Home » Flies » Fly Baits » Golden Malrin Fly Bait » All Reviews

Customer Reviews for Golden Malrin Fly Bait

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   35
4 stars   4
3 stars   4
2 stars   3
1 star   10
 
Average Customer Rating
3.9 of 5 stars
(56 customer reviews)

Write a Review

Golden Malrin Fly Bait
$14.89

Free Shipping!  Free Shipping!

Info / Buy Now


Sort By:

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 56 reviews)

  • 28 of 32 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Awesome!
    By Cynthia on 07/18/2008

    Golden Malrin Fly Bait is awesome. I buy it every year and use it for both ants and flies. Except now no one sells it in Muskogee.  Thanks, Cynthia

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 27 of 29 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Works well - well worth the cost
    By on 07/02/2013

    My daughter has pet rabbits. The manure is an outstanding fertilizer for my garden, but unfortunately, its also a MAJOR fly attractant. The flies land on the manure, lay eggs on it, the eggs hatch into maggots and then there's more flies.... Doesn't matter how often you clean, rabbits poop 24/7 so its impossible to avoid the flies. I've used various bags, traps, sticky strips, etc. but never found any solution I was really pleased with. The sticky strips were useless because the smell of the manure is FAR stronger than the attractant on the strips; the few on the strips ran into them *accidentally*. The fly trap bags work well but they smell horrific. My neighbors would complain every time the wind blew the scent of the active bags in their direction. I tried various brands of poison bates, but none seemed to be more desirable than the bunny poop UNTIL I found Golden Malrin. I sprinkle a small amount of granules around and under the rabbit cages daily and the flies dive on it immediately. Within 15-20 seconds you see the flies twitch, then die - its that fast. It's the first product that is desirable enough to draw the flies away from the bunny poop and onto the bait. Now that I've been using it regularly, I no longer have a fly 'problem' because I've broken the cycle; there are no more eggs hatching because no adults lived long enough to lay eggs (YAH!). I use it now just for maintenance; to kill any new flies to the area - get them quick before they can breed and start a colony again. It works excellent.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 14 of 14 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Golden Malrin Fly Bait
    By Nick on 08/16/2010
    Verified Purchase

    This stuff is excellent. It helped to protect our garden from getting eaten up.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 14 of 14 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Works very well
    By Tms on 11/25/2010

    We have had it out for a couple weeks and are very pleased with the results.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 13 of 13 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   They Must Go
    By Max on 07/22/2011
    Verified Purchase

    great product used 1 week before cookout and had 1 fly for every 50 guest this is a very affective product

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 11 of 12 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Golden Malrin Fly Bait
    By Sharon on 08/22/2010

    Overall I am pleased with Golden Malrin. There are noticeably fewer flies in and around my barn. It doesn't get rid of all flies, and I don't think anyone who has horses can expect it too, but I do think it's worth the purchase.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 9 of 9 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Unbelievable Results
    By Sue on 09/26/2011

    After years of using fly predators, feed-through fly control, barn mists, diatomaceous earth, an expensive, large biting fly trap and a variety of other baits with lackluster results, I tried this product on the recommendation of a friend who runs a huge horse rescue. I was stunned at the results. My property is nearly fly free. I do worry about my 15 free range chickens, 15 cats and 2 dogs ingesting it, but we are careful where we sprinkle it. It takes very little sprinkled among the stall shavings to produce amazing results. Within minutes I can see the fly population diminish. I hate that this is a toxic product, but I had to leverage the toxicity against the unpleasant side effects of a property infested by filth flies. This was the first Summer my horses went without fly masks!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 8 of 10 people found this review helpful:

    3 of 5 Stars   Must be doing something wrong...
    By Karen on 07/09/2011
    Verified Purchase

    I am not getting the results the other reviewers had. I put the fly bait in fly traps, and I see no difference. I have not tried scattering the bait, so maybe that is the trick. I have noticed that roaches like the stuff. Someone dropped off a mother cat and her litter at the neighbors, and the mother conveniently moved her kittens under my house. The cat food attracted the roaches, so I put a bait trap near the cat food. I am finding dead or dying roaches.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 7 of 8 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Fly good-bye
    By on 06/01/2013
    Verified Purchase

    Been having trouble with flies in the garage. Put this product out on the window ledges. Never have seen the flies at the bait, but I am seeing dead flies. The problem in the garage is now solved! Will use inside the home if needed. Thanks again for a great web site!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 7 of 11 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Golden Malrin Fly Bait
    By Walt on 09/05/2012
    Verified Purchase

    Trap and the Malrin have been on the mounted post for weeks and not one fly... other jar trap other side of the yard is always lively with captured flies of all sizes unable to leave. Dead fly count hundreds in the jar, have to measure in inches, easy decision which is the best!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 6 of 6 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Awesome bait!
    By Deb on 06/22/2011
    Verified Purchase

    We had almost a sci-fi number of flies (we feed feral cats) and I put some of this down (a bit away so it wasn't near the cat's food) and the next day, OMG!!! The carnage was amazing!  Dead flies everywhere! I LOVE THIS STUFF!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 6 of 6 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Takes No Prisoners!
    By Chris on 08/09/2011

