Home » Carpenter Bees » Dustick Duster (with 21-foot reach) » All Reviews

Customer Reviews for Dustick Duster (with 21-foot reach)

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   15
4 stars   7
3 stars   1
2 stars   0
1 star   1
 
Average Customer Rating
4.5 of 5 stars
(24 customer reviews)

Write a Review


Sort By:

Displaying 1 to 24 (of 24 reviews)

  • 12 of 16 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Dustick needs improvement
    By John on 06/03/2012
    Verified Purchase

    The dustick needs a 90 degree angled tip so you can get it into carpenter bee holes behind facia boards. You need to get the drione dust into their entrance holes to be effective. The tip that comes with the dustick is useless for carpenter bee holes that are behind facia boards. I wish their was an option to buy a 90 degree tip. This product it not worth buying for holes behind facia boards unless they offer you a 90 degree angled tip as an option.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 10 of 11 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Killer product!
    By J on 05/22/2011

    Oh did those Carpenter bees hate getting that dust twenty feet above me where they were safe before. Their buzzing to their death was music to my ears.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 8 of 9 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Dustick Duster Worked as Expected
    By Russ on 06/16/2010
    Verified Purchase

    I found the Dustick Duster to work exactly as advertised. The instructions were good. The sales person was very helpful and courteous. Their price and their free shipping beat all other suppliers. The delivery time was as indicated.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 7 of 8 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Works like a charm!
    By Bill on 09/22/2010

    I used the Dustick to reach a wasp nest that was outdoors and in the peak of my garage. I used all but one extension and it worked perfect! It does get a bit unstable though after you add the second extension so you need to rest it on something as you're adding more extensions. The mechanism itself is great! Well built and worth spending the extra money for a quality product. A bonus is that it comes in a nice storage case!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 6 of 7 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Dustick purchased for golf course
    By P. on 09/10/2012
    Verified Purchase

    As The season nears the end it seems the Yellowjackets and White face Hornets become more numerous and aggressive. With the stick I don't have to wait for the professionals to come and am able to quickly control the nests. I've used it on Yellowjackets nesting in a wall both in and old barn mortar crack and in a void under an eave. The barn was 20' tall and it worked like a charm, though a bit wobbly at it's full extension. I've also used it on 2 full size Hornet nests hanging in trees at a 15' height. It worked but was a bit scary as the nests move as you try to insert the tip, stirring up the nest. One place the stick doesn't work is on underground nests. As you tilt the stick past horizontal the dust won't come out, only works in a vertical plane. So minus one star for that, otherwise very happy with it.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 6 of 6 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   dustick
    By R. on 08/06/2011
    Verified Purchase

    This item worked better than expected. I bought it to control carpenter bees without needing to use a ladder as they have been boring into the logs on my log cabin and feeding the wood peckers who do even more damage. The 21 foot length was needed and worked well. Only regret is that I did not buy this item years ago.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 6 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Great tool
    By Bob on 05/07/2011
    Verified Purchase

    Worked great, really reduced the amount of trudging around with ladders (only needed for the highest peaks). Real time saver.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 6 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Dustick Duster
    By Carl on 05/04/2012
    Verified Purchase

    I ordered a Dustick Duster from Do MY Own Pest Control.com in a last ditch effort to control the damage being done by carpenter bees on my cedar sided Timberframe home. The pest control company I've had for years had no solutions, but the damage continued. The Dustic Duster let me reach places to treat that were unreachable before the Dustic! Within days, the bees dropped to their death, and the swarms stopped immediately. Also the damage from woodpeckers stopped immediately. Do MY Own Pest Control.com delivered promptly and exceeded my expectations. Best protection I've ever invested in!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Dustick Duster
    By Michael on 05/08/2011
    Verified Purchase

    I use this item for my pest control company to reach bees at high places.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    3 of 5 Stars   dustick duster
    By Richard on 05/13/2014
    Verified Purchase

    Works verry well i personally should have gotten the more durable of the two products you definitely can't reach out only up ....

