Home » Insecticide Granules » Talstar XTRA Granules » All Reviews

Customer Reviews for Talstar XTRA Granules

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   54
4 stars   4
3 stars   1
2 stars   1
1 star   7
 
Average Customer Rating
4.4 of 5 stars
(67 customer reviews)

Write a Review

Talstar XTRA Granules
$42.99

Free Shipping!  Free Shipping!

Info / Buy Now


Sort By:

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 67 reviews)

  • 40 of 40 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Just OK
    By Bubba on 10/16/2010

    This product worked great... at first. Applied it correctly and it was like a nuclear bomb went off - no ants, no crickets, no anything. However, a week or so went by and the ants were back. Why? Probably because of local control. I have lots of sandy spots and those don't take to the poison well? I find the liquid talstar HARDER to apply, but it works better in all conditions. For some reason the granular works well for yards and areas with no sand, etc. The granules are also hard to spread in landscape beds. Talstar as a whole is the BEST so maybe the answer is to buy granular for the grassy areas that are usually large and hard to cover with spray and then buy the spray for the landscaping beds and sandy spots in your lawn. Either way BE CAREFUL this stuff is so toxic that in minutes lizards, crickets, and ants start to flee their hiding places and you'll find them everywhere... dead! 5 stars for the liquid Talstar for sure, 4 stars for Talstar XTRA because despite the fact it has pretty ant(s) on the packaging it is not that great for ant(s) and may not work around planting beds, near sidewalks, and/or empty patches in lawns.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 22 of 22 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Great Product at a Great Price!
    By Glen on 05/17/2011
    Verified Purchase

    Had mole crickets in my yard, and now..... I now have a mole cricket free back yard. Easy to follow instructions.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 18 of 18 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Talstar Granules
    By Robert on 04/14/2012
    Verified Purchase

    I put the granules out around the shrubbery and foundation of the house according to directions. I used the Talstar spray a month ago on the walls of the house. My roach problem has almost been elimintated. The Roaches I do see don't feel so good. Along with most other houses in Macon, last week we had our yearly infestation of redbugs crawling everywhere - except where that I had sprayed with Talstar. Good stuff and I like the lack of odor and ease of use. Make certain you have a good spreader.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 17 of 19 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   It really works
    By Ralph on 08/20/2011
    Verified Purchase

    Product is on the expensive side but works great, I have not seen an ant on my lawn since it was applied 2 weeks ago, it also seems to have killed the chinch bugs as I am seeing a change of the bald spots on my lawn.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 11 of 12 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Fire Ants
    By Roscoe on 04/09/2012
    Verified Purchase

    We were getting ready to have a big birthday party for the Grandson and found too many fire ants to take the chance. We used the Talstar Xtra on the recomendation of a friend who is in the pest control business. We spread 50 pounds with the lawn spreader and didn't see one ANT at the party. Great product, Thanks.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 9 of 9 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Talstar XTRA Granules & Do My Own Pest Control
    By Shawn on 04/19/2015
    Verified Purchase

    We have used Talstar for several years to control fire ants, ticks, and fleas. Living in Florida, this is a very important factor in our lives, to live bug free. This product works and keeps on working year after year. We will never use anything else, except we do use Talstar liquid to spray our house. Also, this company is the best, they have never disappointed us; we really appreciate their prompt service.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 7 of 7 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   being bugged= forgotten!
    By Nicholas on 08/18/2011
    Verified Purchase

    This product is SUPERIOR for all types of bugs. It lasts and is a fantastic residual product. have used it for all pests including ants, fly, bees, ect...

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 6 of 13 people found this review helpful:

    2 of 5 Stars   WHM129
    By William on 04/28/2013
    Verified Purchase

    I am very pleased with everything but the product. I saw a pest control company using a simular product and it worked extremely well. I had used another product available on this site that worked fairly well but not as well as what the pest control company used. I asked and was told it was Talstar Granules. I used the product the same way the pest control company did, but it does not kill the ants the way theirs did. The granuals they used were white and a little larger then these. I am not satisified with this product at all.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 6 of 7 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Not as effective as stated
    By L on 03/19/2015
    Verified Purchase

    We used Talstar granules for ant control several years ago and it worked very well. Elected to go with the Talstar XTRA based on the product info and reviews and ordered 100#. Put all 100# down, some by hand spreader to enable me to increase the amount of granules in heavier infested areas and the other by push spreader - actually hand scooping out of the hopper to put additional granules on large ant mounds. There was a small ant mound on a brick walkway - put the granules directly on it by hand. Order another 50# as had another area that needed ant control. It rained after the initial spreading of the granules and within 2 days the ants on the brick walkway were alive and well! Had to supplement with a liquid 'kill them now' insect control. Needless to say for the amount of money we spent for 150# of this we are extremely disappointed. We will be looking for something else for our future ant control.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    If the Talstar Xtra granules are applied at a higher rate and watered in as labeled, you should see an initial drop in activity within the first day or two after application. It is important to keep in mind that the active ingredients in Talstar Xtra will not transfer throughout the ant colonies. Depending on what type of ants you have in the yard, sometimes you can even see a surge in activity just after applying insecticides. The Talstar granules, however, will have a residual (they'll keep working) for at least 30 days, so you should see results for weeks. You may want to give the product some more time to work before using other products. You may also want to consider using an ant bait that will work throughout the colony; you will want an identification on the specific type of ant to choose the best bait. We are always happy to discuss your treatment further with you via live chat online, email (anytime), or telephone at 866-581-7378 M-F 9a-5p EST.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Talstar xtra granules
    By Frazier on 05/15/2014
    Verified Purchase

