Home » Lawn & Garden » Herbicides » Selective Herbicides » SpeedZone Herbicide » All Reviews

Customer Reviews for SpeedZone Herbicide

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   16
4 stars   3
3 stars   1
2 stars   1
1 star   0
 
Average Customer Rating
4.6 of 5 stars
(21 customer reviews)

Write a Review

SpeedZone Herbicide
$83.51

Free Shipping!  Free Shipping!

Info / Buy Now


Sort By:

Displaying 1 to 21 (of 21 reviews)

  • 12 of 12 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Impressed so far
    By Matt on 06/03/2011
    Verified Purchase

    I waited a little too long (May 20) to try to kill the wild violet in my yard with Speed Zone. One treatment killed about half of it and very fast. Temps are above 90 now so I guess I'll try again in the fall or spring so I don't injure the grass. Be very careful if you have a vegetable garden though. I sprayed in what I thought was calm conditions and it managed to drift enough to cause injury in my garden. Next time I'm putting a tarp barrier up.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 6 of 7 people found this review helpful:

    3 of 5 Stars   SpeedZone is a good choice
    By Sa on 06/29/2011

    I've been using SpeedZone commercially for 4 years now, on about 190K sq. feet of 'high impact' grass areas. It's the best product for Dandelions, which has been a hard one to beat. I like to use it in conjunction with a liquid fertilizer. This helps SZ to work faster for me. Dandelions propagate so quickly, the product needs to work as fast as possible. SZ is not the best choice for thistle, but any other cheaper herbicide with 2,4-D will handle that.  SZ keeps your tank and pump clean, which many others do not. Lastly, I've cut back my use of SZ this year because of its cost. I've tried diluting a little, but then it doesn't work. I would use it more, if it cost less.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 6 of 6 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Post Emergent herbicide
    By John on 06/08/2012
    Verified Purchase

    Late April 2012 I planted a new lawn by seed--approximately 3/4 acre, consisting of a mixuture of cool and warm season grasses. The imported top soil was unfortunatly loaded with weed seed which came up along with the new grass. The weeds were dominated by Virginia Knotweed, which at 6 weeks were ~12" inches in height and beginning to form seed heads. Using a 1:1 mix (oz Speed Zone to gallon water), due to the new grass being ~6 weeks mature, Speed Zone killed the knotweed and did not harm the tall fescue/little bluestem mix. Weeds wilted within 24 hrs and were mowed 7 days after application--the first cutting for the new grass. There are a few nut grass still in the seeded area not killed by Speed Zone, but these are small enough instances to be pulled. Speed Zone was very effective at controlling post emergent weeds in a stand of newly planted grass seed. I plan to extend it's use to my established lawn--spot treating small areas of white clover and oxalis (woodsorrel).

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   As Advertised
    By Chris on 08/01/2011
    Verified Purchase

    Not withstanding use restrictions, this stuff does the job! It took care of problems that Ortho wouldn't and more! You still have to pull the dead material so the lawn isn't full of dead weeds though.  I recommend this for serious, no kidding around post-emergent turf weed control!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Spring Cleanup
    By Jackie on 03/26/2012
    Verified Purchase

    SZ works great on Chickweed, Henbit and Dandalions. It did not get my clover and it does not work on crab grass. It does work well in the cool Springtime and even if it rains the next day. The note said rainproof in 4 hours.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   It Works!!!
    By Jose on 04/17/2014
    Verified Purchase

    I applied as directed and the weeds starting to die. My lawn is completly green!!! Would purchase again!!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   SpeedZone Red
    By Nate on 04/21/2014
    Verified Purchase

    I am a commercial user and this stuff is great. Saw results fast. It's expensive but the response you get from your customers is worth it. Premium products premium results.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Quality controls
    By Ryan on 11/07/2013

    We were very satisfied with the applications of SpeedZone Red we made to our athletic fields this fall in NorthCentral, PA. SpeedZone is what it is cracked up to be. We had a much faster burn down time (as mentioned) than with our usual applications and gained control over several tough weeds. Ground Ivy, Dandelion, broadleaf plantain, buckhorn plantain, and white clover were knocked out quickly. We have not noticed any yellowing in our KBG or PR although we gained control with less than the full application rate. Calibration of equipment is essential. We chose speedzone due to the fact that it has a faster suggested over-seeding window, which is essential to the finalize our fall maintenace program.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Works Great!
    By Jim on 09/25/2013

    This product kills a wide variety of broadleaf weeds, especially some that other sprays don't work very well on. Works best when temperature is below 90 degrees and is effective during cooler temperatures (above 50 degrees).

