Home » Sprayers & Equipment » Sprayers » Chapin Sprayers » Chapin Tree/Turf Pro 4 Gallon BackPack Sprayer (#62000) » All Reviews

Customer Reviews for Chapin Tree/Turf Pro 4 Gallon BackPack Sprayer (#62000)

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   30
4 stars   8
3 stars   2
2 stars   1
1 star   2
 
Average Customer Rating
4.5 of 5 stars
(43 customer reviews)

Write a Review


Sort By:

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 43 reviews)

  • 24 of 24 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Great value, well built, many options
    By Astute on 06/26/2011
    Verified Purchase

    I had one of these for 10 years, before I bought this one. I had forgot the previous one on the ground behind my truck & had driven over it :_( The current model is even BETTER than my last one. It has a pressure gauge on the handle and the pressure stays constant throughout the spraying process. So the application of chemicals is even and consistent. That results in a more economic use of the chemicals. It also has an internal pressure adjustment, to set the maximum PSI delivered to the tank. And since the piston is separate from the chemical tank, the o-rings and seals last longer (no chemical attack). Best yet - Do My Own Pest Control price matched the best price that I found on the web!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 19 of 19 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Chapin Tree/Turf Pro BackPack Sprayer (#62000)
    By Frank on 05/15/2011
    Verified Purchase

    Assembly was easy. I had taken adjustments in three steps. This was the first time I ever used a back pack, (empty, half then full). Very comfortable and easy to use. Was able to spray at a steady flow for inside the house. Then I adjusted the nozzle to spray 25 feet into the face aboard, we HAD carpenter bees. No more bees. An exterminator wanted $700.00 just to get rid of the bees. Now for 20% of that cost I have enough fire power to treat my home (inside and out) and all the trees and shrubs for the next five years and still be ahead of the game.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 9 of 9 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Great
    By Art on 07/26/2011
    Verified Purchase

    The Chapin Backpac works great. I use it for every thing. Easy clean up. Plenty of power. Would suggest others to purchase this product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 7 of 7 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   A Back Saver
    By on 06/04/2013

    I purchased my Chapin Tree/Turf Pro Backpack Sprayer when my pump sprayer quit on me. I had never used a backpack sprayer before but always wanted to try one. I have three acres with several fence rows to maintain and wow what a difference. The Chapin Tree/Turf Pro is great and saves me time stopping to pump. It is ideal for larger jobs holding four gallons of liquid and is much easier on the back than a shoulder strap sprayer. It also comes with various nozzles for different spray patterns and the pressure can be adjusted for higher spraying. The only thing I have a problem with is getting it on my back. I'm in my 60's and not as agile as I once was.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 7 of 7 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Chapin 62000 Sprayer, should have had it years ago
    By Ted on 02/17/2013
    Verified Purchase

    The tank has been great. Good quality. I have a bad back and the hip strap takes the weight off of your back. Pressure stays constant which makes application faster and easy. Brass wand is much nicer that my old plastic one since it is ridged. I have several acres and it has saved me lots of time over the small hand held tank that I have always used. It exposes you to less to the chemicals because you have to fill it less often than a small tank. Free shipping was nice with the tracking.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 6 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Worst Design
    By Nick on 08/04/2014
    Verified Purchase

    I replaced my inexpensive back pack sprayer with a "Professional Grade", or so I thought. The sprayer/pump work fine, no issues there. My complaint is the back pack straps, worst design. I load it up to 4 gallons. The elastic straps on the back are already showing wear after using it 4 times. The chest strap chokes your neck. The lower back support sits up way to high and isn't adjustable with out adjusting the shoulder straps.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    3 of 5 Stars   Backpack sprayer
    By on 08/03/2013
    Verified Purchase

    The backpack style sprayer works good, less trips to refill the pack. Straps need to be redesigned, fits but not comfortable.Used with full tank,too heavy for me.2 gallons was perfect,Heavy duty constructions.Now the lower rating.I noted that other reviews said the handle pivot broke.Mine broke on 2nd tank.Should use a hd cotters pin. Will contact mfg. if you know of a weak point,why not fix it?other wise love this pack,great range for shoting up into trees.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Very pleased
    By Anon on 07/24/2014
    Verified Purchase

    I have 70+ rose bushes, so effective spraying equipment is a must to obtain good results from my roses. I have blown through numerous 2 gallon hand held sprayers. I'll never again buy from this type of equipment from the local home improvement stores. That type of equipment is a waste of time. The Chapin 4 gallon backpack sprayer is a quality product, has great pressure control features, great internal filtering to extend part life and avoid clogging, a good quality hose and wand, and a reasonable backpack harness. I'd recommend this to anyone with significant spraying needs. Instead of having to mix multiple batches, I can make one or two batches and spray all the way through. I consider the $88.50 to be a real bargain.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Great!
    By Vp on 05/13/2014
    Verified Purchase

    Wow! This sprayer makes the chore of spreading Round-up all about our weedy acre a quick and painless task. I am 63" tall and not overly weighty, and I can easily fill the sprayer with three gallons, connect the waist and chest straps, and walk merrily about pumping and spraying. The backpack sprayer, by the way, came with all straps connected. I merely had to snap the waist strap to the unit and it was ready to go. Thanks for a grrreat product and also grrreat shipping.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Pleasantly surprised
    By Mark on 06/09/2015
    Verified Purchase

    I ordered my sprayer on 5/19/2015 and it arrived a few days later. I had been ill the past few years unable to tend to my yard as I should have and I now have more weeds than grass in my front yard; the back's been more resilient. I have one of those 3 gallon pump sprayers that I purchased at Home Depot and I was attempting to treat our 1/3 acre lot. It was going way too slow. You're supposed to treat after 2 weeks (using the poison I was using) and it was easily going to take me that long to do my yard for one application. I figured --all told-- it would take me 16-20 man hours to do a good job (including refilling the tank over and over again). With this thing I was able to treat every square inch of grass in 2-3 hours (including refilling). Plus I used round-up around my privet bushes, some of the other landcaping, driveway and sidewalk (it's a corner lot, so there's a lot of that) in about an hour. This came with a pressure valve to keep the flow steady. I've not tried to use my new sprayer without it but it does a very good job. Before using the sprayer to lay poison, I practiced with water on the driveway to get a feel of the coverage. With a little practice you feel like an expert. I still use my 3 gallon pump sprayer for jobs that need very tight control. We have some mulched landscaping where plants are very close together and I can apply round-up very accurately and sparingly with it. But I might be able to do the same with this sprayer should I take the pressure valve out of it and use low pressure. That's an experiment I'll try very soon. I can't say or write enough good things about this sprayer. The nozzle will either mist, run course or stream as you need (I use coarse most of the time to prevent over-spray when using broad-spectrum herbicides). I would suggest putting this together and trying it on before you fill the tank. You'll find you might need to experiment with what's comfortable. I find the hip belt takes most of the weight but the chest belt is very useful, too, keeping the pump closer to your back and center of gravit. Also, don't fill the tank up to 4 gallons until you find what you can comfortably heft by yourself. And practice with water first just to see how it works, feels, and covers. It'll take some getting used to if you never used one before. But you'll get the hang of it quickly, this is a very intuitive piece of equipment to use (although I had problems setting up the harness correctly). What a boost to productivity this thing has been! Spraying the yard is no longer a chore but something I actually look forward to. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Excellent service, Excellect product
    By Spikes on 07/14/2014
    Verified Purchase

    Found this website in search and checked a couple of other sites, DoMyOwnPestControl had the best price, shipped and arrived before expected. The product was an upgraded version of what I could get locally for a small increase in price.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   awesome backpack. Had some issues initially
    By Luke on 12/06/2012
    Verified Purchase

    The backpack is solid. Definitely better than the comparably priced one at Lowes. A lot of little features, such as improved straps, brass wand, and constant pressure regulator, that cheaper brands don't have. When I first got it, It came with two right shoulder straps. Emailed Chapman directly about it, and they sent me a new strap within a week or 2. Used it anyway initially with the incorrect strap and was able to accomplish in 30 minutes and 2 tanks what had taken me 2 hours using the little 1 gallon hand pumped sprayer I got at Lowes months before for $8.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   #62000 really dispenses lawn products with ease.
    By Mike on 05/23/2012
    Verified Purchase

    The hand valve,wand,constant flow valve with fan nozzle work like a charm. You won't miss awkward hose end sprayers and small pump up jugs on larger yards. With 4 gallons unit is tough to put on. Set it up high on a bench and back into it to put on. Top shoulder pads could be more spongey for comfort. Wand clip location doesn't seem correct. Overall, unit is very solidly constructed. Great tool for the money.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Chapin BackPack Sprayer
    By Dennis on 01/20/2013
    Verified Purchase

