Home » Lawn & Garden » Turf & Lawn » Herbicides » Selective Herbicides » Selective Post Emergent Herbicides » SedgeHammer Herbicide » All Reviews

Customer Reviews for SedgeHammer Herbicide

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   207
4 stars   40
3 stars   7
2 stars   5
1 star   18
 
Average Customer Rating
4.5 of 5 stars
(277 customer reviews)

Write a Review

SedgeHammer Herbicide
$9.88

Free Shipping!  Free Shipping!

Info / Buy Now


Sort By:

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 277 reviews)

  • 140 of 144 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   It works!
    By Charles on 06/20/2010

    I've been fighting nutsedge for several years using nutsedge and crabgrass control products. They were disgustingly ineffective. I read of other people's experience with SedgeHammer on a daylily web page and decided to try it. Two days after spraying, the nutsedge started turning brown. Of equal importance, the daylilies surrounding it did not. They show no evidence of ever being near an herbicide. Am I satisfied? You bet!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 85 of 87 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Sedgehammer
    By Gary on 07/16/2010

    I hate nut grass. It has been a problem for me from my first yard. I have used Roundup with an eye dropper and even a hypodermic syringe to kill the stuff. Then a man recommended SedgeHammer. The price was a little frightening but my resolve was firm. I bought it from DoMyOwnPestControl.com, received it promptly and used it with great success. The yellow nut grass began dying in 3 days and now is gone. I don't know if it will remain "gone", but I have enough of the stuff to "kill" it repeatedly.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 79 of 80 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Sedgehammer - THE solution for nutsege
    By Len on 09/02/2010

    This hot, dry summer we've been having here in Tidewater, Virginia has been awful for the fescue we grow here but perfect for nutsedge. My infestation was extensive. A few tips: Follow all the advice given in the instructions. Make sure the nutsedge has almost a week of growth on it; this is important. If the sedge is too small or you try to use it on a freshly cut lawn, the sedge won't have enough surface area to absorb sufficient herbicide to be effective. Also, make sure you sure use surfactent with the hebicide, it will help this very expensive chemical be absorbed more effectively by the sedge. Give the chemical time to work; the longer you can wait before mowing after application (I waited almost a week before mowing) the better the killoff. By that time (a week after application) I had an almost 95% killoff, the few live sedges were those few I had missed on the first application. One more application on the stragglers will finish the job.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 57 of 60 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   SedgeHammer Works!
    By Angela on 09/06/2010

    Despite the fact that SedgeHammer is very expensive, I do not regret purchasing it because it WORKS! I bought the largest bottle which I think makes up to 40 gallons. So, I'll have enough to last me a few years. I recommend using an herbicide pump sprayer. I bought a Round-Up brand 2-gallon sprayer for $20 and it allows me to not waste as much SedgeHammer as I would if I used a watering can. I had A LOT of well-established sedge. About 7-10 days after the first application the sedge turned yellow and stopped growing and the grass was NOT harmed. I just did a second application because I had missed a lot sedge plants during the first application. This product is worth the $$.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 57 of 60 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   The Sedge Gets Hammered
    By Dennis on 07/07/2010

    I have been using this product for several years, and have found it to be the most effective for control of sedge, particularly in beds and around ornamentals in combination with Roundup. Because I am blessed with rich soil, everything grows well - sedge too; so control of sedge is an ongoing battle. The granular form of the product is convenient and easy to measure with the included measuring spoon.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 29 of 30 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   sedgehammer for nutshedge weed
    By Jim on 09/14/2010

    worked awesome - I used 1tbsp of dish liquid for surficant for one mixed gallon of sedgehammer.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 27 of 28 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   SedgeHammer Works
    By Chuck on 08/04/2010

    I purchased SedgeHammer from DoMyOwnPestControl.com and it worked immediately. The process of getting my order filled and delivered was exceptional. I applied the product to the nutsedge that had taken over my front yard. After one application, no more nutsedge.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 22 of 22 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   SedgeHammer Herbicide
    By Ed on 08/10/2010

    Best price on the Internet that I could find. Therefore, excellent value plus free shipping. A product that works well on Nut Sedge. Surely have this in my Favorites Folder to come back again.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 20 of 21 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   SedgeHammer seems to be working
    By Cy on 08/16/2010

    I purchased the SedgeHammer 1 gallon sample, and applied to all my 1000+ nutgrass. It killed at least 900, so I purchased enough for 40 1000 gallons. The last 100 just got spread and I hope that the last I will see....However, I have enough to try and be sure that it will not return. It has been quite a problem in Ocean City, NJ....and we also have it my Retirement Community. In fact, it is the Landscape people of this large community I went to, to find their recommendations....They said SedgeHammer is the only way to go. So far I am very well pleased, Cy...Doc Woods Community

