Home » Termites » Borate Wood Treatment » Timbor » All Reviews

Customer Reviews for Timbor

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   48
4 stars   10
3 stars   2
2 stars   2
1 star   1
 
Average Customer Rating
4.6 of 5 stars
(63 customer reviews)

Write a Review

Timbor
$14.70

Free Shipping!  Free Shipping!

Info / Buy Now


Sort By:

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 63 reviews)

  • 28 of 28 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Timbor DIY vs Commercial
    By Jeff on 05/28/2011

    A national chain quoted me $2,900 to spray the trusses of my new home under construction. I paid about $65 for the Timbor and spent about 4 hours spraying. Absolutely worth it!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 26 of 29 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Good Stuf
    By Tim on 10/18/2010

    The price at DoMyOwnPestControl was better than I could find elsewhere and their support was great. This stuff (borate minerals) has been around a million years and is known to make wood toxic most insects including drywood termites, carpenter ants, ants and wood destroying fungi. It works by dehydrating them. It doesn't kill subterrainian termites, but those are easier to find by inspection (mud tubes). It is as advertised and, applied properly will work. I had drywood termites and ants crawling all over the structure before treating the outside with this stuff and now they are all dead, gone and discouraged. I've covered up the outside wood (siding, shingles, etc.) and so long as the cover remains intact, this stuff will continue to do its job.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 22 of 27 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Small quantities not available
    By Laura on 04/23/2010
    Verified Purchase

    Product was easily mixed. Would have preferred directions for mixing smaller quantities on package. Might use BoraCare next time for effectiveness but small quantities of that were not available and it was costly.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 21 of 21 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Timbor
    By Russ on 03/14/2011

    Easy to use, included measuring cup, just added to water in a separate 5 gallon pail and agitated with a drill and paint mixer, pour into pump up sprayer and saturated walls of older garage. I sprayed twice waiting about 30 minutes between application, for good penetration, had it been spring or summer I might have made several wet on wet applications as the wood was old and dry. I purchased the 25 pound pail and have several more structures to treat. My (former thanks to DMOPC) pest control person said that Timbor was a great low cost addition to a complete termite treatment. I also note that Timbor is especially good at repelling carpenter ants, and fungus which I believe is the cause of dry rot. Thanks DMOPC

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 15 of 15 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Timbor
    By Cathy on 06/15/2010
    Verified Purchase

    The Timbor powder was easy to mix and use & DoMyOwnPestControl made it simple to order.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 12 of 14 people found this review helpful:

    2 of 5 Stars   Difficult to spray
    By Frank on 06/06/2011

    I'm using Timbor to prevent powder post beetles from infecting newly milled hardwoods. The powder is very difficult to mix well enough into water to go through the sprayer nozzle. Wish they made a liquid concentrate. The sprayer clogs with small unmixed pieces of powder. It's impossible to mix it enough to get it completely dissolved. I even tried mixing it in small quantities in a kitchen blender. If you leave the mixture in the sprayer overnight, powder particles precipitate and clog the nozzle. I can't review its effectiveness as a pesticide, I won't know for a while.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 10 of 10 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Timbor used for Powder Post Beetles
    By Ken on 02/17/2011

    I just used this product yesterday. Mixing was very easy. I did break down the quantity and mixed only a quart of liquid. Application was smooth. I did add a drop of dish soap to help as a spreader. Now I just have to wait and see if I got the little bugs. I imagine I may not know for at least 6 months if I got them.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 9 of 10 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Excellent Service
    By Amado on 07/17/2010

    we will always buy from them they are honest.and it doesnt cost to ship and also it doesnt take long to get your stuff.and we are very happy.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 9 of 9 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   First time user of Timbor
    By Ivan on 07/29/2011

    This is my first use of Timbor so I can only talk about the application and not how effective it is yet. Using it for Powder Post Beetles and possible other bugs in hardwood chunks I'm keeping for fine woodworking projects. they have current holes and I hope Timbor will kill them when they come out or try to go back in. Mixing Timbor was simple and I didn't have any problems with mixing it in warm water. I made up small batches at a time and used a brush to apply. No odor and it is colorless, except that it left a very faint silverly sheen to the wood after drying if you held it up to the sun. I am keeping an eye on the wood to see if Timbor will take care of my pests.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 8 of 8 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Great Product with great service!
    By Jim on 07/17/2011

