Home » Rodents » Rat Traps » Catchmaster Easy Set Rat Snap Trap (621P) » All Reviews

Customer Reviews for Catchmaster Easy Set Rat Snap Trap (621P)

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   6
4 stars   1
3 stars   0
2 stars   0
1 star   1
 
Average Customer Rating
4.4 of 5 stars
(8 customer reviews)

Write a Review


Sort By:

Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews)

  • 5 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Fingers out of danger Rat trap
    By Charlie on 08/17/2015

    This trap is a big improvement over the old type. No danger of getting your fingers broken or the vermin getting wounded and running with trap. Cleans up nicely under running water. I miss the sweet sound of the old spring loaded trap zapping a rat in the middle of the night. This trap is quieter but does the job well. Recommend you fasten it down when setting.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Good bye Mr. Chipmunk
    By Stan on 09/27/2015

    Used peanuts, loaded from the hole in top cover, shell them and wedge them vertically. Tied string through predrilled hole and secured it to handle on barn door. Usually I need to drill holes myself to screw to a board or utilize an anchor line. In the past I have lost traps, other critters drag off their precaught meal. Trap has been immediately effectve, 2 large chipmunks and a mouse in 3 days. Only concern is how the unit will hold up in below zero weather. Other similar looking traps will break the plastic hinge and destroy itself when snapping shut in cold weather because the plastic becomes brittle and looses flexibility. If this trap proves to be made from a better grade plastic that holds up in freezing temps, then I would rate it with 5 stars. Overall this is a real nice disposal method for mid to small size rodents.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Hair Trigger - Super Effective
    By Stan on 10/29/2015

    One of the traps is positioned about 6 inches from the opening of my barn door. In about 2 weeks it has killed 5 chipmunks, 9 mice, 2 voles and I red squirrel. It is necessary to tether the trap, a few times I found the line stretched out. The red squirrel was the only one that it did not kill immediately, the front arm was caught. That trap would of most definitely been missing with a more than necessary suffering animal. The red squirrels are so incredibly quick, they are rarely caught in my other Victor Professional traps, (yellow pad). Yet this trap captured it because of the heavy quick acting spring mechanism. My biggest concern is how the plastic will hold up in below zero temperature, the other traps with similar designs literally disintegrate themselves when triggered and are unusable there after. Overall these traps are so sensitive that the larger traps will kill small and large rodents. Never have I owned a more effective trap than this one. Peanuts wedged tightly into the cup through the hole in the top with a bit of "chumming" around the trap works great. The easy release of the trap is also a great convenience. The crows and hawks love what is left on the feeding table for them. It will be nice to have a rodent free barn and house this winter. Good Luck.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Trap
    By Jim on 02/25/2016

    A nice mechanism, although the rats seem able to fish the bait out of the well without setting it off, on occasion; on others, they just fish it out after the trap has snapped on only air. But this is not unlike traditional traps, in my experience.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Rat Play Toy
    By Osh on 08/24/2016

    This product is terrible. I set two traps and baited with peanut butter. I set them inside the bait stations. The rats took the bait and the traps closed. But the traps are so weak the rats just wiggled out of the traps and went about their day. Don't waste your money.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Great! Four traps, five less rodents!
    By Vaughn on 11/21/2016

    Put them out unset and baited. All four were "hit". Reloaded and set them. Five down. Three were great, the trap did the killing, two were caught by their back leg, that necessitated further action on my part. Cleaned the traps, but too busy to get them out again, it will be soon though... Used peanut butter with a small piece of cooked bacon.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 Stars   Chipmunks are just cute rats
    By Paul on 12/01/2016

    I purchased the chipmunk mouse trap first. Although it had impressive force, the chipmunks were a little too big, and either escaped or broke the trap. I then moved up to the Rat Snap Trap. Still impressive force, but bigger. Did the job, and the trap didn't break. Peanuts, were recommended as bait with some scattered as "chum". Watch your fingers.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 Stars   Catchmaster Snap Trap
    By Elle on 03/15/2017

    Catchmaster trap is MUCH easier to bait & set than the old-fashioned snap traps. I would recommend this product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews)