Home » Animal Control » Animal Repellents » ScareCrow Sprinkler Motion Activated Animal Deterrent » All Reviews

Customer Reviews for ScareCrow Sprinkler Motion Activated Animal Deterrent

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   94
4 stars   22
3 stars   12
2 stars   3
1 star   6
 
Average Customer Rating
4.4 of 5 stars
(137 customer reviews)

Write a Review


Sort By:

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 137 reviews)

  • 29 of 31 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Keeps the dogs out
    By Christopher on 04/01/2013
    Verified Purchase

    Great product and great service. My dogs hate these things so they do a great job of keeping them out of my vegetable garden. Be careful though. My wife and grandmother both got sprayed within two days. Service is terrific if you have an issue too.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 27 of 28 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   NO MORE CAT POOP
    By Denny on 04/25/2013
    Verified Purchase

    Tried everything last year. Netting, amonia, pepper,and all the stuff recomended on the internet. This year I was ready to put up a electric wire system. About $100 and a lot of time and work. Saw the ScareCrow on line and tried it on my 4x40' above ground garden. It took about 10 minutes to install. It's been in place about three weeks, and NOT ONE cat poop pile. All that fresh soil must drive them nuts. They stay clear. Last year it was a daily chore to clean up after them. VERY HAPPY..WORKS GREAT !!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 21 of 21 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   ScareCrow worshippers
    By Donna on 04/05/2013
    Verified Purchase

    We have had one for about a year and it works great. I detects movement about 30 feet and our water pressure lets it spray about that far. We bought another one to extend our protection even farther. Donna & Frank

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 19 of 20 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Scare Crow
    By on 06/12/2013
    Verified Purchase

    Overall, it appears a little cheaply made, but it works well. So far it has kept the grandkids out of the garden, scared at least a couple of deer away and shot me directly in the face at point black range when I forgot it was on, O yeh, I also got the neighbor on his riding lawnmower. Now, Let's see if it holds up.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 12 of 14 people found this review helpful:

    3 of 5 Stars   Too early to tell
    By Barry on 04/09/2013
    Verified Purchase

    I'm still trying to work with the unit. I have some kind of varmint digging up my garden. The scarecrow didn't deter whatever it is. I think it may be Armadillos, since I have seen them in the yard a lot. I moved the scarecrow closer to the garden, hoping this would help. I also changed the battery as it has already discharged after 2 weeks. If this doesn't work, I'm thinking about returning it.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 10 of 11 people found this review helpful:

    2 of 5 Stars   Great while they last.
    By Arnie on 04/19/2015
    Verified Purchase

    Would give this product a 5 star review if they lasted more than a season. This is the fourth ScareCrow we have bought so far. They work wonderful and can be adjusted for distance and sensitivity. I use two in the garden and they keep the deer out. Problem is only one of the four has lasted more than a year. I remove the battery when I put them up for the winter and store them inside out of the weather. In the spring when I take them out of storage they inevitably fail. I've reset them as instructed and even put brand new batteries in them. I'm a retired engineer so I pride my self on being able to repair most things. Problem with these is, short of replacing the motion sensor nothing can be done. Yes I've adjusted water pressure to numerous psi.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 9 of 11 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   ScareCrow Sprinkler Motion ScareCrow Sprinkler Motion
    By on 06/29/2013
    Verified Purchase

    Works great no more dog poop in my front yard from the neighborhood dogs.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 9 of 9 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Reliable!
    By on 06/25/2013
    Verified Purchase

    ....that's the one word that comes to mind. I'm primarily concerned about deer in my garden. And, I could see by the deer's skid tracks on the outer perimeter of the Scarecrow's range that this thing performs as advertised: the tracks indicated panic exit. I also watched my neighbor's cat get blasted. The only constructive criticism I can offer new owners is to use one wrap of plumbers tape on each threaded joint. Garden hose joints are historically not water-tight: they drip. These are no different. Be careful not to over-tighten. Song birds do seem to get used to the yellow predator decals on the motion sensor. Rabbits don't know what to make of it and remain a little nervous. Scarecrow is a very reliable product. Highly recommended. It provides the next best source of security for your plants. In my opinion, only a shotgun is better. But, you have to be there to pull the trigger.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 9 of 9 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Love it so much, we bought another!
    By on 07/09/2013
    Verified Purchase

    We bought our first Scarecrow many, many years ago. Like 10, 15? It's been a fish lifesaver for our pond, and has also provided many laughs and swearing when one inadvertently forgets about it and walks right in front of it yet again (you'd think we would have figured it out by now, but no). A Scarecrow is a must when you have a Koi pond (Don't think you have herons or raccoons? Put in a pond!) Our old Scarecrow was starting to fail, so we didn't put it up right away this spring, and lo and behold, my favorite Koi was stolen by a blasted heron! Hate herons!!! Deciding we needed a new Scarecrow stat, I ordered from DMOPC.com and not only impressed by how quick they got it to us, but by their great pricing, about half of what we paid for our original Scarecrow. The fish are now safely under guard, and as per another reviewer, I'm thinking of moving our old one out front to deter solicitors. I'm tired of people badgering me to change my religion and those who TAPE THEIR JUNK MAIL ON MY HOUSE! (And always right next to my large "No Soliciting" sign.) My office over looks the front walk and I can always use a laugh!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 8 of 10 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Works great
    By Anonymous on 07/07/2013
    Verified Purchase

    I purchased the ScareCrow to keep the neighbors cat away from my bird feeders. She was killing the birds and wrecking the feeders. I didn't want to hurt her but I was at my witts end. I surched the web and found the ScareCrow. It really works with no harm to the cat. I'm very happy. Oh and it keeps the squirrels away too. It's also fun to watch. :)

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 8 of 9 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   For those of you that have trouble mounting it.
    By Drone on 05/04/2014

    I forgot this in my previous review. For those of you that may not have much space to mount the Scarecrow, I used just the long straight tube. I then hung it over the back a patio chair. It was perfect since we just have a block planter ~2ft tall. A Velcro strap keeps it secure. Lastly, I had to use two of the included gaskets where the hose screws in.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 8 of 9 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   ScareCrow scares racoons, too!
    By Anonymous on 08/07/2013
    Verified Purchase

    I was amazed and more than delighted with this gizmo. Nightly visits by a "family" of racoons were leaving a mess of my newly-laid sod. My wife ran across a video of the "ScareCrow" and suggested I try it. Since I had attempted numerous other "cures" over a week's period I had nothing to lose. (Local trappers wanted $425 to trap and kill the critters; so $50 seemed like a bargain.) It arrived the next day. 5 minutes later it was set up and ready to "scare". What do you know!!! No more visitors and the sod is flourishing. I may even order another one for the deer this fall. Sorry your rating scale only has 5 stars. This product rates 6 or 7! Thanks.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 7 of 7 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Possibly the best decision I've made since my wife!
    By Humored on 03/03/2015
    Verified Purchase

    Have an area of shaded sandy soil that I have been struggling for 2 years getting grass to fill in and the cats from using it as a toilet at my front entry. Spending plenty on every "deterrent" that you have tried and some you haven't, I bit the bullet (It's cheaper here.) Presto! I used rebar to secure due to strong push each time it turns on. Cats, dogs, door hangers jump at just the sound... didn't even tell family, neighbors or new young mailman. You've got to do this. The pests are gone! (No honey, not your family) It's a blast, just too much fun to watch... I love sending the grand-kids to check the mail.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 7 of 7 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   They Work..........
    By Ron on 08/05/2014
    Verified Purchase

    Before Installing two of these Center of 25'x35' Garden facing opposite Directions..The Deer/Ground Hogs and others..... were eating......... Tomatoes/Beans/Lettuce/Spinach/Parsley Sunflowers/Cauliflower.... They had a nice Little Smorgasbord going on.... I have had these in for 2 weeks with no animal Intrusion..Excellent Product....Mean to them without Harming Them

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 7 of 7 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Scarecrow scares em off.
    By Rich on 10/02/2014
    Verified Purchase

    Bought 3 of these last year. Aside from deer and other pesky animals, we've had "people" actually walking their dogs on our professionally maintained lawn and my wife's flower gardens. I have politely asked them several times to walk their dogs 60 ft. away in the vacant woods, to no avail. Being blasted with a shot of water has stopped this practice! I've purchased the 9V h.d. batteries and they last several month or more. By the way, seeing the deer, squirrels and roaming cats jump a few feet in the air upon being blasted creates some good giggles. LOL

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 7 of 8 people found this review helpful:

    3 of 5 Stars   Trying to save my Garden
    By Jim on 03/11/2014
    Verified Purchase

    I have bought two of these and they work fairly well. We have squirrels and birds that eat everything in our garden. The ScareCrow sprinkler does a fair job of keeping them out...BUT the adjustment for sensitivity is VERY POOR. we have to have it at full sensitivity to pick up the preditor approach and because of that even with a little breaze it goes off too much.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 7 of 7 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Finally! A deer deterrent that works!
    By on 07/23/2013
    Verified Purchase

