Home » Pest Control Kits » Drain Fly Kit » All Reviews

Customer Reviews for Drain Fly Kit

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   16
4 stars   9
3 stars   3
2 stars   1
1 star   4
 
Average Customer Rating
4 of 5 stars
(33 customer reviews)

Write a Review

Drain Fly Kit
$67.00

Free Shipping!  Free Shipping!

Info / Buy Now


Sort By:

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 33 reviews)

  • 15 of 16 people found this review helpful:

    3 of 5 Stars   Drain Fly Kit Review
    By Si on 06/21/2010
    Verified Purchase

    Although the Drain Fly Kit helped reduce the number of drain fleas, it did not eliminate the problem. The Catchmaster sticky paper does help locate the source of the problem though.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 15 of 16 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   It works really good
    By Mark on 08/22/2011

    I had tons of drain flys and tried some other home remedies that didn't work. In 3 days with this fluid they were no longer hatching. One thing I did to get rid of the ones flying around was take a small plastic container and mix 1 part water (1 cup) with 1 part (1 cup) apple cider vinegar and a a couple drops of dish soap (which keeps the surface from getting a film). They are attracted to the smell of the vinegar and drown in the container. We caught probably 100 in there. My son also rimmed the inside of the container with dish soap as he thinks they slide into the water/vinegar better. I preferred this method to killing the flies vs. the spray bottle stuff in the kit. We had flys mostly coming form the disposal side of our sink but also the other side fo the sink so I put the DF50 in both sides. The bottom line though is you have to keep new flys from hatching and this stuff works for sure. 3 days is pretty good!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 14 of 14 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Drain Fly kit
    By Kathy on 12/27/2010
    Verified Purchase

    The sticky paper showed us exactly where the problem was - not actually in the sink drain but where the drain pipe goes into the floor - never would have guessed. The spray kills instantly - great!  Don't know how much the green drain cleaner works as I am too big to fit down the sink drain.  All in all - a great product.  Thank you, Katy

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 12 of 12 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Worked well
    By Lou on 11/17/2010
    Verified Purchase

    I used the DF5000 but the Drain Flies were still present after a week. My wife noticed that they larvae were coming from tiny cracks in the grout on the shower floor. I spread some of the DF500 on the floor and used a brush to clean the grout well and let it sit overnight. It has been two weeks now and have not seen any Drain Flies. I used the DF500 and the glue pads, but I did not use the spray. You may not need the spray if you do not have a great deal of flies.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 9 of 9 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Drain Fly Kit
    By Donica on 08/06/2010
    Verified Purchase

    Worked very well, but it took over two weeks to completely kill all of the flies.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 7 of 8 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   No more flies
    By Tom on 08/25/2014
    Verified Purchase

    After about a year renting this house, we suddenly started to find dead flies in the master bath tub. Once in a while a few would make it beyond and die on the floor or vanity counter. Eventually it reached into the dozens upon dozens. We've never used the tub so the drain has been mostly stagnant for quite some time, only thing I've done is run some water to flush out a pail or to fill the pail for floor washing. The landlord asked me to get some quotes for pest services which were about $200 or so for a one pest treatment or about $60/2 mo for ongoing pest control. Not having any other issues here, I thought it was a bit much so I did some online research. Actually found the fly photo and description at the Orkin site. Then I found this site and seeing mostly positive reviews, I suggested the landlord let me give it a try. He initially just wanted me to try some bleach down the drain, but I was afraid of excessive corrosion if there were metal sections. So he gave me the ok to get this kit which is somewhat cheaper than just buying the two bottles and the aerosol. I didn't need the sticky paper - it was clearly obvious where they were coming from - I actually stoppered the drain and the number of dead found in the tub decreased significantly before the kit arrived. So I knew the source, I just could not see down the drain due to an attached stopper thingie. After getting the kit, I unscrewed the stopper to get better access. I ran some water and let it drain down - it was very slow, then I poured a dose of the drain cleaner stuff. I took the aerosol and sprayed a few shots into the drain and the overflow on the tub to be sure no adults were hiding out. Next day I flushed it a bit and saw the cleaner was starting to work already - I could see the pipe was plastic below the upper metal section and there was a big wad of hair and gunk stuck to the metal x-section that supports the stopper. I was able to pull out most the wad and toss it in the trash. I continued with 4-5 more treatments - each allowed to set for at least 24 hrs and followed by a brief water flush. The water ran much faster now, no more backups. Better - no more flies. It has been over a week now since finishing and no signs of any flies :)

