Home » Drain Flies » DF 5000 Drain Gel » All Reviews

Customer Reviews for DF 5000 Drain Gel

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   79
4 stars   24
3 stars   6
2 stars   5
1 star   16
 
Average Customer Rating
4.1 of 5 stars
(130 customer reviews)

Write a Review

DF 5000 Drain Gel
$25.99

Free Shipping!  Free Shipping!

Info / Buy Now


Sort By:

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 130 reviews)

  • 43 of 45 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Surprise, surprise: eco-friendly stuff won't rid you of drai
    By Steven on 01/03/2012
    Verified Purchase

    We returned from a week's trip to find a shower drain infested w/drain flies for the 1st time. Common-sense remedies (boric acid powder, "Liquid Pipe Snake") didn't work (after several weeks), so I found myself here. Reading the majority of good reviews, I thought I couldn't go wrong. I followed the treatments exactly - but after 5 treatments, the shame of drain flies was back. I had enough left for a couple more days, so I figured that would do it. Nope, they were back in full force - "eco-friendly" cleaning means NOTHING to gnasty gnats! At my final straw, I decided to try an insect spray; trouble was that spraying DOWN into a drain doesn't work, when the can needs to be upright to spray! So, I made a cup out of foil, went outside (to avoid the aerosol smell) & sprayed some "OFF! with DEET" in the cup (2 tbsp or so) & poured it around the perimeter of the drain. Next day - NO FLIES!! I did one more treatment as insurance, but an oz. of DEET was worth 2 lbs. of the DF5000 "cure". The moral? If you want a VERY expensive eco-friendly-drain-fly-house-cleaner, buy DF5000. If you want RID of the DFs, get some cheap "Liquid Plumber Gel" & a can of "OFF!". Clean the drain well, rinse w/hot water, & pour in the "OFF!" to sit overnight. I'm all for eco-friendly, but I'm not coddling drain flies. DR5000 is a TOTAL waste of money, if you REALLY want rid of these horrid pests.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 34 of 36 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   DF 5000 Really Works!!!!
    By Bunny on 07/09/2010

    After cooking for 56 years for my family I suddenly was invaded by many hundreds of Drain Flies for 3 years; coming out of the drain, hitting me in the face, landing in food I was preparing. They don't look or act like fruit flies. They hardly fly, they appear & disappear right in front of your eyes. So you can't see them to kill them?? They set up camp in every drain, on all 3 floors of my home.  A couple of them even flew into my refrigerator.  As a test, I kept the door shut for two hours, figuring I could get a whole DEAD sample to have identified; Guess what..after 2 hours they flew out alive!!  I always used bleach, boiling water, vinegar, baking soda...That didn't prevent them, or get rid of them.  After researching on the WWW, I discovered the info about DF 5000. I followed directions, IT REALLY works. You must treat every drain that 1st week!! Or they WILL move to an untreated drain. It took one season to get rid of them. I'm now reordering & so grateful there is a solution, and especially that it's a Natural One. Greatgrandmabunny

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 25 of 25 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   This works.
    By Db on 06/29/2010

    We've had a residential drain fly problem off and on for a year. We tried numerous things only to have the drain flies return days later. So we were skeptical about DF 5000. But we bought DF 5000 and started to use exactly as directed. (The 4oz dose seems like a lot when you're pouring... but we made sure to use the full amount.) Within a day, there were no flies. It's been three weeks...no flies. We plan to keep up with the recommended maintenance. Order showed up quickly and in good shape. All in all, a better-than-expected experience.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 24 of 28 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Didn't help a bit
    By Ken on 05/02/2010
    Verified Purchase

    It almost seemed like we had a small baby boom of flys after we used the product in our one sink kitchen. I threw twenty bucks down the drain at a time when I couldn't afford it :( sad panda

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    This customer probably did not have drain flies.  This product rarely does not work, if they are coming from the drain.  Other flies can be in a house that are the same size as drain flies.  They could be fruit flies or they could be fungus gnats, which breed from potted plants.  We always recommend performing a test using glue boards over all of the drains in the room before treating.  If you get flies caught on the glue board you leave over the drain at night, then you KNOW it is drain flies and you know what drain to treat.  If you still have flies in the house but you are not catching any on the glue boards, then it is fruit flies or fungus gnats.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 12 of 13 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Great stuff - it works
    By John on 07/27/2010

