Home » Lawn & Garden » Pond & Lake » Aquatic Herbicides » Rodeo Herbicide » All Reviews

Customer Reviews for Rodeo Herbicide

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   23
4 stars   3
3 stars   2
2 stars   0
1 star   0
 
Average Customer Rating
4.8 of 5 stars
(28 customer reviews)

Write a Review

Rodeo Herbicide
$89.64

Free Shipping!  Free Shipping!

Info / Buy Now


Sort By:

Displaying 1 to 28 (of 28 reviews)

  • 31 of 34 people found this review helpful:

    3 of 5 Stars   Good product, but not for every problem
    By Jd on 05/30/2011
    Verified Purchase

    I specifically bought this product to control weeds in my farm pond. It arrived quickly and well packaged; no problem there. Close reading of the Rodeo literature included with the product states, "will not control underwater plants, or those with foliage mostly underwater." Naturally, these were the plants that I wanted to control. Lesson learned: just because it says "aquacide" doesn't mean it controls all plants in the water.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 24 of 26 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Works great on Phragmites
    By Phragmite on 09/22/2010
    Verified Purchase

    Purchased because it is our state-approved for use on or near water---lakes and streams. Added the surfactant DyneAmic as recommended (which is also safe for use on water). Killed those very invasive tall water-loving phragmites. Used 3 oz to 2 gal of water and it worked well.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 23 of 24 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Cattails dying off
    By Sam on 09/26/2010
    Verified Purchase

    I have a small pond entirely filled with cattails. Tall ones, too--8-10ft. I sprayed about 1.25 gallons of this at a 5% solution and nearly everyone turned brown within 2 weeks. I will probably have to spray a second time because those things grow so fast.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 16 of 17 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Rodeo and Phragmites
    By Elizabeth on 08/22/2010
    Verified Purchase

    The Rodeo Herbicide mixed with DyneAmic Surfactant are doing a good job killing my Phragmites. I used a 10% mix.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 12 of 12 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Rodeo Aqua Killer
    By Marion on 04/25/2014
    Verified Purchase

    This is great stuff but you must be very careful because even the slightest mist or overspray will kill anything growing close to the shoreline. I have used this product before and it prevented new growth for about 5-6 years. I would recommend this to anyone wanting to get rid of lily pads and other shoreline vegetation.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 10 of 11 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Lesser Celandine
    By Sandy on 04/19/2011
    Verified Purchase

    When I first moved into my home, I thought the little yellow flowers in the natural part of my yard were beautiful. Over the years, they have moved closer and closer to my house until they are now suffocating my grass and plants. I researched my problem and discovered Rodeo is the preferred product to kill lesser celandine. I could not find Rodeo locally, so Googled the product. Domyownpestcontrol was one of the lowest prices. The information on their website gave me further details about my problem. The Rodeo arrived VERY, VERY QUICKLY. This was important since the time to spray lesser celandine is at its earliest emergence. I also ordered DyneAmic Surfactant. I was very nervous about mixing and spraying since I had never done this before. I am also very worried about my environment, but needed to rid this invasive plant. I became worried that the Rodeo was not doing anything. But after 2 weeks, the lesser celandine is dying off. Can't wait to see what emerges next spring.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 9 of 9 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Weed Control Looks Positive
    By Barry on 08/22/2010
    Verified Purchase

    Mixed it with a surfactant, as suggested, for control of phragmites near my shop (a very difficult and invasive plant). Initial results are promising from first spraying; a second application may be needed.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 8 of 8 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Rodeo Herbicide
    By Richard on 09/24/2010
    Verified Purchase

    Works wonderfully for hard to get rid of cattails. Easy to use and works for years.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 7 of 7 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Rodeo Herbicide - 2.5
    By F on 09/26/2011
    Verified Purchase

    Very good product to use around the pond as well as in the planters. Have been using it for years. More economical than Round-up concentrate. Well packaged. Strong container. Received quickly. Thank you.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 7 of 7 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Broad spectrum delight!
    By Stephen on 05/29/2014
    Verified Purchase

    I used Rodeo with the DyneAmic surfactant to kill some invasive willows and saw grass species as well as brush growing on dam of lake. Using a 0.75% solution most everything I needed to control was killed. A few species with very waxy cuticles remain, but I will spot treat with a higher concentration for those specific species and be done. Great stuff!!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 7 of 8 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Roheo for grass and weed control in a pond or lake
    By Ronnie on 07/07/2014
    Verified Purchase

    I live on a lake and the grass grows into the water so I spray the grass on the bank with rodeo. Its work great and doesn't hurt the fish,frogs and etc. It works on any plant that grows on or above the water .

