Home » Rodents » Rat Bait Stations » Protecta Rat Bait Station » All Reviews

Customer Reviews for Protecta Rat Bait Station

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   30
4 stars   3
3 stars   1
2 stars   1
1 star   1
 
Average Customer Rating
4.7 of 5 stars
(36 customer reviews)

Write a Review

Protecta Rat Bait Station
$21.40

Free Shipping!  Free Shipping!

Info / Buy Now


Sort By:

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 36 reviews)

  • 23 of 23 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Protecta Bait Station
    By John on 10/06/2010
    Verified Purchase

    Works Great! I used in combination with the T-Rex trap and they worked perfectly. I skipped the rat attractant and just used peanut butter - worked fine, although if you have a lot of traps liquid attractant is probably faster. I have 3 dogs and wanted to be sure they didn't get poisoned or set off the trap. I live 1/4mi from the ocean in MA so wharf rats are looking for a home this time of year - the stone foundation of my 100+ year old house likely has some gaps and a rat got inside several years ago - no fun at all. I placed several Protecta stations/T-Rex traps around the perimeter/exterior of my foundation and got a rat within days. I don't recall if there is a bait station with a see through top - if so that would save the hassle of having to open the box to see if you have a "catch" or not.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 20 of 23 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Easy to bait, tamper resistant, works well!
    By Sharon on 06/14/2010

    We have encircled the perimeter of our 1.5 acre property with these bait boxes, using the Supersize Blox bait and our home has been rodent free for over a year. We replace the bait every 6-8 weeks (and add snail bait to the box, too). Knowing we are rodent free is worth every penny.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 13 of 13 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Protecta Rat Bait Station (6)
    By Jim on 12/02/2011

    I am using the Protecta Bait Stations with Contrac Blox rat bait. Here in Arizona, we have a huge Pack Rat problem. I have been using T Rex traps, but the rats do become trap shy. I am very satisfied with the stations. They keep out rain, and keep out the birds and rabbits. I have tried putting a T Rex trap inside, but I wish you could see into the box before opening it. A few times I have opened the station to see a rat caught in the trap, still alive. A clear plastic window would help. Otherwise, a great product. After three weeks, I can't find evidence of rats anywhere!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 13 of 14 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Bait Station
    By Dave on 07/19/2011
    Verified Purchase

    Arrived quickly. Very easy to use. Convenient and easy to set up. Safe to use around my dogs. I'm very pleased.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 12 of 12 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Protecta rat bait station
    By Thomas on 10/02/2010

    The unit was delivered before the expected time. Once I realize that all I need to do is to make it look like the picture of the open station on the website, the station can be set up easily. The screw lock and Allen wrench key combination, as provided, is much more preferable than any special lock and key in other models. As smaller size packages (1 lb or less) are not available on the web, bait needs to be purchased at local Home Depot or Lowes stores. Watch for dead rats in the bushes!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Protecta Bait Station
    By Bonnie on 09/28/2010

    The stations are easy to use and load. We noticed activity almost immediately in some. Since we are in he northwest, slugs have a tendency to go in as well as rodents. I had been wanting to get bait stations for quite a long time, and your product had the best price.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   RAT STATION
    By Stephen on 11/15/2010
    Verified Purchase

    Works well especially when you have other animals or pets on the premises.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   protecta rat bait station
    By David on 10/21/2012
    Verified Purchase

    I placed several around the outside of my house and a couple inside my garages, within a couple of days I have found deat rats around the yard. I feel safe that no good animals can get into the stations and end up dead.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Great tamper resistant trap!
    By on 08/10/2013

    I am very happy with these stations. I bought three not knowing if I'd need three and I'm glad I did. I filled one and put it in the shed as an "I'm not sure what else to do with this" station, and that is the one that the rats go to the most--probably because it's away from the dogs and private and closer to the alley. I had a bad infestation and it was gone within a week or two using Final Blox and these. One of them--the one in the shed--gets a ton of traffic and is empty in roughly a week. The one closest to the side alley empties in about two weeks, but it's been cooler here lately, and it's been emptying faster, I think because they're heading toward the structures. The other one, also near the house but not an alley, doesn't get much traffic, but it gets some. I may eventually move it to the shed also, but I haven't done that yet. These do a great job of keeping the rat bait in the station and out of the reach of any pets. I have dogs and was very leery of using poison, but a friend told me about these and they're excellent. I do stay outside with the dogs in case a bit got out of the traps, but I was already going out with them anyway. The one in the shed is completely away from my dogs. I worried at first about it, but they haven't even tried to mess with the traps. They sniff where the rats are entering and exiting occasionally, but that's not worrisome. One thing I am going to do is take the one that's used less often and put two of the horizontal bars in it and take its vertical bars and put them in the one that's used the most to allow for more bait to be in the heavily used one. Buy more than you think you need. You'll be glad.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Great item!
    By James on 01/20/2014

    We received our traps and installed them last week! Thanks so much.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Bait Stations
    By on 07/09/2013
    Verified Purchase

    We have had great success with the 6+ bait stations. We live in a very open area to wildlife and such. This does keep the rat/mice at bay. Rat/mice activity was very high when first placed, very minimal now. Very simple to use, only issue is the way it's sealed (allen screw) which I would assume it provides some protection incase children were to come across them.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Protecta Bait Station
    By Roger on 01/04/2012

