Home » Lawn & Garden » Specialty Items » Surfactants » Medina Orange Oil » All Reviews

Customer Reviews for Medina Orange Oil

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   17
4 stars   3
3 stars   0
2 stars   0
1 star   1
 
Average Customer Rating
4.7 of 5 stars
(21 customer reviews)

Write a Review

Medina Orange Oil
$26.91

Free Shipping!  Free Shipping!

Info / Buy Now


Sort By:

Displaying 1 to 21 (of 21 reviews)

  • 27 of 27 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Medina Orange Oil
    By on 08/27/2013
    Verified Purchase

    Used as fire ant killer in Mother Earth News recipe. Worked great. Ants were dead in just a few hours and no new hills developed nearby.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 19 of 20 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Great success on fire ants
    By Deborah on 10/11/2014
    Verified Purchase

    I purchased Medina Orange Oil to control fire ants in my new vegetable garden spot to avoid using nasty chemicals. Mixed at 1 1/2 oz. to a gallon of water and a few drops of dish detergent and poured into the nest, I have seen better results so far than Amdro used in other parts of the yard. After 10 days, I have seen no more fire ant activity in my new garden. YEAH!!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 18 of 18 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Great Product
    By on 06/09/2013

    I've been using this product from Medina Agricultural Products for several years, and I have been using orange oil to kill fleas and their eggs for over 25 years. This is a great product. My animals haven't had fleas since I first started using it 25 years ago. I add water and orange oil in a spray bottle and spray my carpets before I vacuum. I probably wouldn't use it on something white but other than that it doesn't seem to discolor anything. I also use iron oil based spills to clean up in my husbands shop. It works wonders.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 9 of 9 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Don't want to be without it!
    By A. on 10/04/2015

    I bought this oil because I read that orange oil kills fire ants and my property was overrun with them. Because they get in the garden I am especially mindful of what I use. I found a great recipe using 3 oz. of blue Dawn and 1.5 oz. Medina orange oil to 1 gal. water. I live right next to a cow pasture so fire ants will be a constant battle. And yes, now that we're getting lots of rain and cooler temps I've put some parasitic nematodes down to help control them as well, but this stuff is great. I also like to use a small amount in home made cleaning solutions because of the wonderful smell as well as its cleaning power boost.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 8 of 8 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   It Works
    By Andrea on 05/04/2016

    Combined with 20% vinegar, Medina Orange Oil is a natural and effective plant killing agent. The product was shipped promptly and was carefully packaged. I recommend both Medina Orange Oil and domyownpestcontrol.com

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 7 of 7 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Great Stuff!
    By Rudy on 10/16/2015

    Not only does its bouquet smell like fresh oranges, it does a great job on ants and termites. Used it around the house where ants were invading, stopped them cold! Can't say enough about this product, no nasty chemicals, just good, cold pressed orange rinds resulting in a great cleaner, and insect controller. I will buy more, for sure...

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 6 of 6 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Orange oil is great for fire ants
    By Michele on 01/23/2016

    I would have given this product five stars for it's effectiveness! Mixed with some Dawn dish soap and water it efficiently eradicated the ants in my vegetables without damaging the plants or fruits, and without adding any nasty chemicals to the soil. I held back one star because I feel the price is too high for a product made from citrus "scrap." I think, if the price was more reasonable many more folks would use this product for safe fire ant control - an important thing for those of us in Florida!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Love the smell....
    By Debbie on 05/04/2016

    Bought this as a cleaner and ALSO to use for pest control. Supposed to help with ant problems. To date, I have used twice as a "drench" and apparently the ants I used it on like it.....in other words, didn't work! Will try again....perhaps I didn't use enough!? Will update later... However, it is GREAT for cleaning... I added a tsp to my usual homemade cleaning product (vinegar & water with essential oil-used orange oil instead) and it smells great, too!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 13 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   It is what it is
    By John on 06/21/2014
    Verified Purchase

    Smells like orange oil, Looks like orange oil, Must be orange oil.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Ant Mound Killer
    By Jack on 02/04/2016

