Home » Sprayers & Equipment » Dusters » Dustin Mizer » All Reviews

Customer Reviews for Dustin Mizer

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   18
4 stars   12
3 stars   2
2 stars   2
1 star   1
 
Average Customer Rating
4.3 of 5 stars
(35 customer reviews)

Write a Review

Dustin Mizer
$43.50

Free Shipping!  Free Shipping!

Info / Buy Now


Sort By:

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 35 reviews)

  • 16 of 17 people found this review helpful:

    3 of 5 Stars   Good for a season
    By Steve on 05/14/2009

    This is a great duster out of the box. I've had at least four over the years and they all have become useless after one or two seasons. The plastic gears and shafts apparently develop "slop" and get out of time making cranking difficult and cause the fan to frequently "lock up". Perhaps the company should borrow the same system on bait cast fishing reels to turn the venturi and to be more durable and maintainable.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 15 of 15 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   maintenance tip
    By J. on 05/24/2012

    When it binds up a bit, I find that taking the gear cover off and putting hard grease or vaseline on the gear shafts (not WD40) makes it run good again.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 9 of 9 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Dustin Mizer
    By Annette on 10/16/2010
    Verified Purchase

    ...is the bomb! It works as advertised. I used it to put boric acid and diatomeous earth in my attic and around the foundation of my house.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 7 of 9 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Poor Distribution
    By Ron on 07/23/2010
    Verified Purchase

    Using a new dry container of Sevin powder I find it necessary to keep shaking the Dustin Mizer to allow the powder to disperse. The dust does not flow freely. The unit is very light in weight and the extra cranking to attempt dispersion is awkward and clumsy. Overall I am not pleased with this product. Perhaps the manufacture has some explanation or solution.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 7 of 7 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Dustin Mizer
    By M. on 10/09/2010
    Verified Purchase

    I finally got a chance to use the Dustin Mizer and I love it. I have also purchased a couple for my mother and aunt who are up in age and bending is a problem. This product allows for lite dusting, which is different then using a shaker that dumps a lot of dust on the plants.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 6 of 6 people found this review helpful:

    2 of 5 Stars   Not as good as it looks.
    By Al on 04/04/2014

    Chose this rating because I'm not 100% satisfied with it's operation. I used this product to spread Diatomaceous Earth for flea treatment in the yard and other areas outside of the house. The DE is so fine that it doesn't slide easily down the hopper into the spring crank. I had to tap the spreader to ensure DE slid down the hopper walls into the spring crank. I had to stop turning the crank to tap the hopper and this made it very annoying after a little while trying to dispense the DE. Recommend the handle be re-positioned to change the angle of the duster and hopper so that the DE slides into the spring crank without tapping the hopper to get the DE into the spring crank. Try testing the duster spreading DE and you'll understand what I'm complaining about. Would not recommend this product until improvements are made to increase the effectiveness this product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 6 of 6 people found this review helpful:

    2 of 5 Stars   Not real happy
    By on 06/08/2013
    Verified Purchase

    Just a bit hard to turn the handle. Does not put out a very good cloud of DE powder. I cannot recommend this product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 6 of 6 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   New Dustin Mizer with Sevin Powder
    By Carolyn on 09/05/2015

    This is the second Dustin Mizer I've owned. The first one was left behind when I moved from my country home to town. I had successfully used it for many years. I used the new one just this morning to spread Sevin powder to kill ticks, fleas and chiggers in the back yard. It works well. There is just one thing I would like improved and that is the tube that runs from the place holding the powder and the hand crank to the outlet where the powder is released. That tube is fastened rather loosely and wobbles around as I am cranking and directing the powder to the area I want it distributed. Looks like it can be fixed by duct taping it on more securely, but it would obviously be better if it were designed so that it didn't wobble.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Works Great
    By L.d. on 06/12/2011
    Verified Purchase

    I use the Dustin Mizer in my vegetable garden. I especially like the deflector that attaches to the end of the tube. It allows me to get the dust underneath the plant's leaves.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Satisfied customer
    By Angelo on 05/27/2010
    Verified Purchase

    The service was outstanding, and the equipment for our application is excellent quality. Any item that this company carries, that meets our application, we will buy immediately.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Dustin Mizer
    By H.s. on 05/18/2012
    Verified Purchase

    the duster works beautiful with DE in it. The DE is so fine and light it is necessary to have absolute wind-still conditions to disburse it upwards into a fruit tree.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Dustin Mizer
    By Jim on 07/14/2013
    Verified Purchase

    Works as promised. Light coating of bust and easy to use.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Very good product
    By on 07/20/2013
    Verified Purchase

    Today was the first time I used my new Dustin Mizer. I had an older model that broke and I couldn't get parts for it. The new Dustin Mizer has a parts list inclosed. The unit is well made, so I hope there is never a need to buy parts.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   NICE STUFF - Dustin Mizer
    By Todd on 10/05/2011
    Verified Purchase

