Home » Ants » Ant Baits » Optigard Ant Bait Gel » All Reviews

Customer Reviews for Optigard Ant Bait Gel

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   37
4 stars   3
3 stars   1
2 stars   0
1 star   1

Best of
the Best
Average Customer Rating
4.8 of 5 stars
(42 customer reviews)

Write a Review

Optigard Ant Bait Gel
$36.90

Free Shipping!  Free Shipping!

Info / Buy Now


Sort By:

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 42 reviews)

  • 19 of 21 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   I've tried everything
    By Rob on 04/24/2009

    I've tried everything and Optigard Ant Bait Gel has definitely worked the best. Ants are not repelled by the smell or taste like other liquid baits. My ant infestation was out of control but I believe I will eventually wipe out the colonies.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 16 of 16 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Scary, but works GREAT!!!
    By Kris on 03/17/2010

    I had an huge ant invasion in my basement, then a trail to my master bath. I put the Optigard on a flat paper plate, within an hour the amount of ants tripled!  By the next morning they were ALL GONE!!! The stuff was amazing, but it was really hard to watch more come without spraying them.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 14 of 14 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Optigard Ant Bait Gel
    By Ed on 04/15/2010
    Verified Purchase

    This is a life-saver when it comes to getting rid of ants which seem to pop up from time to time regardless of what is done. It make take a few days for all the ants to be gone, but it does the job in an easy and efficient way.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 13 of 14 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Works great but tends to run
    By Tyler on 04/23/2011

    This product works absolutely fantastic. I took care of an entire Odorous Ant infestation with nothing but Optigard. My ONLY complaint is that sometimes it comes out of the tube in liquid form and runs all over the place.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 11 of 11 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Works
    By Jesus on 02/14/2011
    Verified Purchase

    This stuff wiped out the *entire* ant problem in the house. We had multiple types of black ants. Small ones, big ones, crazy microscopic one. All the ants in the kitchen, office, bedrooms and dining area are completely, 100% gone. Amazing stuff.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 8 of 8 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Works like a charm
    By Kd on 05/22/2013
    Verified Purchase

    Our bug guy at work was nice enough to tell me what they use for the ghost ants. I bought it and shared the info with 2 co-workers who bought it also. Works like a charm. Very satisfied. Placed it like our bug guy stated, (wait til you find a trail and where it leads to) and they were gone the next day. Yeah!!!!!!! Thanks to DMOPC for selling this item and making it available to homeowners.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 7 of 8 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Works Quickly on Most Types of Ants
    By Richard on 10/15/2012
    Verified Purchase

    I have just reordered Optigard Ant Bait Gel after using three tubes over the past two months. It worked extremely well on small and medium-size brown ants and reasonably well on carpenter ants. I have just ordered Maxforce carpenter ant gel to see how that compares. After years of low ant activity, our home was an ant target this summer. Carpenter ants nested in the maple tree in our front yard, and others came across our side patio from a neighbor's yard. Both colonies made a line for our house. Tiny brown ants kept climbing up our downspouts to nest in our gutters and medium-size brown ants kept probing our patio door to get inside. Where ant spray and boric acid powder worked in the past, the ants this year seemed immune to it after a few days. That's when I started using the Optigard gel and got immediate results. I applied it on ant trails, and the brown ants immediately swarmed around it; probably 80% of them ate it immediately, and they would wander off of their trails to eat it. Carpenter ants were more finicky; maybe 30% of them ate it when I put the bait right in front of them as they climbed down the maple tree; they would ignore it a few inches away. I used Optigard in combination with the Advance Select Granular Ant Bait. End result: I have observed no carpenter ants in the maple tree for weeks, and the brown ants were almost 100% gone until today, when a line of them began migrating across the patio wall near our house. I used Optigard to bait their trails, and they swarmed to it. I keep a tube of it handy to check for new ant trails when I go outside. Squirting a one inch line of the gel across a trail is usually sufficient to attract ants when I see them scouting the area. This is an effective product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 6 of 6 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Funny Story!
    By on 08/16/2013