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    2 of 5 Stars   SpeedZone Red
    By on 07/09/2013
    Verified Purchase

    has knocked down most of the targeted weeds have applied twice as directed but weeds are coming back. I bought this to try and kill wild violet but it has not done a good job. Have to give it at least 2 stars because directions did say very difficult to control in the warmest months,will give you more update come September! if this doesn't work i will try T-Zone

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Awesome Stuff
    By Tim on 05/22/2013
    Verified Purchase

    I mainly had some white clover, chickweed, and wild onion that I was trying to get rid of. Just to give it that extra boost I mixed it with the Non-Ionic Surfactant for Herbicides as directed, marked off 1,ooo sq. ft. sections of the yard and mixed 1.1 oz. & 1 teaspoon of the Surfactant. After the 1st section I knew how fast I had to go and how much to spray. Ended up spraying the whole yard to get rid of other unwanted weeds. After I sprayed I went back approx. 4 hours later & I could see the white clover starting to curl. One week later I can see everything that SZ has eliminated. Thanks DMOPC.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Speed-Zone Red
    By J on 05/21/2013
    Verified Purchase

    Called your contact number as was unsure of which products to use. The property had not been treated in 2-3 years; more dandelions & weeds than grass. Speed-Zone Red was one of two products recommended. I sprayed 1.5 acres, within 2 days could see the results, the weeds were withering. Within a week 90-95% of the dandelions were GONE. I went with the minimum strength on the recommended dosage. I will re-apply next week (no rain forecast). Very pleased.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Kills Weeds and Sedge
    By William on 09/12/2014
    Verified Purchase

    If you apply it exactly as the label specifies, it will do the job for you. Best weed killer I have used. Highly recommend it

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 Stars   SpeedZone Red Herbicide
    By Jim on 06/29/2016

    Best product that I've used yet to get the weeds out of my lawn.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 Stars   Speed zone
    By Bob on 06/22/2016

    Best stuff to kill poison ivy deadly stuff. Good at killing clover also

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 Stars   Works great
    By Champ on 05/30/2016

    Works good on broad leaf weeds. A gallon will last the average homeowner at least a couple of years because it mixes at 1 - 1.5 oz per gallon.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 Stars   Works
    By Larry on 05/11/2016

    Good product for problem areas. Controls broadleaf weeds in my lawn better than anything I've used in the past. Not the cheapest stuff out there, but, it is well worth the cost. I just need to get on a two application regiment for my lawn.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 Stars   Legalized Murder
    By D on 04/30/2016

    Using a Chapin battery-powerd backpack sprayer, I spot sprayed 2 1/2 acres with SpeedZone mixed with High-Yield Spreader Sticker and my dandelions and thistles are deader than a doornail. Spray two or more days after you mow and a couple days before you mow again (with temps in the 50's to a high of 80) and every single weed you spray will die and not come back. Bye bye $548 a year professional weed man.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 Stars   magic potion
    By Shalimar on 12/05/2012

    I love this stuff. I have tried every thing to kill weeds on our 10 acres, to no avail. This stuff did the job easily.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 Stars   Great Product
    By on 06/10/2013
    Verified Purchase

    I have used Speed Zone lawn weed killer before and was impressed with the results. Speed Zone Red is the same stuff just in a larger container. Works well on everything in my yard including "creeping charlie". I have since shared some of my SZ Red with a friend and she is impressed with the results as well.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 0 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   When you use a lot of SpeedZone
    By Charles on 08/12/2016

    Love SpeedZone and when you're trying to get on top of the weeds that got let go for multiple properties, this is the 'go to' stuff. Since it's the same stuff in bigger packaging, you get that savings up front!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

Displaying 1 to 21 (of 21 reviews)