Home » Crickets » Niban Granular Bait - 4 lb. Shaker » All Reviews

Customer Reviews for Niban Granular Bait - 4 lb. Shaker

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   40
4 stars   7
3 stars   3
2 stars   1
1 star   2
 
Average Customer Rating
4.5 of 5 stars
(53 customer reviews)

Write a Review


Sort By:

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 53 reviews)

  • 24 of 25 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Great product, Great Seller, Great Shipping!
    By Jl on 10/12/2011
    Verified Purchase

    I love this stuff! I've had a problem with cave crickets for the past two years now. I had an exterminator out last year and that was expensive! He bombed the house, which was an awful chemical mess. I had to clean and wash everything that I didn't remove from the house, since it could have killed my dog. He had to come back 29 days later because, as he said, "something hatched," and the warranty was only good for 30 days following the initial treatment. He then sprinkled some kind of granular stuff around the house. That seemed like something I could do myself, if yet something else hatched. But when I asked him if I could buy the stuff he was using, he told me it wasn't available to the general public. What a liar! This year, when the crickets returned, I found it on Amazon in, like, two seconds, which was how I hooked up with DoMyOwnPestControl.com. It is the exact same stuff the exterminator used. It worked very quickly, is relatively safe to use around my dog, and I haven't seen another cricket since. I bought the 4lb shaker, used it around the exterior perimeter and inside, in the hard to reach places where insects can usually get in, near plumbing/electrical/gas lines. In the end, the Niban with the free shipping was less than 1/4 the price of the exterminator's bill. I'll just keep using this from now on. Had the exterminator just told me what he was using, I would have had this on hand this year when the crickets came back, been able to deal with the problem immediately, and not a week after the first insect appeared, and would not feel distrust toward the entire industry of exterminators. I probably would have bought the stuff from him and continued to do so for years to come. Instead, I'll just stick with this web site. The shipping took a few days, but in the end, it was a lot less stressful and very easy to use. Next, I'm going to tackle the mosquitoes that have been ruining summer in my yard for the past few years.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 17 of 17 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Niban bait
    By Reggie on 09/30/2011
    Verified Purchase

    I had a camel-back cricket problem before I found this stuff. Works great. Used 5 pounds three years ago and haven't needed it since now.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 13 of 13 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Works perfectly for cave cricket infestations
    By James on 07/16/2012
    Verified Purchase

    Before winning my war against the cave crickets/ants by using Niban, I installed a closed window between a formerly open gateway between the basement of my house and crawlspace that is below an enclosed concrete porch. Through that window, I looked into the crawl space and counted over 50 live cave crickets alive and preparing for battle. The basement is a typical 'yankee basement' which consistent of little lighting, raised dirt floor areas (covering half the area) and an average humidity of 80%. The crawlspace is total darkness as there is only one window which used to be open area between the basement and crawlspace. Prior to Niban, I would vacuum kill about two dozen of the enemy during skirmishes in the basement every couple days, finding and killing cave crickets ambushing my loved one on the first and second floors, using Terro to kill the hundreds of ants around the property trying to make their way in. Low on moral after months in the trenches, and eager any sort of victory against the cave crickets, I tried bug bombing the basement and crawl space. The enemy remained, strong as ever, planning their next sortee and passing their survival genes to the next of kin. I learned much online about the enemy on hand during the months at war, recommendations about Niban, and decided after bombing that either an exterminator or their products were needed. I bought then used 2lbs of Niban, sprinkling it around the basement dirt areas that could be reached, tossing ounces of it to 'dust' the far raised dirt areas in the basement and crawl space areas, then never again saw a single live cave cricket or ant indoors from the day after treatment to weeks and counting. From that day, I learned first hand that Niban was the weapon of choice and 'domyownpestcontrol.com' enabled my victory. I strongly recommend it, the cost is cheaper than an exterminator and its one of the same exact products they use. I read that Niban lasts for months how I used it indoors, so like an exterminator, once a quarter, I will redust the place to keep everything perfect.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 11 of 11 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Still Great - Monthly Method
    By Zard on 02/02/2013
    Verified Purchase

    Been using niban (and intice) for many years. still keeps the ants out. i spread 8 inch barrier every month -- rotating inner, middle, and outer. this method is more effective than when we hired a profession who supposedly did 24 inches every 3 months. my wife is happy so i am happy.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 10 of 10 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Something that finally works - Niban Granular Bait
    By Kathy on 10/24/2011
    Verified Purchase

    I HATE camel crickets and this product really works. I must admit I was doubtful but figured it was worth a try. In addition to the Niban, we also wrapped cardboard with duct tape and had about 4 that stuck to the tape. After that, we haven't seen any. It has worked like a charm. I was always afraid to go out in the basement and would poke my head in the door and look before I entered to see if I saw any of those awful creatures. Now, I don't even think about going out there. Thank you so much!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 7 of 7 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   NIBAN KILLS CAMEL CRICKETS
    By on 08/07/2013
    Verified Purchase

