Home » Bed Bugs » Bed Bug Kits » New York Bed Bug Kit » All Reviews

Customer Reviews for New York Bed Bug Kit

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   13
4 stars   6
3 stars   0
2 stars   0
1 star   2
 
Average Customer Rating
4.3 of 5 stars
(21 customer reviews)

Write a Review

New York Bed Bug Kit
$57.96

Free Shipping!  Free Shipping!

Info / Buy Now


Sort By:

Displaying 1 to 21 (of 21 reviews)

  • 64 of 68 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Worked like a charm!
    By Sane on 09/01/2008

    For all those suffering from bed bug-induced anxiety, stress, and insomnia, the New York Bed Bug Kit will alleviate your misery. A little over a year ago we moved into a brownstone apartment in Brooklyn, completely naive to the prevalence of bed bugs in Brooklyn. It was only a few days after we moved in that I started waking up in the morning with trails of bites. I had no idea, I thought they were mosquito bites until the tenant upstairs started complaining and showed me large swollen welts all over her body that I realized we had a more serious problem. We contacted the landlord who immediately arranged for an exterminator but to no avail. After two exterminations the buggers just kept coming back, the walls infested. Moreover, the infestation in our apartment was exacerbated by the tenants who lived there prior on account of how filthy they kept the place. After 15 loads of laundry, daily vacuuming, sleepless nights, and the onset of a serious psychological breakdown (!) we did some research of our own and came across the NY bed bug kit. It worked like a charm - we haven't had any problems for nearly a year now. If the infestation is severe however, there's a good chance that the neighboring apartments are affected and it's likely the bugs will eventually come back. So I suggest, in addition to the kit, particularly the Drione dust which we found most useful. You seal your baseboards (every crack for that matter) with caulking and the holes around the drain pipes with expanding foam. I also suggest a water proof vinyl covering for your mattress and if you do have a box spring, get rid of it. As far as storing your clothes and items in plastic for a year, there's no need, the kit will take care of that, just apply it and rest easy.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 47 of 49 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   This is what you need!
    By Afs on 03/05/2007

    Attention, NY. This New York Bed Bug Kit  is what you need. If you are part of the bedbug epidemic, and lots of you are, you are better off doing this yourself than relying on cheap landlords and slow public services. The KEY (#1) to using these products effectively, and solving your bedbug problem, is to REPEAT TREATMENTS EVERY TWO WEEKS, and be consistent about it. One kit lasted me for three treatments, before I had to replenish one can of spray. Expect this process to take about 6-8 weeks, and don't get discouraged in the meantime. KEY #2 is: You should also be sure to add the GENTROL IGR concentrate to this kit - you mix it with water and spritz it around. You can use the pressurized sprayers for sale on this site, if you want, or even water spray-bottles for smaller treatments (adjust the dilution accordingly!). The GENTROL is CRITICAL, because it will interrupt the reproductive cycle, and after three treatments, you'll even notice that the bites are smaller and less itchy, because the bugs aren't maturing anymore. And then, one day, they're gone! This can be done. Our landlord made one treatment, and the bites returned, and the landlord didn't. We got this kit, and I treated every two weeks for two months, and then twice more to clear up any unseen stragglers, and now we're completely bedbug free. Didn't throw our stuff out, didn't pay hundreds of dollars for every exterminator visit, and didn't lose our minds waiting for the landlord to act. You can do it too. Get the kit, get the Gentrol, go get em.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 38 of 40 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   No more bedbugs!
    By Twicebitten on 07/09/2008

    I purchased this kit when I saw four bedbugs in my apartment. I was bitten once on the shoulder and twice on my leg. After three exterminators told me I'd have to pay almost $1000 to have my tiny apartment treated, I decided to give the New York Bed bug kit a try. I spread the dust and sprayed down my bed and couches thoroughly with Bedlam and the other spray. I sprayed all of my baseboards, cracks, and crevices as well. I vacuumed both couches, the floors and the bed almost everyday for two weeks.  I also covered my bed in a queen-sized vinyl cover. I was NEVER bitten again. After I did the first procedure, I waited for two weeks and did it again! I also put down glue traps to catch any stray bedbugs. So far, I haven't seen anything or been bitten again. I will do this procedure two more times to be on the safe side.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 27 of 30 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Pretty simple
    By Andrew on 03/05/2007