    This is an excellent backpack sprayer. It's easy to use, comfortable straps, nice adjustable spray tip and a pressure gauge. I really enjoy using this sprayer and get the job done in very little time. Thanks for the information on the reviews it help me make my decision easy.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Excellent Product
    By Mark on 06/02/2014
    Verified Purchase

    I have a B&G for household pest control. And the Chapin for my gardening needs. You can't beat either.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Better than hiring someone
    By Mike on 04/28/2014
    Verified Purchase

    Quick and easy assembly. Filled up and sprayed the backyard & property for the first time. Worked as it was supposed to. Found the harness to ride up a bit (i'm 6'2"). Not greatest part of the unit but as long as you don't have to strap in on for several hours on a daily basis its's fine. Would recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   A bigger sprayer
    By Steven on 03/22/2012
    Verified Purchase

    With spring almost here and the weeds are starting to grow, having moved to a place with a larger yard, my little sprayer wasn't going to cut it. I searched the web and found the Chapin backpack sprayer. Do my Own Pest Control had the best price that I could find. I ordered it and received the sprayer in a few days. The sprayer works great. I was able to do the job in a fraction of the time. The sprayer has no leaks and is easy to operate. The harness is much more comfortable than I expected. I had no sore spots or back pain. Highly recommended!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Chapin sprayer
    By on 07/08/2013
    Verified Purchase

    I have been using this backpack spayer now for a few weeks and it is so much nicer than a carry type when doing my perimeter pest control. However, there are 2 very minor issues with it. 1. Cannot drain from the bottom, which makes it a bit more difficult to clean out. 2. The clips that hold the backpack harness to the metal frame come unclipped when putting the harness on, if not extremely careful when slipping the harness onto the opposite shoulder. Other than that, this thing works very well and has made my chores of spraying insecticide and herbicide so much easier. I would definitely recommend this unit. It is comfortable and works as advertised.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Chapin Tree/Turf Pro Backkpack Sprayer
    By on 08/27/2013
    Verified Purchase

    Sprayer sprays good. A little challenge getting on. Works best putting up on table or something and backing into it to put on. Belt thing around bottom tends to get tangled up. It is kind of cumbersome. Would be nice to have a handle on it somewhere for carrying. Beats the kind that you have to stop and pump up all the time.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Excellent way to spray large areas
    By Bob on 10/29/2014
    Verified Purchase

    I purchased the Chapin Pro 4 (#62000) because I wanted to kill the existing grass and weeds in an acre I wanted to reseed. I also needed to kill off brush/scrub trees forming a hedge bordering my property. The Chapin sprayer held a good amount of solution and made covering a large area practical and easy. You pump every minute or 2 to keep pressure, but the effort and ease are no problem or hard work. The construction seems good and the backpack feels relatively comfortable carrying the full amount (4 gallons). I would highly recommend this product, especially for those covering a large (1/4 plus acre) area or who are tired of using a typical hand pumping unit that you have to refill often. Great product, price and service from Do My Own Pest Control!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Good backpack sprayer
    By Dave on 03/14/2016

    The large opening makes it easy to fill. The folding handle makes it easy to store. The constant flow regulator will be a must on all future sprayer purchases for me; results are far more consistent with it. In general, the sprayer is reasonably comfortable to use. I have no significant complaints.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Chapin Tree/Turf Pro 4 Gallon Backpack Sprayer (6200)
    By David on 08/20/2015

    I have had 2 backpack sprayers from two different outlets. One was from Lowes it was the Round up sprayer. Lasted one season. The other one was from Home Depot this was a Solo. This lasted one season . I was looking on Google and You tube for a sprayer and came across the Chapin. This sprayer is best out off them all. What I like about this Chapin is the easy use off the lever when spraying and pumping. The wand is made off brass not plastic and will not leak or break under pressure when pumping. You can also fill it up to 4 gallons and spray a big area with Round Up weed killer. This sprayer will last me a good long time . If I need another new one will buy this model again. When it is on your back with Round up it is easy to carry around and pumping and the same time the straps came all put together .I have found many places selling these and found that Do My Own Pest Control was the best price and free shipping. The service is out standing. If you are looking for a good sprayer take a good look at this one .I really like this sprayer. I am not disappointed with this sprayer .It does what it suppose to do. I can't say anything bad about this sprayer just love it. Wife also loves it too so it must be good. Money well spent .