    This product has worked as advertised. My drain flies have all disappeared.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 7 of 8 people found this review helpful:

    3 of 5 Stars   It had potential
    By Jared on 07/11/2010
    Verified Purchase

    These bugs are relentless. After the initial five days, we thought they were gone, but days later they came back with a vengeance. We're going to try to detach the pipes and scrub before starting the 5 day treatment again. The shipment came super fast and we were happy to get started with the product right away.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 6 of 6 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   DF 5000
    By George on 11/15/2010
    Verified Purchase

    We have been fighting drain flies for over a year and even had the pest control company tell us things to do. A friend told us about Demon and their products so I tried the drain fly kit and it worked. I have ordered two more bottles of the gel and use it every 4 or 5 days and so far the pests are under control. I would highly recommend this product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 6 of 8 people found this review helpful:

    2 of 5 Stars   DF 5000
    By Sharon on 10/02/2010
    Verified Purchase

    Well first when I received this stuff it had leaked in the box so I lost like the first 4 oz...I called the company who only refunded me for about that value...the box was a mess. I have used this according to directions and there are still flies in one of my sinks!! Using this in 4 sinks (4 oz) each it goes very quickly...for the money that's a lot. I still have those irritating little flies in my kitchen!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 6 of 6 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Good Stuff
    By Alexia on 06/16/2010
    Verified Purchase

    Follow the directions, and it works. My drain fly/moth problem was horrific, though - literally thousands of them in my bathroom at a time. I opted to use the whole bottle night after night instead of leaving some for the once a month thing. I have *very few* bugs left, so I may buy some more, but overall this takes care of the problem.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Works
    By Rwagner66 on 02/12/2012
    Verified Purchase

    In two days, 90% of flies were gone. Thereafter, I treated drains every other day, because it takes the little buggers at least two days to produce new adults. They were gone after two weeks. Hint: don't pour down the drain, dribble it around the periphery so it oozes down the inside of the drain pipe.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Worked like a charm
    By Liz on 08/23/2010

    This product worked like a charm. The trick is finding the right drain or source of the flies. We were about to spend thousands of dollars to rip out plumbing and try to find the source of these pests. We started to see results in 2 days. What a relief!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Excellent
    By Norma on 05/17/2010

    Excellent instructional video. This is a great product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 6 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Drain Fly Gell
    By Lee on 06/07/2011
    Verified Purchase

    I had a drain fly infestation that I was unable to control until I used the Internet to find out what was the best product for this problem. A number of sites, two from universities, suggested that DF 5000 was the only product that really worked. And it did, but I suggest that the problem first be addressed by having your drain professionally cleaned out, then use the DF 5000 in all drains that connect to the infected site. For example, my problem was in the bathroom sink, but this drain connected somewhere with the bathroom shower drain. Once the line was cleaned, I used DF 5000 in both drains for 5 nights and so far the fly problem is over. I will use the product weekly for a while, then monthly to ensure the fly issue is over.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Works great!!
    By Jenny on 06/15/2011

    I was very unsure of what the outcome of using this product would be but I was sick and tired of drain flies surrounding us during dinner time and all over the place.  I used the gel according to the directions and some tips from other consumers and turns out it worked great!!!  I don't have any more drain flies in the house at all.   I thought I would never see the light at the end of the tunnel but finally it is all taken care of and I'm so happy :-)

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    3 of 5 Stars   DF 5000
    By Don on 04/12/2010
    Verified Purchase

    I used it for about a week. It worked OK, but it still did not get rid of all the drain flies. I guess you have to buy a whole case for it to be effective.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Killing Drain Flies
    By Meghan on 01/05/2011
    Verified Purchase

    This product worked great!! I would definitely purchase it again if we got flies again.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Easy Peasy
    By Ac on 01/08/2012
    Verified Purchase

    Had drain flies reproducing inside tub overflow. Bought and poured 4-oz down overflow. Haven't seen a drain fly since and it's now been 3-weeks.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Works as advertised
    By Steve on 05/12/2010

