Home » Lawn & Garden » Herbicides » Selective Herbicides » Fertilome Over the Top II Grass Killer » All Reviews

Customer Reviews for Fertilome Over the Top II Grass Killer

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   8
4 stars   5
3 stars   1
2 stars   2
1 star   4
 
Average Customer Rating
3.6 of 5 stars
(20 customer reviews)

Write a Review


Sort By:

Displaying 1 to 20 (of 20 reviews)

  • 48 of 49 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Great Product!
    By Tim on 05/26/2011
    Verified Purchase

    This Over the Top II is a great product that works very well as long as you follow the instructions to the letter. You must use an oil additive with it, such as Spreader Sticker, because all grass, even crab grass, has a waxy coating that causes water and chemicals to bead up and run off, thus greatly reducing the effectiveness of any chemical. I used Spreader Sticker with the Over the Top II and all of the crab grass that I sprayed had stopped growing after 24 hours and was completely dead within 10 days. Of course I sprayed the crab grass when it was still relatively small. It also worked, with the same result, on the Bermuda grass I sprayed.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 27 of 28 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Did the job
    By Charles on 10/13/2012
    Verified Purchase

    Have been looking for something to get rid of the Bermudia grass in my lawn without killing my Cenipede grass. Tried this product and it eliminated the problem. It did so well that some of my neighbors saw what happened to my lawn and now they are using this product as well.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 24 of 26 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   It Works!
    By Bill on 07/07/2012
    Verified Purchase

    I am currently using this product to kill the grass that is growing in my Strawberry Groundcover. It looks like it is working. I was dubious, since I could not find an Ortho or Monsanto product that claimed to kill grass but leave groundcover unharmed. However, I am also incredibly lazy, so I decided to try it. It works.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 20 of 21 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   it works
    By Lloyd on 07/04/2011
    Verified Purchase

    a lot of products you purchase today are not as advertised,fertilome over the top11 grass killer works very well,the service i received was fast and accurate,if i need any more i will certainly get it from do my own.thank you L.R.McCoige.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 19 of 19 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Over The Top II
    By Alton on 06/23/2014
    Verified Purchase

    This takes care of the grass without damaging my wife's perennials and moss.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 15 of 15 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Very Satisfied
    By M on 08/15/2012
    Verified Purchase

    I used the Fertilome Over The Top II Grass Killer with the Surfactant by the instructions on the label. It got rid of 95% of the weedy grass that was growing in my Juniper ground cover. I will make one more application and it should get rid of all the weedy grass. The products were shipped quickly and I received them sooner than I expected.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 14 of 14 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Fertilome over the top II grass killer
    By Oliver on 10/24/2012
    Verified Purchase

    I have used this product about weeks ago and it appears to be knocking down the bermuda grass with no apparent damage to my St. Augustine. I also used it in my front yard where I had the bermuda coming into my newly installed Zenith Zoysia. I just tried a small area, but it appears safe for the Zoysia as well.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 11 of 12 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Wire grass killer
    By Peter on 06/08/2012
    Verified Purchase

    Used this material over a very heavy wire grass infested area in our garden to reclaim 2 beds to use this year. It killed the wire grass completely. Used a commercial surfactant in place of "spray oil" (cheaper per oz). Does NOT control any broadleaf weeds so will have to repeat with Roundup. Did not work well where I sprayed lightly so will cover heavier next time. Will use again .

