Home » Ants » Fire Ant Control » Extinguish Plus Fire Ant Bait » All Reviews

Customer Reviews for Extinguish Plus Fire Ant Bait

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   31
4 stars   8
3 stars   1
2 stars   2
1 star   3
 
Average Customer Rating
4.4 of 5 stars
(45 customer reviews)

Write a Review

Extinguish Plus Fire Ant Bait
$33.77

Free Shipping!  Free Shipping!

Info / Buy Now


Sort By:

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 45 reviews)

  • 23 of 23 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Fire Ants in Tampa, Florida
    By David on 06/13/2010
    Verified Purchase

    A friend of mine from Texas recommended this product to me. I am allergic to Fire Ant toxins. When I sprinkle this stuff over the mound, the ants grab it quickly and take it down the ant hole. The mound and ants are gone by the next day.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 19 of 19 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   The product REALLY works!!
    By Francis on 10/06/2008

    We were very pleased with the Extinguish Plus Fire Ant Bait we ordered September 14, 2008. We wish to go on record that this product REALLY works. We also were amazed at the quick receipt of the product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 18 of 30 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Forget it.....
    By Joseph on 11/22/2011

    I had high hopes for Extinguish Plus after reading an in-depth online review on fireant control from Texas. It was listed as one of the most cost-effective treatments - and I took the bait (pun intended). I have a 3 acre lot and the recommended application rate was 1 - 1.5 lbs / acre.... so, the 4.5 lb should have been just what I needed - right? Well, it sounded like a good idea until the product arrived.... the volume of the 4.5 lbs is quite small, making it next to impossible to accurately distribute over a large area with any common hand or drop spreader. I called DoMyOwnPestControl first to see if they had any recommendations.... the naive young lady who answered my call told me MOST people buy the 20 lb bag....... that would be about 7 times the recommended application rate (and over $200)!!! I'm sure the EPA would not look favorably on such wreckless advice. I then called the manufacturer - they recommended I map out 20' by 20' grids and apply the product in small mounds at the intersection of the grid lines...... so, that's what I did - a painstaking process that took several hours. I checked the bait after application and did see ants foraging the material. It's been over 2 weeks now - and the ants are as thick as they ever were... I detect little, if any, effectiveness. I would have done just as well to throw $70+ in nickles, dimes and pennies over the lawn. Don't waste your money (or time) with this product unless you plan on overdosing the environment with a 20 lb bag.....

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 17 of 17 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Extinguish Plus for Myrmica Rubra
    By Jeremy on 07/08/2010

    I have been studying the effectiveness of various toxins in controlling a serious northern fire ant infestation on a small island off the coast of Maine. So far, the most practical combination seems to be an Insect Growth Regulator (IGR) followed by Hydramethylnon. Initially, I used Methoprene (Extinguish) and hydramethylnon (Amdro) sequentially, separated by about a week, then, a few weeks later, followed up with the two together (Extinguish-Plus). This seems to have virtually eliminated the fire ants from the treated area, at least for the present season. In another area, I used the Extinguish-Plus alone about a week ago. So far I have seen many piles of dead ant carcasses, indicating that the bait is working, but there are still plenty of worker ants busily carrying away more carcasses, so only more time will tell whether the substances used together is as good as the two used separately. I welcome the experience of others using these and other toxins.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 16 of 16 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Extinguish + works but you have to follow the rules...
    By Jo on 03/12/2013

    We have had perfect results with this product for many years. You HAVE to understand HOW it works to be successful. Our process is as follows: 1. When ambient ground temp is 65 degrees (1st week of May typically), we broadcast 2 lbs per acre (looks like nothing, but it is sufficient), on a day when no rain is expected for at LEAST 3 days following. 2. Mound treat as needed through the summer. We are bordered by farm fields that are NOT treated, the edge of the field always need "help" and we can not treat their land. 3. Broadcast a second time in late September when no rain is expected and before a cold snap hits. Soil temperature is essential.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 9 of 10 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Exactly as advertised! Great product.
    By Sharon on 04/21/2010

    The product did exactly as it should. DMOPC continues to provide quality products at a great price, with exceptional service.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 9 of 9 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Where'd they go?
    By Jerry on 08/14/2012

