Home » Lawn & Garden » Herbicides » Algae & Moss Control » GreenClean Pro Algaecide » All Reviews

Customer Reviews for GreenClean Pro Algaecide

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   15
4 stars   5
3 stars   0
2 stars   1
1 star   4
 
Average Customer Rating
4 of 5 stars
(25 customer reviews)

Write a Review

GreenClean Pro Algaecide
$150.35

Free Shipping!  Free Shipping!

Info / Buy Now


Sort By:

Displaying 1 to 25 (of 25 reviews)

  • 9 of 12 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Great product
    By Janet on 04/15/2014
    Verified Purchase

    This product performed exactly as advertised. We only treated half of our pond at a time, according to recommendations, so we will be purchasing another bag very soon. We couldn't be more satisfied as we have tried EVERYTHING to get rid of the horsehair algae problem. This looks as if it will work and does not harm fish nor fowl!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 8 of 9 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Green Clean Pro
    By Jasmin on 03/21/2011
    Verified Purchase

    This is the best deal for large ponds for professionals in water features. More bang for the buck! Free shipping. I will buy again!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 6 of 9 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Fast Delivery and Good Product
    By on 06/14/2013
    Verified Purchase

    I've used this product several times and it works best for my pond which is stocked with Koi and Goldfish better than anything else and it doesn't harm them.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 6 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Great Product
    By H on 06/26/2016

    This product works great around edges of pond where algae seems to appear most frequently. The consistency is like table salt. It is easy to distribute and sinks nicely where you throw it, unlike some products I've used that float away and sink where ever. The water temp and sun are important. I didn't give it 5 stars because I'm not sure if it works that well on deep pond floor algae. Could be I'm not using enough. Also wish it worked in cooler temperatures when algae first appears.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Works great
    By Maury on 05/03/2016

    This stuff does better than anything I've ever tried for cleaning algae from my pond. I've used it for three years now.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 7 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   GreenClean Pro better than Cutrine Plus
    By on 06/25/2013

    I treated half of one side of my half-acre fish pond with GreenClean Pro and the rest of that side with Cutrine Plus, which is what I had been using for two years. Within two days the results were dramatic; the algae on the rocks was almost gone with GreenClean, but it took another three days for the Cutrine to eliminate the algae. I'm sold! Great stuff.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 7 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Not a good value
    By Gary on 04/10/2012
    Verified Purchase

    Not a good value for treating a large algae bloom. Copper sulfate is cheaper and much more effective. I have a 1 acre lake (1,000,000 gal.). I used 150lbs. and it didn't even make a dent in my filiamenous algae problem.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Green Clean Pro - Algaecide
    By Jan on 07/20/2012
    Verified Purchase

    We received in a very timely fashion and when we applied it to the algae in our pond, it started working immediately. Since the algae was so bad, we applied a second time in a week and that is starting to work.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Finally a product that works!
    By on 08/12/2013
    Verified Purchase

    The GreenClean Pro Algaecide is a product that really works, and still preserves the balance of your pond. All my beneficial bacterial survived and thrived as the algae was destroyed. I have many KOI and it never bothered them in the slightest way. I appreciate having a product that is this easy to use, and is so effective. You have me as a customer for life!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Green Clean Best algaecide for fish pond use
    By on 07/24/2013
    Verified Purchase

    This is the best and safest Algaecide for pond use I have ever used! I will not use anything else. No more nasty chemicals, no more dead fish!! Seriously, been using this for over 6 years, and no harm done to plants, water, pond, fish!! Do My Own Pest Control the best prices for this item, and fast shipping (FREE). Can't go wrong with GREEN CLEAN and D.M.O.P.Control.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    2 of 5 Stars   not too impress for large ponds
    By Mbrown on 09/12/2011
    Verified Purchase

    As stated, I started seeing it work right away. The top algae started turning brown with in 24 hours. Unfortunately, that seems to where it has stopped. I have a 1.5 acre foot pound and the directions stated 20-90 per acre. I used all 50 lbs and not all the top algae was killed and it looks like none of the bottom was touched. price is great with free shipping, but I think I'm going to try something else.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   good for small ponds
    By Greg on 04/06/2015
    Verified Purchase

    This product works well in small ponds, but is too expensive for a large pond. I have a 24,000 gallon pond. 50 lbs will not keep it clear for a year. People with acre size ponds will go broke trying to get rid of algae with this product. Copper kills algae in large ponds, but kills fish. Likewise chorine can make a small pond sparkle, but kills fish. I have used this product for 3 years and it seems to not have harmed my fish. Other reviewers seem to either love or hate this product. The ones with small ponds like it, the ones with large ponds hate it.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Ineffective
    By Alvin on 08/15/2012