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 19 of 19 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   SedgeHammer
    By M. on 09/29/2010

    SedgeHammer definitely worked on the yellow nutsedge that I applied it on. It is a little expensive, but the 1.33 oz. bottle is the way to go. A little bit goes a long way. I discussed my nutsedge problem with quite a few lawn pros and most agreed this is the most effective solution. I agree, and this product does kill the nutsedge, usually takes about a week. Works best on young plants but also kills mature ones. Does not harm the good grass.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 18 of 20 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   SedgeHammer to the Rescue
    By Bj on 08/13/2010

    I spent a good amount of money last year, = replacing grass with Palm Springs Gold, adding Hibiscus and Bird of Paradise plants to my little Eden, feeling assured it was practical, saving water, and would require minimum attention. WRONG ! From the golf course, adjoining my property came the nut grass, = ugly & aggressive =a frontal attack, & shooting up everywhere. Bottom Line = On the offensive ! SedgeHammer's on the job, and showing effects. Sprayed under the mid=day sun, initially fades the grass, while it works down to the root system. Very pleased with the product, and I'm also spreading the word to friends = for your excellent service.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 17 of 17 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   This may not make sense at having to use SH twice.
    By Chris on 07/07/2011
    Verified Purchase

    SedgeHammer (SH) is great! Two days after application the Sedge shows yellowing and then it's gone. Last year was the first application of SH to our newly laid lawn. Little did we know that tilling the soil would multiply the Sedge, so it was not surprising to see them again this year. They're gone now. ;-)) BTW, the label calls for 2 Tablespoons of nonionic surfactant. That's a bit perplexing to a layperson, but I found that JetDry (for dishwashers) is a nonionic surfactant. It worked!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 17 of 17 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Adios, Water Grass
    By David on 09/09/2010

    I have just under an acre and about 35-40% was infested with this nasty weed. I swear I'd be cutting my grass and when I would turn around to see how I was doing, the nutsedge was already an inch taller than the grass I just cut. I spent 5 hours on a Saturday covering my lawn with doubt. I cut my grass on Monday with despair not seeing any browning or "death". However, I sit here today with a big ol' grin on my face because it is evident that the weed isn't growing and my lawn is returning. It is truly amazing how this product does nothing to the grass and eliminates this pest of a weed. Best lawn purchase I've made in years.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 15 of 15 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   products that WORK!
    By Brandon on 09/12/2010

    I too had used other products to try to rid my yard of nutgrass. Products like Image and several others. Nothing really worked. I used one little one gallon pack from my local farm n ranch store and voilla, DEAD. It hasn't come back in months and I couldn't be happier! Do use a non-ionic surfactant with no less than 80 percent active ingredient.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 15 of 22 people found this review helpful:

    2 of 5 Stars   SedgeHammer
    By Curt on 08/22/2010

    As it turns out, SedgeHammer is meant to be used before nutsedge has sprouted or is very young, something I missed in the review. I test sprayed some older grass and there some yellowing affect after 2 weeks. I will save the remaining until next spring. It cost far too much to waste!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 13 of 13 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Awesome
    By Paul on 06/18/2013
    Verified Purchase

    This product works quick, used on St. Augustine turf, in S. FL, highly recommended, knocked out my yellow nutsedge problem

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 9 of 10 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   SedgeHammer Herbicide
    By on 07/11/2013

    This is my second time to order this herbicide, and at $115 a bottle you can bet that it must work or I would not have reordered it. Follow directions and use only one level spoon per gallon and nut grass will be gone in about 4 weeks. Be sure to use the Non-Ionic Surfactant for Herbicides with Sedgehammer at the rate of two teaspoons per gallon.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 9 of 12 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Happy Customer
    By C. on 07/22/2010

    Got what I ordered quick!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Product was just as described.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 9 of 9 people found this review helpful:

    3 of 5 Stars   Guess You Have To Spray Twice
    By Bill on 09/26/2015

    Sprayed our back yard earlier in the summer and we were so pleased that it seemed to eliminate the Nut Grass. But, this fall we have it all back. Read advice of our local garden expert here in Dallas, and he said you HAVE to spray again approximately 6 weeks after the first application. So ordered some more and I will try it again this coming spring and try spraying the yard twice.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 9 of 9 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   SledgeHammer Herbicide Works Pretty Well
    By on 08/12/2013
    Verified Purchase

