Home » Lawn & Garden » Turf & Lawn » Herbicides » Selective Herbicides » Selective Post Emergent Herbicides » Hi-Yield Turflon Ester Ultra » All Reviews

Customer Reviews for Hi-Yield Turflon Ester Ultra

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   14
4 stars   4
3 stars   0
2 stars   0
1 star   0
 
Average Customer Rating
4.8 of 5 stars
(18 customer reviews)

Write a Review

Hi-Yield Turflon Ester Ultra
$28.98

Free Shipping!  Free Shipping!

Info / Buy Now


Sort By:

Displaying 1 to 18 (of 18 reviews)

  • 10 of 10 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Damned Wild Violets!
    By S. on 05/26/2014
    Verified Purchase

    Nothing I have tried previously has worked on these things; Trimec, 2-4D, some others I can't spell :) A few days after application I was weary that this wouldn't work either, but after a week there was noticeable change. Looks like this did the trick!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 8 of 8 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Works Perfectly!
    By Steve on 03/30/2014

    Prior to my purchase of Hi-Yield, I had only bought the "other brand" of Turflon. For the uninitiated, this is the only product safe for killing bermudagrass and several other invasive grasses from your otherwise beautiful lawn. It kills many noxious weeds without destroying a nice Marathon lawn, for instance. The price I paid for this was a bit less expensive than the other brand and worked just fine.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 6 of 6 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Gets rid of broadleaf weeds and Bermuda in Fescue turf
    By Mike on 08/18/2015

    Works great on getting rid of broad leaf weeds and Bermuda in Fescue turf. Also kills tree stumps and woody vegetation. Keep away from shrubs trees and vegetation you don't want to kill. Don't spray when it is windy as the pesticide ca be blown off target and kill adjacent shrubs and trees. Also don't spray when temperature s are above 85 degrees. Don't water for 24 hours after application.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Excellent Product!
    By Laurel on 10/28/2014
    Verified Purchase

    Love the results of using Turflon Ester on my Marathon lawn! It kills the hybrid Bermuda grass while turning my grass a beautiful shade of dark green! This product is easy to use when directions are followed.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Very Pleased So Far
    By Peter on 09/29/2015

    I have large numbers of wild violets in my lawn. I applied this product mixed with another product that promotes stickiness rather painstakingly with a tank sprayer. Despite the fact that we are having a severe drought, the spraying has had a dramatic impact, particularly with the smaller, less mature plants. While it is usually necessary to do at least two applications, as I understand it, due to the effectiveness of the initial application, I am just following up with a spot application on plants that do not appear to be much affected by it. I have tried less concentrated products sold at big box hardware stores and found them ineffective. I am also pleased that this product is said to be effective to eliminate bermuda grass, another plague of my lawn.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Oxalis control
    By Howard on 02/23/2016

    First product I've found that truly controls oxalis and doesn't harm grass.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Clover B Gone! This stuff works!
    By Ron on 05/23/2016

    Having been battling clover over the past few seasons I decided to give Hi-Yield Turflon Ester Ultra a try this early spring when the clover in my grass started growing. Been battling the stuff for 2 years and kill a lot, but they just keep coming back. Followed the instructions for a 1 gallon mix in a hand sprayer and in less than a week those pesky clovers patches are dead and gone with no signs of coming back after a month! Great price and easy to use - should have used this from the start!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   weeds dead not grass
    By Al on 04/03/2016

    Killed the weeds not the grass.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Turflon & Tempo SC
    By Jd on 10/02/2015

    Great prices and fastest shipping on the planet! That's the best service I've ever had!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   It works
    By Jane on 08/19/2015

    Bought it to kill Bermuda grass. Sprayed it once and the Bermuda grass Is dying. Will spray again to kill it completely. Also, my daughter has a horrible weed called dayflower. Hard to kill but I cut it dins with a weed eater then sprayed it. The day flower is now dead with one application

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   wild violets
    By Steve on 07/27/2016