    This works. The bags come so a 1.5 lb can be readily mixed. It mixes completely and seems to work. Not seeing any more powder from the wood borers.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 8 of 8 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Deck Treatment
    By Elmer on 09/02/2011
    Verified Purchase

    Had to rebuild a deck/balcony that had gotten rotten despite treatment with a variety of products. Treated the new wood with Timbor. Mixing and application, garden sprayer, went well. Seemed to soak in well. Took stain well. Time will tell whether or not it works better then the other treatments I have tried. I expect good results.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 6 of 7 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   well known product that works
    By James on 03/12/2012
    Verified Purchase

    I've used ship bor in the past on wooden boats to stop micro organism decay with good success and timbor seems to be a similar product!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 6 of 6 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Log Cabin
    By Terry on 12/11/2014

    My Grandson and I built a log cabin. We wanted to protect it against wood boring insects. Timbor was recommended. We sprayed the wood with Timbor and saw no sign of wood boring insects. We bought the large pail of Timbor, and since the cabin was all wood, we sprayed the sills, joysts, floor, top and underneath. We sprayed the log walls, inside and out, also the rafters and lathe. We enjoyed the cabin for a couple of years, but unfortunately, it recently burned from a fire started by an unattended wood heater. We are in the process of building another log cabin in the same spot. One thing for sure, we will not be careless with the fire. Also, we plan on protecting the cabin from wood eating pests by spraying it with Timbor. Sincerely, Terry McGraw

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 6 of 6 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   timbor
    By Mike on 06/27/2012

    Two years ago, I bought a camp that has alot of rough cut lumber. Early summer I noticed the powder post exodus, and bought a pail of timbor. Last year I noticed considerably less activity and this year I have seen a few. I believe this stuff works, just wish I was there to apply it when the camp was built.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 6 of 9 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Timbor 25 lbs
    By John on 10/13/2010

    received quickly and in an excellent condition. highly recommended

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Usefull stuff
    By Riley on 12/20/2012

    I used this stuff many years ago on a log house. A permanant treatment for wood. Also good as flux for forge welding. I also mix it with a lotion for my feet. Really cleared up my feet. Very safe. Just consider that a borax solution is used on the eyes of babies, but that solution should come from your doctor.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   The best pesticide I ever seem.
    By Pedro on 03/26/2013
    Verified Purchase

    It is the best contact killer for termited that I ever seem. Thousen of termites died in front of me, was amaizin.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   My favorite Timbor supplier
    By Frank on 05/29/2013

    - is this company right here. I have been purchasing this product here for a few years, the price keeps getting better. And the product always arrives in good condition. As for the product, Timbor is the most cost-effective wood treatment for new wood construction there is - and it works! I have been intermittently building a home on a tropical island (which has the ground termite problem) for the last couple of years, and the lead carpenter has remarked how surprised he is that the termites seem to be leaving us alone, not something he is used to seeing.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Dissolves extremely well
    By Thomas on 10/06/2011
    Verified Purchase

    When I saw the volume of powder to be dissolved in one gallon of water, I had my doubts that it wouldn't maybe clog up my garden sprayer- but it didn't. It became almost clear looking after mixing and sprayed just fine. Now if it just keeps the bugs/borers out of my outdoor under cover stored lumber I'll be really satisfied !

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   The ONLY Anti-Fungal Product We Use!
    By Laura on 12/30/2014

    We have been using Timbor for over 15 years and it is the best product we have found in our 20 years of business. We use it on joists in basements and crawlspaces to prevent fungus/mold from regrowing when we install our systems. It has a proven track record and we will never use any other product as long as Timbor is available to us!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    3 of 5 Stars   Timbor
    By Danny on 02/28/2014
    Verified Purchase

    Time will tell as to effectiveness but the product mixes well and application is a breeze. However, DO NOT FREEZE! Being a salt, this product will solidify in cold temperatures, so use it soon after mixing. Do not let it rest in an unheated environment. If it solidifies you will have a BIG mess cleaning your sprayer.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Timbor: Highly Recommended
    By Tom on 04/12/2014

