Home » Lawn & Garden » Turf & Lawn » Herbicides » Selective Herbicides » Selective Post Emergent Herbicides » Dismiss Turf Herbicide » All Reviews

Customer Reviews for Dismiss Turf Herbicide

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   36
4 stars   8
3 stars   2
2 stars   3
1 star   0
 
Average Customer Rating
4.6 of 5 stars
(49 customer reviews)

Write a Review

Dismiss Turf Herbicide
$71.96

Free Shipping!  Free Shipping!

Info / Buy Now


Sort By:

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 49 reviews)

  • 46 of 51 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Worked great!!
    By Mike on 05/09/2012
    Verified Purchase

    Dismiss worked great using a portable sprayer. I mixed the solution at a rate of .275 oz per gallon. This mixture was applied to many sections of my yard where weeds were growing mixed in with grass. The treatment was applied around a temperature of 90F degrees. I do not recommend applying at temperatures above 90F. Some weeds got weak in 24 hours and most showed signs of damage by 48 hours. For some weeds it took 1 week for the real effect to show up. My St. Augustine grass showed no signs it had been treated at all. The weeds died but the grass was unaffected. After treatment the grass has really started to take off. The product comes with a add on filler tube, similar to pest control mixtures, where you can accurately and safely measure the amount of product being added to your mixer. Be sure to shake up your sprayer every 10 minutes to ensure the mixture stays consistent. I applied the mixture to the yard in more of a spot treatment process than covering the whole yard. Why spray weed free grasses that are not the target? The treated section should just get wet. There is NO need to soak the ground. This product is a contact product so the roots are not the target, it is the plant above ground. Best effect was on nutsedge. Showed significant yellowing and weakness quickly. Worst effect was some form of clover. It took 2-3 weeks to show signs it was dying. We have about 15 varieties of weeds in our yard and this product killed them all. It did take a second treatment on the crab grass to fully kill it. The cost of this product seems high, but it will save you hundreds versus yard spraying service people. I decided to use my pest control experience on my yard after some clown showed up and killed most of our yard with improperly applied chemicals. Do yourself a favor and fire your yard service before they kill your lawn and leave you with just weeds. Do it yourself when you want to, how you want to, and save money in the process!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 38 of 40 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   WOW!
    By Gary on 07/30/2011

    Went to my local flower seller. They sold me "Sedge Hammer." Required a product to help it stick to the plant. Between the two products: $35.00. Did an experiment: while not scientific, it told me what I needed to know. I sprayed one side of my driveway with "Dismiss," and the other side with the local product. It was amazing! Following the instructions to a 'T' on both products, the Dismiss side was dead and withered within 4 days. The local product showed no change. After two weeks, the local product made the sedge plants look sick-yet still green and present in my yard. I am sold on Dismiss for a rapid removal of this pest. I have been trying to rid the lawn in these areas for years. I now think I have the answer: Dismiss. Worth every penny.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 31 of 32 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Review of Dismiss Aug 2011
    By Dr. on 09/09/2011
    Verified Purchase

    Had been using Sedgehammer on Yellow Nutsedge for couple of years (with surfactant); was generally successful but took several weeks to show effect. Sometimes did not work; perhaps because I occasionally held unused quantities over for several days, then using the remaining portion?; or maybe not. Blogs note Sedgehammer must be used within 4 hrs of mixing or it loses effectiveness. Seeking more responsive control, tried Dismiss, using only as a spot spray at .0275 per 1.5 gallon water. Killing effect seen in 48 hrs. Discoloration of grass seen in sprayed area(s), but this disappeared within 7-10 days. I will reduce dose in future to see if discoloration persists.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 23 of 23 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Dismiss - It really works
    By Jim on 08/01/2011
    Verified Purchase

    I hate nutsedge and have tried everything to get rid of it, even using RoundUp which killed my entire back yard. I have been on hand and knees with a water color brush painting it with Roundup. I have used Sedge Hammer which was fair. Now I am delighted to report that Dismiss actually works! I am thrilled. Nutsedge loves this dry hot weather and I have practically eliminated it (I missed some with my spraying). I am telling all my friends and neighbors. Expensive, but well worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 19 of 19 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Dismiss Turf Herbicide
    By Vicki on 09/13/2011
    Verified Purchase

