Home » Sprayers & Equipment » Sprayers » Chapin Sprayers » Chapin Premier 1 Gallon Sprayer (#21210XP) » All Reviews

Customer Reviews for Chapin Premier 1 Gallon Sprayer (#21210XP)

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   88
4 stars   31
3 stars   14
2 stars   6
1 star   12
 
Average Customer Rating
4.2 of 5 stars
(151 customer reviews)

Write a Review


Sort By:

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 151 reviews)

  • 47 of 47 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   This is not your average sprayer
    By Bruce on 06/27/2010
    Verified Purchase

    I have bought sprayers in the past with the flimsy (plastic) wands and cheaply constructed connections. This sprayer has a metal wand, solid connections. You can tell it is made for years of use and commercial applications. I really like being able to release the pressure in the tank but just turning the little knob on top of the lid. You will love this sprayer.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 41 of 43 people found this review helpful:

    2 of 5 Stars   Chapin Premier 1 Gallon Sprayer #21210
    By Deborah on 12/29/2010
    Verified Purchase

    I found this sprayer would constantly need tightening and adjusting at the metal nozzle, and where the metal handle is attached at the wand. It was a constant battle to control leakage and waste of insecticide. Even my husband checked these seals and brass tighteners to be sure they were put together correctly. Some part of those components are too large to keep a good seal. Felt it was also not easy to control the amount of product sprayed, both in a more concentrated stream and a wider spray without constant adjustment. Just didn't want to hold position, and would quickly get out of adjustment. We will be on the hunt for a better sprayer in one of the local home improvement stores.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 26 of 26 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Looked good out of the box
    By Steve on 12/27/2010
    Verified Purchase

    I have never needed a sprayer before and wanted functional, high quality construction without unnecessary material costs or features. I have been completely satisfied with the Chapin Premier Pro which I purchased to spray Boracare on base plates. I believe the smaller one gallon size has been an advantage for maneuverability in awkward access areas. I, too, have recognized a tendency for dribbling from the nozzle but have found two tweaks to eliminate the problem. First, if a dribble starts, I pump a little more pressure in the tank. Second, I seem to achieve an optimum spray pattern with the adjustable nozzle fractionally opened. For such a well designed and solidly constructed unit, the range of spray patterns seems limited but it has been completely acceptable for my application. I should also note that the locating tabs on the fitting for the filter tube to the tank are a little difficult to hold in position while the hose nut is tightened but a snug fit is much better than a leak. Finally, there is a swivel trigger lock on the handle which is probably intended to maintain a stream during casual upright spraying. While releasing the trigger in contorted positions, I have had the lock pinch me. This is hardly worth noting but you may want to keep tender folds of skin away from the lock at the end of a spray. In summary, after several uses, I continue to feel this sprayer is the best purchase I could have made.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 24 of 25 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Chapin Sprayer Nozzle
    By Elizabeth on 09/12/2010
    Verified Purchase

    Sprayer, wand, relief valve, handle and lid are all fantastic! However, two issues: 1) The cutoff in the handle lags, so liquid runs down the wand after you release the handle. 2) The nozzle is excellent for outdoor use, but the nozzle will not close enough to create a fan spray inside the house. The result of these two combinations, creates dribbling of residual liquid in the wand after cutoff, which in-turn pools out of the end of the nozzle. Additionally, I cannot locate a fan spray nozzle for this sprayer on this web-site.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 17 of 17 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Great sprayer
    By Lois on 05/26/2010
    Verified Purchase

    This is a highly effective sprayer that does not clog up and is easy to use. Very helpful was the DoMyOwnPestControl website video that explained how to utilize a sprayer while adding a pest control powder and water to it.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 11 of 12 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Not any better than the box store sprayers
    By Mark on 08/26/2015
    Verified Purchase

    Like others I bought this thinking it would do a much better job than the cheap box store sprayers. The unit leaked out of the tip from the day I bought it, so I never used it in the house again. I continued to use it in the garage and all the exterior door & window thresholds. A few months ago the plunger went bad and the unit started gushing the liquid out of the top.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    We apologize that you had an issue with the sprayer! The sprayer was purchased on 06/05/2013, 2 years ago, so it is no longer in warranty. The good news is the issue you are describing does sound like one that can be easily remedied with a new gasket. Gaskets do need to be replaced about every 12 -18 months depending on the products used, more frequently if the sprayer is not rinsed and dried after each use. Please give Chapin a call (800) 950-4458 so they can help you trouble shoot the sprayer and pick the part that is needed for the repair. Let us know if we can be of further assistance. We can be reached at 866-581-7378 or support@domyownpestcontrol.com