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 6 of 6 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   They Are Gone!
    By Barbara on 08/18/2012
    Verified Purchase

    Well, we bought the kit and found the flies were coming through the overflow in our bathroom sink. No amount of this stuff would get rid of them. :-( We were in the basement and noticed that our dehumidifier was not draining correctly and had filled up. We inspected the tube that went from the dehumidifier to the drain and found our organic matter and source of the flies. We got rid of that tube and coated the new tube with this orange stuff and we have been fly-free since. We are going to maintain that tube with this orange stuff from now on. Just be careful with the orange stuff as it does stain.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Mystery Flies taking over Cape Cod Bathroom
    By Obrien on 09/20/2010
    Verified Purchase

    Mystery flies replenishing themselves every day. Yuck! We called our professional pest control person and he did not have a clue what type of insect they were or how to get rid of them. We looked on-line and found your description of our drain flies and your excellent product and we had our problem solved in 2 days. Thank you so much for your great service, prompt delivery and easy to follow directions. We educated our pest control people on the nasty drain fly, or 'mickey mouse' bugs.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Great Product
    By Anthony on 09/19/2014
    Verified Purchase

    I follow the direction on the instruction sheet and the drain flies were gone. It took about seven days to stop the flies. I am doing the treatment every other day at the moment. It took about two bottles for the first treatment. I think it would be a good idea to purchase at least four bottles the first time. I will apply my last two bottles every other day. Hopefully this will keep the flies away for good. If not, I will be back for more.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Drain Flies Go Away
    By Ali on 08/08/2012
    Verified Purchase

    I wish I could say it worked. But it didn't. I followed the you tube video on how to use the drain fly kit and I have not been successful. I still have at least 5-8 drain flies flying around in my shower every day. I am not sitting with all this extra product because I bought double the amount. I am not sure what to do now.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Finally a cure!
    By Ken on 09/15/2015

    Took a few days but the drain flies are 99 percent GONE!!!!! Thank you! And the spray lasts forever in case you have a stray fella fly through. I put the tip into the drain and spray for 2 seconds. Fills the line with the spray, killing them instantly. The gel stopped new infestation!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Did not work
    By Dm on 09/23/2011

    This product did not work whatsoever. The drain flies continue to be a problem.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Drain Fly Kit
    By Gr on 06/27/2012
    Verified Purchase

    I can't speak to the kit except that the spray was for a timed device which was not part of the kit. Plenty of sticky mats were sent. I gave it to tenants to use, so I can't speak to whether or not they used it as directed, but the online video is excellent. It arrived very quickly. I will order again if needed. The only reason for 4 stars instead of five is the spray.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Drain Fly kit
    By Nancy on 06/21/2012
    Verified Purchase

    This product worked great on getting rid of the drain flies. I bought more of this so I can my drains clean of insects.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   drain fly problem
    By Emily on 05/31/2012
    Verified Purchase

    This product seemed to help our problem we were having with drain flies. We were seeing them before treatment and during treatment, we saw one. We haven't seen any since the treatment period ended. Would recommend this product to someone having the same problem.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   drain fly kit
    By Moises on 05/13/2014
    Verified Purchase

    worked fast and completely got rid of the drain flies,another advantage was the nice citrusy smell wherever the drains were treated.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    3 of 5 Stars   Drain Fly Kit
    By Julie on 07/14/2014
    Verified Purchase

    This kit helped us tremendously with our drain flies, but we still have them around. The instructions are easy to follow. There is not much to the procedure, so it was not time consuming at all. It took care of the huge infestation that we had, but it did not rid us of the problem. We are out of the drain cleaner, and we still have to use the spray several times a day.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Drain Fly Kit
    By Nancy on 02/26/2012