    I'm happy to say that the NY Bed Bug Kit (with Gentrol Concentrate) did indeed clear up our bedbug problem; we were particularly diligent about keeping a regular treatment schedule - every two weeks. We were able to keep the treatments themselves pretty simple- only in the bed area, and without major disruptions elsewhere in the house, and without having to throw out any belongings. I believe it came from your site which helped me realize that if the treatments are small but regular, it is as good or better than a single, massive dose.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 16 of 17 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   And thus the end arrived.
    By Robert on 09/06/2010
    Verified Purchase

    Omg! Yes, now this is what I'm talking about. I'd been working at a summer camp and we were living a losing battle against the bed bugs. My arms looked more like red bubble wrap than anything else. Which is kind of unpleasant. After a few attempts by professionals, I decided to see what I could do about it myself. And like the saying goes, if you want something done, do it yourself. It worked splendidly! Bed bugs kept on creeping out of the walls in dying throngs and I loved it. It was beautiful. I shall always cherish the day they went away. This kit is extremely useful. Some notes though, the spray cans will empty rather quickly, especially if you have a lot of areas to cover (I lived in a cabin, rather big one) so buy a few more just in case. Dunno if the other stuff worked, but I applied sufficient amounts of it. Apart from the growth inhibitor/thingy. Because I didn't have any means of distributing it. Oh well. Maybe some more Steri-Fab as well, that stuff's extremely effective if you want an instant kill. But all in all, very efficient and easy to use! Bed bug be gone!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 12 of 18 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Helped me greatly
    By S.b. on 04/25/2008

    Just moved into an apt with roommates and my room is bedbug infested! I called your company and got some GREAT advice from one of your reps. She explained why there was a difference in product that can be shipped to NYC.  I truly believe that your products will help me greatly since my exterminator uses some of the ones you have on your site and the ones that he did not use were mentioned to me by him.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 12 of 14 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Gets rid the pests.
    By Cc on 06/24/2009

    If you have bedbugs don't hesitate to get any one of these bed bug kits. They really do work. The cost of an exterminator to come in and do it is $1600.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 11 of 12 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   It really works!
    By Jay on 04/05/2010
    Verified Purchase

    I was very skeptical at first, but I have to say that I have no bed bugs now. This kit is all you need!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 7 of 7 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Two weeks in and things are under control!
    By Js on 06/22/2011
    Verified Purchase

    I'm giving this kit 4 out of 5 stars because after 2 1/2 weeks we are still getting bit here and there, but I realize this is going to take some time. We have made a TON of progress!  Before I could go into my son's room anytime between 10 pm and 6 am and find at least one bug walking on his bed. I have only gotten bit twice since the first treatment.  I followed all of the instructions (and the detailed instructions were great), and I am no longer seeing the bed bugs.  He gets a bite here and there, maybe a few a week.  I am going to continue to follow up every two weeks and I'm hoping in another month to be completely rid of these things!  I was so upset, these things were consuming me, and things are so much better now.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 6 of 6 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   So far, so good!
    By Bb on 04/06/2011

    We purchased the NY BB Kit after our home became infested. We did have an exterminator come as well, and we follow up with the kit. So far, so good - it's been 3 weeks. Very easy to use.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 6 of 7 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   New York Bed Bug Kit
    By William on 04/30/2012
    Verified Purchase

    I had a professional pest control man look at what I had. He started talking about, "...drilling holes in the walls...," and "...get rid of your matress and box springs...," etc. I started seeing bills of $10,000+. I ordered the New York Bed Bug Kit, used only the Bedlam cans, and I have reduced my bed bug problem by 90%!!! I still have bed bugs, but NOTHING like I had before I ordered from "I Do My Own Pest Control." My plans are to use the rest of the New York Bed Bug Kit and then order some more Bedlam, in case I need it. I say, before you turn a pest control company loose on your problem, TRY "I Do My Own Pest Control." I swear, it works and I also swear that, if it didn't work for me, there isn't enough money in the world for me to write this. You owe it to yourself to TRY "I Do My Own Pest Control" before you hire a professional pest control company.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 6 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Dead Bedbugs = Happy Wife
    By Pat on 06/24/2012
    Verified Purchase