    We have tried everything....human hair, dog hair, fishing line, sprays, human smells.....everything anyone has ever told us that worked for them! Nothing seemed to keep the deer out of our garden short of the expense of fencing. The ScareCrow has been working for weeks now! We are delighted with it!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 7 of 8 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Works as advertised
    By Anonymous on 07/07/2013
    Verified Purchase

    For the first time in two years, my yard is dog-mess free.  Imagine my glee when I heard the Scarecrow kick in, a yelp/bark and then the silence that followed. The only problem is I need two more to cover my side yard. I plan on chaining a few of these together. My cousin did get a surprise when he came to visit, but that is collateral damage. Great buy, much cheaper than a fence and just as effective.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 6 of 6 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Scarecrow Motion Activated Sprinkler
    By on 06/09/2013
    Verified Purchase

    I live in a rural area and we are loaded with deer. My back yard is apparently part of their "trail." I've used the ScareCrow Sprinkler for about 6 years and it is absolutely the BEST deer deterrent I've tried! I have had ZERO deer (or rabbit) damage since I've used them. This product was the least expensive I've purchased and it arrived within three days. Outstanding service! I highly recommend this to all gardeners.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 6 of 6 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   I already want more!!
    By on 09/05/2013
    Verified Purchase

    I friend told me about these little babies, and I could not be more pleased with my purchase. Not only does it water my lawn, but I have also not had any issues with critters in my flowerbeds since! All of the neighbors want one now. And the best part? It also works for keeping the bratty neighbor's kids out of my flowers!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 6 of 6 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Nothing like eating crow!
    By D. on 07/17/2014

    I assembled according to instructions, but unit leaked immediately. Motion detection was poor. I called customer service. They are so nice and gladly refunded the whole amount. I can't say enough about this awesome company. They stand strongly behind their products. They didn't even charge me for shipping. I will continue to do business with them!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 6 of 6 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Scarecrow Sprinkler
    By Mr on 08/23/2014
    Verified Purchase

    Works perfectly. My newly planted trees are now safe from the neighborhood deer herd. This site had the best price I could find. I spent $45 to save $600 worth of trees and shrubs.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    3 of 5 Stars   Scarecrow
    By Snitz on 06/25/2014
    Verified Purchase

    This item does scare deer. But it leaks around the washers. For the money high quality high pressure rubber washers should be used not cheep hard plastic ones. As water is not cheap I may still return if I can not solve this issue! Also the stake should be longer so it does not work loose in wet ground.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Holy cow! It really works!
    By Barbara on 07/27/2014
    Verified Purchase

    Easy to install and it does as it says. The bears and raccoons and deer are not pleased with me, but hey...it dos the job well. Thanks!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Scaring the Rabbits
    By Jessie on 05/15/2014
    Verified Purchase

    This was a birthday gift for a friend plagued by rabbits on her grass since the coyotes elimated the foxes who had kept the rabbits at bay. It has taken some experimenting to get the distance, angle and sensitivity right, and to cover the entire corner lot lawn she'll probably have to get another or move it around often. The only down side is that because of where the hose attaches, it isn't really low enough to the grass, but we aren't finished being creative.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   ScareCrow Sprinkler Motion Activated Animal Deterrent
    By Cindy on 09/23/2013

    Clever, humane, easy and it works! Very impressed with DoMyOwnPestControl service as well.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   non-working as described
    By Ervin on 10/15/2014
    Verified Purchase

    Approx.60 lbs psi of pressure spays water approx. 15 feet (not 45 ft as specified).

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   scares the cats off.
    By Abner on 11/16/2014
    Verified Purchase

    works great!, I haven't had to clean up cat poop in my backyard since I installed the scarecrow. Thanks abunch.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   frustrated
    By Walt on 06/24/2014
    Verified Purchase

    I have 6 of these. Pretty serious Deer problem which has been very frustrating and expensive. So far, the Scarecrow's have done the trick. I have a little vegetation eaten just outside the spray zone, but no damage inside the area. I will be buying one more. I have 2 from last year that have held up well, and actually using the same batteries. I would recommend these to anyone with a pest problem that can be controlled by using these. A hose long enough etc.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Our "Gremlins" are a hoot!
    By Dr. on 06/24/2014
    Verified Purchase

    To start with, I firstr saw one in a feed store, but the price was $60. I figured I could do better on the net. Unless you are protecting a narrow dead-end alley, these guys are best used in concert. Working together, they are a hoot. Also, bringing the water source through the first Gremlin to the second requires only one faucet, and works just fine. They are a hoot to watch, as they back each other up, and completely confound our agressive deer population. I have just replaced the batteries (very easy to do). Finally, our tomato plants are safe! The deer love my wifes beautiful flowers too. Did I mention that we are going to purchase two more?

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 137 reviews)