Home » Lawn & Garden » Herbicides » Selective Herbicides » SpeedZone Southern Herbicide » All Reviews

Customer Reviews for SpeedZone Southern Herbicide

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   15
4 stars   3
3 stars   0
2 stars   1
1 star   1
 
Average Customer Rating
4.5 of 5 stars
(20 customer reviews)

Write a Review

SpeedZone Southern Herbicide
$86.95

Free Shipping!  Free Shipping!

Info / Buy Now


Sort By:

Displaying 1 to 20 (of 20 reviews)

  • 19 of 19 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Speed Zone Southern
    By Jim on 04/27/2012
    Verified Purchase

    My yard, approximately 3/4 acre, consists mainly of St. Augustine/fescue and was heavily infested with a variety of different weeds due mainly to lack of previous treatment (St. Augustine very sensitive to most herbicides). Mixed and applied SZS in accordance with directions at a rate 1.5 fl oz mixed in 2 gal. quantities per 1000sf. Positive results noticed within 2 days with approximately 98 percent positive results in 2 weeks (as advertised). Surprisingly, same species of weeds responded with a less positive results during same time periods. This may be due to uneven application caused by varying pump pressure as chemical was distributed. Distribution was performed using a hand pressurized fan sprayer with a 2 gal capacity. Little or no turf damage observed.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 14 of 14 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Very effective stuff
    By Alex on 01/14/2014

    I'm a first time homeowner in South Florida. Being such when I purchased my home I didn't have the slightest clue that there are things called weeds that slowly choke and take over your grass if left untouched. 4 years later my lawn was a mess. But in those four years I have grown to be an adept do it yourself homeowner. So after sodding about 25% of my lawn that was completely choked with weeds, I had to figure out how to get rid of the weed in the other areas. Most of which was anywhere from 40-65% weed mixed with grass. I also had some of the toughest weeds to kill. The toughest one was the creeping beggar weed. I didn't find anything from my research that treated it effectively without killing grass. And believe me I did a ton of research down to whatís the best method of getting rid of each individual type of weed in my lawn. After about 2 weeks of fruitless searching I found a website mentioning this herbicide as being extremely effective. So I bought and then applied it per the instruction and after just one application my yard is now only 10-20% weed! This stuff is AMAZING!! Killed 4 years of weed in just one application! Furthermore, my grass stayed completely green without any negative effect from the herbicide (St. Augustine) I was hesitant to buy it at first because of the price but itís completely worth it. Also there's enough herbicide here to last you anywhere from 3-5 years so in the long run its cheaper than most of the stuff you will buy at home depot. In fact comparing this to even the best thing home depot has to offer is like comparing an NFL team to a high school team. If you have the types of weed that this herbicide is designed for just stop searching for anything else and buy this. If you use it correctly it will destroy your weed without harming your grass.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 10 of 11 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Speedzone Southern
    By Dave on 05/24/2011
    Verified Purchase

    Great Stuff. Killed the dollar weed but not my St. Augustine grass.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 8 of 9 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Invasive groundcover in FL
    By David on 05/16/2012

    This was recommended by Ag Serv. as only herbicide to rid my FL panhandle yard of the dreaded: Tradescantia fluminensis- Common Names: green wandering Jew, small leaf spiderwort, white-flowered wandering Jew, inch plant, speedy Jenny. Which is a class 1 invasive species. It works..but the plants are so resilent..you have to keep at it..recommend this product for this species.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 7 of 7 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   It worked!
    By on 06/06/2013
    Verified Purchase

    Got the Speedzone Southern Herbicide, sprayed it on as per the instructions and it quickly went to work. Took about 2 days for the burr weed to start dying. It is all gone now and two weeks later the Bermuda is coming in strong that the burr weed had been choking out before. Good stuff Thanks.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 7 of 7 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Speed zone southern
    By Danny on 04/08/2012

    Works very well I work in the green industry use to the correct rate and application works very well and rain fast

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 6 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Speed Zone Southern
    By Sc on 11/08/2012
    Verified Purchase

    The product was delivered as promised. I used it on my yard which is about 2 acres. I really like the results on the clover and other weeds. It did not harm my grass. Highly recommend this product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Exactly what was represented
    By Seth on 01/31/2013

