Home » Lawn & Garden » Turf & Lawn » Herbicides » Selective Herbicides » Selective Pre Emergent Herbicides » Dimension 2EW Herbicide » All Reviews

Customer Reviews for Dimension 2EW Herbicide

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   17
4 stars   5
3 stars   0
2 stars   0
1 star   1
 
Average Customer Rating
4.6 of 5 stars
(23 customer reviews)

Write a Review

Dimension 2EW Herbicide
$152.00

Free Shipping!  Free Shipping!

Info / Buy Now


Sort By:

Displaying 1 to 23 (of 23 reviews)

  • 61 of 64 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Excellent Product for Preventing Crabgrass Emergence
    By Chad on 05/20/2013
    Verified Purchase

    I purchased this product a few weeks ago in half gallon jug. My yard is about 18,000 square feet of grass. Had a big problem with crabgrass infestation every year. Through research, I discovered that crabgrass seeds germinate in the spring when soil temps reach about 50 degrees. I monitored soil temps via a local university agriculture website. When soil temps at 2 inches deep got near 50 degrees I applied Dimension. I measured out 3000 square foot areas and applied the product using a pump sprayer. I put about 5 teaspoons in a gallon of water. One gallon of water seemed to be the right amount to cover the 3000 square foot area. Turned on my sprinklers and made sure each area got a 1/2 inch of watering. I placed a 9x13 pan in each area and watered until the pan had 1/2 inch in it. Days later my crab grass areas are bare with beautiful green desirable grass surrounding. I plan to fertilize over Memorial Day weekend in order to promote desirable grass to spread to the bare areas. Remember this product prevents seed germination, so you must apply before crabgrass emerges and not after.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 41 of 111 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Don't Buy it
    By $159 on 03/19/2012
    Verified Purchase

    It hasn't yet prevented anything and didn't kill anything that was there...........don't buy this product.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    This product does not kill anything that is currently there, because it is a pre-emergent.  It will only prevent weed seeds from germinating.  If something appears after using this product, then it was not applied soon enough and the weeds already germinated. 

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 37 of 38 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Dimension 2EW Herbicide
    By C.r. on 02/20/2011
    Verified Purchase

    Dimension is an excellent pre-emergent herbicide. We have had no weeds since putting it down. I would recommend it for farmers that need ultimate weed control for roads, driveways, or other ultimate control areas. DoMyOwnPestControl.com has the best price on the net. I have found them to be excellent and the products you see are actually the products that arrive.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 31 of 34 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Crabgrass control
    By Jack on 05/28/2012
    Verified Purchase

    I have wrestled with a vigorous crabgrass invasion and 'Dimension' has exceeded all expectations in controlling this. I estimate a 98% eradication of any new crabgrass seedlings and am left with the best looking bare areas I could wish for. I believe two key steps made this so successful. The first is I made split applications with 8 oz/25 gal tank of water applied in early April (Mid-west), which was followed with a 0.3 inch rainfall. A second application four weeks later was followed with 1.1 inches of rain. When I use Dimension again next year I will dilute even further so more water is used in each application. In total I have treated approx two acres and gained excellent control of crabgrass. Roundup has taken care of those mechanical escapes.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 25 of 25 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Works great but don't save any for next year
    By Randy on 03/08/2015
    Verified Purchase

    Pretty aggravated today. Used this last year and it worked great. I had 3/4 gallon left over and tried to use it this year. Something falls out of suspension, likely the active ingredient but I don't know. And, there is no amount of shaking that will mix it back up. I used it anyway having to stop every fifty feet to clean the filter in the tank. So, if you buy it use it.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 18 of 18 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Best lawn I've ever had.
    By Dave on 11/15/2013
    Verified Purchase

    I used Dimension 2EW for the first time last year and the results were great. We have 2.5 acres and the crabgrass, henbit and sand burrs were getting out of control. (10-15% crabgrass in burmuda) I made one application in late February and my timing must have been good. Virtually no Henbit, or grass burrs, and only a few patches of crabgrass emerged. I'm trusting that another application this year will have it licked.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 17 of 19 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Dimension Good Product, Do My Own - Great retailer
    By Mel on 01/31/2012

    Do my own Pest control is great. Good advisors and quick service. I have used Dimension for several years as a commercial applicator. Works great. One caution is in areas where there is not as much sun. the turf in these areas is generally lest hardy. Dimension can damage this turf, so go lightly in those areas if you can. It's ability to kill the crab grass even after it has emerged (very small plants only) allows you to get away with later application. It seems that we get most of our heavy rains before April, so the early applications often seem to be a waste.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 15 of 15 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Works great
    By Tommy on 03/04/2014
    Verified Purchase

    Use as directed and it works wonders. In 2 years my lawn is now weed free. Not sure how the 1 star rating was allowed to stay since the user didn't have a clue how to use the product. It isn't a post emergence herbicide.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 14 of 14 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Quality preemergents
    By Tim on 03/14/2014
    Verified Purchase

    This is the second half gallon bottle I have purchased in about 4 years. I have about 1.75 acres of Bermuda grass. I used to fight crabgrass. I bought the fertilizer with its preemergent mixed in itself. This was way too costly. Now, I can fertilize cheaper AND control weeds. Because of wind and rain, last year I was late with my application. I remember watching the little crabgrass weeds die. This year, I will spray a second time in the summer. I noticed prostrate coming up in the dry time. Do the math, this is the cheapest way I know.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 11 of 12 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Excellent control
    By Bill on 06/02/2011

