Home » Rodents » Rat Traps » Trapper T-Rex Rat Trap » All Reviews

Customer Reviews for Trapper T-Rex Rat Trap

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   68
4 stars   14
3 stars   1
2 stars   6
1 star   9
 
Average Customer Rating
4.3 of 5 stars
(98 customer reviews)

Write a Review

Trapper T-Rex Rat Trap
$7.37

Free Shipping!  Free Shipping!

Info / Buy Now


Sort By:

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 98 reviews)

  • 55 of 57 people found this review helpful:

    2 of 5 Stars   T Rex Rat Trap - Could be improved
    By John on 04/20/2010

    I bought a 12 pack of this trap. The good thing is that they are very easy to set and to release. There are two serious problems. 1 - As others have mentioned, the striking force is much less than a normal old fashioned trap.  I have already had one case of a rat suffering, not dead, even though he was trapped by the head. 2 - The quality is not acceptable. After one use two traps broke. One broke its plastic catch and one broke at the plastic hinge area.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 35 of 38 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Sturdy and easy to use
    By Joseph on 11/16/2006

    I like the  Trapper T-Rex Rat Trap very much, it is sturdy and easy to set. Do not use the bait cup included because the rat will just steal it without touching anything. You need to smear some peanut butter on the trigger. Also, the way this trigger is designed, you can adjust it for sensitivity. Basically the way it is the trigger needs to be pushed down almost a quarter inch before it is set off if you just set it and forget it, like this I doubt you will ever catch anything. But if you hold onto the grip and at the same time push the trigger down almost level to the top of the bait dish, just slightly above it where the edge of sensitivity is, I believe you will have better luck with it. Do this after you smeared a thin coat of peanut butter on the trigger and then set it to the edge of sensitivity.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 32 of 33 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Easy to use
    By Ken on 11/20/2005

    My Trapper T-Rex trap virtually decapitated a giant wood rat. They are easy to use. Easy to set. Do not get your fingers in this one. I recommend using fishing line to secure the trap to something. If a rat gets a paw stuck in it he will drag it away and you will have to track it down. At $7 each, I don't like hunting my T-Rex. But the rats like them even less.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 19 of 22 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Trapper T-Rex Rat Trap
    By Chris on 04/18/2009
    Verified Purchase

    This is by far the best trap I have used. I get the occasional rats from nearby fields and have used the wood traps with limited success in consecutive days. It took one night with the T-Rex Rat Trap. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 17 of 17 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Easy to use and effective
    By Mark on 04/15/2007

    Easy to use and effective. The Trapper T-Rex traps are easier and safer to handle than the conventional spring trap. And they fit (and work) in smaller areas. Peanut butter works great. Like the others, I've learned to secure them in place.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 13 of 13 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Worked the first night
    By D.s. on 04/03/2006

    Worked the first night I set it up. Put peanut butter into the bait cup and set it up in the afternoon on the roof near the front door. Next morning I found the Trapper T-Rex rat trap with the dead roof rat securely between the interlocking teeth ... this was on the front porch just near the front door. I'll have to secure the trap with a zip tie or fishing line next time.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 9 of 11 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Awesome
    By Frank on 09/13/2010
    Verified Purchase

    I was thinking it was not as good as the Victor rat trap but my wife will not use those so I bought 4 T-Rex's and I've caught 4 rats in one "dead" outside, and none up in the attic so thats a good thing with the other 3. Works GREAT easy to use smear peanut butter on the peddle and becuase of the weight I had to lift it to get it too set. Awesome... But my wife still will not mess with them....

