Home » Termites » Liquid Termite Control » Dominion 2L Termiticide Concentrate » All Reviews

Customer Reviews for Dominion 2L Termiticide Concentrate

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   166
4 stars   27
3 stars   8
2 stars   4
1 star   1

Best of
the Best
Average Customer Rating
4.7 of 5 stars
(206 customer reviews)

Write a Review


Sort By:

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 206 reviews)

  • 103 of 111 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Dominion 2L Product Review
    By Patrick on 04/29/2010
    Verified Purchase

    I don't know why the wood adjacent to my bath tub wet-wall was moist? I found no leaks and the plumbing vent to the roof was well sealed. Condensation? The bath drainpipe and water inlets come up through a hole in the slab. The subterranean termite varmints tunneled 10' or 40' under the house slab and surfaced at this point of exposed earth attracted by the moist wood. They swarmed the first warm days in Spring. I treated the exposed earthen area with the Dominion 2L termiticide and then filled it in with sand which is known to obstruct termites. I treated the slab, wood framing, floor and molding with a 2:1 water to Bora-Care mixture. I sprayed Bora-Care down from the attic and drilled holes in the walls where there was no other access. I finished by treating the ground around the house with Dominion 2L. This is my first experience with a termite infestation and my problem appears to have been solved for under $170. I Thank DoMyOwnPestControl.com for providing professional products at fair prices.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 71 of 72 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Effective
    By Lawrence on 06/08/2010
    Verified Purchase

    I used this material to treat a very large tree in my yard that was being attacked by termites and large black ants. I previously used products from Home Depot; a complete waste of money. Within one day, I could not find any activity.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 54 of 67 people found this review helpful:

    2 of 5 Stars   Unsure at this time
    By Gary on 04/28/2011
    Verified Purchase

    I had a major infestation of flying drone termites in my house. I trenched around my entire house 6-8" down and 4-5" away from foundation where I could and drilled a 1/2" hole 18" deep at the stoop and driveway every 10" and applied Dominion 2L at the rate shown for heavy infestation. I still had them in my house 5 days later though not as bad. I then went to the basement and exposed the exterior framing at the foundation and proceed to spray the BoraCare. 1/2 way through this process I found huge piles of dirt and trails a plenty underneath my front door. At this time I saturated the wood using the Dominion 2L. It is now over a week since then (2 weeks since treating outside) and I am still finding one or two termite upstairs everyday.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    Dominion 2L is a non-repellent termiticide, meaning it does not kill the termites right away.  The product is a delayed kill so the termites above the ground have time to take the product back to the colony and the queen that is below ground.  This ensures that the colony is completely eliminated.  For this reason Dominion 2L and all other non-repellents including Termidor, take up to 90 days to kill a termite colony.  So it is normal to see activity for up to 90 days after treating your home.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 39 of 41 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Good Value
    By Robert on 05/21/2010
    Verified Purchase

    I found the process not that difficult.  I used a short pickax to dig the trench, and needed 2 containers of Dominion. I found the tech support from the website to be great, but still have to wait a while to see if all termite activity ceases.  So far so good, no new mud tubes, and its been 3 weeks since the application.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 36 of 36 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Dominion 2L works as advertised
    By Robert on 06/12/2010
    Verified Purchase

    I trenched around my house (using a small pickax) and applied Dominion 2L as directed by the very helpful staff at DoMyOwnPestControl.com. It's a month and a half later, we replaced a threshold that was eaten up, and there doesn't appear to be any signs of termites.  This wasn't easy, but it saved a bundle. Also the carpenter ant gel sold on this site is very effective. Thanks again!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 21 of 21 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Dominion 2L
    By Greg on 04/10/2011
    Verified Purchase