    I was a little skeptical at first about ordering this from the website. But when I looked at how much pest-control companies wanted, I figured we would give this a try first. I am so glad we did! We are two treatments into the system and there is not a bedbug insight! As soon as we made the first treatment my wife found relief from the constant bites. Two weeks later right before we treated again she had one more bite but after that second treatment we haven't seen a single one. I also ordered the Gentrol IGR concentrate and have been using it as well. I highly recommend this kit as it includes everything you need to get the problem under control. And compared to the thousands of dollars that pest-control companies want to charge, it's a real deal!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 8 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Doesn't work
    By Jessica on 05/21/2011
    Verified Purchase

    Don't waste your money. Bought the New York bug kit and it said it would do two bedrooms and we did. We were also supposed to repeat the proceed with touch ups every two weeks.  Well we didn't have enough of the stuff to even do that and we are still infested with these things.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   New York Bed Bug Kit Definitely helped
    By Dan on 10/20/2011
    Verified Purchase

    We've been invaded and these products with their integrated pest management plan are definitely making things better.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Started working immediately
    By B on 09/15/2014
    Verified Purchase

    I had noticed bed bugs for a few months at home and I was using DIY natural methods to try to fight them. I bought DE (Diatomaceous earth) per my sisters suggestion after she got a bed bug scare in New York. I applied it, but I don't think I was doing it properly so I did more research. I had a bed bug inspector come to my home to make sure I knew where those nasty bugs were at. Turns out that they were only in one bedroom (mine). I looked more into the cost of getting a chemical treatment and it was very expensive. I ran into domyownpestcontrol.com and looked at the product offerings. I decided to go with the New York Bed Bug Kit as the area I had to treat was small. I treated the room first by putting all of my clothes in the dryer for 10 min and then I steamed every piece of furniture and corner of the room. I followed the instructions for application. The process took about three hours. I did see one bed bug a few hours later and then another three days after but one was dead and the other was dying. It has been three weeks and I have not see another bug. This weekend I'll be doing a second treatment just to be sure that they are gone forever.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   NY ned bug kit
    By Dave on 01/26/2013

    First off, NY has one of the strictest laws in the U.S. as far as what products are permitted. In my opinion they're shooting themselves in the foot limiting what can be used in the name of being "enviromentally responsible". Get with it, New York!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Bug alert
    By Myriam on 10/17/2012
    Verified Purchase

    Excellent product. Well worth the price. Great value.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   NY Kit
    By Nl on 04/19/2016

    We moved to a new apartment and within 5 months of moving we noticed some bed bugs on a new mattress that we bought one month before moving. We tried every product available for bed bugs out there and it didn't work. We called in the exterminator and he told us it will cost us $1600 to treat one bedroom apartment. And he also convinced us that bed bugs are not a DIY project. Boy was he wrong, cos when I came across the New York bed bug kit on Pinterest , and my husband and I decided to give it a try. It has been 2 weeks and 3 days since we sprayed and we haven't seen not even one bed bug. And no one is getting bitten. We only did one treatment so far and we are still gonna do 3 more just to be on the safe side and make sure they completely gone. This product saved us lot of money. I don't usually write reviews but this one is impossible for me not to write.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Does not work
    By Nisey on 01/19/2012
    Verified Purchase

    I purchased the New York kit and it seems the problem got worst. I am now considering calling exterminator. I followed the directions to the T so I will say it not do the job for me. They are everywhere!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 0 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   New York Bed Bug Kit
    By Melvin on 04/18/2012
    Verified Purchase

    Excellent kit with products that have really helped with our bedbug problem. Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 0 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   New York Bed Bug Kit
    By Henrick on 06/08/2012

    Prompt Shipment Smooth Transaction Repeat Customer.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

Displaying 1 to 21 (of 21 reviews)