Home » Active Ingredients » Dinotefuran » Safari 20SG Systemic Insecticide with Dinotefuran » All Reviews

Customer Reviews for Safari 20SG Systemic Insecticide with Dinotefuran

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   5
4 stars   2
3 stars   0
2 stars   0
1 star   1
 
Average Customer Rating
4.3 of 5 stars
(8 customer reviews)

Write a Review


Sort By:

Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews)

  • 12 of 15 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   White flies on coconut trees
    By Doug on 04/27/2013
    Verified Purchase

    I followed directions and applied four times over a three week period. It didn't have any effect on white flies on coconut trees in SW Florida. I used Dominion 2L and it worked with one treatment in three weeks. Only cost $75 for three bottles to do 20 trees. Spent over $500 on Safari. Very disapointed. DMOPC was excellent to deal with on both products.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 11 of 11 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Safari
    By on 07/30/2013

    Worked great on my Sago Palm Scale and the scale on my crotons.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 6 of 6 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Safari keeps the scale off of our Sago Palm
    By David on 06/04/2014
    Verified Purchase

    We noticed that our Sago Palm had terrible problems with scale last year. I read that the University of Florida recommended Safari to rid Sago palm's of scale. I apply it to the soil around our palm in May and September. It has worked well and our palm tree is again looking good. The price found here was the best that I could find and their delivery is quite prompt.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Safari 20SG
    By Jeff on 05/28/2014

    I bought two 3 pound bottles to tree my hemlock trees in Fannin County, GA. I recommend that you find a clean container to hold your water and this chemical. Mix thoroughly in it first and then transfer to your sprayer.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Saving Coconut Palms
    By William on 05/19/2014
    Verified Purchase

    Injected Dinotefuran into the coconut palms via a 1/4" hole, 2" deep. (The trees are 9" diameter.) One hole per tree. With a syringe, I filled the hole(s) twice a day for two weeks. The trees sucked up the "medicine". After two weeks, the fronds had stopped dropping. It works !

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Very Happy with Safari 20SG
    By Michael on 04/22/2015
    Verified Purchase

    After using a Merit (Imidacloprid) soil drench for fig whitefly, I read about basal trunk applications of Safari for that pest and decided to give it a try. My Ficus has multiple trunks that together are about 6 feet in diameter and I was never clear how much Merit to use, nor was I confident that the roots, many of which are under a road, was really taking up the Imidacloprid. I knew that any not taken up by the roots could be leaching into our ground water, and that caused me great concern. Safari, while twice as expensive as Merit for the quantity I needed, is applied as a basal trunk spray, so almost all of the solution is absorbed by the trunk rather than soaking into the ground. The label -- which actually addresses multiple trunked trees like my Ficus -- said it would take 1-3 weeks for the chemical to be translocated throughout the tree but I began seeing a reduction in leaf drop (a symptom of fig whitefly infestation) within a few days. It has only been 1 1/2 weeks since the initial application but so far I am very pleased. With Merit, it would take weeks to see any reduction in leaf drop, if I saw any at all. With a tree as large as mine, a 12 oz container of Safari will only treat one time at a cost of around $120, but so far I believe the cost is worth it given that the application is supposed to be good for a year.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   eradicating myaporum thrips in California with Safari
    By Richard on 03/04/2015
    Verified Purchase

    Too soon to tell if the basal trunk application will be successful but that's what local pest control companies would have done for SUBTANTIALLY more cost than buying the Safari from DoMyOwn PestControl. This company is easy to work with with outstanding customer service. I highly recommend them and doing your own pest control is not all that difficult and the cost savings is outrageous.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 Stars   Great product! Directions for use on palms would be helpful
    By Cheryl on 09/05/2016

    We just got around to using this product a few weeks ago. We used it to treat our sago palms for Cycad Aulacaspis scale. This product was what our County Extension recommended. There were no specific directions for what amount to use for sago palms, so we guessed at what strength to try. We used one teaspoon per gallon of water and used a hand pump sprayer to apply it. Within just a few days we noticed a big improvement in our palms. The scale became powdery and fell off when brushed, so we used a garden hose on high pressure to blast a lot of it off. We followed up the initial treatment with Safari a couple of weeks later, and the scale is nearly all gone from the palms now. We will treat a third time in a few more weeks, and I fully expect the Safari to eradicate the scale after that.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews)