Home » Moles » Giant Destroyer Smoke Bomb/Gasser » All Reviews

Customer Reviews for Giant Destroyer Smoke Bomb/Gasser

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   76
4 stars   37
3 stars   13
2 stars   5
1 star   6
 
Average Customer Rating
4.3 of 5 stars
(137 customer reviews)

Write a Review


Sort By:

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 137 reviews)

  • 65 of 67 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   It's war, and I'm winning
    By Steve on 09/08/2010

    My yard was under attack by moles. I'd wake every morning to five or so new mounds. I tried traps, but I wasn't having much luck. I didn't really want to use poison since I have two dogs and there are several cats in my neighborhood (they are one of the best solutions to moles). So, I started buying these at the local hardware store and using them. It is not an overnight solution. I would get up every morning and drop one of these in each new mound. Each day, there would be fewer mounds in the morning. After about a week of doing this, I pretty much conquered. I get maybe one mound a week. I live on a golf course, so I have neighboring grass on all sides (also filled with mole holes), so they journey into my yard at times. I realized pretty quick that buying these at the local hardware store pack by pack was going to get expensive. I searched the web for a better price and found this case. From here on out, I'll just always keep some on hand and be back for another case when I get low.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 51 of 51 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Best tool I've found
    By Sc on 08/07/2010
    Verified Purchase

    The giant smokers really worked compared to poison pallet and juicy fruit, etc. Can't use trap because soil is only 1 inch deep in most of the yard. We used this product a few years ago under our concrete porch and we didn't see gravels being dug out any more. This year, we had tunnels and holes all over the yard in about 2-3 weeks time. We used only 3 smokers in 2 different places. No more tunnels or holes.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 39 of 40 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Battle of the rodents 2001
    By Chuck on 04/15/2011

    Okay, I have secured financing for an all out battle, using scorched earth tactics. I purchased a dozen packages, which arrived quite quickly from DoMyOwnPestControl.com, and immediately sent my forces to battle. I started with the close combat and lit some gassers in the the existing holes. Within a week, I have moved the pests about 60 yds BEYOND my grass areas and now I'm initiating phase 2. I call it Operation Acre 2 Haboob. Gassers are working great so far.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 28 of 29 people found this review helpful:

    3 of 5 Stars   Best that I have found
    By J.d. on 07/05/2010

    I estimate that the number of gopher/moles killed per gasser deployed is about 10%. Even though I would like a higher "kill rate", this product is more effective than any others that I have found.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 26 of 27 people found this review helpful:

    3 of 5 Stars   It's war!
    By Rian on 08/01/2010

    Gophers took over my yard. Leaving 8-10 new holes every 24 hrs. I've been at war with them 3 weeks placing a destroyer as soon as a hole appears. It's not over yet, but it's down to 1-2 holes in every 24 hrs.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 15 of 16 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Giant Destroyer evaluation
    By Max on 10/30/2015

    I have a house on 200 acres, and I mow about 25 acres around the house. That 25 acres houses at least 100 moles which, because of digging up the ground, make mowing hard on my back and the equipment. Fighting moles for a long time makes me a local expert. Giant destroyer provides a good temporary solution but the efectivenes depends on the person's knowledge of moles' habits. The moles make two types of tunels. The TRANSPORT tunels are several inches in diameter and have smooth internal walls when active. They are used to help moles to go from their nests to the feeding tunels, where they feed on worms and insects. The moles only eat live prey and poisoned products are a waste of money. The moles are very smart about choosing locations for their nests and will only dig them below protected areas, between the tree roots, under concrete or any other cover. For Giant to be effective, first identify the active transport tunnels. They are raised above the surface. Stick your finger into it and feel that the sides are smooth. Do not squash any. When these tunels are identified, look if they point toward a protected areas where a nest is located. If you find it, get as close to the nest as you can, feel the tunnel again and find out in which direction it goes. Now light the Giant fuse and stick the bomb as far in the tunnel as far you can push it, hopefully in the direction of the nest. Now cover the hole you made so no smoke can escape. If you find out a good transfer tunnel there will be no return of the smoke toward you. If the tunnel is inactive or blocked the smoke will come back at you and you have wasted your effort. If the tunnels are still active, I have seen that smoke spreading through lateral tunnels as much as 10 feet away from the Giant. Hopefully the smoke is involving the nest, but moles commonly have two exists from their nest and it will be possible that one ventillation tunel may still be open. After you think that the smoke may have entered the nest, re-examine the area a few days later for new activity. If present, renew the procedure at a slightly different location. GOOD LUCK

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 13 of 14 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Definitely worth a try
    By Ed on 08/11/2010
    Verified Purchase

    I used the Giant Destroyer about 2 weeks ago and have not seen any mole activity since. The down side of using a product like this or poison pellets or worms is that you don't see the dead mole and therefore only have to assume you were successful based on how soon you see new "activity". I used the Talpirid mole traps and successfully nailed 3 moles. Therefore, I give 5 stars to the Talpirid mole trap. Other products I have used, and there were many, were a waste of time and money. Always follow the directions carefully.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 12 of 12 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Great at discouraging gophers, but there is a cheaper option
    By Joe on 03/30/2012

