Home » Insecticide Concentrates » Diquat Water Weed and Landscape Herbicide » All Reviews

Customer Reviews for Diquat Water Weed and Landscape Herbicide

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   28
4 stars   5
3 stars   0
2 stars   1
1 star   2
 
Average Customer Rating
4.6 of 5 stars
(36 customer reviews)

Write a Review


Sort By:

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 36 reviews)

  • 17 of 17 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   diaquat aquatic weed control
    By Nick on 06/20/2012

    I have owned 3 lakes for 24 years and the only product that controls and kills duck weed is your diaquat water weed herbicide. I mix it with copper sulfate and apply with a diaphram tank sprayer. Within hours the floating green mass turns brown. DEAD I purchase 2.5 -5 gallons a year from Do My Own Pest Control_com and the shipping is fast and free. Thanks for the clean lake.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 9 of 10 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   what it take to work
    By Dennis on 04/11/2012
    Verified Purchase

    The way this material is chemically structured requires a surfactant be used to be effective. Also it is not very active if the temp is below 70 . So as per the review that may have been the problem. As a rancher and citrus grower I have use 100's of gallons over the years and the only time it was not effective was in low temp or forgot to add a sticker spreader. Used correctly it is very effective. Read the label for resistant weeds. Malva or cheese weed when over the seedling stage is resistant. It is a contact only herbicide. That is to say if you spray half a leaf only half a leaf will die. It does not kill roots. Good top kill in 24 to 48 hrs. great for quick annuls top kill only. round up works slow cost more (about 4X) but kills roots.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 7 of 9 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Completely useless product
    By John on 03/19/2012

    This material did absolutely nothing in my application. I'm only giving it 1- star because this form won't let me make it NO STARS. I mixed it per the label directions for spot applications for use on common duckweed, and after no results tried doubling and tripling the mix with no positive results (I last tried a 10% mix). I used Diquat in its original form and mixture approx. 15 years ago, and apparently they just don't make it like they used to. Back then I would see nearly immediate results with application to common duckweed- I mean you could see the plants turning to white within minutes of application in bright sun. This current material is not nearly as solid in color prior to mixing as it used to be, so apparently it is literally diluted to the point that it is totally useless. This is a complete waste of money to buy it, and time to apply it. I have a little of it left and plan to just apply it completely undiluted just to see if it has any validity as a genuine product at all.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 7 of 7 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Diquat Water Weed Herbicide
    By Robert on 07/24/2014

    I have used serveral products for the past 20 plus years to kill weeds in my 14 acre lake. None of those products works as well as this Diquat Water Weed Herbicide! It was simple to apply and works fast. Two days! Some of the large leaf pondweed it took 5-6 days to kill it. Does not hurt the fish, frogs, snails, etc. My lake has never looked so good. Ever! A big part of this product that makes it so great is the broad variety of plants that it kills. Those other products were very selective and took a long time to see the results. Diquat was the final answer for me and my lake weed troubles!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Just like the Big Boys
    By Art on 07/23/2014
    Verified Purchase

    The farmers around me all use this on their corn fields before planting. The next day it looks like there has been a fire. I mix 2 oz/gal of 41% Glyphosphate and add 1 oz/gal of Diquat. I sprayed this morning about 8AM. It's 1PM as I write this, and many of the weeds(especially the broadleafs) are already black and shriveled. Others are definitely staring to blacken. By tomorrow I'll know exactly where I missed.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Diquat
    By Richard on 04/22/2012

    I bought this to use for a quicker burn down for my weed spraying. Mixing it with Roundup

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Watch out weeds
    By Gary on 07/05/2015