    Good, well built bait stations at a good price, similar to Tomcat bait stations at a better price.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   bait stations
    By Doug on 04/18/2015
    Verified Purchase

    All I have are dead rats and I love that!!! Thank you and pets are safe also a huge plus! Will order more

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Good quality
    By Rich on 12/07/2015

    I got six of these and am happy with the build quality and usefulness of them. The plastic is good and thick, and the box latches securely even before locking it. These are solid.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Bait station
    By Judy on 06/30/2011

    Everything arrived quickly.  My only comment is there were no instructions on how to set it up. I had to go back to the website to see how it should look,

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Great Sturdy Product
    By Robert on 10/14/2013
    Verified Purchase

    Sturdy and quality product to eradicate large mice & rats! Closes securely to prevent other wildlife from getting into the poison. I use a small C clamp on small holes predrilled to front on box to keep pets and other critters from getting into the bait.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Very Effective and Safeguards Pets
    By Barbara on 10/08/2013

    I set them out after noticing a rat around my bird feeders. Today I checked them and much to my surprise and delight, every bait block was GONE! This is a very effective method because last year I used large T-Rex snap traps and managed to get just one rat. Plus, considering the amount of bait that was consumed, there was obviously a bigger problem than I was aware of.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Protecta Bait Stations
    By Mark on 12/30/2015

    These are the best boxes for using snap traps. They actually attract the critter. Great for flyers.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Kills Rats Well & Keeps my Puppy safe!
    By on 08/06/2013

    I am very happyily in control of my rat problem thanks to your company! We live across the street from a large horse riding stable that, of course, feeds grain to their horses. And there is a lush ravine between our property and the stable. (It's the kind of place rats like to call home, unfortunately!) If I didn't have your great product system there would be no way for us to be rat free. I regularly check my traps and re-stock them when needed so I will remain rat free. Your system makes it easy. Thanks from one of your many, I'm sure, very happy customers! - John D.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   almost perfect
    By Joe on 02/06/2015

    This is a great product in that the rodents get in and out, eat the bait, and go on their merry way. There are only two flaws. The mounting flanges that hold the bait bars in the vertical position are a bit weak and spirited rodents can band the mounting flange such that the bars no longer stay up vertical. The other problem is some mucho macho rodents have run away with the bars that were mounted in the horizontal position. I have no idea how they did that but I have opened the stations to find that the horizontal bars were missing, and the rodents had chewed upon the replaceable plastic trays that fit inside the product. This product would be perfect in the mounting flanges inside the plastic station were half an inch longer, which would beef up where the rods are inserted into the plastic.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   how I won the battle of therats in my barn
    By Nancy on 05/30/2013
    Verified Purchase

    These Bait Stations are terrific. Easy to use. Keep the bait and poison in a safe container

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Protecta Rat Bait Stations Are Great
    By Wendy on 10/24/2011
    Verified Purchase

    These are great---keeps the little guy inside---might order more--

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Pest Control Made Easy
    By Tim on 11/04/2011

    After years of paying a national company for this service, I thought how hard can it be to DIY ? Well its easy! Buying was easy too. Do MY Own Pest Control makes the experience a breeze with everything you need to know presented in easy to follow directions.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Protecta Rat Bait Station
    By William on 04/10/2012
    Verified Purchase

    I have several of these Rat Bait Station positioned around the outside of my yard. So far, they have caught about 5 rats and the rats are becoming noticeably absent. They work in heavy rain because the rats go inside to get out of the rain. Then it's lights out.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Satisfied Purchase
    By Burnie on 07/02/2016

    The product was well built and good quality. It included two methods for mounting the bait. The predrilled holes for the bait rods fit very well. I was most intrigued with the multiple latch methods. The easy spring catches, the removable tie-wrap, a Philips screw, and a place for a pad-lock.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Set up around the house
    By Myra on 08/09/2012

    With the loss of a significant income, we decided to do our own rat bait stations. They look fine, we screwed them down so they are safe, and added bait we bought from Do My Own Pest Control.com. Now we wait for a month and then go look at the status of the stations. Couldn't be easier. If necessary, we can refill the stations monthly. That's something that didn't happen when we had to pay for the service.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    2 of 5 Stars   So far, it doesn't seem to be working
    By Beth on 01/03/2016

    I've been very disappointed. I live in Baltimore and the rat problem here is pretty severe. I had hopes that this might do the trick, but so far, it hasn't done anything. Rats are still burrowing into the side of my foundation and they still seem to be getting into my trash.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Good product, service
    By Jim on 09/07/2011

    This product was delivered quickly and is very sturdy. I use it with one of those trex-type traps. The rat got my peanut butter! I'm going to set it up again and hopefully the trap will spring. I didn't want to use poison because I didn't want a rat carcass in my yard.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Bait Station
    By Louis on 12/11/2015

    The bait station was what I expected from this vendor---Quality fine, shipping prompt & speedy----over all a great supplier.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Mice
    By Myra on 10/09/2012

    So far, so good! We have three bait stations placed on Three sides of the house. We haven't had a mouse inside the house since we placed them.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 36 reviews)