    Had to tackle a disgusting fly infestation in a restaurant basement. Sprinkled this product on the floor in several locations. Within 24 hours well over 95% of the flies were dead awaiting my disposal. After a couple days there was not a single fly left alive. A little goes a long way. The only drawback is the product has a strong odor right out of the can, but perhaps this is part of the manufacturer's strategy to make it so effective. The odor dissipates quickly following distribution. Overall I am very satisfied.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   10 Year fly problem solved
    By Allen on 06/10/2015

    I own a restaurant. Our back alley area has always had thousands of flies in the warm weather. Constantly spending my employees time "killing flies" in my store. After sprinkling this product on the ground, flies were basically eliminated. They are no longer an issue. I don't understand any negative reviews, this stuff WORKS!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 8 people found this review helpful:

    3 of 5 Stars   Golden Malrin Fly Bait
    By Charles on 09/23/2011
    Verified Purchase

    I first learned about Golden Marlin Fly Bait in California about 25 years ago. As I remember it, it was yellow. I observed it in open pie tin in the outdoors at a picnic. It was on table and had many dead flies in the tin. I ordered a container of the product and was very surprised when I received the package and it was blue in color. I have not seen any evidence that the flies have much interest in it.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 6 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Golden Malrin
    By Robert on 07/20/2011

    I use this product once a week around our dumpsters and it really works. It attracts the fly's and then kills them. I recommend this product to anyone who wants to keep fly's at bay.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 10 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Golden Malrin
    By Minnie on 11/22/2011
    Verified Purchase

    The material has been out for one week. Thus far, we have seen no positive results. We have a fruit fly infestation which doesn't seem to respond to any material that is not harmful to our birds. This one doesn't do it.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 8 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Golden Malrin Fly Bait Review
    By Becca on 11/06/2011
    Verified Purchase

    Unfortunately this product did not work for me. Not even partially or slightly. I tried it both sprinkled around, and in the fly trap. There was not a single fly killed. The flies showed no interest or attraction to the product. I purchased the product because of the numerous good reviews, and so I was disappointed.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Flies Away
    By Karlene on 09/27/2011

    This product is worth every penny. It is the best product I have found that gets rid of many kinds of pests. There is limited mess as it comes as a dry product. I would recommend this product to anyone.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   fly bait
    By Victor on 08/26/2011
    Verified Purchase

    Boy does this product kill flies. I bait a piece of my dogs poo & there's a hundred dead flies. A great product

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Golden Malrin
    By Robert on 02/13/2013

    I am not having a fly problem right no but I had some Golden Malrin that I had opened and used most of the can. I put what was left out this past summer and fall it was bought in the late 1970's it still worked great. It solved my fly problem until the first freeze came. I will be putting out several stations this spring as my neighbors on both side, front and back of me have horses and cows I know I will have a real fly problem if i do not keep bait out.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Fly Bait
    By Edward on 01/08/2013

    Golden Malrin is the best fly product I have ever used. I have watched thousand's of fly's land in this bait and never leave. Kills them very quickly. Excellent product. Ed

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Wonderful Product
    By on 06/11/2013
    Verified Purchase

    This product works just as stated. Will definitely buy again from this company. Very fast delivery and great communication. Thanks You!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   thin out the flies
    By S. on 08/08/2011
    Verified Purchase

    product works well not all flies are gone but very few are still around.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    2 of 5 Stars   Blue Malrin
    By Juris on 05/11/2013
    Verified Purchase

    It doesn't appear to be as effective as the old yellow Malrin.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Excellent Product
    By Susie on 07/14/2012
    Verified Purchase

    So many times we get disappointed with things we buy today. That is not my experience with Golden Malrin. We placed it in open containers and placed them up high where they would be safe. In one day all the flies are gone from the barn. I cannot say enough to compliment this product. The service was also excellent, as I received the bait quickly and I am now in the process of telling all my friends about it.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    3 of 5 Stars   Experience using Golden Malrin Fly Bait
    By Cosma on 03/03/2015
    Verified Purchase

    Golden Malrin worked as expected. Still working with it but so far it is fine. However, It seem that after a day or two you need to discard the bait and add a fresh supply.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   perfect!
    By Brad on 06/30/2014

    Fly land and die and just a minute or two.. fantastic product

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Works good
    By Sean on 11/09/2015

    This is one of the most interesting products to see work in person. Once the fly lands on it, it did seem that they were attracted that they didn't leave until it was too late and you get to see the death dance. I gave it 4 stars because it doesn't seem to attract them until they are basically within inches of the product. Once they touch the stuff it is over for the fly no matter what.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    2 of 5 Stars   Malrin
    By Auntydob on 06/30/2015

    I used Malrin Fly bait years ago on a piece of watermelon, had about 2 inches of flys the next morning lying dead in the rind.... this time it didn't do anywhere near that, and I still have flies. Maybe the formula has changed, I was disappointed with the results. Yes it killed some, but not near enough, so I sprinkled it around the area where they were congregating, not the greatest result.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    2 of 5 Stars   not as good as golden of yesterday
    By Bill on 07/05/2015

    It don't attract as well as it use to. You have to place it on something that attracts flys for it don't do it on its own.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 56 reviews)