    I had an infestation of sedge weed in my Saint Augustine grass. The SledgeHammer herbicide application got rid of almost all of the sedge weed. Unfortunately, the herbicide does not seem to have a long-lasting effect, so some sedge weeds reappeared two or three weeks later. However, most of the weeds seem to be gone for good. I would recommend this herbicide. Scotts Bonus S does nothing. The only issue with this and other herbicides is that they are not to be used when the temperature is above 85 degrees, which is almost all the time in South Florida. But with some care, it is possible to use them and (again, with care) they do seem to work.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 8 of 8 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Sedge got knocked the #&@$ out!
    By Gilbert on 10/09/2013
    Verified Purchase

    I didn't have a lot of experience with Sedge before we moved into this house. I went down to the local spray store and was sold the wrong product (at a cost of $110). The next time I went in, I took a sample of the "grass" I was dealing with and they sold me this stuff at twice the amount I got it for here. Nonetheless, this stuff works great and I'm winning the battle against the sedge demons.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 8 of 8 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Absolutely Awesome!!!!!
    By Peter on 09/05/2012

    I had a HUGE nutsedge problem that began 3 years ago. Thinking that it was just new grass, I let it go. Unfortunately, I found out this year that it was actually nutsedge and that it was a pain to get rid of it from the lawn. SedgeHammer WORKED!!!! Followed the directions...mixed it in a pump sprayer...sprayed the problem areas and in a few weeks it was gone!! YOU HAVE TO HAVE PATIENCE WHEN USING SEDGEHAMMER!!!! It's not like using regular weed killer that yellows the leaves in a day or two. It takes a week or two!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 6 of 6 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   SedgeHammer
    By on 08/12/2013
    Verified Purchase

    After replacing a lawn due to nutsedge the nutsedge starting to come back again. After some research and speaking to a real "Master Gardener" I had two choices. Let the nutsedge take over or try SedgeHammer. Applied on August 4, 2013 following the directions carefully and I also viewed video of the application of this product. The nutsedge is dying. This weed has turned yellow as advertised. I can't wait to see this nutsedge in 4-6 weeks after treatment. At this rate I expect it to be dead. Just remember you will have to treat areas where sedge is still coming up. In time all the nutsedge will be gone. I did not cut the grass for 1 week after application. My order was filled quickly. I would purchase from this company again.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   SedgeHammer Works!
    By Mac on 06/26/2014
    Verified Purchase

    As anyone with purple and yellow nutsedge knows, these plants are extremely invasive and tough to control. But SedgeHammer really works. It kills the sedge but (in my yard) didn't hurt the fescue grass around it. In three years I've not been able to completely eradicate it, but every year I see less and less. It's definitely good to have at least one extra packet on-hand. Highly Recommended.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 8 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   SedgeHammer Herbicide
    By Steve on 04/20/2011
    Verified Purchase

    I applied this over a smaller area than is stated as being effective.  Applied about 2 weeks ago and the weeds look as healthy as ever. No new "nuts" showing up but doesn't seem to be killing the grass like body.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Works Great!
    By Matt on 04/26/2012
    Verified Purchase

    I've been battling nutsedge for the past two year with little success. Local nursery recommended a Fertilome product that only yellowed the sedge, only to come back. One application of SedgeHammer and it has killed the nutsedge dead! Be patient, it takes about two weeks to show results. Would recommend to anyone battling nutsedge!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   The Best Post Emergent I have Ever Used
    By Devin on 08/26/2015

    Worked as advertised. Throw packet into a gallon of water, put into sprayer and hit the Nutsedge. In two days it started to flatten out and in five days it went limp. Now it's all yellow and becoming compost. It didn't hurt the Bermuda or St Augusine either. I wish all chemicals worked this good for landscaping work!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   wonderful product
    By Loraine on 11/11/2013
    Verified Purchase

    My nut sedge was totally out of control--it was all through the mondo grass which was impossible to weed. I waited until the temp came down to under 85 degrees and applied it last week. Already can see the results with brown ends. Too soon for the product to totally work but it sure is nice to see the visible results.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   SedgeHammer Herbicide Really Works
    By on 08/22/2013
    Verified Purchase

    I ordered several packets of the product online. I used it precisely as directed, letting the nutsedge have at least one full week of time after mowing to attain good blade size so as to maximize the surface to absorb the herbicide. Then I sprayed it covering all blade surfaces and skipped mowing the following week to give the product adequate time to penetrate into the roots of the nutsedge. Within one week to 10 days all the nutsedge had turned yellow and died. The best product I have ever tried for this problem. I recommend it highly. In fact, my lawn service guy saw it and asked what I had used. I told him and he ordered some as well and was extremely pleased with the results.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   SedgeHammer
    By Dan on 11/07/2011
    Verified Purchase

    I had a problem with nutsedge for years. I put Sedgehammer on it this year and the nutsedge is gone! I had it in my roses and the spray didn't do any damage to my plants!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 277 reviews)