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 9 of 9 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Powerful Trap
    By Reggie on 09/18/2013
    Verified Purchase

    These are powerful traps! Put them out the first night using berries as recommended by our pest guy...Well, not a good move. They snatched them right out of the trap. You need to use something sticky like p-nut butter with some bacon so they have to work to remove it then setting off the trap.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 8 of 8 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   1,2,3 strikes
    By on 08/03/2013

    When they work, they are great. Had a problem with the critters getting the goods and getting away. Manually set the traps off a few times to break them in, plus shoved the bait down into the cup so they would have to crawl in to get to it. Successful with most of the traps.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 7 of 7 people found this review helpful:

    2 of 5 Stars   Limited lifespan when used outdoors
    By Gary on 11/04/2013

    These are great traps for a limited time, as the spring and related assemblies rust and/or loose tension. Consider these traps as good for one or two kills

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 7 of 7 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Trapper T-Rex Rat Trap
    By Joe on 06/24/2013
    Verified Purchase

    I purchased four T-Rex Rat Traps. The 1st week I trapped about 18 Norway rats that were under my storage shed. I could not believe it. The 1st day one of traps broke while using my foot to set it. That made me mad. I swore I would not purchase any more of this traps. All the rats were trapped using only (3) out of the(4) that I purchased. The end result made me very happy. The shipment was FREE and very fast. Yes, I will purchase these traps again. I highly recommend the traps and this company Called DoMyOwnpestcontrol.com Thanks again!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 6 of 6 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   These work and are easy to manage!!
    By on 06/03/2013

    I've been using the old fashioned traps which usually work OK once you get it set and placed which usually isn't easy or done the first time. Being used outside, they'll be useless before long. These T-Rex traps are amazing! I used them in bait boxes so the dogs don't get them, and to keep the rat protected so it's easier to get rid of. Regardless of whether the rat gets in the box and manages to not get it's head in, it's going off and the rat's not going anywhere. I found one caught by the tail this morning, tried to drag the box away but only digging pretty good holes around it. I place these with the tunnel in the box in the path of where I think they may travel and for the last 2 weeks I'm not even baiting them!! Only 1 time did I find a trap tripped and no rat. Dumping them is super easy too. I've yet to have one in a condition where it didn't pretty much just fall out of the trap once I opened it, with one hand. Set one handed too. These are fantastic! Over a year so far on 2 and they'll slamming rodents like champs! I see no reason they won't last many years, vs. a couple months at best for the tradition hand smasher traps.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 6 of 7 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   rat trap hat for squirrels
    By David on 03/14/2012

    I purchased 4 of these to catch rats that have started to appear in the yard. I set the trap which is easy to use, and was curious how well they wouils work. It took about 4 hours, and SNAP. I go look outside and there is a squirrel rolling around with the trap stuck on his head. Not Good, he was able to get free, and I was trying to decide what to do, when 2 more snapped and this time the traps were stuck on the squirrels heads and the squirrels ran up the tree with traps on their heads. traps gone. Tie them down.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 6 of 6 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Good Trap
    By on 07/19/2013

    I've had good luck with these. One failed after a year and several catches. Tried an Ortho trap from the hardware store but it broke within a week. Now I'm keeping T-Rex spares on hand. Quick service from DMOPC.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 7 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Trapper T-Rex Rat Trap
    By John on 10/06/2010
    Verified Purchase

    Works great! Easy to bait and set. Fits perfectly inside the Protecta bait station. I skipped the rat attractant and just used peanut butter - worked fine, although if you have a lot of traps liquid attractant is probably faster. I have 3 dogs and wanted to be sure they didn't get poisoned or set off the trap. I live 1/4mi from the ocean in MA so wharf rats are looking for a home this time of year - the stone foundation of my 100+ year old house likely has some gaps and a rat got inside several years ago - no fun at all. I placed several Protecta stations/T-Rex traps around the perimeter/exterior of my foundation and got a rat within days.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Snap, crackle, pop
    By Colleen on 05/25/2013
    Verified Purchase

    Great product. Some pack rats moved into our hen house. Put the T-Rex in baited with peanut butter and got the entire family - one at a time. The dad was the size of a large chihuahua but was no match for the T-Rex. It's sort of brutal on the smaller ones, but, so what.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Real good
    By Chester on 01/19/2011
    Verified Purchase

    Traps work great but need to be secured to something heavy.  The big guys, if they are not killed, will drag them away.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   The best rat traps available today... But...
    By Rat on 08/26/2011