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 8 of 15 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Very displeased!
    By Chris on 07/22/2012
    Verified Purchase

    I had gone through several of the cheap big box store sprayers and decided I needed to get a quality sprayer. I had read several good reviews of the Chapin sprayer and decided to order one. Upon receipt, I could tell it is a much higher quality sprayer than the big box stores offer. Upon first use, the sprayer would not stop spraying when the handle was released. I thought that I may have done something wrong in the assembly of the product and double checked my assembly, it was assembled correctly. I contacted DMOPC to get some guidance as to what I can do to correct the issue. I was told that I need to contact Chapin directly. I contacted Chapin and was told that they will correct the issue I was having and sent replacement parts. About a week later I did receive parts in the mail, but I have no idea how to replace the parts to fix my new sprayer. Now I have a useless sprayer and some replacement parts that I have no idea what to do with. Poor service provided by both DMOPC and Chapin.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 8 of 8 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Simple, but well designed and works well
    By Pat on 12/02/2013

    I bought two of the Chapin 1 gallon sprayers: one dedicated for outdoors (Termidor) and the other for indoors (Suspend). Both arrived in perfect condition. My first impression was underwhelming. The sprayer looks very "humble", with the hose crimped over the spray handle, and what appeared to be a pretty basic design. But after using the sprayers, I have a new appreciation for the small details that make this sprayer much better than the last one that I used. First, the pump handle is metal and the pump is obviously well designed and made--it's easy to pressurize and carry. Next, the lid--it is easy to open and close, seals well without having to be really tight, and has built in wand / sprayer clips. Third, the feed tube inside the sprayer has a small filter at the end--this is something my other sprayer did not have, and dirt and debris got into my spray handle and clogged the sprayer. Last, but not least, the pressure relief valve works great. It slowly releases the pressure without spraying any liquid. My last sprayer would spurt pesticide out of the relief valve. The all brass handle, valve, wand, and spray tip doesn't look very fancy, but it's very well made, works great, and doesn't leak or drip at all. My only complaint is that the hose is somewhat stiff. Not a big issue, but a more flexible hose would be nice. And I wish that the spray wand was longer. I find myself bending down to do cracks and crevices on the ground. I'm going to see if they sell longer replacement wants. Finally, the spray tip is a round spray pattern. I prefer a fan pattern, so I'm going to see if that is available as an add-on. Overall, a great sprayer for my needs.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 8 of 8 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Dissapointed- Drips too much for indoors
    By Steve on 02/18/2015
    Verified Purchase

    Pressure is good but can't use it inside at all. It drips like crazy. Doesn't spray a fine mist really, only good at spraying a stream. I'm dissapointed thinking a little higher priced model would work. I dumped the mix into a cheap store sprayer that used to have mix in it for indoors. Pretty sad when a sprayer that comes with premix in it, for $10, (Spectricide Home) works better than a "premier" sprayer.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    Unfortunately, very few sprayers will have a complete shut-off at the end. When you release the handle, any liquid that remains in the extension wand will still be released. There is a brass fan spray nozzle available for the Chapin Premier sprayer here (#3-6001): http://www.domyownpestcontrol.com/chapin-brass-spray-nozzle-36001-p-1452.html

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 7 of 10 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Caution
    By Timothy on 11/27/2015
    Verified Purchase

    DO NOT Overfill ! If you overfill the container ... as you pressurize it the relief valve will activate and release the contents into your face !

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 7 of 7 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Chapin 1 gallon sprayer
    By Toby on 01/21/2013

    Works as advertised. As another person suggested, I wrapped ALL brass threads with 3 wraps of Teflon tape, snugged them down but didn't ape-tighten them, and no leaks (there's NO need to wrap the plastic threaded bits). Well, there's a tiny bit if you use the 12" wand but that's to be expected since there's fluid inside the wand once the pressure is off. The adjusting sprayer only requires minute adjustment to affect the spray and didn't cause me issues though I can see how it being not so sensitive would help. The Teflon tape helps hold it in play and keep a good seal. I used it with 2 scoops of Cyper WP with one gallon of water and it handled it easy-peasy! Worked great for me and I'd recommend it.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 7 of 7 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Easy sprayer to use
    By James on 07/17/2010
    Verified Purchase