    The product was exactly as represented on the site. The shipping was reasonable time and cost wise. Smooth buying experience.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Worked as Advertised
    By Jason on 07/05/2011
    Verified Purchase

    I sprayed my Bermuda hybrid with this product and it killed the broad leaf weeds as advertised. I did follow the instructions to the letter, even down to when to mow and not mow. I sprayed my yard 1/2 acre with my four wheeler making sure I stayed around 1.5-2 miles an hour as best I could. My grass didn't yellow much, even with the temperatures being on the border of being too hot per the instructions. One application of fertilizer the next week and it's back to its dark green color.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   No Bull.
    By S. on 08/09/2015

    I've struggled with beggar weed in our zoysia grass for several years. I tried the usual "weed selective" Ortho's Weed Be Gone sold through the warehouse stores to no avail. For that matter, it's totally disappointing at removing most any weed to include even a dandelion. I then studied Do My Own Pest Control's web site and learned of SpeedZone Southern Herbicide. Good stuff! Does what a selective weed killer is suppose to do. A little pricey but you get a large quantity that will last for quite some time.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   SPEEDZONE FOR SOUTHERN YARDS
    By Chris on 05/05/2014
    Verified Purchase

    I've used Speed zone in thpast with great results ( only spray that really destroys dollarweed). My landscaping supplier closed down and I've trying serveral standard Brand stuff in Lowes with dis-appointing results. Found Do My Own Pest Control via online search. They delivered in less than 5 days, I sprayed yard and the next morning you could see ALL the weeds beginning to die. Great product and great service by DoMy OwnPesrControl!!!! Next I'm working on moles (coming over from my neighbor's yard !

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 14 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Don't bother
    By Stan on 06/06/2011
    Verified Purchase

    This stuff isn't worth the shipping and the shipping is free. I used it once and nothing happened. Two weeks later I re-read the directions, mixed it a little stronger with the same results. I should of put 82.50 in a blender and dumped it on the lawn. Everything else I bought here has worked great. I had to give it one star because it won't let you give a zero.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   May be the best
    By Anonymous on 07/12/2013
    Verified Purchase

    We live in Fresno, Ca. Where "Everyone" has a gardener. Jose is a pretty bright guy and had this stuff on his truck. He applied it and it worked great. It seems to work better on more weeds than even Montery Chemicals. It is Very effective on spurge without burning the Bermuda.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   speedzone southern
    By Amador on 02/13/2012
    Verified Purchase

    I use speedzone southern to control pearl wort weed in hybrid bermuda grass its the best herbicide have use to control this weed.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Quicker than you think
    By B on 01/19/2016

    Proven winner for Southern turf. Kills broadleaf weeds faster than the rest. The added ingredient Carfentrazone is the key to the "Speed" Follow the instructions, use the proper equipment, and watch the weeds die.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 Stars   Works great
    By Mark on 03/19/2016

    I put SpeedZone Southern out early in the season. Probably too early but I had a lot of weeds. I watched it for a couple of days but saw no results. After a couple of weeks the weeds started turning brown and dying. In time it worked great but I really think if I had waited until spring officially began it might have worked even faster.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 5 Stars   Got rid of Japanese-Knot-Weed
    By Milc on 06/21/2014

    Nothing worked well against Japanese-Knot-Weed until we found SpeedZone. We are glad we finally got rid of them. For other wide leaf weeds, I wish our State allows us to use the stronger one (red label).

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 Stars   Great Herbicide
    By Jason on 04/30/2014

    Fast noticeable results next day found several weeds which started turning brown or dropping Did not hurt our Cody & Bowie buffalo grass and blue grass Smell is not as strong or long lasting as other products just enough smell to let you know its there.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 0 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    2 of 5 Stars   Not too happy
    By Sharon on 07/31/2011
    Verified Purchase

    I'm STILL pulling weeds. I've applied this twice and it kills only a fraction of the weeds in my GA lawn. This was too expensive to not work.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 Stars   Speedzone
    By Tom on 06/07/2016

    I was doubtful as I have tried Image and other products to eliminate Dollar weed with no luck. I applied Speedzone at a rate of 1 1/2 oz per gallon. 10 days later the dollar weed is gone and grass looks great.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

Displaying 1 to 20 (of 20 reviews)