Home » Animal Control » Animal Traps » Squirrel Traps » Tomahawk Deluxe Rigid Trap Squirrels/Muskrats Easy Release Door - Model 603 » All Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tomahawk Deluxe Rigid Trap Squirrels/Muskrats Easy Release Door - Model 603

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   12
4 stars   3
3 stars   0
2 stars   0
1 star   0
 
Average Customer Rating
4.8 of 5 stars
(15 customer reviews)

Write a Review


Sort By:

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 15 reviews)

  • 13 of 13 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Squirrel Trap with Easy Release Door
    By Dee on 10/21/2011
    Verified Purchase

    Hi, I just wanted to let you know how pleased I am with this trap. It is easy to use and works. I have tried other traps and didn't catch anything. With this trap we have caught 8 squirrels in 4 days, hopefullly I won't have the problem of squirrels eating my tomatoes next year. Thanks for a great product!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 11 of 11 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Caught 3 squirrels in 2-days
    By Jon on 04/16/2012
    Verified Purchase

    I am usually a sceptical individual as I was when I purchased this squirrel trap. All I did was put some peanut butter on the bars of the cage at the opening, middle and after the trap step. In 2-hours I had 2 squirrels and the next day another one. The trap is so easy to use and set up. I took the squirrels out to the forest and released them with the easy release door. What a great, works as advertised product. Shipping was fast too.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 9 of 9 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   got ya
    By Krystle on 03/22/2012
    Verified Purchase

    We set this trap outside on the front porch. We put some bread with lots of peanut butter on it like the suggested and within maybe a few hours had our squirrel!! We just love this trap and happy to have spent the money! We relocated her at a park that has lots of trees and she can't get herself into trouble.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Deluxe Live Trap for Squirrels
    By Dick on 09/14/2012
    Verified Purchase

    The trap mechanically works very well. However the 1 inch square holes in the wire are too large. ie: First the squirrels tipped it over and ate the peanuts that fell through. After I staked it down they were able to reach through the wire and pull the peanuts close enough to the side to get them out. I solved the problem by cutting three pieces of clear plixiglass the same size as the trap (about half as long as the trap on the sides) cut tiny holes in the plexiglass and wired them to the two sides and the back. Worked perfectly. I have since relocated 11 squirrels

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   My squirrel catcher
    By Chad on 06/07/2012
    Verified Purchase

    I've had the live trap for 2 weeks and I've caught 31 squirrels. My garden is now safe. First time in 16 years we have been able to gather tomatoes.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Excellent product
    By M on 05/16/2013
    Verified Purchase

    Easily traps pesky squirrels. Mechanical parts functioned perfectly. Built with top notch materials.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Wonderful
    By Thomas on 06/16/2012
    Verified Purchase

    Fourteen in the bucket. Really works. Great design.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Live trap
    By Christine on 06/03/2014
    Verified Purchase

    We are most pleased with this trap, still using it today. We hauled off 3 squirrels today alone. We dont remember how many we relocated since the first day, over 20... it worked realy well with a slice of bread with peanut butter and bird seed, taking off slow at first, but it worked better as it went.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Tomahawk Live Trap (Squirrel)
    By Andi on 08/24/2014
    Verified Purchase

    I live in New York City and have two pear trees in my back yard. For several seasons I had no harvest as the squirrels continually ate the fruit. I tried other brands of traps but they proved ineffective -- often the animal would enter - eat the bait - and exit without springing the trap. With the Tomahawk trap it was a hit every time. Twenty-three squirrels in 23 days - one raccoon - and three (believe it or not) sparrows. FYI: I use peanut butter as bait Just a small dab -- also remember to relocate the squirrel at least five miles from the site of capture - If you do not, he will return -- I found that out the hard way.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   great trap
    By Rich on 10/29/2016

    this trap works awesome!! I caught two squirrels in the first three days. Who says you can't catch a squirrel in an attic with a cage? This product proves them wrong! Easy to catch, easy to release. Thank you so much for a humane way to deal with unwanted pest.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Great Squirrel Trap
    By Brenda on 02/25/2016

    This trap is awesome! We had been trying to catch squirrels for months with a trap that we purchased from Tractor Supply with no luck at all. After only one day with this trap we caught a squirrel. This is very important to us since we have Mountain Feist and need to catch squirrels often to train these hunting dogs. This trap is very well built and the release door on the back of the trap allows us to release the squirrel with ease. The trap is very "hair triggered" which is very important when trapping such a small animal. We highly recommend this to anyone.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Ground Squirrel Trap
    By Cleo on 05/22/2014
    Verified Purchase

    Easy to use good access to food placement, easy release door.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 Stars   It Did the Job Quickly
    By B. on 05/27/2017

    Needed to get rid of a squirrel that raided our bird feeder. Made initial mistake of setting the trap before nightfall and had a muskrat trapped in the a.m. Next day set it out at dawn and had my "perpetrator" in an hour's time. Couldn't ask for more!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 5 Stars   Tomahawk live squirrel trap model 603
    By Marlan on 06/07/2017

    I only gave the trap 4 stars because the 1" x 1" gridi is too large. Squirrels and raccoons are problem solvers and they will figure out a way to reach through or tip it over to disturb the bait. Also chipmunks can pass through the grids to get to the bait. I solved the problem by wrapping the trap in 1/2" hardware cloth. Otherwise the trap is of excellent quality with a smooth working trip mechanism. I have caught birds, chipmunks, a rabbit,and squirrels. Personally I would go with a bigger trap with 1/2" grids designed for larger animals. That way you can cover a wider range of pests with one trap.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 5 Stars   Great for Squirrels, Chipmunks Pass Right Through
    By Maureen on 06/21/2017
    Verified Purchase

    As some other reviewers have mentioned, it took some adjustment to operate correctly. I raised the bait platform and made the trigger as sensitive as can be without slipping shut by accident. I have caught three squirrels in two days. Initially I was puzzled because I checked the trap often and the door was shut, the peanut butter was gone but there were no customers inside. I finally stood watch and saw a chipmunk squirm right out between the 1x1" grid openings, thus the four star, not five star review. I called Tomahawk and a nice representative suggested their model 102SS which has 1x.5 openings. I'm waiting for it to arrive. So, despite the fact I will have to pay for two separate traps, one for squirrels and one for chipmunks, I will be satisfied because the do work. They're sturdier than other brands I've seen. They should last a good long time.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 15 reviews)