    My brother purchased this product 2 years ago because he was over ran with camel crickets. He saturated the basement with Niban, got rid of al the camel crickets and they are still gone today. He told me about this and I purchased Niban and put all over the crawl space under my house and now I am finally rid of camel crickets! Ths product really works!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 7 of 7 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Works great!
    By on 06/29/2013

    Put it on the perimeter of your house (outside) and it will lure the roaches out to get some grub. Monthly treatment takes about 10 minutes and this jug should last me about 3 or 4 months...

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 7 of 8 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   BUGS BEWARE!
    By Victoria on 05/09/2014
    Verified Purchase

    I order this product every spring, and early and late summer for indoor but mostly outdoor use. It is odorless and safe to use around toddlers and pets (within reason.) As soon as I see the first ant, slug or camel cricket I use it and they're gone almost overnight. Forget the Raid and grocery story stuff -- this is the real deal!! It is worth every penny you spend.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 6 of 6 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   So far so good
    By Ahills on 04/23/2013
    Verified Purchase

    We put this out a little more than two weeks ago and then left town for a few days and have not seen one live roach since. I have seen a few dead but hopefully they are dying in their nest. Before, even after repeated spraying by a pest professional I was seeing approx. two or three dead a day and then up to ten crawling around dying or even fully alive. So glad I found this product I can now sit in my backyard peacefully!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 6 of 6 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   So far, so goood!
    By Ed on 07/02/2011

    First, I was very impressed with the speedy mailing of the product as it was shipped the same day of placing the order and arrived shortly thereafter. It's been about three weeks since I treated the perimeter of the house and placed bait on trays inside the house at vulnerable places. There's been a marked decrease of camel (cave) crickets which was our main issue. We've put out sticky pads so that we can somewhat measure how many show up there as compared to before. So for now we can say we're encouraged and pleased in finding a product that is making a difference in our battle against these pervasive critters. We'll give it 5 stars when there are no more crickets!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 6 of 6 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Takes care of ant problems lickety split
    By Diane on 11/09/2012
    Verified Purchase

    I work for an elementary school with a lot of wonderful grassy areas. Of course, with grass come colonies of ants. We just sprinkle the Niban bait along the line of the ants and on their ant hills, and in a couple of hours the ants are gone. It was hard to find something that was safe to use around children, and we're thrilled we found this product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 6 of 6 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Niban Granular
    By John on 04/08/2013
    Verified Purchase

    Thsi product is the cat's meow! Apply around house perimeter when expecting a week of dry weather and you wan't see any roaches for at least 6 months. No need to spray inside anymore.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   The real deal!
    By Joeypizza on 04/19/2013
    Verified Purchase

    Worth every cent! Do yourself a favor, if you have a ant problem, look no further! Plain and simple!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   niban + great price & service = rocks
    By Anonymous on 06/21/2013
    Verified Purchase

    I've been using Niban for years, ever since an exterminator let me know what he used. This exterminator was known to use products that would work without having to spray or otherwise contaminate the house. This stuff does NOT hurt birds, geckos, etc. No smell, lasts and works. May take a week or so for the first application to work, but after that, it's really great. A roach occasionally still gets in the house but it is rare. Thank you to this store for good price and rapid, easy service. I used to have to look hard to find it locally and it cost more.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Seems to work well
    By Donald on 05/21/2011
    Verified Purchase

    I sprinkled small amounts down outside wherever I saw ants and they were carrying it away almost immediately. I have seen alot less ants after a week, so it looks like pretty good stuff.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Excellent product
    By Kathy on 05/30/2012
    Verified Purchase

    This product was recommended to us by our termite exterminator as a DIY ant killer. We had tried numerous products to rid ourselves of an ant problem. This was the first time we'd seen real results! This was our second purchase of Niban, and probably not the last.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   great success
    By Edward on 06/20/2012
    Verified Purchase

    I first wrote a review in July of last year after my first use of this product. I reported a marked decrease of the camel cricket in the basement area of our house ... somewhere in the 80% to 90% decrease. This was after putting up with these "creatures" for 4 to 5 years and being part way through the summer months. So this spring I bought another container and put down a layer around the perimeter of the house and several "stations" of bait trays inside the house and I'm here to say: THERE ARE NO MORE CRICKETS in this house. My wife is estatic about the departure of the crickets. We've gone from a major infestation to none being sighted. Niban has our loyal support from now on. Thank you.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    2 of 5 Stars   Didn't work for me...
    By Greg on 07/14/2011
    Verified Purchase