    We bought 5 acres that had been ignored for some time with fire ants everywhere! Didn't know what a growth regulator was but thought I'd try this stuff since it was so highly rated. My next question, where'd the ants go? No more stinging dust clouds while mowing and the dog can play with the geese without getting bit. The negative...this stuff is so fine it is very very hard to spread thin enough to get the coverage rate recommended (I suggest you apply in stripes 20' apart instead of solid coverage and spot treat visible mounds in between,... or maybe mix with cornmeal to extend volume...haven't tried that yet so don't know) Oh yeah, read the directions, don't apply when its going to rain, not in cool weather (read dates on negative comments) and spot treat "around" the mound not "on" the mound. I'm sold and will use this again.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 8 of 8 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   extinguish fire ant
    By Mp on 08/13/2011

    Excellent in killing these pest...once and for all.....it works great....buy it you won't regret the purchase...as soon as you put it on the nest...the ants take it all down into their colony......food for the nest....this kills the queen.....no more ants....they will not move to a new area as they are dead!...it is GREAT and really does work!...we have even spread it on all our pastures for the cattle....works wonderful!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 6 of 7 people found this review helpful:

    2 of 5 Stars   Misleading - Probably need to double/triple application
    By Tim on 10/08/2012
    Verified Purchase

    I used as directed to treat individual amounts and of all the many ant hills I treat, only 1 very small hill was "extinguish"ed. In fact, the hills have now spread and multiplied so not only am I out $25 for a wasted effort, I now need to spend extra on another application. Upon application, I could observe the ants readily feeding and harvesting the bait - so it was certainly attractive, but ultimately mostly ineffective. Very disappointed because I read many great reviews on this product. Since I am trying to keep to a budget, I looked for a product that would do the job in one shot.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 6 of 6 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   This Stuff Works
    By Charles on 09/24/2012

    If you follow the directions this stuff actually kills off the fire ant colony. Unlike other products you use very little and do not have to wet it in. It is by far the most effective fire ant killer that I have ever used in my 2 acre yard

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 6 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Best product I have tried
    By Steve on 05/14/2014

    I have been using Extinguish Plus for the past 3 years. I have found it to be effective in controlling the population of fire ants. I use a Herd Kasco GT-77-ATV Broadcast Seeder/Spreader for ATV's to distribute Extinguish Plus. I follow the instructions provided by Auburn University based on the Moundville Study. The study reveals that it is better to eliminate most of the mounds, not all and let the remaining ones kill off new invaders. I apply in May and late August and only when the ants are active. Late in the day, after sundown. Drop a few potato chips around and if ants are present in 15 to 39 minutes, it is the time to apply. There seems to be a residual effect as I find fewer new mounds before treatment. Precision application is the key and the spreader provides exact distribution.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Amazing!
    By Monica on 07/30/2012
    Verified Purchase

    I dealt with ant problems many years ago and had your basic spraying exterminators come by, which didn't stop the problem at all. Then I found a great exterminator who used bait to sterilize the queen and therefore end the colony. So when I searched and searched for something to stop the hybrid red ants that were biting my (and my dogs') feet every time we were outside, I found Extinguish, and was very hopeful it would do the same. It did! This was so easy, the ants went for it right away and started dragging down their holes. Within a couple days they were gone!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Extinguish Plus - Works Great!!
    By Garrett on 10/27/2011
    Verified Purchase

    We bought a new house and the backyard had a harvester ant colony with a couple nests. I ordered the 1lb jar, sprinkled some a couple inches away from the nest openings in the morning when they were active. As soon as I put it down they started bringing it back to the nest. At first it was only a couple ants foraging, but after a few minutes hundreds were grabbing it and taking it back. After the first day there was a noticeable decrease in activity in the colony, and I noticed numerous dead carcasses around the nest openings. After the 3rd day all activity had ceased and I haven't seen a harvester ant since. Very pleased!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Great Product
    By Baker on 09/28/2011

    Works excellent for fire ants in Florida! I have tried others, but this is the best.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Too early to tell
    By Dave on 12/31/2010

    I moved into a new property where the prior owners weren't so good about treating for fire ants and there were hills everywhere. With 3 dogs I wanted to make sure that the yard was safe for them so I spread this over 3 acres in November and within about a week all the active ant hills died. Within the next week, however, I noticed new ant hills sprouting up and have been spot treating them. Come springtime I plan to do another broadcast spreading and am hopeful that will get things under control.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Worked fast
    By Lew on 08/12/2015

