put a dunk in my gray water drains once a month. Sometimes I drop one down the street in the rain culvert that is always damp. Within a few days there is a dramatic reduction in the numbers of mosquitos at my home. The dunks work GREAT!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 7 of 14 people found this review helpful:

    3 of 5 Stars   Surprised by insecticide in this biological product.
    By Joe on 04/26/2012
    Verified Purchase

    I bought this product because it said it is safe. I may have read the description wrong but I thought that there would be no harmful chemicals in this product. That was what sold me with this product since my dog and little girl use the backyard where the dunks have been applied. To my surprise on the back of the packaging it says to not breathe in the dust, get on your skin, or in your eyes because of the chemicals in the product. I do not believe this product is just a biological control as described. I am not saying it is a bad product, it is working, you just get a few extra ingredients than what you pay for.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 7 of 7 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Night time's pond
    By Roger on 06/27/2011
    Verified Purchase

    Works well, but for large ponds as mine, buy 2 of the 20 pk. I also placed around home and one in my garage.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 7 of 7 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Mosquito dunks
    By Chris on 07/09/2014
    Verified Purchase

    We have used these dunks (we call them donuts) for years. We have 26 acres of pasture land with a large slew running through it from one side to the other. We own horses and when we get a lot of rain the slew fills with standing water that can last for weeks. These donuts really do the trick. Our mosquito problem is very small. We also use a quarter of one donut in each of our bird baths. This product does not harm the birds, frogs or anything else that is in the water. Our cats drink from the bird baths too. When the water dries up the donut is still there if not completely dissolved just waiting for the next rain.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 7 of 7 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   MOSQUITO DUNKS WORK
    By Ben on 08/16/2012

    These bad boys really work. My back yard backs up to a creek; the mosquitoes had gotten so bad that we had to stop going out back. Bought these and applied the length of my block - within 2-3 days the little buggers started to magically disappear. You have to tie/anchor them to the bank or they will float downstream, also critters like to eat 'em. You need a lot of string, but after the 1st application, you can just go back and attach another one to the string. To immediately kill the larva's, crush one and then tie one in for the long-lasting mosquito devastation. Actually only last about 15-20 days. This is why they only get 4 stars. These guys are also lightning fast on shipping. I'll be a customer for a long time!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 7 of 7 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Definitely works
    By Tr on 03/27/2015

    I work in the Health Dept for my county. The guys in Environmental Health use these dunks as the main component for their mosquito abatement program. They tell me that the dunks are appropriate organic controls, meaning organic farmers won't lose their organic certification for using these. I have a pond on my property and get clouds of mosquitos if I don't use these dunks. The thing is with these dunks is that you have to use them in a timely manner or a hatch of skeeters will get past you. I found critters like to eat these. So keep an eye out after you dunk them somewhere. If you tossed them somewhere and you still got skeeters, your dunk may have gotten eaten before it could affect the skeeter larvae.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 6 of 6 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Very good product
    By on 07/02/2013
    Verified Purchase

    I have had quite a bit of standing water this year due to all the rain NJ has been experiencing. After using Mosquito Dunks in puddles (sometimes crumbling them) and bird baths there were no noticeable mosquitos at all! I am amazed.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   dunks!
    By Terry on 07/22/2014
    Verified Purchase

    placed in a stagnant area about three weeks ago, seems to be doing what they claim..

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    3 of 5 Stars   BTI Mosquito Dunks
    By Margaret on 07/29/2010
    Verified Purchase

    This product recommended by Vector Control Technician who showed me how to use it. Our number 1 concern was toxicity. This is a non-toxic treatment based on biological knowledge of mosquito gestation. It works. It is easily applied and safe to use.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   BTI Mosquito Dunks
    By Boleti on 04/24/2015
    Verified Purchase

    They work! Get them out before the larvae are too big, if you wait until they get big, there is less time for the dunks to do their job.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   dunks
    By Ron on 07/16/2014
    Verified Purchase

    got than in good time put them out in the ditch thay must work no mosquitos

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   skeeter dunks
    By Susan on 06/14/2015
    Verified Purchase

    Local stores were out, and we really need these. Price was better at your store anyway. So, from now on, we will order from you. Shipping was fast, and the product works very well.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Mosquitos in my Pond.
    By Eleanor on 07/10/2015

    I bought the Mosquito Dunks for my pond because you could not sit outside and enjoy my yard after dark. Well it definitely works. I will buy some more as soon as I run out. I recommend these Mosquito Dunks. Easy to use.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   It works great!
    By Rick on 06/28/2014
    Verified Purchase