    This is the best product to use for fire ant control. I have never had a problem with fire ants after using this product. No one cn beat it. I tell all my neighbors to use it. Fire ants are bad in this beach area od SC. Thank you DoMyOwnPestControl!! I will continue to use this product withoout worry o having fire ants'

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   talstar xtra granules 25
    By Frank on 12/03/2014
    Verified Purchase

    I have found this product to be one of the best products for ant and millipedes

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Use Talstar XTRA Granules! You won't be sorry!
    By Darlene on 09/14/2015

    Excellent! Got rid of ant mounds quickly and completely. With other products the ants just seem to move to another area of the yard. Not so with Talstar!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   "Ticks no more!"
    By Jenette on 05/02/2016

    After being diagnosed with Lyme disease a few years ago, I contracted with a pest control company to treat my lawn twice a year. I noticed that Talstar XTRA granules was the product that they used. I determined that it was more cost effective for me to apply this product myself, and found "DoMyOwnPestControl.com" on-line and have since purchased it from them. I apply it three times a year to my lawn and surrounding areas using a broadcast spreader. The original pest control company only used a hand spreader, and I really wondered how thorough they were in applying Talstar. It has worked out wonderfully and I believe that I have solved the tick problem and saved money, as well.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Great Product
    By Jacksonville, on 01/28/2016

    Been fighting flees in the yard for 3 years. Tried the Lowes & Home Depot & Alternative Pest Control products. Nothing worked. Dogs still kept getting flees and lots of them. (Yes, I treated the inside of my house and bedding too.) (live in Jacksonville, FL so flees are year round, no hard freezes in 3 years.) My next door neighbor has had only 1 flee in 7 years. (one, probably from my yard) He let me use the last of his and it worked pretty well, just didn't have nearly enough for my yard. But the number of flees went down on my dogs. Therefore, Bought 3 bags, used only 1 full bag for my entire yard and within days of the application and bathing my dogs - NO FLEES on any of the dogs. WOW I now have a happy wife & dogs. And I couldn't be happier. Thank you. Great product. (the other two bags are for future treatments. I'm following my neighbors treatment plan which is the one recommended.)

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 19 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Pest control
    By Mark on 10/02/2012
    Verified Purchase

    This product does not work!!! Do not buy!!! I could have spit on the ants and caused more damage.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Great Product
    By Kendyll on 09/20/2014
    Verified Purchase

    Product shipped the next day and received it within three days of purchase. Product was easy to use and instructions were very clear on the website. Product appears to have worked exactly as advertised. Used it for mole crickets that had set up a home in my backyard and they were attracting some very unwelcome garter snakes! Now, no crickets and haven't seen a snake either! Thankfully.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   FIRE ANT CONTROL
    By Tom on 10/19/2014
    Verified Purchase

    I am a professional lawn company...Talstar will eliminate fire ants for about 3 months...A great product at a good price!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Excellent product for fire ants
    By Cmw on 03/11/2014

    Our lawn service has been using this on our 1 acre lot with wonderful success. If you know anything about fire ants, they are bad news. This product works really well.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Not so great!!
    By Nc on 04/16/2015
    Verified Purchase

    Decided to try the XTRA versus the PL. Over a week and it did not kill any fire ants (3 different lawns). Still have mounds full. I'm not sure if the batch was bad, but definitely did not work.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Talstar Granules
    By Cindy on 09/22/2016

    I love this product. I was intoduced to it 10 years ago by a friend who received rave reviews from his neighbors on how great his lawn looked. Granted this is not a fertilizer, but using it removes insects from your lawn and allows for a healthy, green lawn.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Great product
    By Andy on 06/15/2016

    Highly recommend. Used for mole crickets.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   It seems working pretty well
    By J. on 07/19/2016

    I'm used to mowing the lawn high, and the liquid one doesn't get to the root easily. So I changed to use this granual one the first time. Observed quite many June bugs dead in under the grass. Not sure how long it will last. Time will tell. It is pretty expensive though.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Failure
    By Suzette on 08/06/2015

    I have used a spreader to get to the areas that were most infested by typical red ants and nothing happened so I reapplied a week later and the ants are still here! The only thing I can think this may have failed is we have been getting rain almost everyday. So disappointed. I was very happy with the other products I've purchased from this company dealing with chinch bugs...completely gone.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Talstar
    By Ron on 08/28/2015

    Amazing product say good bye to fire ants forever. I will definitely reorder.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Talstar
    By Patrick on 09/15/2015

    Kills pest and ants as stated

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Great product
    By Whitney on 03/15/2016

    I put this down because it kept the grubs away. I missed two seasons and was plaqued by moles, rabbits and groundhogs. It just rained so I know it will work quickly. Now to till the soil and broadcast spread a second bag just to be sure. Every product I have purchased over the past 7 years has never failed me since becoming a homeowner. Thank you!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Excellent Mole Cricket Control
    By on 08/02/2013
    Verified Purchase

    This product works exactly as it says it will work. Outstanding results!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Talstar XTRA Granules - 25
    By Dan on 05/14/2014
    Verified Purchase

    Service and product A-1....mole crickets where my problem...and so far 2 weeks after application none have shown their selfs.....pellets were all same size and spreader applied them without any stopage at all...I will be getting another bag for PM application in a few months...

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Did Nothing
    By Billie on 08/08/2016

    I put 50 pounds of Talstar XTRA Granules on my yard and watered in according to the instructions. My Chinch Bugs, fire ants, carpenter ants, earwigs, grubs, etc. are all alive and well. I've seen absolutely no change in the infestation in my yard after using this product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Great!
    By Cody on 09/16/2013

    I live in Chandler Arizona and was having a problem with fire ants in my grass and rocks this year so I purchased this about a month ago and haven't seen any since. It states that the granules will last 4 months so I will update this review in another 3 if it doesn't last that long.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 67 reviews)