    Follow the directions and this stuff kills the drain flies. I have recommended this to other bars with drain fly problems and they have had similar success. Now I will recommend they get it at DoMyOwnPestControl.com. Quick delivery and great price. Thanks!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   More $$ down the drain
    By Lc on 04/14/2012

    Thought I had drain flies, but maybe not. Had to call Pest Control who thought flies were coming from dried flowers. Going to have ozone treatment. Not really the fault of the product, just not the right choice for this job

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   IT WORKS!
    By Jim on 05/26/2014
    Verified Purchase

    Had drain flies coming out from under the commode and out of the bathtub drain. Followed the instructions and it took about 4 days but it worked! Since it didn't say otherwise, I continued to use the sinks, commode and tub and it still worked! The commode even had a chlorine tab in it and it still worked! I highly recommend this product!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Drain Fly 5000
    By Steven on 03/23/2012
    Verified Purchase

    I bought two quarts foe my drain flies in the rental I just moved in to and the only thing i see best is it cleaned the toilet well but still have drain flies so it my mind its a good cleaner but not for drain flies,no way......

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Didnt work at all used two full bottles
    By Dan on 11/14/2011
    Verified Purchase

    Didnt work at all used two full bottles, Didnt work at all used two full bottles

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   drain fly gel
    By on 07/19/2013
    Verified Purchase

    been using it once a month as directed after since first time use and haven't seen any drain flies!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Worked good for 3 days
    By Joe on 05/06/2012
    Verified Purchase

    Used product as directed. Drain flies were gone after the 2nd day. Drain flies came back 3 days later.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Drain Files
    By N22chandler on 07/06/2015

    Recently I purchased this item b/c I found out what I thought was a fruit flies problem for yrs and I saw results in 1 week. I've tried multiple traps @ once and after realizing what it was I used bio derm and it didn't work and then I tried df5000 and saw results in days. One bottle worth is a full week of treating daily, so I recently bought two more bottles for the up keep. Since I still had a few flies and they have returned not as bad but more than a few after a week of not using I need to continue use I guess I really kill the area they live and breed in. I hope it doesn't break my pockets.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    Thank you for your comments! We are glad that you have had success with your treatment. If you would like an alternative product that comes in a larger size, InVade Bio Drain is very similar to DF5000, and it is available in a gallon size: http://www.domyownpestcontrol.com/invade-bio-drain-p-352.html

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Drain Fly
    By Kurtis on 11/23/2015

    Purchased this product to eliminate some drain fly issues in a bathroom, product seemed to help during the treatment days but did not eliminate the problem permanently. The drain flies were back within two days.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    Don't be discouraged! Due to the breeding habits of drain flies it can take a few rounds of treatments to get rid of them for good. Please take a few moments to read our drain fly guide to learn how to implement a successful control program: http://www.domyownpestcontrol.com/how-to-get-rid-of-drain-flies-a-517.html

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   DF 5000 Drain Gel
    By Jerry on 09/04/2015

    Worked like a dream!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   DF 5000 DRAIN FLY GEL
    By Iris on 05/13/2012
    Verified Purchase

    Very disappointed. Bought two bottles and used as instructions stated, for 5 days. Tub drain & two bathroom sinks and problem still isn't resolved.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Good to Go
    By on 06/13/2013
    Verified Purchase

    Item shipped quickly.Easy to use.Bottle clearly marked with correct amount for each application.No offensive odor.Very effective just follow instructions. Hope they never stop making this product. I will come back for this and other products offered by DMOPC. Thanks.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   DF 5000 Drain Fly Gel
    By Felicia on 05/26/2012

    We were unsure, where the drain flies were coming from. First, I watched the video on how to use this product. I followed the instructions by purchasing and placing the glue traps on all 17 drains throughout our home. The first night, showed no captures. We called "DoMyOwnPestControl" and were told they could be coming from anywhere damp - didn't take much. We searched again without luck, so we decided to treat all 17 drains anyway which we did for 5 consecutive nights as recommended. After the 3rd night there was definitely marked improvement. After the 5th night we still saw a few, but again, definite improvement. We will maintain once a month as recommended and just hope they will be completely gone at some point. Of course, identifying the exact source is the best and certainly the most economical since using 4 ounces per drain is a lot of gel. But what we did helped and that was what we needed. Product definitely recommended.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 130 reviews)