    When you really crank on it and turn fast I filled my entire attic in less then 30 seconds. Really throws out the dust and yet it takes very little to cover a large area. Domyownpestcontrol.com Is GREAT. Super FAST shipping. I ordered and before I clicked pay I had a knock at my door and my items were there. Well maybe it was after I paid but it was QUICK and 100%.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Dustin Mizer
    By on 07/24/2013
    Verified Purchase

    The Dustin Mizer works very well for putting out a super fine cloud of powder substances, I used it with D.E. I think it is great for use on plants, however I wish it had a setting for putting out a heavier cloud of dust for ridding yellow jackets and flies, etc. It is easy to use, but is a bit on the flimsy side where the seems come together.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Works well
    By Roxanne on 09/08/2011
    Verified Purchase

    Does the job as promised. If you're using it for an extended period of time it gets tiring on your arms and becomes a little cumbersome.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Dustin Mizer
    By Robert on 05/25/2012
    Verified Purchase

    This product does a nice job of applying insect dusts and diatomaceous earth. It puts out a fine even coating and is easy to operate. Physically, it's on the small side and very light, which is the only thing that concerns me for long term use...but time will tell. If they made a beefed up version, I think it would sell better and people wouldn't mind paying a little more for a higher quality product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   dustin mizer
    By Joe on 09/12/2014

    I used it for dipel and it throws a very light powdery spray that floats up under the leaves and gives the plants a very nice coating!It is made of very light plastic and I am treating it gently for fear it will break. Made in the USA I like that phrase!! Don't get to hear that to often. Much better than my old hudson pump duster that threw big clumps of powder.Don't know how it will react to sevin dust yet.I would give it a five but It look's pretty fragile!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   I like it!
    By Linda on 06/19/2011
    Verified Purchase

    This is a powerful compact device for dusting with the diatomaceous earth. I was able to stand on my garage roof and dust nearly the entire top of a full grown apple tree. I had recently bought a hand pump device that squeaked so loud I was embarrassed to use it; nor did it pump but a short distance. I wasted my money there. So take my advice, don't dink around with the little gadgets. The Dustin Mizer is actually smaller than the picture looks and is far superior to any of those hand pumps. It's light weight and nice looking. Though it may seem expensive, it does the job!  Not sure about the longevity of it yet. I hope this company is supportive of defects (if they do occur). So far, I'm very impressed!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Great tool for garden dusting
    By Giacomo on 05/05/2014
    Verified Purchase

    Couldn't find this tool in the area where I had bought it about ten years ago, so I looked on Internet and found it ... right at the source. I wouldn't use any other tool. It is excellent for it's smoothness and ease of operation.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   As Advertised
    By Darran on 04/16/2016

    Although the screen in the feed box does "cake" up a bit on the edges when I used Diotom Dust, it emitts a very fine dust that makes the products I use last longer and cover more area. Wish I had bought it last spring!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Not bad!
    By Bruce on 09/07/2015

    Not bad but you have to hit the thing to dump more powder in it! Overall it worked good, covered the plants great!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Sevin Duster
    By Earl on 07/04/2012
    Verified Purchase

    This thing works great. Puts out a huge very fine fog of dust. I place it under the plant and crank the fog up from the bottom to get the leaves totally covered. A wrist brace extension on the handle to help with holding it would be a nice addition, similar to some hand held fertilizer spreaders. I bought one for a friend after I had used mine several times.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Just right!
    By Susan on 07/24/2011
    Verified Purchase

    After using a 'poof' bottle to spread the DE for our garden, with the resulting over- and under-covering, we found this gem! It uses 1/4 of the amount of DE to cover the same area evenly and completely. Bye bye, sowbugs, earwigs and other little creepy crawlies. If treated kindly (and that doesn't mean it's fragile) this mighty little duster should last a lifetime.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Excellent Product!
    By Marie on 09/02/2010
    Verified Purchase

    This duster is able to direct the dust directly where you want it. The scoop is detachable, which we really liked. Great item for the price!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    3 of 5 Stars   Good but
    By Rodney on 05/03/2012

    It works well, but it does waste a lot of the dust. I had to cover most of the holes with duct tape to stop waste of dust. With the holes partially covered it works well.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Dustin Mizer
    By Cindy on 12/05/2011
    Verified Purchase

    Used a little this year, see how it works next year when it gets more use. So far so good!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Dustin Mizer Works Great
    By Merrill on 10/10/2010

    Haven't had much chance, but did try it out in small Green House. Filled green house up in just a few seconds, shut door and seems to have taken care of problem. Emptied the hopper using it around new fig, peach and plum trees.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Dustin Mizer
    By Monty on 06/26/2011
    Verified Purchase

    Product works great. Easy to use. We are using DE on our garden, chicken coup and under house, and the Dustin Mizer makes these applications easy.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Nice!
    By Judy on 04/20/2016

    Have only used this product once so far but loved the way it works. Your hand gets tired after turning the crank for a while but it puts out a fine mist of powder that does a very good job.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 35 reviews)