    The General Manager of our Company went around the office and sprayed Ortho Pest Control spray twice. There were still ants in the kitchen. I applied some of the gel - ants gone by the next day! Here's the funny part -- he sprayed yet another time. Many other bugs were lying dead or floundering on the office floor. There was one giant beetle on his back. He legs were moving up in the air; but so was his whole body. As I looked closer, a cluster of ants were carrying him away!!! So the spray kills the huge bugs, but not the teeny tiny ants!! Optigard to the rescue! No ants at all the next day! You gotta believe after that!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Seems to be pretty amazing
    By Buck on 01/16/2013
    Verified Purchase

    Our office pest control worker has used this on 3 occasions so far and the results have been amazing. One evening while packing up to leave for the day we found that everything in the office was crawling with the smallest ants I've ever seen - almost invisible. The guy figured out where they were coming in, put several beads of Optiguard at the entry point and BOOM! They were covered with ants in moments. Next day, no ants anywhere. 2nd time, we found a few ants walking a trail from one side of the warehouse to the other. Just a few here and there but on a very definable trail. He traced it to a spot under a sink, put a few beads down and again, out of nowhere, thousands of ants attacking the gel in moments. Next day. No ants. In both of these cases he identified the ants as Ghost Ants. The third time was outside. I found a trail going into a crack in the stucco of a column that leads to our building's soffit. I had placed an Ant Pro station with Gourmet Liquid Ant Bait in the middle of the trail and the ants started going in right away. But three days later and there didn't seem to be any reduction in activity. Pest guy put some Optiguard at the entrance to the column and again the ants went crazy for it. Next day, no ants coming out of the column. So while I haven't bought any myself, I've seen it work wonders 3 separate times.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Optigard ant bait
    By Steve on 11/04/2010
    Verified Purchase

    I literally found ants climbing on top of each other to get to this stuff! They were Argentines in one case, fire ants in another, and another species I'm not familiar with. Some harvester ants were eating it, too, though I know it's not recommended for that. Next day: no ants! Thank you! This is the best stuff!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Works Great to Kill Ghost Ants
    By Jesus on 01/19/2014
    Verified Purchase

    I bought this stuff back in 2011. It's 2014 and I just found a package in my garage and used it yesterday on some pesky Ghost Ants (that the support staff helped me identify). Within one day, they're going nuts eating the Optiguard and the population shows significant (95%) reduction the next day. The Gourmet gel wasn't working on them but Optiguard did.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   If you can't step on 'em...
    By on 07/20/2013
    Verified Purchase

    We didn't really realize we could buy this stuff, but now that we do, we'll get those darn ants! Works great and it's easy to use, not to mention less expensive than having the exterminator out all of the time.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Worked As Advertised
    By S on 09/30/2014

    Having tried the usual off-the-shelf solutions fm the local Home Depot (spray & baits), I went online, found this, read the details and reviews, and ordered it (the order did arrive promptly). I must say, it worked even faster than expected; about 36 hrs from application to zero ant activity). (I'm informed argentine ants are the issue here in San Diego - this product seems to take care of them nicely.) I would recommend this product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Great product, very efficient
    By Ted on 09/17/2010
    Verified Purchase

    I found this product is the best in the market, very effective and you will see it works in seconds. I have tried a lot of other brands from Homedepot and none of them works well. Recommended.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Miracle ant bait
    By Lorraine on 11/19/2010

    I had pavement ants every winter 30 out of 40 years. I used this gel at the end of the winter last year. Normally I will see them by 10-31 so far I have not. If this keeps up this will be the greatest invention since penicillin. My house is built on a slab and I have literally walked in my house with my head down looking for them. I even replaced dark linoleum with white so I could see them more easily. I had tried everything and I must say I am 20 days so far ant free.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Optigard Ant Bait Gel Works
    By T. on 03/15/2011
    Verified Purchase

    We had a professional pest control in about 9 months ago for an ant problem you would not believe. He sprayed inside and blew some stuff under the house. He also left us some Optigard Ant Bait Gel. We had no more ant problems until recently. I ordered the bait, it took about 8 days, now the new invaders are gone. Just put it where animals and kids can't get to it. This stuff really works. I had tried everything.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Excellent Product
    By Aubrey on 10/07/2014

    Excellent product! Solves a recurring problem at our house like nothing else. Love the free shipping as well!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Optigard Ant Bait Gel
    By Tracy on 07/16/2010
    Verified Purchase

