Home » Fly Control » Bug-A-Salt Fly & Bug Salt Gun » All Reviews

Customer Reviews for Bug-A-Salt Fly & Bug Salt Gun

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   71
4 stars   7
3 stars   5
2 stars   2
1 star   6
 
Average Customer Rating
4.5 of 5 stars
(91 customer reviews)

Write a Review

Bug-A-Salt Fly & Bug Salt Gun
$47.90

Free Shipping!  Free Shipping!

Info / Buy Now


Sort By:

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 91 reviews)

  • 103 of 109 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Fun and Practical
    By Joe on 05/27/2013
    Verified Purchase

    I bought the Bug-A-Salt gun along with other things in my order. The idea to have a gun which will knock down bugs from 3 feet away was entriguing. I have long gone through the ritual of taking a towel and swatting flies, mosquitoes, and other critters, only to miss them and have to track them down again. Then there are the spiders on the ceiling which I needed to stand on a chair to reach. With the Bug-A-Salt, one shot kills from 3 feet away are common, and, with no mess to clean up on the wall. The latest trophy was a millipede. It took 3 shots though, but in the end, did not have a leg to stand on. With a bit of practice, you can take out flies in flight too. Finally, there is a weapon which allows my wife to face down a double-ugly spider and take it out her self instead of shreiking in terror. Operation is easy. Fill with table salt, pump the slide action, then take the safety off and you are ready to fire. Take a couple test shots at a sheet of aluminum foil to see how the shot pattern and sights align. You are ready to go hunting. The only problem I saw with it was when my (older) kids saw it, they wanted one too to take home. Will have to order a couple more now. As with anything which fires a projectile (salt), the same care you would take with any gun, BB gun, etc applies. Make sure the stray salt which does not hit the bug has a safe backstop and the stray salt will not enter electrical outlets or electronics. Otherwise, have fun.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 68 of 75 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Fun
    By Vince on 12/23/2012
    Verified Purchase

    Bug-A-Salt has never made fly and insect control more fun. Not only will it eviscerate flies from a good distance, but any other insect or unwanted spiders in the house without harming the surface behind. Great weapon for the wife as well.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 56 of 63 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Fun Gun - Deadly
    By David on 12/13/2012
    Verified Purchase

    This gun works as advertized and is easy to use. It takes out snails and slugs as well. Well built!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 51 of 54 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Fun and efficient way to eliminate little pests
    By Jenni on 02/07/2013

    Who knew shooting salt was practical! I bought 2 of these for my brother-in-law and nephew for Christmas. Not only do these work, but it provided hours of entertainment just watching them hunt down flies and spiders. I highly recommend this salt gun, especially for that hunter- minded individual that would enjoy adding a little fun in taking down those pesky critters.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 41 of 49 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   I LOVE IT, BUT IT DOES HAVE SOME LIMITS!!! (of course!)
    By Tia on 04/07/2013

    I gave several of these guns to adult members of my family who are gun enthusiasts. Such a surprise was the one who has the biggest and best collection of guns than the others!. He absolutely LOVES his BUG-A-SALT!!!!! He couldn't hardly wait until he got home and showed his co-workers in the field how great it worked! This gun is great on flies, slugs, and other creatures with soft skeletal bodies. Do not expect it to work on bug with the harder extraskeletal bodies, i.e. wasps, hornets, etc. To see what your spray shot is, practice with a piece of aluminum foil to see what the spray pattern is from different feet away from the bug. Always perform maintenance on your gun when not loaded, just as you would any other firearm! Happy Hunting! Kodos to DoMyOwnPestControl for becoming a distributor for BUG-A-SALT!!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 32 of 41 people found this review helpful:

    2 of 5 Stars   major problem
    By Joe on 01/01/2014
    Verified Purchase

    i live in Florida and salt in the reservoir quickly absorbs water from the air and doesn't refill the empty chamber. Even with fresh salt, the flies are stunned, not killed. if they fall into an inaccessible location, they recover and haunt you once again.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 31 of 46 people found this review helpful:

    3 of 5 Stars   not so great
    By Rob on 07/19/2013
    Verified Purchase

    nowhere near accurate at 3 feet. you have to get very close to kill the fly.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 30 of 39 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Junk! Don't waste your money!
    By Riley on 09/10/2014
    Verified Purchase

    Used for one day then the gun broke, will not pump.. Manufacture would not warranty.. Don't buy this product..