    I applied Dimension mixed with Trimec Classic a little later in the spring than I had wanted. Prolonged windy conditions delayed the application. Crabgrass control over very young plants was as good as the directions specified and the Trimec knocked down all clover and broad leaf weeds. Now, a month after the application the lawn is practically weed free.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 8 of 9 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Prevents most weeds
    By Ron on 11/06/2014

    Where I live we have "weed wars". This past year I did a test patch of 2EW over about 5,000 sq ft in my field grass area + about 6,000 sq ft of turf grass... in both cases, prevented nearly 100% of the weeds. Next Spring, will be doing a broadcast spray over about 2 acres. 2EW is not only competitive in price with similar products, appears to be somewhat more effective, more forgiving for mis-estimating coverage and concentration. Also, good for both warm and cool season grass areas. RECOMMENDED! Suggest giving it a try with the 1/2 gallon size. If it works for you, then save some money with the 2.5 gallon next order.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 7 of 7 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Great Product
    By Lee on 09/24/2013

    I had poa annua growing wild in my over one acre of Bermuda. The estimates from the local pest companies were outrageous. I bought Dimension as my first purchase early 2013 and have bought numerous other products since all with great results. Product is terrific when used as pre emergent.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 7 of 9 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Lawn Care operator
    By Rod on 05/16/2012
    Verified Purchase

    It was very convenient to be able to purchase Dimension in such small quantity for a specialized application. I can only purchase this material in 2 1/2 gallon jugs.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 7 of 8 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Dimension 2EW Herbicide
    By Dr. on 02/24/2012
    Verified Purchase

    Good price and extremely fast shipping... I have used the product before so I expect good results but this is the first time I have purchased from DoMyOwnPestControl. The things I liked best was the fast and free shipping. Will do business with these folks again.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 6 of 11 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Compliments
    By Austin on 03/10/2013
    Verified Purchase

    This purchase with absolutely seamless. Product received in a timely manner. Well packaged. Already applied.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 6 of 8 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Dimension 2EW Herbicide
    By Dennis on 09/18/2011
    Verified Purchase

    I was pleased at the quick delivery of the product. It saves me money to use the liquid instead of the granular form of this product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 6 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Great service
    By Gil on 11/13/2013
    Verified Purchase

    Fast service , great price, Just applied product, will see what results are this winter.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 14 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Dimension 2EW Herbicide
    By Ted on 04/12/2011
    Verified Purchase

    Service and shipment were exactly as promised. Dimension has been applied. It is too early to appraise the results.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Great Product
    By Jason on 02/22/2015

    Fast service and Great Product works better than any other of its category.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   too earlyl to tell yet
    By R on 04/01/2015
    Verified Purchase

    applied just before forcithia bloomed had a good rain the next couple of days will let you know after the summer if it worked on my crabgrass. put on at quarter to half ounce per thousand square feet. great service got it in three or four days

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 Stars   Excellent Product, but Application Needs Clarification
    By Jeff on 03/14/2017

    I've been using this product for a couple of years now in the Piedmont of North Carolina, and it works far better than other liquids in my opinion because of its ability to prevent not only crabgrass, but a multitude of other weeds that are native to this area. That said, one of the application requirements that has always been confusing to me and many others when I scroll through the comments section on this website and other sites, is the timing required for watering in the product. Well, I called Dow Agro on several different occasions in order to get different tech support personnel to see if they all gave the same answers to the question "exactly how long do I have to water in this product?" And they all gave the same basic answer: if rain doesn't come right away, the product will stay on your grass for roughly 2 weeks to 30 days before it degrades either through exposure to the elements or mowing your lawn. This is important to know because what is confusing on all of these sites when researching this product, is exactly what does "activation" with 1/2" of rainfall mean. Activation simply means that the chemical moves into the soil for a couple of inches, therefore, any buried weed seedling will not germinate when conditions are conducive to germination. So, even though the product won't have any effect on crabgrass or weeds until it actually gets at least 1/2" of rainfall, it doesn't mean the product still can't be activated, say, 3 weeks after application when it does finally rain--again, it just won't have any affect on weeds or crabgrass until that time. In short, I think it's important for people to realize that the recommendation for watering in this product of 24 to 48 hours is somewhat deceiving. Of course most people would like this product to start working right away, and the only way it can do that is with watering in immediately after application, but if rain doesn't come in time, it doesn't mean the product becomes ineffective; again, though, mowing your yard while waiting for rain can affect the distribution of the product, but the chemical is still there and won't degrade for up to one month after application.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 Stars   Timing is everything
    By Al on 03/17/2017

    I think I put this out too late as my weeds are not dying off. I'm sure my results would be better if I had applied it earlier in the season. All the other products I've gotten from here have been outstanding. I'll apply another dose and see what happens, I won't be late next season.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 Stars   Dimension 2 EW
    By Ken on 03/22/2017

    Extremely fast delivery. I am applying to an acre or so and I am eagerly looking forward to the end of crab grass

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

Displaying 1 to 23 (of 23 reviews)