    Our lawn guy recommended this product. He charges almost $200 for one application. I purchased the product myself, and he told me the mix ratio and I applied to my lawn myself in a 1 gallon pump sprayer. The stuff works...just make sure you apply enough on the areas. I missed some spots, so I need to re-apply. But where I did do a good job of applying...no more nut sedge weeds. I recommended your site to a co-worker so he could purchase some for his lawn.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 11 of 14 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Awesome!
    By Hunter on 07/23/2012
    Verified Purchase

    I have had great success with everything I bought from DoMyOwnPestControl, in service and actualy product effectiveness. and never write reviews for products but because I based my previous purchases on them I know how helpful they are in deciding! Location: Va Beach VA Weather : 90 degrees, Sunny, Humid Mix Rate: 3 Gallon Back pack Sprayer .22oz mixed per 3 gal - area covered 1500 sq ft multiple passes 750 sqft misting spray for total lawn treatment Lawn : Bermuda & St. Augustine - Water: Full irrigation system Weeds :Yellow Nutsedge & Crabgrass I applied this product on a semi directed approach, where there were large areas of nutsedge present I made sure to focus the spray in a fine mist with repeated passes, also did walk treat the remaining areas with an overall light coverage of spray. I was very nervous about the effect on St. Augustine so I opted to mix a low ratio on a high coverage area, with all intentions of having to come back atleast 1 to 2 more times for treatment.- I would advise all persons to mix on the side of caution- 24 hours after initial treatment there is no noticible effect on the St. Augustine or Bermuda, but the nutsedge has already begun to show very obvious and heavy browning, the crab grass is also depicting wilted signs of death. I am not talking examining it with a fine tooth comb to see if it is dieing, it is very obvious 24 hours in. If you have warm grasses like I, especially St. Aug, spend the money and get this.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 11 of 11 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   This is good stuff
    By Randy on 05/15/2012

    I have fought with nut grass and spurge in my lawn for years. One application of Dismiss removed the nut grass within days. A second application finished off the spurge as well. You can't go wrong with this product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 11 of 11 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   DISMISS TURF HERBICIDE
    By Tom on 03/09/2012

    This stuff rocks! I have been using it in SW Florida for a couple of years now. It can be applied anytime during the year and is more effective than the crap local pest control companies charge an arm and leg for. Also, the local John Deere store charges double for what I paid for on this site. Be sure to store it as recommended in a cool place. If not, unused liquid may begin to harden after a year in the bottom of the bottle leaving the remaining liquid less potent but still somewhat effective.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 10 of 22 people found this review helpful:

    2 of 5 Stars   Dismiss Turf Herbicide
    By Dan on 06/08/2011
    Verified Purchase

    I cannot rate this product, because I am in the process of using it. The product appears to be working, but takes longer than I first thought. I am into the second week of killing nutsedge. I believe the product works, but I still have nutsedge, although it appears to be dying. I have applied the product a second time.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 9 of 9 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Dismiss works
    By on 08/14/2013
    Verified Purchase

    Dismiss worked as promised! make sure you do not overapply! I went over my infected area twice in some areas and killed the grass also! The areas that I did once killed the Yellow Nutsedge with no harm to the grass!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 9 of 9 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Killed everything I had
    By T on 08/21/2014
    Verified Purchase

    .18 oz per 1000 sq ft no more. Zoysia Emerald was a little stressed only in the areas I over sprayed. In all the heat now in north florida I feel it worked perfect. Goose grass nutsedge and all the weeds I have are dying. Also the measuring device made it easy to pour out .180 oz without having to worry about spillage. Perfect and great service from domyownpestcontrol thanks

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 7 of 7 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Dismissed dismissed my nutsedge
    By on 08/25/2013
    Verified Purchase

    I live in central Ohio and had a horrendous yellow nutsedge problem. I did a lot of research and was about ready to order a product called Sedgehammer. I happened upon this product (Dismiss) and after reading many reviews on both products I decided that Dismissed sounded all around better than Sedgehammer. I very carefully applied .18 ounces per 1,000 feet. It has not even been a week (6 days) and while I was cutting the grass today I noticed all (99+ %) of the nutsedge is totally brown and dead. I intend to pre-emerge with Echelon in the spring but for now my yellow nutsedge is GONE. Great and thank you FCM!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 7 of 7 people found this review helpful:

    3 of 5 Stars   Works Well.
    By S on 06/18/2014
    Verified Purchase

    Works on Nutgrass. Took 5 days to brown and kill existing Nutgrass. Does not prevent new ones as per product descrption. Leaves existing lawn green which I like. Does not work with CrabGrass and some weeds in my yard. Overall I am happy with the Product, hoped it would kill more of the weeds in my yard. Dismiss works better than my lawn Maintenance company weed killer - Money better spent.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 7 of 7 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   dismiss purchase
    By James on 08/31/2011
    Verified Purchase

    excellent service! 100% satisfaction. I have made several purchases through this sight and been totally satisfied each time.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 6 of 15 people found this review helpful:

    2 of 5 Stars   Dismiss Turf Herbicie
    By Judith on 08/15/2011
    Verified Purchase

    Really do not know how it is working as I just put it down yesterday and then of course it rained. The directions for putting it down were very poor. Did not say had to do entire lawn or if I could spot treat and no information re being rain tolerant. Finally called parent company in Philadelphia to find out that I could spot treat but forgot to ask re about rain tolerant. Did find something on Internet that said it was rain tolerant if rain did not occur for at least an hour. Will find out, put it down, rained about l and half hours later, so time will tell. More direct info re putting product down needs to be included with the product!!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 6 of 6 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Nutsedge is dead
    By Tom on 08/09/2011

    Our grounds contractor at the Hospital applied this product to our nutsedge problem and in a few days, the nutsedge is dead! Great product!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Great Product
    By Lee on 09/24/2013
    Verified Purchase

    Kills yellow nutsedge like a champ. A little slower on the purple, but results are great.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 6 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   FMC Dismiss kills nutsedge / water grass
    By Ronald on 10/01/2011
    Verified Purchase

    It is expensive; however, it does the job. Comes as a concentrate. Mix in 1 gallon quantity. Spot spray those nasty little stalks. Within 3 days noticed browning. Gone in a weeks time. Recommend this product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Star of Bethlehem Control
    By Gary on 03/19/2012
    Verified Purchase

    In the past we have not had much success controlling Star of Bethlehem with glyphosate. Thus I tried Dismiss as a spot spray for controlling star of Bethlehem in a garden and was not concerned about selectivity on any other plants. The correct concentration for a spot spray isn't clear so I tried 3 ml/gal. After several days the tips on the Star of Bethlehem plant were brown but the plants otherwise seemed healthy. I sprayed again with 0.5 oz/gal and several days later the plants were turning brown and flat on the ground. To be safe I did another spray with Roundup (the one with diquat mixed with it) and after another few days the plants seem dead. I think it is a perennial so I don't know if they will reemerge or not.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Very Pleased
    By on 06/23/2013
    Verified Purchase

    Newly seeded centipede lawn from May planting. Some are mature with runners already spreading while late seed germination in other areas with sprigs being quite young. I sprayed while knowing the risk of high temps and humidity here in Texas. Temps were 91 degrees and with this in mind I mixed .180 per 2gal of water for 1000 square ft. In all fairness of this review I also mixed along with it .5 oz of Vantange grass killer since the Dismiss is mainly for broadleaf and nut sedge. Within 48hrs of spraying, the temps begin hovering around 94 degrees and everything in my yard either turned completely brown or sickly green color (mature centipede) and I seriously thought I'd just killed centipede grass and all. Its now been four days later and even the young centipede sprigs is regrowing new blades while the mature grass is rebounding aswell. Nut sedge and along with probably 10 other weeds and junk grass is gone. There is one type of clover that's still hanging on but showing signs of damage, another reviewer mentioned it took 3 weeks for some type of clover to finally die so we shall see. Now that my centipede is rebounding, it should have free growing space with none of the others weeds no longer smothering it. I won't be debating whether to go with cheaper products for nut sedge. Dismiss doesn't mess around and works extremely fast.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Effective on Nutsedge
    By on 08/29/2013
    Verified Purchase

    I use Dismiss in spot spraying of nutsedge in high quality turf. It is highly effective. Minor browning off of turf grasses (mine is tall fescue and bluegrass) may occur, especially at high temperatures, but color returns within a few weeks. I do not add a surfactant. I now use this herbicide in place of Manage and Basagran that I had used for many years. Excellent product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   finally
    By Dave on 09/25/2015

    I ordered the 6 oz bottle. I did my front 50 x 40 with just a tablespoon in a gallon. I used a gallon and a 1/4. All the Kyllinga turned brown and died within a week. I mowed my lawn then followed each path(line) i made with the lawnmower and sprayed with a gallon sprayer. Finally got rid of this terrible weed. Can't say enough about it. I live in Jersey and applied to my sodded lawn. I cut today a week later. The brown spots are there where I had the infestation, but the sod is already poking thru. Get this stuff if you have Kyllinga. PERIOD....