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 25 of 30 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Be sure to test fire for a good pattern.
    By Cole on 10/31/2013
    Verified Purchase

    Mine shoots low, but once I compensate for that it's great. I've even taken a flying wasp down from 3 ft. It won't kill them, but it will shred their wings so you can finish them off easier. Much better than flailing around with a fly swatter!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 24 of 26 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Waited for this product...
    By Richard on 07/25/2014
    Verified Purchase

    I've always wanted a fly-gun. Of course, I could never figure out the right ammo...but this guy did. While I'd not say it's perfect...sometimes it seems as if the salt doesn't spray and sometimes the fly seems unaffected...but most of the time this thing knocks 'em down and out. I've not found the estimated three-foot range to be anywhere near correct. The effective range seems to be about a foot or so. This is not to say I'm not happy. This thing is a lot more fun that a swatter, and given that a fly's ability to process visual signals is about four times a human's, the gun is much more effective than swatting. Worth $40? Well, a swatter's cheaper, but the gun is tons of fun and yes, over a few days I've noticed the fly population in my house has crashed. I think they're afraid of me now. Good. Fear the man with the Bug-A-Salt!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 23 of 26 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   FLY Gun
    By Joe on 05/16/2014
    Verified Purchase

    Tried this on Wasps and Carpenter Bees. Doesn't work so hot. Good for what it designed for, Flies.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 23 of 27 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   bugged
    By Rich on 04/01/2015

    i bought 4 of these to share with my kids during fly season - which is basically 3 months of the year... Over one season, 2 have already broken down…i tried to take them apart (to try & fix) but they fell into a million pieces - wound up in the garbage..they're fun while they last - which for me was not even one loading of salt that was put into the gun. If the manufacturer put as emphasis in quality as they do in caveats - they'd have a nice product…i say "boo" to the quality control dept people on this product!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 22 of 25 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Love the Bug-A-Salt, makes killing flies fun!
    By Sam on 06/05/2014

    I got one as a gift from a buddy a few years ago when it was first in production. It works great, I just killed my first fly this season a few days ago. It often makes you wish you had flies to be able to kill. If they are fast, shoot from a distant to injure then go in for the kill that will shred them to peices. Sorry I had too much fun with this shotgun. By the way, this is NOT A TOY, the salt at that pressure hurts.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 18 of 32 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Bug-A-Salt Fly & Bug Salt
    By Domenick on 01/08/2015
    Verified Purchase

    Stinks, doesn't kill anything, not small lizards, or moths. Doesn't shoot any salt unless you cock it and shake it...Do they really expect a fly or bug to pose for you to get close enough to shoot it....A real piece of junk for the money and they won't even send you a shipping label to send it back. Do not recommend it at all to anyone!!!!

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    Please be aware that the Bug-A-Salt gun is not intended to kill larger insects or any kind of amphibian, including lizards. If you are having trouble using the product, then you may always contact us, or you may reach the manufacturer, Skell, Inc., at 310-392-3288 or support@bugasalt.com to troubleshoot. In general, we do not provide shipping labels for returns since we offer a full refund on valid returns (we do not deduct outgoing shipping), but we are always happy to discuss each situation on a case-by-case basis. Please feel free to call us at 866-581-7378 M-F 9a-5p EST if you have any questions or concerns.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 16 of 18 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Love it
    By Rick on 04/19/2013
    Verified Purchase

    Beats a rolled up newspaper every time. I love this thing. Would like smaller size but it feels solid, works very well. I'm going to buy another. Bravo!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 16 of 21 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Bug-A-Salt
    By Don on 03/25/2013
    Verified Purchase

    I actually bought this to shoot slugs in my yard and it works just as planned. It is very well made and kinda fun to shoot.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 14 of 18 people found this review helpful:

    3 of 5 Stars   Salt gun
    By Harold on 09/09/2014
    Verified Purchase

    Trigger pull and cocking slide extremely hard to operate. Does not always shoot salt.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 14 of 17 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Bug-A-Salt Gun
    By Rodgers on 04/25/2014
    Verified Purchase

