Home » Lawn & Garden » Turf & Lawn » Herbicides » Selective Herbicides » Selective Post Emergent Herbicides » Hi-Yield 2, 4-D Selective Weed Killer » All Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hi-Yield 2, 4-D Selective Weed Killer

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   20
4 stars   5
3 stars   5
2 stars   1
1 star   3
 
Average Customer Rating
4.1 of 5 stars
(34 customer reviews)

Write a Review


Sort By:

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 34 reviews)

  • 66 of 77 people found this review helpful:

    3 of 5 Stars   Hi-Yield 2, 4-D Selective Weed Killer
    By Sara on 07/18/2011

    The buyer of the gallon size should be aware that the percentage of 2, 4-D is much less than in the quart size.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 44 of 47 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Review by Sara may not be correct!
    By on 08/26/2013

    I read the review by Sara, who stated that the % of active ingredient was different in the quart and gallon sizes. I was curious, so I emailed Do My Own and asked them. According to Do My Own, there is NO difference in % active ingredient in the quart and gallon sizes.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 25 of 26 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Hi-Yield 2, 4-D Selective Weed Killer
    By Michael on 04/10/2012
    Verified Purchase

    It worked really well & I let the horses back to grazing after 48 hours with no issues at all!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 15 of 18 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Bones
    By Bill on 09/05/2011
    Verified Purchase

    Great product. Solved my problem and your service was the best. Thanks for your prompt shipment.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 15 of 16 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Works without killing my grass
    By Beth on 04/22/2012

    I ordered 2,4-D and had my order is like two days. However when I opened it, it was a bug control product. I called customer service and mailed me another gallon in the next two days. I received a return postage for the incorrect product - so just wanted to say the customer service was outstanding. The product works good, it doesn't harm the grass. I have applied twice to the area. The weather has been cooler than normal and I am wondering if it was warmer, if the results would have been faster.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 14 of 14 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   SELECTIVE WEED KILLER..
    By Frederick on 04/25/2016

    As a retired horticulturist its best to use this product with the temperature at least 70 degrees.. and always follow the label,, I have been using 2,4 -D for over 40 years and it works,,

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 10 of 10 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   hi-yield 2, 4-d
    By Eve on 09/26/2012

    This product is amazing! It kills all weeds without killing grass. One should read the direction for proper use for safety. If you are looking for a product to control, or eliminate weeds in your grass, this is your product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 10 of 12 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Killing Wild Strawberry
    By George on 05/13/2012

    I used the 2, 4-D in a pump sprayer to allow me to be more precise in getting the poison onto the weeds. A hose sprayer would have been less selective. It worked as advertised. I used 1 tablespoon per cup of water.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 10 of 11 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Hi Yield 2 is very effective
    By William on 05/16/2014

    Hi Yield 2 is very effective against all the weeds here in our yard in Virginia. However, if you also have crabgrass, you can use Drive XLR8 to kill them. I ended up using 1 gallon per 1/3 acre based on dispensing from an Ortho dial sprayer…I needed 2 gallons to do 2/3 of my yard which is approximately 1 acre. That said, it works and will purchase more for next season

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 10 of 10 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Pesky Weeds
    By Steve on 05/09/2013
    Verified Purchase

    This product seems to get rid of most of the basic weed groups. There are a few weeds in my yard that require a specialized product. Nut grass, etc., but this product works well. Also, DoMyOwnPestControl has great prices and fantastic shipping. Will be purchasing from them again as needed.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 8 of 9 people found this review helpful:

    3 of 5 Stars   Weed Killer
    By Dan on 11/16/2013

    Great product, fast shipment. The weed killer worked, however, it took many more applications than suggested.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 7 of 7 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Finally
    By Cindy on 06/19/2014

    After years of trying to get rid of creeping charley from our 1/2 acre lawn my brother suggested your company's products. This product rocks and the weeds are gone from the areas we sprayed and we are very pleased with this product. I have recommended it to several people. Thank You

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 7 of 7 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   It works!
    By Linda on 06/19/2014
    Verified Purchase

    We recently moved into a home we remodeled. The yard was neglected and overrun with weeds and overgrowth. We were able to get the yard in order - all except the horsetails!! After pulling and pulling and pulling again, nothing would touch these weeds - even Round Up. Then I found this product thru a web search. It works!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 7 of 11 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   should be called very selective weed killer
    By Mark on 03/25/2012

    kills certain broad leafs dead,leaves others I've had good luck with other Hi-yield products,but this one disappoints

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 6 of 8 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Recent Purchase
    By Jerry on 02/11/2013

    received my purchase in a very short time. My order was very promptly handled and caused no problems for me. That is what I look for, fair price, quality product and prompt service.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 6 of 7 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Weed killer
    By Kurt on 03/24/2013