    I spread Extinguish Plus over 1 1/2 acres (by hand) but put extra around obvious mounds. There was no ant activity at any of the mounds after 2 days. Hopefully the entire colonies were affected. There are underground galleries that connect mounds (often in a straight line). I don't believe there are any spreaders that would be practical and accurate for spreading this type of bait at 1 1/2 lbs./acre, as that is a very small rate. I walk up and down the acreage and minimally dribble the bait (with vinyl gloves).

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   This stuff really works
    By John on 10/06/2015

    I used to have this product applied by a professional and this year, I decided to do it myself to save a little money. It works. There's nothing more to say about it. No fire ants on our ten acres.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Pleased with results
    By Scott on 11/25/2010
    Verified Purchase

    Worked as advertised. Arrived in a timely manner(UPS).

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Works Great for Me
    By Sean on 11/02/2015

    I have been using Extinguish Plus for about 4-5 years now & if I remember to apply it twice a year, it works great. If I go more than +/- 9 months without doing it, I start seeing a few mounds. But no worries, one quick application & the ants are gone again within a few days & stay gone for 7-9 months.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Extinguish Plus Fire Ant Bait
    By Mary on 12/07/2015

    I have purchased a lot different ant killers and none of worked. Went on line and I found "Extinguish Plus Fire Ant Bait." used it and it really works, I love it and will continue to purchase when I have an issue with ants. Thank you.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Really Works....
    By Donna on 09/13/2013
    Verified Purchase

    Sprinkle around mounds gone the next day great product. Customer service is also GREAT...

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    2 of 5 Stars   Not to impressed
    By Steve on 08/22/2012

    I have treated the mound and broadcast in the yard and haven't seen any good results. Didn't work for me.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Dead ants that don't come back, but use it quickly
    By on 07/14/2013
    Verified Purchase

    Kills fire ants quickly, and they don't come back. The only down side is it goes bad in just a few months, even faster if exposed to moisture (like the heat and humidity here in Austin), so keep in inside not in the garage or shed.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Best I have found
    By Charles on 11/22/2015

    In East Texas, fire ants are a year round problem. Extinguish is the most effective product that I have found to control these pests. It can be broadcast or used in bait stations. And, it is safe to use around pets

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Extinguish Plus Fire Ant Bait
    By Bill on 09/21/2013
    Verified Purchase

    This stuff really works! No sign of any activity the next day or any relocation of the colony.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Wonderful
    By Janet on 09/05/2015

    I love Extinguish Plus Fire Ant Bait. It is worth the money. When I lived on 2.6 acres I spread it two years in a row and didn't have fire ants year 3. Now I live on 40 acres with 10 acres of pasture. Right now I have to top dress the mounds and it works well that way too. I like spreading it better. Just follow the directions.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    3 of 5 Stars   Dont know the full effect yet
    By Raj on 11/17/2011
    Verified Purchase

    Its been two weeks since I applied this to my yard. So far I see some reduction in the fire ant numbers but they are not gone for sure. I plan to do another treatment come spring and hope my summer is ant free! The ants do seem less in number and sluggish right now, but that could be just the winter time making them hide.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Fire Ant Bait
    By Bill on 07/05/2015

    I applied as directed by instructions to my lawn and the next day it looked like a ghost town. I did not see any ants. I'm happy!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   So Far, So Good
    By Robert on 05/13/2013
    Verified Purchase

    Bought this to treat what I thought were Fire Ants but after more research, I determined they were Harvester Red Ants. Either way, they had sent my dog to the vet with some nasty swollen paws, and me home with a nice vet bill. I spot treated individual ant holes as I discovered them over a 1 acre pasture. I sprinkled this stuff around the holes and they went nuts carrying it back to their nest. Within a few day to a week, not a living ant to be found. It's been about a month now and still no sign of ants. I'm very pleased with this product. Follow instructions and hopefully you will as well.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   It Works
    By Stuart on 05/09/2016

    This stuff works. On 25 acres in East Texas. Put it around mounds, ant eat it like candy, ants die. don't come back. It works

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 45 reviews)