    This product is Great! I bought two and gave one to a friend. He showed it to his neighbor and he bought one immediately. This past weekend my cousin came for a visit and I showed it to him and he bought one. This is a product that sells itself!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 13 of 14 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Salt shotgun
    By on 08/03/2013

    This is about the neatest fly killer on the planet.The only thing better is to own two of them.So reliable,deadly and fun to use. Everyone wants one once they use it. These will make Great!!!! Xmas gifts for all the adults in the family.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 12 of 15 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Bug-a-Salt Gun
    By David on 05/16/2013
    Verified Purchase

    This device is excellent, works as advertised and is fun to use. The flies disappear! I bought 2 more as gifts.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 11 of 14 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   bug-a-salt
    By Anonymous on 06/20/2013
    Verified Purchase

    This, is without a doubt, the most fun way to eradicate pesty vermin. The gun is well made. best darn pest control device I have ever purchased. Bees and wasps get a little testy when you shoot at them. So far, no stings yet.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 10 of 12 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   It works!
    By G on 07/11/2014
    Verified Purchase

    I am a volunteer at a youth camp. Flies are always a problem, especially in the kitchen. We use various aids to control and get rid of flies in the kitchen. The Bug-A-Salt gun is now one of them. I can get take out the flies that refuse to sit still for the fly swatter and it is fun. Does not make a mess with the salt or with the flies.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 10 of 13 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Fun with Salt
    By Gary on 12/13/2013

    When my son first showed me the video, I thought what a gimmick. Then when he presented me with a Bug-A-Salt for my RV I was instantly sold. Constructed sturdy, operates without a flaw. What an ingenious idea. Now my friends want to know where to get them, and I am excited about giving them your information.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 8 of 9 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Bug -a -Salt gun
    By K on 01/08/2014
    Verified Purchase

    I bought this as a gift for my wife, but I think I will have as much fun with it. It is well made, and hopefully will standup to long term use. It is simple to use .

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 8 of 11 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Great Gun
    By Clyde on 06/18/2014
    Verified Purchase

    I have to say that this Bug-A-Salt Fly Gun is everything I expected. I Love it!!! I shot a Bee from about 2-1/2 feet away and it took it out. I would recomend it to everyone. The gun is very well made. I thought it would be made more like a cheap toy, I was impressed. Buy one.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 8 of 16 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   bug a salt
    By Daniel on 06/23/2014
    Verified Purchase

    I bought this hoping it would kill wood bees. It won't even phase them! Hopefully it will at least kill wasps

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 7 of 8 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   FLY GUN IS AWESOME
    By Keene on 06/02/2014
    Verified Purchase

    Skeptical when I purchased it, but it is very cool. Family loves using it when we are on the patio cooking and chilling. The men have competitions on how many they can shoot. Love it.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 7 of 9 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Excellent product and lots of fun
    By Tony on 07/14/2014
    Verified Purchase

    I purchased 2 of these guns. One for me and one for my son(37 yrs old). We have so much fun with these guns out on the deck. My neighbor saw these guns and he ordered some. The customer service was great and the shipping was extremely FAST. Thanks for a fun product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 6 of 7 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   not happy
    By Robert on 11/30/2015

    The Gun Did not last 2 days.It won't work about 1/3 rd of that time.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    We are sorry to hear that you are having a performance issue with your Bug A Salt Gun. The gun does come with a manufacturers warranty and we urge you to call them so they can help you troubleshoot the issue and replace the gun if needed. Please let us know if we can be of further assistance. We appreciate your business!

    http://bugasalt.com/pages/warranty

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 6 people found this review helpful:

    3 of 5 Stars   Not as lethal as I had hoped
    By Mark on 12/01/2014
    Verified Purchase

    This thing is pretty cool, it destroys gnats, fruit flies, small moths, etc. It knocks any size fly off whatever it's sitting on, but the larger flies often just fly away after the first hit, sometimes after the second and third hits too. I suspect it does them some damage, it seems like (though hard to say for sure) I find them languishing later but it's not like I can tell one from another, how the ones I've seen that were in distress got that way is anyone's guess. Bottom line is, it's disheartening to blast one at point blank, only to watch it fly away, thumbing it's nose no doubt. (Even worse when you're trying to show the gun to a chick, who can't stop laughing at it/you.) I didn't send it back, but I'm not sure I would buy it if I could do it over again.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 91 reviews)