    Great product at a great price. I had my previous house professionally treated with Termidor at a cost of over a $1000 dollars. Did a similar treatment at my new, slightly larger, home myself with Dominion 2L at a cost of about $90 dollars. I expended a bit of sweat doing the trenching and back-fill, but was definitely worth the savings. Everything I've seen indicates that Dominion 2L (Imidacloprid) works similarly to Termidor. Works slightly faster than Termidor to kill the affected insect. This is good, but it does slightly decrease the likelihood of spreading the pesticide in the colony. Otherwise has a similar span between retreatment times (7 years as compared to 10 years for Termidor). Received my order very quickly, only 2 days after ordering.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 20 of 20 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Dominion 2L Concentrate
    By David on 07/14/2010
    Verified Purchase

    The best product at the best price I have used for aphid control on trees and bushes. I use as soil drench (systemic) whenever possible; works great as a contact/spray also. DoMyOwnPestControl has the best prices on this excellent product. Active ingredient: Imidacloprid @ 21.4% - about 15X the strength of typical store products.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 19 of 19 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Many uses now
    By Rich on 09/27/2010
    Verified Purchase

    Bought this originally as a systemic to control scale on my Canary Island Date palm. Found out that it is the same chemical used in some pet products to control ticks and fleas so I consider it somewhat pet safe to use around the house outdoors. After reading the label information I found out it also control Chinch bugs in the St Augustine grass here in Southwest Florida. Worked better than the dry bagged products sold in home centers.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 19 of 23 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Emerald Ash Borer
    By Jim on 05/13/2010

    Previously used Merit for 10 ash trees at a total cost of $500 per year. Thanks to advice from DoMyOwnPestContol, I was able to treat my trees with Dominion for a total of $90. Dominion was much easier to use as it is in a liquid form vs the dry Merit. Only time will tell if all the treatments the past 3 years have been effective. But so far there is no sign of infestation and we live in an area that has infestation of the EAB near by.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 18 of 19 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Easy to do
    By Julia on 06/19/2010
    Verified Purchase

    After searching the Internet and finding out that the treated ground your house is build on only lasts for 15 years. I bought Dominion 2L instead of paying a pest control company. I was able to apply the product myself around my foundation with a shovel and 5 gal paint bucket, says it's good for seven years, so I guess you won't hear from me for 7 years. Thanks, Julia

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 15 of 16 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   End your problems
    By Ken on 06/26/2010
    Verified Purchase

    Thanks!! Works great, no more ants or termites here!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 11 of 12 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Dominion 2L Termiticide
    By Gpigg on 02/05/2011
    Verified Purchase

    Arrived quickly.  Advice from Domyownpestcontrol.com made this easy to pick to solve my termite issue. This material is easy to use, mixed it in a 5 gallon bucket and treated the house in about 1 hour. Would recommend to others. I'm sure I've saved a bundle

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 11 of 11 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Dominion 2L - on carpenter ants
    By Jeff on 09/18/2011
    Verified Purchase

    I have a shed on remote property in the mountains which I visit every two months or so. On one visit, the shed, built on a wooden platform, was infested with ants. From research on the internet I determined by their behavior that they were carpenter ants. Insecticides from home improvement stores killed the ones I could see, but later, millions more attended the funeral service. A good band treatment in a 2 foot (or so) wide band from a 2 gallon plastic watering can around the shed with Dominion 2L and no more ants in the shed. I've since treated around some of the pinion pine trees where they still frequent. I'll find out on my next trip in October '11 if it did as well there. When you mix the concentrate, be sure to wear rubber gloves as it can be absorbed through your skin if it splashes on you. The concentrate, which resembles whipping cream, requires very thorough mixing or you'll end up with concentrated product pouring on the ground when you get down to the last few ounces.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 8 of 10 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Control of Willow leaf miner
    By Ron on 05/07/2010
    Verified Purchase