    Diquat Water Weed and Landscape Herbicide is the best weed and grass killer that I have ever used. I first purchased this to control duck weed and parrots feather in my fish pond. It is not harmful to fish or frogs. I figured that if it knocked the weeds down by a fraction that it would be worth the money. It removed all. Whatever you spray Diquat on will die. Within 1 hour you can see burn spots on leaves or grass. Within 24 hours almost every plant that is sprayed is totally brown and crispy. This product will kill horsetail, which I've problems with and other herbicides would not touch. Diquat will kill shrubs, small trees, poison ivy, grass, mint and lilies. Some of the products that I've used in the past have taken a week to two weeks to work on the weeds sprayed. Diquat is fast!!! Again this is the best herbicide I have ever used.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Curley leaf Pond weed
    By on 06/01/2013

    I mixed one gallon of diaquat with five gallons of water and from a small row boat I used a hand pump sprayer. I covered about half an acre. The weeds were up to the water surface and at least ten feet tall under the water. After three days the weeds are dying and have sunk below the surface. I can still see the weeds but they look dead. I believe the diaquat has worked fine.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Diquat Water Weed and Landscape Herbicide
    By Dennis on 09/18/2013
    Verified Purchase

    I was amazed how well this product worked on my milfoil problem. I called tech support and they were great. I couldn't believe that I could spray a diluted amount UNDER water and it would kill the weed. It did at a recommended rate of 6 oz. per gallon of water. I set the pump up hand sprayer at the stream setting and blasted the base of the weeds at a mixture of 8 oz. per gallon. In less than one week the weeds disintegrated. I expected to see a floating mess but I didn't. I ordered 2 quarts at $67 with no shipping charge! I highly recommend this great product and this company, Domyownpestcontrol.com

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Diquat Weed Killer
    By Jody on 09/02/2014

    I have purchased Diquat Weed Killer in the past to control weeds along a roadside levee.. Diquat is the best weed killer I have found to help control this area.. Just mix with water and in a couple of hours under a full sun, the weeds are alreday starting to turn colors... I mix this product with Rodeo Weed Killer and this tends to work GREAT!!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Diquat water weed herbicide
    By on 08/29/2013

    I applied the Diquat as directed with the additional additve to help the weed killer stick to the coontail for more effectiveness as directed. It did a great job on the 1st half of the lake and I'm doing the 2nd half this weekend. The coontail started turning brown on the top layer and is dieing even more as the herbicide works it's way down the weed. It could stand better directions as to how much water to add to Diquat for mixing instructions. Also, please wear a inexpensive rain suit for applcation as this product is very potent and if it gets on your skin and is not washed off quickly, it really burns or makes your skin break out with soars. But it is sure doing the trick on those weeds. I just hope that they do not come back next year.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   booboo
    By Ronald on 04/04/2015

    Diaquat took care of my duck weed problem in my acre pond real quick and glad to see it gone.the order was here in just a few days.great service

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Sucker stopper
    By Rick on 04/26/2015

    I mainly use this for burning off suckers from trees like Olives and Redwoods that sucker prolifically. Much faster than cutting them every week. Also for chemically trimming ground covers like Ivy and Vinca. It's fast and a little goes a long way. Make sure you use a surfactant. DMOPC has a good price. It's the same thing and a little cheaper than Reward.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Diquat Water Weed and Lanscape Herbicide
    By Terry on 08/13/2012
    Verified Purchase

    We purchased a soon to be beautiful 11 acre home with two ponds and a stream. The property was heavily overgrown and the ponds were completely green. We have clear ponds, and have killed on the grass growing in the driveway. All we can say it this stuff is WONDERFUL and super easy to use.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Best price on theweb
    By Paul on 05/29/2012
    Verified Purchase

    Cheap and fast. What more could you ask for? They want me to write 50 characters, but the first line says it all

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Diquat
    By David on 07/08/2014

    Awesome product for removing my pond weed here in Magnolia TX. Nothing else worked.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Diquat Water Weed and Landscape Herbicide
    By Frank on 04/02/2015

    after having several "pond people" treat our pond without success, we decided to DIY. Well, diquat di the trick.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Great weed control
    By Rich on 10/11/2014
    Verified Purchase