    These make lots of foul smelling smoke. It doesn't seem to kill many gophers, but everywhere that the smoke reaches they back-fill the tunnels. Yeah, it's not a great solution for the neighbors, but it's far better to have them move on that using poison which will kill things like lizards and frogs (both of which are very sensitive to toxins) and things we want helping control the bugs and pests. Also, those little colored smoke bombs you get from the vendors around the 4th of July work great - they're very small and easy to light and plop down a hole (be sure to cover it, naturally). The last time I got some, they were a dollar for a package of 6. They will smoke out and dissuade about a 10X20 area. Not very effective by themselves, but cheap enough to toss half a dozen down holes in one day. :) The smoke is much smellier due to the powdered dye in it than the Giant Destroyer and seems to be quite a bit more effective at getting them to leave the area. After a while, the soil will simply taste bad to them and they'll not come back. As a plus, they are far less of a health concern as the smoke isn't toxic and won't hurt your plants. Plus, it's easy to see where the smoke is coming out of or spreading to as it's brightly colored. Perhaps the cheapest anti-vermin trick I know of.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 11 of 20 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Giant Destroyer
    By Wendy on 10/03/2010
    Verified Purchase

    Not working!!!! Save your money or you can go to Home Depot or Lowes and buy it for a little less and not pay the shipping.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 10 of 10 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Gopher problem
    By Bob on 03/25/2011

    We live in a sandy soil area and gophers are everywhere. I tried sonic repelling (somewhat effective, but only for small areas), traps (no luck), poison (slow enough that you can't be sure you got them) and Giant Destroyer. I prefer the Giant Destroyer to all other methods tried because it is fast, easy to use and inexpensive. They burn hot and the gas is designed to kill so safety precautions obviously need to be taken but the instructions on the packages are good. In at least two trials the gophers successfully blocked the tunnels from the gas so try to trap them between two gassers simultaneously. Otherwise, if new mounds soon appear, the gas missed him or it is another critter.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 10 of 10 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Ground hog removal
    By Anonymous on 08/18/2013

    Giant destroyer has effectively an efficiantly removed ground hogs that have made habitats and dwelling places around our athletic complex and campus buildings. We are a k thru 12 school. The ground hogs have decimated our school gardens and tunneled in our play ground area.We found a dead carcaus of a ground hog that tested positive for rabbies.Giant destoyer has removed our ground hog infeststion.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 10 of 11 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Giant Destroyer
    By Shirley on 04/21/2014

    It does what it says - kills gophers and ground squirrels. We light the fuse with a torch and cover the hole very quickly with cardboard and then dirt to stop the smoke from coming out.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 9 of 10 people found this review helpful:

    2 of 5 Stars   giant destroyer
    By John on 11/08/2010

    I have purchased three cases of the things to kill moles. to date I have killed 2 moles! not a good ratio since i used 144 bombs to kill 2 moles - many more to go. 

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 9 of 10 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Groundhog war!
    By Keith on 05/14/2011

    The giant destroyer is the greatest invention yet to rid your life of the pesky varmints. I had at least 7 of them wrecking my yard and now there are none. Thank you very much Atlas Chemical Corp. and domyownpestcontrol.com for your assistance.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 8 of 8 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Giant Destroyer
    By on 08/31/2013

    they work fine... but make sure you put them in an unblocked hole!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 7 of 7 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Gas um all
    By Paige on 06/20/2014

    I fell like I'm making the movie Caddy Shack II. We have an amazing number of Ground Squirrels on 5 acres that has about 1 acre of grass and 25 new trees, the rest is brown ick. So far they have killed 3 of my trees; but no more! My Granddaughter and I have been going around and using these bombs on the obviously use holes. We flag each that we bomb and each that looks abandon that we have simply just covered. We are getting ahead of these little varmints but now we have to go out into the icky dead lands and continue our quest. I will continue to buy this brand as it seems to work much better then the others we tried. Happy Gassing to all and to all varmints good night.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 7 of 8 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Back Yard Battle Field with Gophers
    By Michael on 09/18/2011

    I purchase Giant Destroyer by the case. They do the job, but the gophers return. My house is next to a regional park so the problem will always be there. They are cheaper by the case. Good product

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 7 of 8 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Ground Squirrels win
    By Charles on 08/20/2012

    Open the ground squirrel tunnel, light the fuse, insert into the tunnel, cover the tunnel with dirt, next day see the burned giant destroyer has been pushed out of the tunnel.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 7 of 7 people found this review helpful:

    3 of 5 Stars   Potentially effective
    By Lukas on 05/03/2011

    We have a commercial orchard operation with an increasingly intrusive vole/mole problem working through. We have implemented several measures to kill or at least deter continued mole/vole presence. One of the latest we have tried is the Giant Destroyer smoke bombs. For our purposes, the way I went about using the bombs was finding potential burrow locations first. I accomplished this by using a Rodex 400 detonation system to expose the tunnels. When I came across a tunnel that was no longer paralleling the surface but went deep, that was when I used a Giant Destroyer smoke bomb. As a result of this, its effectiveness has not fully been measured yet for our operation. One thing I can tell you about this product is that it is a long duration poison smoke bomb and that the smoke is significantly heavy enough to seek out the lowest points within the tunnel and fill it up from there. I think the potential for this product to be effective is there but I cannot claim that until later on in our season.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 6 of 6 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Not pre 9/11 performance
    By W, on 11/23/2012
    Verified Purchase

    Smells bad and maybe pisses the moles off but they are still flourishing !