    I've had years of problems with late summer leaf loss due to a leaf miner on my willows. Many attempts to control it with various sprays were not successful. I noticed some improvement late summer 2008 after the first application of Dominion that spring. The second application in spring 2009 resulted in about 90% improvement by late summer. 2010 will be my third application. One 23 oz. bottle treated my 12 trees. Application is easy - dilute with water per label and pour on the soil around the tree at the drip line one time per year in the spring.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 7 of 10 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Finally, something that WORKS
    By Steve on 08/26/2011
    Verified Purchase

    For about the past 5 years i have been losing my fight against carpenter ants. Nothing available in the mega hardware stores or local garden centers seems to work. I have always been able to find ants pretty much everywhere. I was pretty much resigned to call a professional exterminator when i thought to search the internet and found you. after a single application of Dominion on the exterior of my house, a full week later and i cannot locate a single carpenter. I have probably spent $300-500 dollars in the past few years on stuff that didnt work at all so this is one of the BEST purchases i have ever made. THANK YOU for being there! DoMyOwnPestControl has made one of the major annoyances in my life go away. I WILL be back and i will be recommending you to my family and friends.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 6 of 6 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Yet another great product!
    By C. on 07/27/2011
    Verified Purchase

    Bought this stuff twice now to control Ash borers as well as pine borers. I mix it with some powered fertilizer in a 5 gal. bucket to drench the tree trunck. Almost cut down two of my Austrian pines last year but decided to give this a try rather than use the stuff made by the same company that makes aspirin. This year, the tree has become green again and is growing again. Can see where borers "try" to get a foothold, but then find them dead all around the tree. My ash trees are the envy of the neighborhood and have never looked better while several neighbors have had theirs cut down. Everyone now asks what I use to keep them so beautiful, I just show them the bottle and watch their reaction when they compare it to their brand (the aspirin maker). 0.1% of active ingredient for that brand vs. almost 26% for this stuff. No contest. Also great for use around perimeter of the house as it appears to kill almost any type of pest. No ants, termites, millipeds, nothing! May seem expensive, but it's truly worth every penny and actually much cheaper than that other brand when you consider the mix rate. I highly recommend this product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 6 of 7 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Works great on White Flies
    By Michael on 08/01/2011
    Verified Purchase

    Easy application and works great on my ficus hedges.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 9 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   VERY prompt!
    By Lloyd on 10/28/2010
    Verified Purchase

    I haven't used the product yet, but order fulfilment and shipping was very prompt in addition to their response to a remark I left praising their website on my order. A company I will do business with again, that's for sure!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Great Stuff
    By Steven on 04/23/2013
    Verified Purchase

    I purchased Dominion 2L as a cheap alternative to fipronil containing chemicals. My primary use of this product is for carpenter ant control. I have made just one application to the perimeter and eaves of my home. I believe that the ant problem has been mitigated thus far, and with just one treatment. I also used Dominion for flea and tick control for pet areas since it is the same ingredient in Advantix II.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 6 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Time Will Tell
    By Graham on 06/27/2010

    Fast service. Much more reasonable buying from DMOPC than from the local nursery. Not looking for instant results just trying to protect my trees (120) from EAB and Japanese Beetles.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Elbow grease
    By on 08/25/2013
    Verified Purchase

    Treating your own home for termites isn't rocket science, but it does take some elbow grease. With my wife's and son's help we were able to get all the trenching and drilling done. Thank goodness it was a cooler than usual summer. Dominion is pretty straight forward, just measure, add the correct amount of water and pour. In the garage and on the patio, after drilling, we delivered the solution with an automatic transmission fluid funnel, it worked well in the 1/2" holes. Like any other job, the hard word is in the prep. I recommend this product to anyone who needs to save money and has the time and energy.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Dominion 21 Termiticide
    By Tom on 02/20/2013
    Verified Purchase

    Excellent product, natural product made from nicotine/tobacco. I use it in my potted plants to kill gnat larva in soil and as a systemic for scale and foliar feeding insects. Stays active for long periods.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Great product and service
    By Cha0sx on 05/12/2012
    Verified Purchase

    The product works great...killed termites right away... The company ship the product right away. I would recommend this to anybody....I have saved Over $1000 by doing it myself