    This is the best stuff on the market. And you can not find it in any store. I live in a wooded area and ants are a major problem for me. Whenever I find a new line of ants, I place about a one inch line beside their path in two or three places. Within minutes, the ants are swarming over the bait, eating it, and taking it back to the queen. And about four hours later, there are no trace of ants. Everyone I talk to, I recommend this gel. It doesn't take much gel to take care of the problem, and is priced right.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Ant bait does the trick
    By Laurie on 09/03/2010
    Verified Purchase

    Optigard ant bait does a great job of getting rid of those pesky little black ants.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Works Quickly!
    By Ab on 07/30/2012
    Verified Purchase

    We had hundreds of microscopic reddish ants in our kitchen cupboards and had tried for several weeks to eliminate them with Borax mixed with powdered sugar. The father of a friend of mine owns his own pest control business and recommended this website and the Optiguard ant bait gel. We put a dime-sized amount near where we thought they were entering our cabinet under the sink, and within 36 hours we had no more activity and haven't seen an ant since!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Great product and service
    By John on 03/17/2013
    Verified Purchase

    The order arrived in a timely manner and in great condition. Very reasonably priced

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   So far so good!!!
    By Trudy on 01/24/2011
    Verified Purchase

    Well - it's been a week now, and no ants!! Hopefully it stays that way! This ant bait worked right away! I put some in front of an ant, and it immediately went for it. In a half hour there were at least 6 ants going for it. In about a week and a half, I sucked up about 200 dead ants. I continued to see ants dying for the next 2 weeks after that. So it took about 3 1/2 weeks to kill them. This was in the middle of winter, so I am waiting to see if they come back in the spring. As for now, I'm very happy with the results!! Thanks much for a great product !!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Excellent Product!
    By Barb on 12/29/2012
    Verified Purchase

    Put this product down ONCE in my kitchen area for a terrible ghost ant problem. They came from places I didn't even know existed in my home to get a tasty treat! Haven't seen one ghost ant since!!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Optigard ant bait gel
    By L on 09/16/2012
    Verified Purchase

    We had tried several other products bought at our local improvement store to try to rid our favorite Maple Tree of carpenter ants to no avail. In doing a web search I came across this ant gel and decided to give it a chance. After three days of using this bait the carpenter ants are gone.. The gel is very easy to use and you can place exactly where you need to..This product draws ants right to it for a feeding frenzy then they carry back to the nest which was in the depth of our tree and could not be reached with the sprays we tried to coat the bark with. I am extremely happy and highly recommend...Thank You Optigard....

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Optigard Ant Bait Gel
    By Frances on 08/28/2012
    Verified Purchase

    Optigard Ant Bait Gel is the best! When it rains as much as it has this summer in our area, the ants come into the house. I put the ant bait out one evening and the next morning when I got up they were gone. They have not returned. This stuff is great!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Customer for Life
    By Carl on 08/10/2012

    Wow! Your products have saved me from many complaints from my tenants! From roach infestations to sugar ant armies, your products have wiped them out. Not only has it worked like advertised you saved me tons of money too! Thank you very much. Signed, Customer for Life

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Ant Bait
    By Walt on 09/17/2015

    We had been putting up with ants all over the counters and in the pantry for years until we ere introduced to Optigard. Now we are ant free--great product and easy to use.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Ants on long island
    By Kevin on 07/24/2011
    Verified Purchase

    i have odorous house ants. They will not eat Advion/Gourmet ant gel/Maxforce/Drax (and I bought them all!) and therefore any of these were completely useless bacuse if ants dont eat it, they dont die. This is the only gel bait they would eat, and it doesnt even ship to NY. It helps to know people out of state....(4 stars because it is not available to be shipped to NY)

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Miracle Worker
    By Dianne on 07/25/2012
    Verified Purchase

    This ant bait gel works miracles! I saw a recommendation for it in my local paper and decided to try it. We had constant problems with ants until I tried Optigard Ant Bait Gel. It works almost immediately, both indoors and out. This is my second order. It is the best product out there.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   THE BEST EVER ANT BAIT
    By Julie on 09/07/2015

    We have always had issues with ants...all kinds of ants. This bait gel is SO simple and got rid of the ants within 24 hours in our case. We have purchased and given to our kids who have had ant issues and they report it has resolved their problem as well. It is fabulous!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 42 reviews)