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 9 of 17 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Needs to be mixed with Oil Concentrate
    By Tom on 08/18/2012
    Verified Purchase

    I thought it would be just a matter of mixing with water, but the directions say to mix with "oil concentrate". I now see that it's mentioned in bold red font on the website, not sure how I missed it. After some research I found that this refers to Non-Ionic Surfactant for Herbicides  which I'm sure would have worked great, but I really wanted to get this stuff applied as the weeds were choking out my low lying juniper plants. I didn't want to wait another week to get it, and it's not cheap, so I mixed it with Jet-Dry for dishwashers. It's the non-ionic property that is important, but many farmers just use laundry detergent or dish-washing liquid which is not non-ionic as it's far cheaper. I applied it 2 weeks ago and have not noticed any significant change. I called Do My Own Pest Control and left a message 5 days ago and never heard back from them. Fertilome has no customer support that I could find.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 9 of 9 people found this review helpful:

    2 of 5 Stars   Didn't seem to work for me
    By Bill on 06/23/2011
    Verified Purchase

    We have an area along a RR Track that is mixed periwinkle and weeds, mostly grasses and grain. When I tried it I saw no kill or even yellowing after 3 weeks of cool weather. I would try it again but we are now into summer and natural die back. I will try it again a little earlier next year. I really hope it works because it would solve a big problem here.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 7 of 7 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Works
    By Jg on 08/05/2013
    Verified Purchase

    Using to kill crabgrass in Centipede grass. Product seems to be working. It's been about a week and weeds started yellowing. My yard has gotten very infested with crabgrass. But this seems to be working. Lawn is still alive.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 7 of 9 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Didn't do the job!
    By Cecil on 05/27/2012
    Verified Purchase

    This product seems to be slowly killing the irises and 2 applications haven't done any harm to the grass we were trying get rid of...so my rating is 0 stars!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 6 of 7 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Great Stuff
    By on 07/23/2013
    Verified Purchase

    I bought more only because I missed spots with the 1st bottle. Takes about 2 weeks to kill the bermuda grass in my centipede. As I walk around the yard I see I'll have to buy another bottle, but it works!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 7 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   KILL THEM WEEDS
    By Joe on 09/19/2013

    Works great!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 7 people found this review helpful:

    2 of 5 Stars   confused
    By Brian on 09/04/2012

    I mixed it according to the label, along with spreader, sprayed on some weeds and grass, it killed both. What's up with that? I will try again, maybe I mixed it wrong.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 8 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Over the Top II
    By Will on 11/05/2011
    Verified Purchase

    Nice stuff for minor jobs. Does not kill the grass though. Got most of the weeds. Had to apply 6 times to get some weeds and grass out of some newly planted jasmine. Bottle says it covers many square feet. This is simply not correct. I used a mixing unit recommended by local garden supply house at the setting as directed on the bottle. Did not cover near what it said it would at average dispersal ( wetting the ground). Very mixed up directions. Thought I needed to add a oil agent by directions on the bottle. But garden supply house said none was needed. Very confusing.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   useless
    By Steve on 08/19/2015

    I mixed and sprayed as directed and it had zero results after two weeks, not even a yellowing of the grass. A wasted $45

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 5 Stars   So far.....
    By Seth on 08/05/2016

    I bought this to control Bermuda in my centipede lawn. It has been two weeks from application day and the Bermuda has been knocked way back. It may take 1 to 2 applications to achieve total control but my centipede is unharmed. That being said I am pleased with the product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 Stars   Great Stuff!
    By Owen on 08/18/2016

    Bought to eradicate extensive amounts of crabgrass and stilt grass that had invaded my Tall Fescue lawn (or what was left of the lawn). Sprayed this mixed with Spreader-Sticker in a pump sprayer before the crabgrass went to seed. Stopped all growth (haven't had to mow at all) and starting turning brown within 3 days. After a week, every crabgrass was brown or well on it's way. Lawn looks like heck (no more green) but the lack of rain hasn't helped either. Next up is aeration and overseed. Raleigh NC

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 5 Stars   Not sure if it works.
    By Lydia on 09/26/2016

    It has been almost 3 weeks since I sprayed this. It seems like the weeds have stopped growing but they are not dead. I used this with the spreader sticker on newly planted Asian jasmine, which survived the spray. Was hoping the weeds would be dead by now. I previously pulled weeds in one area and sprayed there afterward. There are no weeds growing there now.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

Displaying 1 to 20 (of 20 reviews)