Home » Rodents » Mouse Poison/Bait » Contrac Blox Rodenticide » All Reviews

Customer Reviews for Contrac Blox Rodenticide

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   124
4 stars   21
3 stars   4
2 stars   2
1 star   2

Best of
the Best
Average Customer Rating
4.7 of 5 stars
(153 customer reviews)

Write a Review

Contrac Blox Rodenticide
$97.40

Free Shipping!  Free Shipping!

Info / Buy Now


Sort By:

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 153 reviews)

  • 64 of 70 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Mice like it. But...
    By Robert on 02/24/2009

    I live in a row-house and have an on and off again love-hate relationship with mice. They love me. I hate them. I put these Contrac Blox in my detached garage and almost every morning they are nibbled at (there is a field behind the garages). They eat it but is it true that if the bait goes stale you have to throw it out? Does it become ineffective? How long? Is there an expiration date on the pail? I would hate to buy the 18 lb size and then have to throw most of it out. Help?

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    The fact that the bait is being eaten every day is a good sign. Mice will not die immediately after eating rodenticide baits, and will probably die somewhere out in the field on their way back to the burrow. Contrac lasts about 2 years in the bucket. When placing the bait, the manufacturer recommends that the bait be changed out every 40-60 days.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 56 of 57 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   This stuff is the best!
    By Denis on 05/12/2010
    Verified Purchase

    Living in a restaurant filled neighborhood in DC with unkempt neighbors on both sides of our house led to our backyard becoming a rat highway. It got so bad that we would have 6 or 7 running across every 5 mins. all night - and they were getting closer and closer to the house. We looked at all kinds of new fencing options only to realize it wouldn't have made a difference since they'd probably just burrow underneath it. We bought this and in less than 1 week's time, we have abolished every rat! We only had one meet his maker in the yard that we had to dispose of, the other hundred or so wandered off to die. It's been close a month now and we still have not seen one. This stuff is BAD A@!.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 38 of 39 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Mice are gone!
    By Tom on 08/23/2005

    We were getting rundown with field mice from the lot next to our home. Traps were not getting the job done. After 2 weeks using Contrac Blox Rodenticide the mice were gone....Thanx

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 32 of 32 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   The "TRUTH"
    By Tarik on 03/13/2010
    Verified Purchase

    This stuff is the truth. I've tried the Rex traps and other traps but those other methods just didn't get the job done. I live in a duplex with joining garages and my neighbor had dog food which attracted the rats. They were multiplying faster than I could trap them. I bought Contrac and placed them in stacks of three around my garage also stacked six of them where the garages joined. The next day the six were gone. I replaced the six with six more, they disappeared. Within five days not a sign of rats or droppings. I didn't even have to dispose of the dead rats. This is a winner!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 26 of 28 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Best I have seen
    By Harold on 11/09/2006

    This is the best I have seen. I had a bucket of Contrac Blox rodenticide sitting in the barn and the rats ate a hole in the top of the bucket.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 14 of 14 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   No more mice. Period.
    By Doc on 05/26/2010
    Verified Purchase

    Mice became "midnight visitors" in our custom house, along with our neighbors, once a large tree near our property was felled. On our block, we just don't get mice, or any other unwanted intruders, so we became unsettled thinking we were living among these little guys. We tried havahart traps, tin-cats, snap traps, just about the whole kitchen sink but we still saw one or two around, knowing that meant there were many more nearby. We hired not one, but 2 exterminators on several different occasions who assured us that their poison (Warfarin) would do the trick. Again, it helped a little, but there was more work to be done. These "blox" did it. 10 days, no more mice. It's that simple. We didn't want to poison them, but at some point, knowing they were living amongst us and seeing droppings in our baby's room sealed the deal. If you truly want to be rid of "tough" resistant NYC mice, this is the product. Hands down.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 13 of 15 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Contrac Blox Are the Best!
    By Jim on 08/09/2010
    Verified Purchase