    I have tried about everything to kill wild violets. Even Tru-Green say they are one the hardest weeds to kill because of root system. I sprayed a small portion of them to see if this would work, according to label it you should no spray if expecting rain within 24 hrs. Well it rained before than time, but was down about 20 hrs. I haven't sprayed them again, because every other day it rains. The good news is what I did spray is dead. I know this is only 8 oz. bottle and expensive, but I have used very little. I don't mind spending money for products that work.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Amazing stuff.
    By Jim on 07/19/2016

    After my neighbor introduced Bermuda grass into his yard I was really at a loss. It expands up to 10 feet a year and when I use round up it would die and comeback stronger. I know this product requires regular treatment and it will take time but it is selectively killing the Bermuda as promised and hopefully I can, over time, get the fescue to come back strong. Now I have to get the neighbor to buy a gallon and do his yard.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   No More Creeping Charlie!
    By Rick on 10/02/2015

    Product worked as I had hoped. I will use it when needed in the future. Very happy!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 5 Stars   Waiting to see!!!
    By Frank on 07/05/2016

    I rated this a four star, but have used it once about 6 days ago to kill wild violets in my yard. So far, it has killed other weeds but I do not see any turn on the violets as of yet. Waiting to see as I was told by two garden centers that this is the best to kill the violets. Sure hope so.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 Stars   Good Stuff
    By Dave on 06/21/2016

    Had a major issue with wild violets. Nothing from the local big box stores would work on them. Contacted the local County Agricultural Agent and they suggested Turflon. Found it here and used it according to directions. Voila! No more wild violets!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 5 Stars   Tuflon Ester Instructions
    By Dr on 08/01/2016

    It's regrettable that the product label is a bit obscure regarding mixing small batches for spot treatment. Instead of describing how much product to add to "enough water to cover 1,000 sq feet." etc., how about a simple statement, e.g., X oz/tbls per gallon of water? Otherwise, time will tell if this really eradicates wild violets since a fair amount of time must elapse between treatments.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    The instructions can be confusing at first. Please note that each sprayer can have a different output of product and each applicator moves at a different speed which means the manufacturer must keep this in mind when giving directions. With herbicides, water is just a carrier. The actual amount of water is not important. It is only important that you get the specified amount of product over the 1,000 sq ft area to avoid under or over treating. Calibrating your sprayer and application is very important. Please let us know if you have further questions. We are always happy to help!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 Stars   Truly a Great Product recommendto me by an ag Lab
    By Justin on 09/08/2016

    Here is the thing it is 1 TBSP per gallon per the supplemental documents, which is 3 TSP = 1 TBSP. Get yourself a medicine measure from an old cough syrup bottle and dedicate it to herbicides (NEVER use it again for medicines or anything else). I used 1.5 (1 and a half) teaspoons and mixed it up in a dedicated sprayer with half a gallon of distilled water (it is free of all contaminants). From there I added 1 teaspoon of non-ionic surfactant for herbicides (because the product I used recommends 2 TSP/ gallon and I mixed up half a gallon.) Lastly, a blue dye that recommends 1oz per gallon. Two tablespoons is an ounce; hence one (1) tablespoon was what I used for half a gallon... In a gallon sprayer I put a nozzle on it that atomizes the spray and pumped to high pressure. Worked great completely curing my lawn of creeping vine Charlie and surges. I have Centipede grass which is a riskyer lawn to use this on per the instructions, but I had no lawn damage whatsoever on my TiffBlair type Centipede warm-season grass in West Columbia, SC. Your results may of course vary from mine which was 100% elimination of the weeds with no lawn damage, but I think most critical is the instructions by the manufacturer realizing that this small bottle is a potent product not forgiving in that you must measure accurately in teaspoons per gallon unlike diluted homeowner products. Alway wear the appropriate PPE and do a test spot to verify you have things dialed in.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 Stars   Use turflon ester, skip ornamic recommendations
    By Chris on 10/01/2016

    good product at a good price to control bermuda and other invasive grasses in fescue. Note: I tried ornamic to save some money and because it claimed it would eliminate, but it did too much damage to the fescue and didn't. Turflon controls, but does not eliminate, without damage the fescue grass. One a month for 3 months, then every 3 months for control.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

Displaying 1 to 18 (of 18 reviews)