    This product was highly recommended to me by a very credentialed pest control expert I called in for a second opinion on a termite report. He saved me a lot of money and charged nothing

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Fast delivery and easy to use.
    By Harvey on 07/03/2014

    First, the delivery was super fast. My order arrived before I expected it. The product was easy to mix. I used warm (sun heated) water from a rain barrel. Fully mixed the powder 1/3 at a time using a paint mixer on my cordless drill. This seemed to be faster than adding all the powder at once and trying to disolve it in the water. The instructions indicate reserving part of the water until the powder is disolved. This worked well to finish the solution. There is a measuring scoop included. It measures 1/2 pound of product. So 15% solution in 1 gallon of water is 3 scoops. I used a chemical backpack sprayer that has a diaphram pump instead of a piston. Using a fan spray nozzle, the application went fairly quick. Time will tell if the product prevents the insects. I sprayed the entire wood frame of my house under construction. Stud walls, sheeting, trusses, floor joists. I plan to spray the wood siding before it goes up as well.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Adding Timbor during reconstruction
    By Luanne on 01/29/2013

    A downstairs flood required the subflooring be removed and replaced. While the rafters were open I sprayed all the exposed wood with a 15% Timbor solution. My order arrived promptly and accurately. It was easy to measure thanks to the included measuring scoop, easy to mix and easy to spray. I wore protective clothing as advised, but felt comfortable since it is not toxic to humans or pets. The plywood for the subflooring will be delivered a couple of days before it is needed to allow me time to treat that also. I feel good knowing that I've done something proactive to prevent a termite infestation without the harmful side efffects of a potent pesticide.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   good product
    By on 07/22/2013

    We had some powder post larvae creating boring dust on a table on the top floor of an open room in converted dairy barn. The roof rafters are 30' long comprised of 5 lengths of 2x6. This problem seemed to be in only in a section of a few of the rafters and confined to the lower 10' section. The barn was build in 1942 with masonry walls. So I order this product, mixed and sprayed the it and no more problem as far as I can tell. I used the 15% solution for a one shot approach. Absorbs well into dry wood. Leaves perhaps some white residue but that's ok. The product will remain tacky if over spray lands on a surface that wouldn't allow for absorption. Like metal or OBS subfloor. It's a great product to have around a farm to treat wood as needed.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Termite Killer & Protection
    By Mike on 03/18/2016

    Highly recommend. I got tired of paying "professionals" for sub par termite treatment. National companies who did not drill completely through the concrete before injecting the treatment, another est. of $3,000 to replace a $40 fascia board & the company that drilled through the slab & didn't plug the holes before covering them, which allowed moisture intrusion to destroy the floor. Using information from DoMyOwnPestControl & the Timbor I ordered from them, I treated my property myself & have been termite free for the past 3-years. Reordered Timbor to retreat as a prevention measure. I have also helped family & neighbors with termite eradication using DoMyOwnPestControl.com.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   fast shipping, as described
    By Gr on 08/30/2011

    Powder mixes in water and glycol very well, much better than expected based on various online review. applies easily with standard garden insecticide pump-up sprayer. DMOPC delivered very quickly. This review covers only delivery, custpomer service and application of the product, butdoes not address efficacy of the product, as it was just recently applied to a log cabin. We hope it repels pests as advertised.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   I became a loyal customer
    By Giovani on 09/29/2012

    This product works great! When applied properly it can save you or your client a bunch of money in replacement expenses. DoMyOwnPestControl turned me into a loyal return customer from the first sale. With fast free shipping and bulk discounts I will keep coming back!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   TIMBOR FOR LOG HOME
    By Roert on 09/23/2011
    Verified Purchase

    I mixed product and used in garden sprayer. Worked very well. After it dried I then used the same product as a dust in between logs by filling a squeeze type bottle and it worked very well. I will purchase this product again as a preventative strike on future pests.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Great Service
    By Ken on 05/03/2012

    Since we are speaking of a product that may not prove itself for years, I can only rate the prompt and courteous service I received. That is what this rating stands for, thanks. ken

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 63 reviews)