    Diquat is excellent to control weeds and unwanted vegetation growth along fences and driveways.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Diquat Herbicide
    By Susan on 11/04/2015

    Excellent product. Would never use anything else on our 3-acre estate. Very fast results.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Diquat
    By Robert on 02/17/2016

    Great contact herbicide. Controls several weed species that are resistant to other weed killers

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   It works!!
    By Allissa on 06/11/2013
    Verified Purchase

    I purchased this to kill duckweed that had overtaken my septic lagoon. I sprayed it day 1 and by day 2 it was already turning yellow. There were still some green places i must have missed so I sprayed again... I am sure I would not have needed to do that extra application. In the following week all of the duckweed has died as well as the cattails that were growing. I am super happy with he results and this product was far cheaper than others I had looked at.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Does nothing for pondweed
    By Zs on 08/03/2016

    My pondweed is pretty much untouched after treating twice as per instructions.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   surface water weed control
    By Pick on 05/01/2013
    Verified Purchase

    I have used this diquat on weeds growing on pond surface and the first treatment has stopped the growth of duckweed

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 5 Stars   Good and Fsst
    By Mnh on 07/14/2016

    Acts fast---just make sure to get all leaves wet---Only kills what it covers---Hasn't harmed my fish

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 5 Stars   Good and Fsst
    By Mnh on 07/14/2016

    Acts fast---just make sure to get all leaves wet---Only kills what it covers---Hasn't harmed my fish

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 Stars   This stuff works!
    By Gary on 04/27/2016

    I had a "fern" like weed in my landscape area that nothing I used worked. I tried Speedzone, Certainty and 41% glyphosphate and nothing fazed this thing. A golf course product sales rep suggested Diquat. I tried it and the weed was dead and brown within hours and has not returned. Great stuff.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 0 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    2 of 5 Stars   okay
    By Harold on 09/25/2012
    Verified Purchase

    Need to know active ingredient/gallon on all pesticides. Is Diquat 2 lb ai/gallon? as in farm use. Is Roundup 41%/4 lb ai of isopropyl form of glyphosate? Or 1%

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 Stars   Diquat Water Weed and Landscape Herbicide
    By Melanie on 04/22/2013

    Used to strip spray weeds in an orchard. Burn can be seen within 24 hours. Does a better job and lasts longer than 20% vinegar which costs nearly 4 times as much and tends to eat away metal and plastic parts to my spray rig, even after thorough rinsing. Diquat won't kill some harmful bugs like agricultural vinegar will. At 2 qts per 100 gal water, diquat concentrate will go a long way. It's a general dessicant, so you have to be careful where the spray hits. It doesn't harm the roots or destroy beneficial soil fungi like glyphosphate. It's not a pre-emergent, so you'll see your turf come back. It's good to knock out weeds in their flowering stages, hold them down, until slower growing grasses have a chance to get established. Using it to work out a good ground cover between tree rows. So far, clovers are spreading.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 Stars   it works
    By Dick on 02/04/2014
    Verified Purchase

    I bought this after trying another product from a landscape supply that only provided partial results. Diquat killed about 95% of the weeds in our yard. However, in fairness, I can't say for sure that I squirted every clump, so that would place the kill rate somewhere between 95 and 100%. How to improve? Well, maybe be a little more dummy-level specifics on the addition of "nonionic surfactants." I used TSP and that worked, but am uncertain if that was the best option.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 Stars   Excellent With Long Lasting Control
    By on 06/11/2013
    Verified Purchase

    Use Diquat with Rodeo for excellent results on aquatic and land. Lilly pads controlled for a year after initial few applications. Also good on ANY surface water weed. Great control of weeds, grass, vines, dollar weed, spurge, sucklings, just about every weed on land. Both Rodeo and Diquat are good by themselves but the combination gives you EXCELLENT CONTROL and QUICKER BURN DOWN in 48-72 hours. Use a good surfactant also.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 36 reviews)