    I try to stay chemical free in my yard because of free range chickens and a shallow well to water cows. Orange oil has helped me do that. In a one gallon pump up sprayer I add 4 oz. of dawn dish detergent and 4 oz. of orange oil to a gallon of water. I make the ants mad/bring them to the surface and spray them with the solution. Some mounds have to be treated twice. It seems to depend on the size of the mound. I have started to enjoy my spraying sessions and feel I am starting to win back my yard. My house is surrounded by cow pastures on all four sides so it will always be a battle.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   medina orange oil
    By Helen on 05/02/2016

    Have used this product for a long time..I use it because it works, it is safe and NON POISION...I buy it locally but this time purchased for a friend and had it shipped to her...less mail and hassle for me. She loves the product and will probably order it online now that she has found a good source. The service was great and will consider buying online in the future myself , Thank You.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Repeated Orders from DoMyOwnPestControl
    By Constantin on 11/09/2015

    Excellent product, best pricing, superb shipping!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Happy customer
    By Lulu on 10/27/2015

    Like this product, use it, feel it is effective for ants, will have to buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Medina Orange Oil
    By Marsha on 05/31/2016

    It will kill the ants it touches and it will also kill any plants it touches. I was not happy when I noticed it killed the plants. The ant it did not kill just moved over to another spot.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Pure Satisfaction
    By M on 06/08/2016

    Product performed just as advertised and customer service was beyond expectations. Highly recommend both the product and company

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Love this stuff
    By Andra on 09/27/2016

    I'd been searching for a safe and natural way to control fire ants. I live in the Florida panhandle next to a cow pasture so the problem is endless! I found a formula using blue Dawn and Medina Orange Oil (1.5 oz. orange oil, 3 oz. blue Dawn in 1 gal. water). DoMyOwnPestControl is the best place to get this product that I've found. I love to add a bit of this oil when I clean or mix up one of my indoor repellents. I love my cats, but they dig in my houseplants and scratch furniture. They don't like orange oil, so a mixed repellent spritzed around or cotton ball soaked in this oil placed in the pot keeps them away.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Fire Ant Killer
    By Tamara on 10/15/2016

    Medina Orange Oil when mixed with Dawn dish washing liquid is an effective organic killer of fire ants. Mix 1 1/2 oz of Medina Orange Oil with 3 oz of Dawn dish washing liquid with 1 gal of water. Stir and pour onto the fire ant mound. The mixture usually kills about 90% of the ants. Wait about a week and repeat the procedure. The second application will kill 90% of the remaining 10% that survived. Wait a week and repeat the procedure a third time to finish the job. After the three applications, 99.99% of the ants will be killed. I've been doing this for several years and it works. I learned about the procedure from Texas A & M University agriculture department publications.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Fire Ants
    By Rick on 10/15/2016

    1st time user of Medina orange oil for fire ants and it works great. It takes the worry out of killing the buggers with pets around. Great service,i'll be back for more.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 Stars   Fire ant solution!
    By Debbie on 11/28/2016

    I live and garden in SW Florida where fire ants and Florida red ants are a real problem in my vegetable garden. I have been using Medina orange oil for two years now to rid my raised beds of ants. An ounce and half of orange oil and a few drops of dish washing liquid to a gallon of water and pour it into the nest. Ants die and the remainder leave and no toxic chemicals in my veggies! Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 Stars   the BEST out there
    By Lisa on 10/07/2016

    MEDINA brand is the best! this is my "go to" cleaner for everything (except floors! it does get very slippery) been using it for over 5 years. used to have ant problems in kitchen and some times bathroom. first year i had to use the oil on a sponge along trails where ever i can detect after cleaning with "the mixture" as general spray cleaner. the dozen of so annual ant problem got less and less during the first year and had no issues during years 2-3. 4th year only had couple occurrence. last year and this year only twice. the scent (this is subjective) is great. i put a splash of this with distilled white vinegar and water as air odor freshener for bathrooms too!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 Stars   Medina Orange Oil
    By Jerry on 12/07/2016

    Great product. We use as a cleaner and also to kill out fire ant beds.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

Displaying 1 to 21 (of 21 reviews)