    I have an acre size pond with a serious string algae problem. I used one bag poured directly into the aerator turbulence. It did not work at all so I didn't try with additional bags. Might work if you have a minor problem. But for me it was a waste of money and time.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Best Algaecide for my 4000 gallon koi/ goldfish home
    By Dawn on 02/29/2016

    will not use anything else!! D.M.O.P.C. is the best, least expensive and fastest shipping ANYWHERE !! Even at "FREE SHIPPING " was delivered within a week. Keep up the EXCELLENT Customer service. That's # ONE in my view. Thank You

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Repeat customer
    By Sandi on 03/12/2014
    Verified Purchase

    Have reordered my pond supply's from here multiple times and will keep doing so. Great service, fast shipping, and great product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Works great!!
    By Sun on 07/10/2014
    Verified Purchase

    I've been using this now for two years. I have a pond, with trout in it, that is about a half acre and is 20 feet deep at the deepest place. The only time the weeds get ahead of me is when I don't use enough. The moss was getting bad because I was out of GreenClean Pro Algaecide. I got my shipment of two bags yesterday. This morning I skimmed as much moss off the top as I could. Then I applied GreenClean Pro liberally, using both bags to do about half of the pond. Immediately the moss started detaching from the rocks and floating to the surface, then drifting toward the outlet. I have continuous water running through it, from my well. The shore looks very clean right now, with moss on just a few places where I missed. I kept back part of a bag to do those spots. It doesn't harm the fish, either. GREAT STUFF!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Works Great!
    By Linda on 07/29/2011

    Works Great on String Algae. I gave some to a friend and he said, "I'm gonna order some!" Soon as you throw some directly on the algae you see it start to foam. It doesn't kill the fish.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Great stuff
    By Joey on 04/03/2012
    Verified Purchase

    I'm in the process of battling mucilage algae. The Green Clean Pro is the first thing that I Have used that looks promising. The battle is not over but I feel like I have a 50 pound bag of hope. I like the fact that you see immediate results. On smaller ponds you do need to keep an eye on the pH level.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Great Product
    By on 07/12/2013

    The product worked wonderfully. After two treatments and two weekly maintenance dosages our 2000 gal koi pond is virtually free of algae. And a great bonus ..... one large koi which has had an eye infection/growth for over a year, is now totally cleared up. And if you have a large pond, why pay $15/pound for the same product in small quantities?

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 0 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Didn't Do A Thing!
    By Rikki on 07/21/2014
    Verified Purchase

    $150 - 50 lb bag - medium size pond = nothing! Didn't make a difference.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 Stars   Green Clean and Bacteria balls
    By Jan on 03/30/2015

    I received great advice from you, and I used 100 pounds of the Green Clean and two weeks later, I put 3 bacteria balls in our lake. The horsehair algae appears to be clearing. This will be the first time in 3 years that algae is under control in our lake. Thank you so much!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 5 Stars   GreenClean Pro works well, but not a silver bullet
    By Greg on 10/25/2011
    Verified Purchase

    GreenClean quickly killed algae in my fish pond. It works instantly with floating planktonic algae. String algae takes a little longer and higher concentrations. I am concerned that that this product will burn the gills of my fish, but so far they are not showing any negative effects. Much of the dead algae floated in the water, so I used alum to bind it and made it sink to the bottom, so I could vacuum it up. It seems necessary to get the dead algae out of the pond, otherwise, it will breakdown and be fertilizer to grow more algae. Even though I cleaned my pond to look like a clean swimming pool, algae has grown back, so I will need to keep using GreenClean.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 Stars   Good stuff
    By Will on 05/10/2012
    Verified Purchase

    We have a flowing pond system with a lot of water plants. This stuff does the job and since it kils on contact it doesn't affect the plants downstream. Great deal with free shipping.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 0 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Works great!
    By Steve on 04/23/2016

    This is just the thing for killing string algae in my pond. And so much more economical that the little tubs they sell at the pond store. Just be careful with it - it is twice the strength of the over-the-counter stuff, so you should use about half as much of this concentrated chemical

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 5 Stars   Green Pro
    By Floyd on 04/22/2012
    Verified Purchase

    Applied as instructed it looked like it worked at first but the algae soon returned. For 155 dollars this is not worth it... It just does not do a good enough job. I will not buy this again..

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

Displaying 1 to 25 (of 25 reviews)