    I have a rat phobia and NEEDED a product that worked. Contrac-Blox is it! One problem, though. I live in an avocado grove and had a bad infestation. Each morning, all six boxes of poison was empty and I would fill them up daily. When the UNTOLD NUMBER of rats began dying a few days later, my property smelled horrible for two weeks. Simple fix: With a bad infestation, only replace the bait every four or five days or use less bait stations. That should meter the number of dead rats and any given time to minimize any unfavorable odors. It might take an extra week or two to kill them all, but the olfactory aesthetics might be worth it! Bottom line: Contrac-Blox works very well, just don't overuse it, or it works TOO well!!! And, that is good!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 11 of 13 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Works very well at reducing mice population
    By Bill on 12/12/2008

    Contrac Blox Rodenticide works very well in reducing the mouse population. However, I have not been able to rid myself of mice completely. It has been 3 months and I have put out more bait and thrown out stale bait. How long before the bait gets stale anyway? Any tips from anyone would be appreciated.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    Since it is a food source, bait will spoil. A cool and dry environment will help prolong the shelf life.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 9 of 9 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   The problem is gone!!!!
    By Katya on 04/26/2013

    I had huge rats and mice running all over my house. It was so many of them. We got this product and within a week I haven't seen a thing. We purposely left food on the table overnight but everything stayed untouched. THEY ARE GONE. The product worked 100%.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 9 of 9 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Why buy at home centers?
    By Jerry on 03/02/2011
    Verified Purchase

    The price is way cheap compared to the home centers. Delivery is free and fast. What else is there to say?

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 9 of 9 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Great product
    By Bob on 06/08/2010
    Verified Purchase

    The Contrac Blox Rodenticide is keeping rats out of my house and out of my yard. It is easy to use, and rats love it. An additional benefit (in my opinion) is that small ground squirrels which were undermining my hill, worked their way into one of the bait stations and the Contrac blox got rid of them as well.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 9 of 9 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Must be good
    By Eddie on 07/08/2007

    It must be good. The rats chewed through the plastic lid of the Contrac Blox bucket which I had left hanging off the peg board wall.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 9 of 9 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Works great for mice
    By K.r. on 08/28/2008

    Contrac Blox Rodenticide works great in controlling mice at a mountain cabin.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 7 of 23 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Does Not Help
    By Sheila on 07/11/2012

    The rodent population in my yard think Contrac Blox Rodenticide is a joke. I see no evidence that any has been consumed and the "crew" did not seem to have any intention of leaving until I called the professionals. Terminix has been called in and will guarantee their work inside and out. This is what I should have done in the first place. Since Terminix did their treatment things are improving and they will also remove any "bodies" and return as often as needed without additional charge. Return policy is terrible. Products must be unopened to be returned. How do you know if the product is reliable until you try it? Satisfaction is not guaranteed at DoMyOwnPestControl. So if you decide to place and order remember Caveat emptor "Buyer Beware"!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 7 of 8 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Did the trick
    By Jim on 04/22/2011
    Verified Purchase

    Nibble here, nibble there, dead mouse here, dead mouse there.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 7 of 10 people found this review helpful:

    2 of 5 Stars   Not Adequate
    By Sid on 09/26/2015

    I have a small bricked in patio 18x18 with a planterbed all the way around....for 18 years i have fought rats on and off and they never go away entirely no matter how vigilant. One of the problems is that this poison will never kill an entire group. I think it is a combination of things - but two things have become clear to me...rats are smart and this productis too watered down. The poison that is sold to regular consumers is weak. The good stuff (white powder version) that they walk in and then groom eachother back in the next, is the same but at a much stronger concentration...BUT IT IS NOT SOLD TO ANYONE WITHOUT A SPECIAL CERTIFICATION. This results in a situation in which you can't get enough of it to do the job because pest control guys put out only a little which has the effect of increasing their business. Sorry to be so cynical...but after 18 years of this problem...i am confident about what i am saying.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    We are sorry to hear you are having such a hard time controlling the rodent population on your property. Please don't be discouraged in your efforts! Contrac is not a consumer product, it is a professional product used by pest control companies. Having said that, we would recommend you use a product that has a much faster kill to wipe out the rat population quickly as you seem to live in a high population area. Fastrac works within 12-24 hours. Contrac by comparison can take up to 7 days. You should also make a few environmental changes to make your home less favorable to these rodents. You can learn more about these changes by reading our Rat Treatment Guide and our Rat prevention Guide: http://www.domyownpestcontrol.com/how-to-get-rid-of-rats-a-525.html http://www.domyownpestcontrol.com/rat-prevention-guide-a-526.html Please let us know if we can be of further assistance after you review these guides. We are always happy to help!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 6 of 6 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Pro-Recommended.
    By Russell on 02/23/2016