    This sprayer is very easy to use, since the screw top has a wide opening for the threads. This is better than cheaply made sprayers found at box stores that have leaky threads next to the pump, because the wider Chapin lid requires less torque to open. The lid on this sprayer does not leak due to the o-ring. The pump handle is good quality and made of a metal material painted black. The quality Chapin Premier brass sprayer's fittings went together smoothly. The adjustable spray pattern allows me to quickly place the product exactly where needed. This product was so easy to use, I bought one for my son to use at his new house. He loves his too, and has not seen a bug since application of the barrier around the outside!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 6 of 6 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Order the fan spray tip!
    By Paul on 06/29/2012
    Verified Purchase

    I purchased this sprayer with Demand CS to control insects along the perimeter of my home. I wrongly assumed that this came with a fan tip, but it doesn't. You will need to order this and the #3-6001 Fan Spray nozzle to really use this. Wish they had recommended that so I didn't have to wait an extra week. The sprayer is a great quality unit and once I had the fan nozzle, it worked great!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 6 of 7 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Good Quality Sprayer
    By Lucy on 05/04/2014
    Verified Purchase

    I purchased this sprayer because I want to do my own exterior pest control mainly to eliminate webs in my patio, around my mailbox, etc. To get the hang of it, I filled it with water and tested it out. I'm extremely pleased with this sprayer: it's a good solid product that will most likely last for years, everything fit securely so there was no leaking or dripping and the spray nozzle has two good settings - a 'mist' and a stream.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 6 of 6 people found this review helpful:

    3 of 5 Stars   Chapin 21210XP Drips and Puddles for Indoor Use
    By Bob on 09/17/2015

    Good sturdy sprayer but I would only recommend it for outdoor use. If you try to use it indoors be prepared for a mess. Reasons for my above statement: 1. Drips product after you release the trigger causing a good size release of product on your floor and puddles. 2. The adjustable spray nozzle doesn't adjust to a light stream. You either get a heavy stream (resulting in large puddles of product) or if you adjust the nozzle for a spray, you end up with a spray that is 10 to 12", way too much for indoor use. I talked to Chapin customer service and they are willing to work with you to resolve the problems. BUT all of their suggestions i.e. try a different spray nozzle, try a new trigger handle, did not fix the dripping/puddle issue. And the issue of product spray which is way too large for indoor use has not been resolved. Why can't Chapin come up with an adjustable spray nozzle that will give you a 6" spray pattern or a light stream? Seams like a pretty easy fix to me and one that I would pay for... I have an old $15 Round Up sprayer that really does works better than the Chapin sprayer. It doesn't drip product and the nozzle spray pattern works better for my indoor spray projects. Again, if you need a sprayer for outdoor use that seems well built and will last a long time, then this is probably a good purchase. But until Chapin fixes the above issues, I wouldn't recommend anyone using this sprayer indoors.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    3 of 5 Stars   Chapin 1 Gal Sprayer
    By Keith on 05/22/2014
    Verified Purchase

    Well built. Suitable sprayer for outside only in my opinion. The spray tip dribbles after release of the handle, making a pretty good puddle. The nozzle cannot be adjusted to a very fine spray for indoor work, too much volume and dripping. I'm a former PC tech and just spoiled by the much more pricier B&G equipment.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 6 people found this review helpful:

    3 of 5 Stars   Happy for the most part
    By Mickey on 08/31/2010
    Verified Purchase

    Verry well built sprayer, Should give me years of service. Mostly for outdoor use,The tip is adjustable but sprays too much volume for indoor use. Called to check on purchasing A differant tip but there is not one. The more you turn it down the wider the spray pattern gets and tends to drip. I plan on ordering A new tip to rule out defects.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Chapin Premire Sprayer #21210
    By Nate on 11/13/2012
    Verified Purchase

    When using the sprayer it drips from the tip. They sent me a new tip but I am still having the same problem.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Chapin Sprayer
    By Bob on 04/07/2014
    Verified Purchase

    Only used once so far but was very pleased with its performance. High quality sprayer.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Not Good
    By Jim on 08/25/2015