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Dustick Duster
    By Bruce on 05/18/2013
    Verified Purchase

    Used it two weeks ago. Super easy to use. Some insecticide does come out of the connections. But that is expected. Could tape off, but that defeats purpose of breaking down. Do have to keep vertical - but works great.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Dustick Duster
    By Tom on 04/16/2012
    Verified Purchase

    Well made and relatively easy to use. It's expensive but saves time and the trouble of lugging around a ladder, plus keeps you away from problem area.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Dustick Duster
    By Charles on 09/24/2010
    Verified Purchase

    Attic infested with red wasps. Nests were built up under the shingles and couldn't be seen or reached with ordinary wasp/hornet spray. The Dustick Duster was able without effort to reach these nests and completely kill them. Although expensive, one will probably pay an exterminator for multiple visits which could easily exceed the cost of this fine product. It is worth the investment to have around each season.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Gets the job done but with a few flaws
    By Chris on 03/22/2011
    Verified Purchase

    Leaks dust out where the spring loaded connector buttons fasten the pole to the top part of the duster. Have to put tape around it to seal it off. Other than that, pretty good tool.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Works as advertised
    By Roger on 04/16/2012

    The carpenter bees are out in full force and I was able to try my new Dustick. I had to use 1 section of pole to reach the damaged area. I filled the container 3/4 full as directed and added the section of pole and the pump. Everything went together as shown in the directions. I was surprised by the large amount of dust that was released with each stroke of the pump. I do not think I will have any problem if I need to add the all the pole sections. I am very pleased with the Dustick Duster and the service from Do My Own Pest Control.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Dustick
    By Marion on 03/08/2011
    Verified Purchase

    Good product. Wish it held a little more dust. Haven't tried the others out there but this one works. Had a little trouble with the dusting tube clogging but after I moved the tube up and checked the Drione dust for lumps it was okay. The reach with the extensions is awesome. Well made and hope to own this for a long time.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   great product
    By Karen on 10/03/2013
    Verified Purchase

    this product worked great,so easy to use,reached my second story soffet with no problem, just add dust and watch the bees die

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Great tool!
    By Donna on 09/18/2013
    Verified Purchase

    This is a great tool to use when you have hard to reach places where bees and wasp live. I would recommend this to everyone that is a home owner. Very easy to assemble and use.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Dustick
    By Lewis on 08/10/2012
    Verified Purchase

    Well worth the money. I just about like everything about the Duststick. The 1 negative issue, when only using the pump and the canister the handel turns in your hand. Other then that I would recommend every one should own one. I also call the manufacture about this one issue and got a quick response. Pleased to own the Dustrck it does the job. Lou

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Dustick Duster
    By Gary on 01/03/2016

    Received this and really appreciated the bag it comes in. Easy to assemble and helped me dust my chimney (two story house) with the help of a ladder. One improvement would be to have multiple angle tips. Overall a good investment

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 Stars   Great product
    By John on 04/27/2016

    Great product, great price. Quality made, saves you the trouble of using a ladder to get 1 or 2 places. great for ground nests also, pump a good amount of dust in while being a nice distance away. Great tool to have for those spring/summer issues.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 Stars   Dustick for carpenter bees
    By Maria on 05/14/2016

    We have a 2 story log home which had been stained several times. We could not figure out why we were still getting carpenter bees. We finally took down our gutters and realized bees attacked the unstained fascia behind the gutters. I used the dustick and powder and within 2 days, there was a significant reduction in the bees. The stick was very user friendly and as for the powder, a little went a long way. I will be going to our neighbors and dust their shed that has wasps. As much as I would like a more environmentally friendly method, I was really concerned about the number bee holes I saw on every fascia board so I am glad I bought this product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 Stars   perfect reach
    By Bill on 07/11/2016

    I've had issues with carpenter bees on and off for many years. Professional exterminators were the only way to get rid of them for any long period of time, but that gets rather expensive. I have a 2-storey house, and have a bit of a heights/balance problem, so I'd relied on sprays and other liquid solutions (which didn't work well at all). I finally decided to put the exterminator money toward the Dustick and handle things myself the right way. The Dustick works exceptionally well. It is extremely well made, and unlike some older posts, I'm not having any problems with dust leaking out of the chamber. There's a tight-fitting bung underneath the metal cap that keeps the dust from going anywhere but out the nozzle. Of note, the pump end fits VERY tightly into the extension rods. I suggest a bit of grease or WD-40 to prevent it from sticking. Not a horrible problem, but the rods will not fit back in the bag (which is very well made and durable) with the pump attached. For powder I used Drione, and it works extremely well. I dusted just before dusk, and had several bees crawl out and die that evening. There were even more on the ground the next day.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 5 Stars   Dustick duster
    By Saunders on 09/06/2016

    This worked great at ridding my house of a growing yellow jacket issue! Works well.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

Displaying 1 to 24 (of 24 reviews)