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 7 of 7 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   THE best herbicide to eliminate lily pads!
    By Don on 11/05/2015

    DoMyOwn claims this Rodeo is the most cost effective treatment for lily pads. They're right! And it's the easiest, too. Don't use it when water temps are high or you risk killing fish when the bacteria that decay the plants deplete the oxygen (water temps under 65 degrees are optimal -- fall is best time of year). See results in ten days. Use with blue dye (it's worth the cost). Mix per gallon: 2.66 oz of Rodeo, 1/2 oz of surfactant, 1/2 oz of dye (or less). They say this 2.5 gal jug will treat 4 acres, but it treats more than that. ...I tried other herbicide that costs MUCH more, but this stuff is the best.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 6 of 6 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Weeds are DEAD!! :D
    By City on 11/09/2011
    Verified Purchase

    Even the product we were using from our local landscape supply place wasn't giving satisfying results. Now, we are satisfied! Free Shipping -- check! Good price -- check! Fast service -- check! Happy customer -- check!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 6 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Use of Rodeo Herbicide
    By Louise on 06/28/2011
    Verified Purchase

    The product I ordered came quickly and was exactly what I ordered. It arrived securely with no leaking. It killed everything I sprayed quickly and efficiently. The labeling was clear except on the front of the container it was not specific that it was intended to be used for both land and aquatic weeds, although inside the label there was a section that stated that. I did apply it with the recommended surfactant for better plant penetration. The weeds started dying within 4 days. I will be ordering it again.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Are you up for a Rodeo
    By Chili on 06/26/2012
    Verified Purchase

    The product may actually be working on the cat tails!! Surfactant is key and I blended my own as the waxy leaves are quite resistant to having a water based solution adhere to them. It has been two weeks since my first application and I reworked the blend on one section an it appears to effective. Yay!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Not my First Rodeo
    By Ron on 08/26/2015

    Needed a non-polluting herbicide to kill weeds on my rip rap near a small lake. Two applications of Rodeo mixed according to the the formula has knocked out every noxious weed and grass on my shoreline. Could not be easier to use. Safe and Effective.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Rodeo Herbicide
    By Ronnie on 06/24/2011
    Verified Purchase

    I purchased it for a friend and he said it works just fine for spraying around the lake on his property.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Rodeo Herbicide
    By Carey on 06/19/2011
    Verified Purchase

    Rodeo Herbicide has made it much easier to clean up the excess vegetation along my lake front. I will continue to use it for periodic maintenance.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Rodeo
    By John on 09/11/2014
    Verified Purchase

    A great herbicide especially around our 3/4 acre pond.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   It works
    By John on 06/11/2012
    Verified Purchase

    I took a chance to see if this stuff worked and I am happy to say it did. It took longer than I thought it should but it works.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Rodeo Herbicide
    By Bill on 09/09/2013
    Verified Purchase

    about 7 days after spraying cattails in a pond roughly 100 feet in dia. and average 3foot depth the Rodeo effects showed up as yellowing stalks and progressively browned over the next week. This was a very thick established stand of cattails. Other water plants have not displayed any signs of damage. Spraying was done in sections and frogs and turtles seem to be holding up well.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   use of rodeo at my farm
    By James on 07/24/2014
    Verified Purchase

    been using rodeo for more than 19 years here and im completely satisfied with its safty and performance of this product

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Rodeo Herbicide
    By P on 07/31/2014
    Verified Purchase

    Rodeo is one of several aquatic herbicides I have been using for almost 25 years around my pond for weed control, but it has become exceedingly more difficult to find any of my local agricultural supply houses that now carry it. DoMyOwnPestControl has provided me the opportunity to obtain Rodeo in a size that I regularly use at a reasonable price. The fact that product label and MSDS information is available online allows me to evaluate whether or not a potential herbicide/fungicide and the like are suitable for my anticipated uses/needs. No product should ever be purchased without ensuring the product is suitable for the application one is planning to use it for. Product delivery from the time I ordered the product to the time I received the product was quicker than I anticipated. 5-stars to DoMyOwnPestControl for the variety of products offered and their response to fulfilling my order.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Rodeo Herbicide
    By Anthony on 07/06/2015

    Used Rodeo to kill aquatic plants growing along the edges of my irrigation ponds. Product worked well.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 6 people found this review helpful:

    3 of 5 Stars   Rodeo applied to reeds
    By Marie on 09/10/2012

    I will begin by rating the product with three stars as it is too soon to know the final result. I purchased Rodeo to eradicate invasive reeds. I see the initial signs of the product working to kill the reeds but it is too soon to say if the product keeps them away for the year which it claimed to do. I hope it does, as the product is expensive. Very satisfied with the shipping time and condition of product upon arrival.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 Stars   GREAT product in my fight against Brazilian pepper tree!!
    By Paulina on 03/24/2016

    Great product! Easy to use and great price (especially compared to other herbicides which are effective). Best part?! I live near the ocean and this is the only product rated for that!!! GET IT! I cut them down with a friend's sawzall and pruning blade, put this in a squeeze bottle, and then would immediately squeeze just enough to cover the cut area (MAKING SURE I got the cambium- the EFFECTIVE area to cover for this to work) and that's it!!! I even tried cutting 1-2 "trees" growing off of a main trunk- I saw the tree dying off in less than a week!!! Works AWESOME! Just follow precaution. Don't need to dilute (and shouldn't) to treat brazilian pepper cut treatment. Cannot be used for basil bark, just FYI.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 Stars   Rodeo Herbicide Works!
    By Larry on 08/11/2016

    Applied with a backpack sprayer as directed for weeds around my 1 acre swimming pond edge and bank. Within 2 weeks, there was no weed left alive thanks to this product. I would recommend this safe product to anyone with a swimming pond.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 Stars   Kills Everything
    By Weed on 08/27/2016

    My new favorite word in weed control, "Non Selective" it kills everything. I've used it primarily on pond and ditch perimeters as well on steep black berry covered banks. It takes a week or so to really hit stride and then everything rapidly turns brown and DIES. Bear in mind it requires user to mix with surfactant. I used turf-die as well to make it easier to see what I had sprayed.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

Displaying 1 to 28 (of 28 reviews)