    First the item arrived with out hose clamp. I had to call manufacture because 'domyownpestcontrol" said it was not their problem. They mailed me the part but it gets in the way on the handle and cheep fix to an improperly produced item. Once assembled a week latter the spray is terrible. It is adjustable so I can put out whatever stream needed but it dribbles out a small puddle after every use. So if you are spraying inside you will have a big mess every time you stop spraying. I can't recommended this item even for just occasional use as it not a good 1 gallon sprayer.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    We apologize the sprayer was missing a part and did not work up to your expectations. We can see that you did speak briefly with one of our customer service team members and they recommended you speak with Chapin so they could troubleshoot the sprayer with you as they are the experts on their sprayers and are great about helping our customers with any issue they may have with a sprayer. We in no way meant to suggest that we would not help you with any issues you did have. Please call us at 866-581-7378 at your convenience so we can work on a solution that is satisfactory to you. We truly appreciate your feedback and your business! Please note: The small amount of leaking you noticed is from the liquid that is left in the wand after you release the trigger. We would recommend that you choose a sprayer with a dripless shutoff for future use if the dripping is problematic for you. These types of sprayers have a cable that runs down the tubing to the tip of the nozzle to prevent dripping when you release the trigger. http://www.domyownpestcontrol.com/bg-sprayers-c-29_189_269.html

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    3 of 5 Stars   OK for outside
    By Scott on 05/27/2013

    It is just OK for outside. Fittings come loose a lot and end up leaking all over the place. This will leave a mess if you use it indoors. Can be adjusted to spray a good distance outdoors, but nozzle needs constant adjusting as it changes the width of the spray quite often. For $50 I'm disappointed.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   chapin premier 1 gallon sprayer #21210
    By James on 09/24/2012
    Verified Purchase

    This sprayer is excellent as far as the tank and top seal, but the brass sprayer is faulty. When you release the spray handel it keeps dripping. This is not a good thing when using insectisides, or weed killers. I have e-mailed Chapin and Do my own pest control, and am still awaiting an answer on how do I replace this part of the spayer. I guess no one cares or they are just slow in answering. Over all this would be a great spayer if all the part worked or would be replaced with working parts.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   I sent it back
    By Lowell on 07/04/2014
    Verified Purchase

    I was really displeased with the quality. The hose was very stiff and not reinforced at possible breaking points. The nozzle leaked after releasing the handle and also when making a flow adjustment. I would be fearful using the sprayer with toxic chemicals so I sent it back .

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Chapin Premier 1 Gallon Sprayer
    By Norm on 04/04/2013

    Received defect sprayer. Called customer service, spoke with Krystal. She was very understanding with my problem, She had a replacement sprayer shipped out the same day. Customer service doesn't get any better than this. I have made previous purchases from this company, there product line is TOP QUALITY ! 5 STARS in my book !

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   MR.
    By Kennydoan on 04/01/2014
    Verified Purchase

    Excellent services and good products.Will be comming back.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Well made sprayer with a few problems
    By on 08/20/2013
    Verified Purchase

    Overall I really like this sprayer. It's a bit heftier than the cheapos at the big box stores, and the pump is nice and smooth. I love the pressure release, too. Unfortunately, the sprayer nozzle is lacking. It has a fairly wide spray pattern, and although it is supposedly adjustable I found very little variation in the pattern when 'adjusting'. It also drips a lot when the trigger is released, which is a no-no when spraying herbicide. I am hoping to replace the nozzle with a better one.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Happy with my Chapin Premier 1 Gallon Sprayer
    By Richard on 01/08/2014
    Verified Purchase

    I was a exterminator many years ago; I recently had a need for an exterminating tank to spray for some unwanted pest. I purchased one of DoMyOwnPestControl.com's "Chapin Premier 1 Gallon Sprayers" and I am very happy with the results; I am once again a "Happy Camper."

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   smaller nozzle
    By Jim on 10/03/2015

    The sprayer is good but i would like a nozzle that sprays a much smaller area of fine mist....do they make another nozzle.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    Chapin does make several different nozzles. Give us a call at 866-581-7378 and let us know where you will be spraying and our staff can help you pick the correct nozzle for your needs. http://www.domyownpestcontrol.com/chapin-sprayer-parts-c-29_189_191.html

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Solid and substantial, works great, has a warranty
    By Misty on 01/31/2016

    Cost is twice the cheaper sprayers like Round up, but the hose is better quality and stronger and the brass fittings which are replaceable, make it worth it. The only thing that might be a negative is that the handle is a little thin. All that said, I wish I had purchased this a long time ago instead of several less expensive sprayers.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    2 of 5 Stars   Spray tip nozzle trouble and missing strap
    By Pablo on 09/07/2011
    Verified Purchase

    With the sprayer came a list of things that should have been inside the box. The one thing missing that was on the list but not inside the box was a strap. As for the sprayer, I have to keep adjusting the spray tip nozzle because it doesn't seem to stay at the point where I left it at.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 151 reviews)