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Great Product, great for any job!
    By Joseph on 10/01/2015

    I been in the Pest Control Industry for over 20years, this is by far better than the Birchmeir backpacks but at a fraction of the cost. Its great being able to customize how you want your pressure set at, and also having the pressure regulator on the wand. Chapin wins with this unit. Purchase this unit you wont be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Chapin BackPack Sprayer #62000
    By Tom on 04/30/2013
    Verified Purchase

    Good service and good quality. DMOPC shipped my purchase the next day. The instructions were complete and made easy assembly. The sprayer is well made and should give years of service. It worked as good as I had hoped.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    2 of 5 Stars   Not what I was expecting..
    By Corey on 06/01/2016

    I received this product in hopes that it would do what I was looking for in a sprayer. However, this sprayer does not hold pressure. It seems like you do more pumping than spraying. I thought it was human error, but after re-reading the instructions and making sure I had everything set up correctly, it still didn't work right. Silly me, ran 1 round of bug killer through it because of thinking this would be what I wanted. Contacted Chapin though phone (left a message with no return phone call) Emailed Chapin with no reply back from them. Very disappointed in Chapin's product and customer service. This isn't a negative review for DoMyOwnPestControl (as they have been fantastic to deal with). Just disappointed with this sprayer. The only reason for 2 stars is because if this would have worked better, the capacity it held would have been perfect for what I needed.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 0 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   sprayer
    By Joseph on 05/19/2016

    I have not tries the sprayer , but I know it will be great. The only problem was that UPS left the package in the rain and the box was ruined. I am sure all is well. TY joe d

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 Stars   sprayer
    By H on 09/14/2016

    I really like my Chapin 4 gallon sprayer I save so much time. It takes about an hour to do the property It used to take around Three, I save Money by doing my own spraying And most important I know the mix is correct . I do the job every 30 days. I actually look forward to doing it .I see no ants or any crawling critters thanks much Hank Allison

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 5 Stars   good sprayer - poor quality of components
    By Jim on 06/21/2016

    The unit worked awesome the first time I used it. Then I ran into problems. First, the plastic elbow connector on the spray wand stripped. I only hand tightened it so it wasn't like I used too much force on it. Then the plastic locking mechanism on the spray handle snapped. Finally, and worst of all, the holes on both the handle and the shaft where they attach enlarged from the stress of pumping, and now the unit is nearly impossible to pump. I called Chapin customer support and they are sending me replacement parts. I'm hoping that the replacement parts are of better quality than the originals. The CS rep at Chapin did say the shaft/pump handle attachment had been redesigned so I'm assuming that is a common/known issue. I'm very disappointed with initial quality. When buying a "pro" sprayer I expected better craftsmanship and durability. But I am pleased with Chapin's willingness to correct the issues and stand behind their product. DoMyOwnPestControl customer service was great too and offered to take back the unit. But, I'm going to give the replacement parts a try. I really did like how it worked the first time.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 Stars   TIME SAVER
    By Bill on 07/15/2016

    I BOUGHT THIS SPRAYER BECAUSE WE HAVE A 1/2 ACRE PRPERTY AND I WAS TIRED OF FOOLING WITH THE PREVIOUS SPRAYER THAT TOOK FOREVER TO CONTROL THE WEEDS. THE CHAPLIN / TURF 4 CUT MY TIME TO ABOUT 1/3 OF WHAT IT WAS BEFORE. IT WORKED JUST LIKE I HAD HOPED IT WOULD.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 5 Stars   One Strong Arm
    By Val on 07/07/2016

    I HATE THIS SPRAYER! I had a solo backpack that finally blew up after about 12 or so years. I read the reviews on this one and decided to "step up" so to speak. I thought the CF valve was awesome and it would conserve product and get the same end results. Not the case. It seems to spray way more. I could deal with that. What I can't deal with is the constant pumping you have to do to spray. No one talked about that. It sucks! Why would you want to pump the whole time you're spraying. Most sprayers will require a few pumps and spray for a long time. Not this one. If you stop pumping it stops spraying. I just wasted $94.00 because I am going buy another Solo sprayer. THE WORST SPRAYER I HAVE OWNED!!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 43 reviews)