    A great choice for most all rodent jobs. I've used this in my company for many years with no problems. If the blocks set out for a while and mice/rats stop feeding on them, just take a knife and slightly trim each side of the block.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 6 of 7 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Best mouse poison
    By Stephanie on 08/17/2007
    Verified Purchase

    I used to buy Contrac Blox in the store, but had not been able to find it.  It is the best mouse poison.  I hate to poison them, but we have camps and they ruin everything. I am so happy to have found it online.  It is the only poison that works well for my sisters and me [3 camps]. The mice that is!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 6 of 7 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Contrac Blox Rodenticide
    By Dan on 10/30/2013

    I have been using this product for over five years. I haven't had any mice in the house during this time frame. An important feature for me is that it is pet safe.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 6 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Great value - worked perfect!
    By David on 08/30/2011
    Verified Purchase

    Great value - great product. I use this to rid my property of grey squirels and chipmunks, and it works great. This is the only product I have found that is tempting to chipmunks. Works great!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Contrac Blox Rodenticide
    By Bernadette on 11/01/2010
    Verified Purchase

    Thank you so much for this wonderful product. We have been using it for quite a while and have gotten rid of a lot of mice all over the ranch. We live in the country and it has really done good by us. Again thanks.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Trusted Product.
    By Russell on 03/17/2016

    A great choice for most all rodent jobs. I've used this in my company for many years with no problems. If the blocks set out for a while and mice/rats stop feeding on them, just take a knife and slightly trim each side of the block.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Great product!
    By Jose on 03/21/2016

    I own a ranch n this is the best product out in the market to control mices, n rats... I put this all around the barns n my house to keep them away. Very helpful.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   vole killer
    By Jeff on 02/04/2016

    Fast delivery and great price. Great for a do it yourselfer like me. Less than the cost of two visits from a professional. This product works well and is used by professionals. Be sure to use a bait box to keep other animals safe. Wear gloves.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Contrac Blox Rodenticide
    By Catherine on 10/15/2011

    First I tried traps, then I tried drowning them, then I tried a first generation poison; then I found Contrac. I am delighted with the product. You can break the blocks in half, cover them with a thin smear of peanut butter and ground squirrels will actually fight over who gets to eat the product. I think they're gone from my property but it appears I might be getting a few from neighboring properties so I'm doing a fall and spring "get rid of them" campaign. Be sure to wear "rubber" gloves.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Better than most
    By Nelson on 12/23/2015

    Definitely slowed down the number of mice that I was seeing during the day. Still have activity on the blocks so maybe it will eliminate them in time.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Eliminated mice / rats from my home
    By Kevin on 01/16/2016

    I bought an 18 lb bucket and six stations two years ago. I have not had a problem with the bait going stale, but I will replace a 1/2 eaten block if it's old. We had Norway rats and mice in our house after we moved in. I put the bait out, and within two weeks the signs of rats/mice were gone. We have had no trouble with rodents since then, but there is activity outside the house often. I check the bait stations every weekend during higher activity times of the year, and once every couple of weeks in lower activity times of the year. At this rate, we use an 18 lb bucket every two years.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Gopher demise
    By Harold on 07/22/2012

    Your product is succeeding in diminishing in one week the population of wood or pack rats. But the even more welcome results are from inserting your pellets into gopher burrows, and in one week see the activity cease. Your rep was not permitted to recommend this for gophers but you should change that restriction. Thanks, HES

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Rats are gone
    By Gary on 10/14/2014

    This product works well, we see very little activity going on within the bait stations, and have not seen signs of rodents inside our shop after giving this product time to work. This is our second purchase of this product and we will continue using it.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   great product
    By Cliff on 12/06/2014

    I place Contrac in my bait stations with Final. Rodents seem to prefer the Final over the Contrac but, they still eat the Contrac, which does a very effective job, and I like to give the rodents on my farm a choice of their poison.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 153 reviews)