    Wonderful. The glue traps are a stroke of genius - helped us isolate the problem - a shower drain that we don't use.We didn't have to waste material on drains that did not have a problem. We treated the troublesome drain and haven't seen a fly since. Thank you.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Drain Fly Kit worked like a charm
    By Aj on 12/06/2011
    Verified Purchase

    This product is great! I tried a couple of local/hardware store remedies for drain flies, but no luck until I ordered and used the drain fly kit. The flies are gone!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Drain Fly Kit - It works!
    By Lori on 11/01/2011

    Excellent results, but I did not use the spray or I probably didn't even need it.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Drain Fly Kit
    By Marian on 07/27/2010
    Verified Purchase

    When a Product is Good there's not much to say, never found anything before that Worked. Drain Fly kit does work, so no need to to look for anything else.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Works like a charm!
    By Teresa on 09/02/2010

    I followed the directions to the letter and I haven't seen a drain fly since. A great product so far.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Drain Fly Kit
    By Dona on 11/02/2010
    Verified Purchase

    Drain flies were gone in 3 days with this product. I had use other products, but none worked. Excellent!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Moth fly
    By Jerry on 09/01/2010
    Verified Purchase

    Worked just fine. No more of those pesty little critters.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   The only option to fix drain flies period!
    By David on 09/24/2016

    Awesome stuff, I had a drain fly infestation, i tried bleach down the drain with hot water, i tried just about everything. Fruit fly traps you name it, i could not get rid of these drain flies. This is the only product that actually started working on day one. Yeah there were some flies left but you have to do this for 5 to 7 days every day 4 ounces per drain in the house. In my case i did every drain. I am continuing to do it for 7 days which means i need about 6 gallons. Pricey but you get what you pay for and if you are at the point of no return with drain flies this is a minimal cost to pay to get rid of them. I will be buying this stuff once a month after i go through the 7 days. The idea is to maintain the drains after the treatment to ensure these pests don't come back so it recommends monthly maintenance. I had a pest control guy basically tell me that he couldn't help me and recommended the bleach method. Well if you search about drain flies online everything points to this product and everything i read said bleach dont cut it, it does not break down the things they eat which is organic matter. This product is an enzyme and will break that down and keep your drains clear. Two benefits in one no bugs and no stopped up drains im sold!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 0 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Couldn't be easier
    By Jlenoir on 04/25/2011
    Verified Purchase

    Wow! What a relief to find this product. The Drain Fly Kit is easy to use and works. I followed the very simple instructions and within a week, my problem was gone. The spray is great to get the flies that have already sprung free from the drain. Kills them within seconds. And when you rinse the drain, nice bubbles form which gave me a very good feeling that not only were the critters and their gunky habitat removed but my drain was clean! I then used the product in other drains around the house as a preventative measure. All in all very happy with the results.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 5 Stars   A TOTAL waste of money
    By James on 06/29/2011
    Verified Purchase

    Recently I purchased the Drain Fly Kit to eliminate flies in my kitchen drain after much research. The instructions call for at least 5 applications of Drain Fly Kit DF 5000 down the drain each evening. After making five applications with specific detail to amounts on instructions, the drain flies did not disappear. Adding another 5 applications and finally a total of 15 applications (3 times the recommended dosage), the drain flies continued to multiply and prosper. Down the Drain $52.90 with zero results!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 5 Stars   Drain Fly Kit
    By Anthony on 07/19/2011
    Verified Purchase

    The spray works great for a quick fix. The rest didn't help.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 5 Stars   drain flies
    By S. on 11/14/2015

    This kit has been helpful in that it reduced the number of flies, but it has not eliminated them. I am on my second order and do not plan to by another. I hope by the time I finish this order the flies will be gone.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 Stars   works- that's all I asked for
    By Fred on 05/30/2016

    After some sewer pipe repairs under our floors we had an investation of drain flies in the kitchen and two bathrooms including shower drain. We ordered two of the product kits and followed directions. It took 7 days and using the glue traps provided were able to eliminate the problems. The spray can was useful to kill the flies once the had escaped and we still use it.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 33 reviews)