    Have three 55 gallon rain barrels and no larva to be seen. Using 1/4 wafer per barrel and they last several weeks +. Am very pleased and should have gotten this years ago.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Killed my Mosquito Larva, but not my Tadpoles!
    By Mark on 08/19/2015

    One of these dunks in my dogs' wading pool killed off the mosquito larvae without appearing to harm the tadpoles at all, which is what I was aiming for. In addition, that reassures me that they should not affect the dogs.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   The county uses these
    By Tr on 04/11/2013

    I work in the local county health department and know that the Environmental Health Division of the health dept. uses BTi mosquito dunks exclusively in their mosquito abatement program. They do not spray chemicals in the mosquito breeding waters. They only use BTi mosquito dunks and the guys there tell me that BTi mosquito dunks are appropriate for organic standards and that the dunks only target mosquito larvae and no other insects. I hope that's true.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   BTI Mosquito Dunks
    By Terry on 04/28/2010

    I've been using them for ten years in my rain barrels (have 6). They work very well. DoMyOwnPestControl has the best price and excellent service.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Very good product!!
    By Nancy on 06/28/2012
    Verified Purchase

    We put them in the stock tanks that we have close to our house. Those tanks are usually teeming with mosquito babies! We completely emptied the tanks, filled them back up, put the dunks in and NO MOSQUITOES!! It is a very dry year here, but I was afraid the mosquitoes would be worse next to the house, since we have all of the standing water in those tanks, but I have only seen 1. I was very pleased with how well these worked. Our dogs did like to pick them out of the tanks, since they float. The dogs didn't seem to have any ill effects, but we decided to put something heavy on it in the bottom of the tank so the dogs couldn't get to them.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   BTI Mosquito Dunks from DMOPC
    By Dcarr on 05/31/2010

    I recently purchased BTI Mosquito Dunks from DMOPC -- first time I've done business here. Received the item promptly and in good condition. Deployed them in several french drain collection boxes in my yard that were writhing with mosquito larvae. I haven't been out there much lately but will report back when I determine their efficacy. Service: A+ Product: TBD

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   BTI Mosquito Dunks
    By Nancy on 06/21/2010
    Verified Purchase

    Great product--we use it to control mosquito population in our pond. The shipping is fast, free and the price is the best anywhere. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Effective
    By Lawrence on 07/02/2010
    Verified Purchase

    I used this product for a drainage ditch that was very infested with mosquitos. Within 2 days, it helped to all but eliminate them. I have learned that buying products here, which has been great, that my local exterminator is a complete rip-off.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   good stuff and very efficient
    By Jelle on 04/25/2015

    Excellent. they were delivered quickly. I use them for my rainwater cistern.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   BTI Mosquito Dunks-CASE (100 dunks)
    By Joanne on 11/16/2012

    We have a daylily farm and grow daylilies in pots with frames built for holding water so the daylilies can be watered from the bottom. We had huge problems with mosquitoes this year, and several of our friends have contracted West Nile Virus in Middle Georgia. We ordered the case of BTI Mosquito Dunks, and have been able to eradicate the mosquito problem. We don't have to worry about poison . They are safe for the animals, and we even have some in the bird baths. Very good product with excellent service from Do My Own Pest Control.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Mosquitos Will BE GONE!
    By Property on 07/16/2014
    Verified Purchase

    They do what they claim and don't hurt animals. Rid mosquitos at least from ponds and wet areas like culverts. Used a few in dry creek to work after a good rain. Cost much less than the local orange or blue box stores that sell 6pk. for $10. Great company to buy from.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Mosquiito dunks truly works
    By Susan on 12/06/2015

    Moved onto a 5acres property and in the beginning of rainy season suffered swarms of mosquitoes. I applied dunks 2 days after rainfall and reapplied if rain fell again to all standing water. The mosquiito population dropped, there was no more swarms

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   These Work at Controlling Mosquitoes
    By Birds on 06/13/2016

    We place these where ever there is standing water after a rain (i.e. fountains and rain barrels). These start working as soon as the water hits them and we do not have to remember to go out to these areas of ponding after a rain; the dunks help stop mosquitoes before they can become a pest. Also pricing is good - 2X number of dunks compared to price-quantity at home improvement stores.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   mosquito dunks
    By George on 05/24/2013

    quick and inexpensive delivery of product. Excellent and I would use them again

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   BTI Mosquito Dunks
    By D on 09/08/2012
    Verified Purchase

    Got rid of the critters in 24 hours in my rain barrels. Thanks

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 50 reviews)