    I put down a perimeter around my house to deal with a little carpenter ant problem. I also put a little bit in a jar lid in the house in a corner where I'd seen ant activity. The carpenter ants haven't had the slightest interest in it. There are some field ants that live near my driveway that LOVE this stuff, but it doesn't seem to kill them. They've been very actively eating it for over a week, and I only see more of them. Since killing field ants wasn't my goal, I don't much care, but it seemed worth noting.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Really works!
    By Regina on 08/31/2015

    Living in South Carolina, we have large dark brown bugs that some call Palmetto Bugs. They are big roaches that sometimes fly and are inevitably in any home unless you take action. Niban granulas sprinkled around the perimeter of our home 2-3 times a year keeps them away!! This stuff is amazing. We had a termite inspection done and the pest control guy saw our Niban container. He was surprised we knew about this awesome, effective secret!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 7 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Doesn't Work
    By Jeff on 05/24/2011

    I have a variety of ants in my back yard. I thought it would be a good idea to use a bait, instead of spraying. So I used the Niban Granular Bait, after seeing the other reviews and thinking it would work. I spread the bait, exactly as it was said to do on the instructions, on and around the ant beds, hoping it would work. I came out, 24 hours later, and the ants were using the bait to build their mounds. I came back a week later, and there were more ant beds than when I started. Now, I have the remaining bait in my garage, and don't want to use it again. This stuff doesn't work.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   No more problem here!
    By Jan on 08/20/2012
    Verified Purchase

    Used the Niban Granular bait for a problem with Palmeto bugs and other big roaches 2 years in a row. Had a big problem both years. Sprinkled this in the yard every week or 10 days 2 or 3 different times and the roaches seem to come out for the harvest and take it home to feed to their friends. Noticable difference right away and completely gone after a few weeks. Seems to be safer for the environment than other products. Will use this next year too!!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Niban 4lb. shaker
    By Tim on 07/08/2011
    Verified Purchase

    I really like the shaker. It is a lot easier to use than the bag. Thanks for the innovation

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Got 'em, Got 'em good
    By Sc on 08/12/2012
    Verified Purchase

    Had a nice little infestation of Camel Back crickets in the basement. Through down dome of the Niban, which was made easier with the convenient "shaker" canister. No more crickets. I would suggest going with the paper plate method suggested in the application instructions. I tossed it on the ground and it isn't the easiest to get up after being exposed to moisture. Other than that, it worked great. My better half is no longer attacked when doing laundry which means I'm no longer attacked after she does laundry for not taking care of the problem.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   BEST PURCHASE OF THE YEAR!
    By Thomas on 04/27/2014

    Bought a house 11/2013 and quickly discovered a massive cave/spider cricket infestation. I hunted them with the shop-vac but that was futile. It started as 1 a week, Then 2 a week. Eventually it was 2 a day. Laid this down in early April, saw 2 baby crickets the next 2 days, not a cricket since. Either a really slim chance or an amazing poison, still plenty left after surrounding a 800sq ft house, enough for 2-3 more applications. A++

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Great price and fast delivery!
    By Roger on 09/28/2015

    My go-to place for anything bug related...

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Niban does the trick
    By Jo on 10/25/2013
    Verified Purchase

    If you have camel back crickets as we did, Niban does the trick. It is an excellent product and saves hundreds on an exterminator.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Works well for me
    By Zard on 09/22/2011
    Verified Purchase

    5 years ago, I hired a professional company for pest treatments. It cost $99 per quarter. They used Suspend SC and Niban. After 2 years of paying so much money, I decided to try it myself. My results were even better. Instead of one Niban treatment every 3 months, I put down 1/3 treatment every month (rotating 8 inches for a 24 inch perimeter). I use Suspend twice a year - early spring and mid summer. My wife is happy, and that's where the rubber meets the road.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Niban Effective on Crickets
    By Douglas on 09/24/2014

    The Niban was quick ( a few days ? ) and effective against dozens of camelback crickets in my basement and enclosed crawl space under screened porch. I got prompt & accurate service from DoMyOwnPestControl.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Worthless
    By Jennifer on 09/18/2013
    Verified Purchase

    Well, that was frustrating. I moved into a new house that has a cricket problem. I used this around the perimeter of my house twice over the course of 2 1/2 weeks and it's done absolutely nothing. Crickets are still all over the place inside and out, happily hopping all around the perimeter exactly where I've applied the Niban. They seem to be immune to it.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Niban - Cave Crickets
    By Cricket on 10/27/2013

    Great product. I would see 2-3 cave crickets whenever I would go to the basement. I put Niban on small paper plates as well as duct tape sticky side up on wood pieces. Within 2 weeks, I have not seen any around.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 53 reviews)