    Hi yield is one of the best I see it in nurseries and my experience with those products has always been good

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 6 of 6 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Killing Lake Weed
    By Ken on 09/14/2014

    Most effective and least expensive method of killing millfoil and lilly pads that I have found. Earlier this year I bought a 50lb box of 2-4-D pellets from another merchant ($330) and used the entire box on one area. (It didn't do the job). THIS gallon of 2-4-D concentrate praised here did the work and I still have 2/3 gallon left. The product is good, the merchant DMOPC is great. Already purchased and received my subsequent order for Wasp killing spray.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   2,4 D
    By Dale on 04/30/2014

    Did an awesome job on are lawn! Ha! After treating, we see just how much grass we did not have growing!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 6 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   worked well
    By Sheryl on 11/03/2013
    Verified Purchase

    Definitely killed the weeds. Easy to mix and apply. I ordered the smaller size and I have a lot of weeds so I will need to get more. Delivery was quick.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 6 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Got rid of it
    By Art on 10/17/2012
    Verified Purchase

    Purchased 2,4-D to kill " COW " grass or also known as DALLAS grass. . In the past I just would dig those clumps up. However this year the Cow Grass overwhelmed me and decided the 2, 4-D approach. After several application the Weed Killer has done the trick. Even tough it did affect some of the surrounding Zoya grass it is the right way for me to control this WEED. The Zoya grass has since also started to grow back. Good reddens COW or DALLas grass.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    2 of 5 Stars   Am not impressed with this product
    By Dennis on 08/20/2015

    2-4 D was recommended to me by someone in the landscaping business to get rid of the multitude of weeds that infest my lawn. I applied it last week with very little success. Although it did kill some of the weeds, it was no where near as effective as I thought it would be

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Hi- yield 2,4-D
    By Dave on 09/22/2013

    The product does it's job very well. The price was about 45% cheaper than buying locally. And the product arrived promptly and in good condition.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    3 of 5 Stars   Great Ordering and Shipment, But "kill" Info Lacking
    By Larry on 09/16/2012
    Verified Purchase

    Ordering and shipping through this company is the best I have ever experienced. However, the information that came with the product I ordered (Hi-Yield 2, 4-D weed killer) included absolutely no indication when "kill" results should be seen. Following the directions with great care, I hit the weeds (Rush Skeleton Weed) five days ago. So far there is no indication of results.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Great Product
    By Nina on 04/27/2017

    Weed killer solved my weed problem within 3 days! Great product and delivery service!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Speedy
    By Thomas on 04/03/2015

    This is by far the fastest I have ever received an online order from a company! Great service! As far as the product I have used other brands but this one has been the top. I grew up in Tn and lived in Nc and used this for years to kill brush and weeds. We used it to keep the fence lines clear and to kill brush before clearing land. Always great results.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Initial results but weeds quickly returned
    By Jim on 06/10/2015
    Verified Purchase

    Applied according to label and got some initial results. One month later, most broadleaf weeds are back, including white clover - which is usually an easy kill.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Hi-Yield 2, 4-D Selective Weed Killer
    By Mary on 06/14/2017

    Works great! Starts turning yellow in one day. I used hand sprayer which is time consuming but it did the job. Many mature weeds are dying. I have a 5500 sf yard. I will have to go back and spot treat but very pleased.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    3 of 5 Stars   WANTED A HIGHER CONTENT OF 2, 4-D
    By Cornpatchguy on 05/29/2017

    Didn't live up to my expectations of killing hard to kill lawn weeds. Gonna take another or maybe even two more sprays to finish the job. I believe the Speedzone worked better, went with this brand because it was a larger container.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   2.42D
    By Kenneth on 05/03/2017

    Doing a GooooooD Job !

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 5 Stars   Every Homeowner Needs This Herbicide
    By Justin on 06/20/2017
    Verified Purchase

    This is like the bread and butter of herbicides. Just like every homeowner needs RoundUP, this is the second most important product any homeowner (with a lawn) should not be without. Realistically speaking, this stuff is anywhere from alright to absolutely amazing depending upon the weed and the weather. ALWAYS follow the label. This year when it got hot (to the upper limits of the label) it merely worked faster frying the weeds faster than even RoundUp would have. The net result was that it just fried the weeds sprayed even faster. The best thing is that it does NOT harm centipede grass at proper mix rates. I tried it on a test plot of St. Augustine and would NOT recommend this on that though. ALWAYS try any new product in an inconspicuous area. I was going to give it a five except a shrub at least 8' away from any areas sprayed shows herbicide damage of auxin herbicide injury (leaves curling). That said it is recovering nicely.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 34 reviews)