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Home application
    By Laren on 04/09/2014
    Verified Purchase

    The Dominion 2L was easy to mix and apply. Clean up was a breeze as well. The online application video is very easy to follow. The customer service folks were great with any questions that I had.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Dominion 2L Great Stuff
    By on 06/30/2013
    Verified Purchase

    I used it for Whiteflies, neighbors on both sides of me and behind have had their Coconut Palms, Christmas Palms, and Hedges destroyed by the Whiteflies. All my Christmas Palms which butt up against some of them are like Roses between the thorns. Thanks to Dominon2L used as a drench.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 9 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   not sure about this product
    By Jason on 03/30/2012

    i used this product two years ago arounnd the house to use as a barrier against terminte and I found termite swarming and ate my baseboard yesterday. I am going to try termidor this time. it was cheap but I am not sure if this is truely effective. I used it as directed

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Does the job on Root Aphids
    By Brian on 01/30/2011
    Verified Purchase

    The problem with underground insects are how hard they can be to kill 100%. I'm fighting off Root Aphids from a indoor nursery. I tried many other methods that only slowed them down a little temporarily. The first application is in the pots, and I have yet to see one of the little monsters crawling anywhere. It remains to be seen if this is only a set-back or a total kill, but I'm feeling very hopeful since this is the longest I've gone without seeing at least something alive.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Easy Termite protection
    By Charles on 10/11/2010
    Verified Purchase

    Dominion 2L is easy to mix and easy to apply. Shipping, as always, fast and reliable.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   This can be used for Southern Pine Bark Beetle control.
    By Glenn on 08/28/2011
    Verified Purchase

    I live in southeastern Pennsylvania, and this summer, for the first time, southern pine bark beetles (SPB) attacked and killed an eastern white pine in my back yard. Blame it on global warming. The SPB infested the tree in the early summer, and it was dead by August. It was probably dead sooner, but the tree didn't turn red until early August. There must have been 100,000 beetle larvae, pupae, and adults in the tree. I cut it down and removed the wood. The blue-stain fungus that the beetles carry was in the trunk. Now my worry was for the eleven other eastern white pines in my plantation. I knew that Bayer Merit was a listed insecticide for SPB. It can be applied as a soil drench, which is easy for a homeowner, but very expensive because Merit is a patented insecticide. Now the patents have expired, and generic immidicloprid can be purchsed instead. Dominion 2L is a high strength concentrate of immidicloprid. I sent an order for Dominion 2L to Domyownpestcontrol.com, and the return shipment was prompt and accurate. I mixed the concentrate to get the applied concentration according to Bayer Tree and Shrub Insect Control, which is somewhat higher than Dominion 2L recommended. The final strength was 0.07 ounce per inch of circumference of the pine tree, measured 5 feet above the ground. My largest pine has a circumference of 35 inches, and used 2.5 oz. of Dominion 2L, dissolved in about 3 gallons of water. I poured it on the ground around the base of the tree, 2 feet out from the trunk. I have been checking the surviving pines for infestation, and they are still free. I can't credit Dominion 2L, since successful attack by SPB depends upon tree health, and rainfall. Drought or a weak tree allows them to infest the bark. Now the tree they attacked suffered both of these problems. We had a drought in June and July with 100+ temperatures. This, no doubt, facilitated the attack. I used the Dominion on the survivors, because that course of action is recommended by arborists, and pre-emptive controls are the only defence aginst SPB. The good news, if there is any, is that Dominion 2L is about 1/4 the price of Bayer Tree and Shrub Control, and more convenient, because it is a high concentration. The other good news is that DoMyOwnPestControl.com has good service.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Great product
    By Herman on 03/10/2015
    Verified Purchase

    Easy to use protection against white fly infestation of ficus shrubs. In my experience it was the only chemical that really worked against the white epidemic that we have. At a low price when compared to premixed brands.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 206 reviews)