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Dismiss
    By Al on 12/16/2015

    It worked as expected and I was very satisfied. Please MAKE SURE you measure it very carefully and don't add "extra". I saw nothing for two days, but then it kicked in and did its job and the St. Augustine was not hurt. Expensive, but well worth it! I live in Lakeland, Florida.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Its good, but not perfect
    By Jason on 08/25/2015

    Sedge is a difficult weed to get rid of. As you probably know by now, you can't pull up all the roots. In fact its a complete waste of your time to try to uproot THIS weed. So, you're left trying to treat it chemically. From my experience, Glyphosate (round-up) and diquat don't kill the root system. So, even if you were to paint broad-spectrum herbicides on your sedge within your turf, you should expect to do it in another couple weeks. ...which completely sucks. So, the two leading sedge killers are: SedgeHammer (or generics) and Dismiss [I've used both]. Sedge Hammer is targeted for the homeowner and Dismiss is serious stuff targeted for the professional. Dismiss has some very serious warnings, you're not suppose to use sooner than 30 day intervals and they don't give you the concentration for a hand sprayer...as if to say it is a bad idea to hand spray. But when you are really frustrated with sedge you tend to overlook those issues and look for the sedge nuclear bomb. Dismiss yellows the sedge in 24 to 48 hours....which is satisfying. SedgeHammer takes about a week so you're left wondering if you hit the sedge or missed a spot...for a week. Dismiss was very effective against my "Globe Sedge" [at least that is what I believe it was] and much less effective against my yellow nutsedge. I'm currently on my second Dismiss treatment. I have also found it effective to stagger the application of SedgeHammer AND dismiss on the same turf area [did I mention sedge was hard to kill]. I also used Dismiss for a "high concentration" amount for a 1/2 gallon assuming I would spray that over 1000 sq ft. Dismiss was on my empire zoysia for around 48 hours without water. It browned up the zoysia -- which scared me. But, when the zoysia got some water it came right back to green. Overall, I would buy Dismiss again.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Dismiss works good.
    By Gerry on 07/24/2014

    Dismiss works as the manufacturer says on nut sedge. It is expensive but it does the job of killing nut sedge.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    2 of 5 Stars   Did not control Yellow Nutsedge on St. Augustine in South FL
    By Gray on 09/09/2014

    I've used Dismiss for a year, applied several times. Cool applicator to measure. Killed the Yellow Nutsedge and killed the St. Augustine too. Then Nutsedge grew back before SA could recover. Wasted $$$

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    Per the product label: "Dismiss Turf Herbicide may cause temporary discoloration to exposed leaf surfaces on St. Augustinegrass and certain cultivars of zoysiagrass, bahiagrass, or rough bluegrass. Treated turfgrass will recover with new growth. Discolored leaf tissue will be removed with mowing. To reduce potential for discoloration, do not apply Dismiss Turf Herbicide on turfgrass that is weakened by weather, mechanical, chemical, disease or other related stress."

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    3 of 5 Stars   Looking Good thus far
    By T. on 06/03/2014

    Just recently used my product on my zoysia grass and ut seems though this product is doing what it is prescribe to do on sedge weed and not harming the grass.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   It works!
    By Steve on 07/22/2013
    Verified Purchase

    All other products seemed to simply be fertilizer for my nut grass infestation. Literally nothing worked until I tried Dismiss. Very expensive at first look, but if you consider the time, money, and effort using any alternative, you'll realize Dismiss is a bargain. If Nut Grass is driving you crazy - Dismiss It!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Dismiss Turf Herbicide
    By Brett on 05/11/2016

    This is a wonderful product. I noticed that my lawn care company was using it with good results, so I decided to buy some and fire them! I can now treat my lawn on my schedule for a fraction of what they were charging to come at rather inopportune times. This works incredibly well on sedge and dandelion. Clover seems to require a subsequent spot treatment, but it will eventually die out. I have a zoysia and PA-mixed grass in the yard, and Dismiss is gentle on everything, provided you don't over-concentrate. .27 tsp/gal max, so the bottle goes a long way.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Very effective on Star of Bethlehem
    By Rich on 04/07/2016

    Star of Bethlehem was taking over large portions of my yard. One treatment at 0.18 fl oz / 1000 sq ft seems to have wiped them out entirely in a few days. I was also hoping this would work on my secondary plague of wild onions. They look like they are ailing a bit, but if it's working, it's not working as fast. Fingers crossed.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 49 reviews)