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    2 of 5 Stars   Use traps instead.
    By on 06/11/2013

    I spent weeks bombing our gopher problem areas to no avail. I switched to some simple spring traps and caught the gopher that same weekend. It's a little more work up front, but these gassers just don't work if you have an established tunnel system. For spring traps: I found a run (probing and some guessing near the latest activity), dug it out, put a trap on each entrance, and put a clutch of worms out of our compost in the middle. Replaced the plug and waited. I also rubbed the traps with the worm bin goodies, too. So no bare-handed human smell.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Only thing I found that works consistently and is affordable
    By Bruce on 10/15/2014

    I have bee using the Giant Destroyers every fall and spring for the last 3 years with great success. I have tried traps, poison, and a whole myriad of home remedies for years with little success. The trick to using these is to find a fresh mound and dig to find the tunnel in both directions, and then bomb in both directions. I use two bombs in each direction. Sometimes it takes a few times to get them all. The price for the case lot far undercuts the price at retailers like Home Depot and Lowe's. Well worth the money, and they do not harm pets or other wildlife.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   No More Woodchucks....
    By George on 06/05/2012
    Verified Purchase

    A momma woodchuck sure can eat a lot of broccoli plants, 50 or so last night. So I put a gasser in her doorway and said goodbye! The great thing with these is the residual effect that keeps another from moving right in.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Giant Destroyer Mole Killers
    By on 06/05/2013

    These things have made a major impact on the moles in my yard. I tried all 4 mechanical traps on amazon and the lousy worm mole baits. Not one worked. These things however, do work!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Giant Destroyer
    By Stan on 10/13/2014
    Verified Purchase

    I've used these before and they work. Stamp down the old tunnels. Wait overnight and check for new (active) tunnels the next day. Insert the Giant Destroyers at several places. Cover them with a rock or brick and wait until they extinguish. That should do it. I had to repeat in one case but usually one treatment works

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Great expeirience!
    By Lee on 03/12/2014
    Verified Purchase

    Easy ordering, fast shipping, accurate filling. Thanks!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Good Customer Service, but Giant Destroyers DID NOT WORK!
    By Rebekah on 08/23/2015

    We are over run with ground squirrels and turned to the Giant Destroyer flares with high hopes of ridding our place of hopefully most/ALL? of these damn damaging diggers! We spent three and a half hours gathering stones, preparing the holes, lighting the flares (one package was missing a fuse), inserting them in the active tunnels, blocking the entrances while being careful to keep the flares clear and smoking, trapping the smoke in the passages...we ended up doing 26 sites. PHEW!! Well, that's done! (We thought with a rueful smile) As we went in for a now-late lunch we saw smoke billowing near our side fence! We ran over and discovered one flare had set roots on fire and it had erupted in flames above ground! Thankfully, we found it in time and extinguished what could have been a devastating (and really embarrassing!) neighborhood disaster! Later that afternoon, we returned to survey what we expected to be a silent battle field only to see NO CHANGE IN ACTIVITY! Within one hour at the barn and round pen I counted 27 ground squirrels scampering about, laughing at our pathetically futile efforts! We know they had been in the tunnels while we were flaring because one panicked critter actually pushed the stone out of his way and out of my hands blasting out of the hole with a lit flare in it while I was plugging it up - scared the bejesus out of me!! Haven't found a poison that works either, So don't know what next to do - but don't waste your time with Giant Destroyers! The 1 star is for the company issuing a return label and refunding our purchase price in full. (They wouldn't pay for our labor time!) A total waste of time and effort!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Good company, great prices
    By Mike on 12/21/2010

    I have ordered twice from this company so far. Excellent service, and after extensive Internet searches, the best prices I could find anywhere. Much appreciated!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   work well
    By on 07/08/2013

    These work well, although it takes patience and persistence as you won't wipe out a whole colony of moles in one treatment. The good news is that they do kill moles and don't leave behind toxic materials that can harm pets. Do My Own Pest Control.com has the best prices anywhere!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Simple and effective
    By John on 09/04/2014

    I use the product on a golf course, as a safer alternative to the difficult-to-obtain aluminum phosphide fumigant, to control squirrels and gophers. As a stand alone product for a large area it will not excel but as a part of a greater IPM strategy it works quite well. Nearly any employee can use it safely (don't forget to have a fire extinguisher handy) with little worry of harm to customers, employees, or the property.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 137 reviews)