    Where I live, pack rats are a huge and constant problem. You have to deal with them, or they will overrun your home. I have tried the old style traps, the electronic type, but the T-Rex traps are the best. Easy to set, easy to release the victim. BUT... I wish critical parts were made of metal. The plastic just plain wears out after a certain amount of time/uses. That is why I buy a dozen at a time. Other than that, an excellent trap.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Red squirrels
    By Kristin on 03/23/2011
    Verified Purchase

    It worked!! Yeah, I finally caught that red squirrel that has been harassing me all winter.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Trapper T rex
    By Dr on 11/17/2010
    Verified Purchase

    I haven't caught anything nor has my bait been stolen. I was using wooden traps and bait stolen every night. I can't be sure I have rats or that was what was taking the bait on the wood traps. I have these type traps (Smaller scale) for mice as well and have found them excellent. I feel this is a very good product if you need to capture or kill rats or large pests. BTW: The ease of being able to remove the bait compartment means you can leave the dirty trap outside and just bring those compartments inside to rebait. Excellent idea!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Trapper T-Rex Rat Trap is Excellent
    By Christine on 10/03/2013
    Verified Purchase

    Excellent product! Tried standard traps to no avail-- rats had a nice snack and never triggered the trap. Not so with these. Easy to use, easy to set- not "scary" to set like standard traps (which can be dangerous), don't have to touch the rat to release. Will recommend to anyone with a "critter" problem!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    3 of 5 Stars   Easy to use
    By Fuji on 01/20/2015

    Large rat might be too much for these. Every time it sprung the rat got away, sometime leaving a limb behind. Then i find it dead somewhere else.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Got him
    By on 06/20/2013
    Verified Purchase

    I purchased this trap and used peanut butter as an enticement and caught the rat I was after. It worked great and I'm really happy how easy it was to use.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   price 40% higher than my last 2 orders
    By Long on 12/24/2014
    Verified Purchase

    As of dec 24 the 12 pack was $79 on domyownpestcontrol and the past 2 orders in the past 2 years i got for $55, forced to buy elsewhere due to 12 pack pricing being out of line compared to other online pest control retailers. Great Traps, i rated this the same rating as the average rating so not to influence the rating of the item but just to get my voice out there. $55 x 1.42 is $78. The other seller i purchased it from had free shipping as well. so?

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   T-Rex Rat Trap
    By Jerry on 02/20/2013
    Verified Purchase

    They work fine for small to medium rats, but the first large rat encountered, destroyed the trap. There does not seem to be enough "meat" around the shaft where the spring is to hold much of a strain. That is the area that broke, rendering the trap useless, and it was thrown in the trash.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   disappointed
    By Fred on 09/12/2011
    Verified Purchase

    I am very disappointed in the T-Rex rat traps. Since I bought them the traps have frequently been sprung, but none of them has caught a rat.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Not very durable but works ok until the plastic breaks
    By Kma on 06/16/2012
    Verified Purchase

    Great design which is effective, but after one or two snaps, the plastic breaks. I thought this type of plastic composite material would be weather proof and virtually indestructable compared to the old fashioned wooden traps. I was wrong and about $30 for the 4 traps and 2 of the smaller T rex traps I found these arent a good long term solution. I still have functioning wooden traps from the 1970s that still work fine. These plastic traps are about as disposable as you can get. Sure they might catch up to 4-5 rats before they break, but I was expecting years and years of use before the spring would wear out or the metal rust.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Klean Kill
    By Norman on 05/12/2014

    After trying a couple of these, I ordered a case. Easy to set, empty, clean, and maintain. Dog food or peanut/almond butter in the bait cup and a drop or two of any cooking oil on the spring, and it can be set anywhere. Clean kills and easy rat removal and is a compact unit. Mount a couple to a 2X4 to set the traps at an angle.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Trapper T-Rex Rat Trap
    By Val on 07/08/2016

    Used this for tree rat in attic. Baited with peanut butter and Provoke Rat Attractant. Three days later, success. Easy to bait, easy to cock. East to unload. I like it a lot.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   dont work
    By Jim on 03/15/2016

    I caught 8 rats with this trap, but only 4 were dead. Of the 4 alive, 2 were caught only by their arms and I released them. The other 2 were caught by their heads, the trap was clamped on their necks, and they still were running around (luckily I tied the trap to a stake). I drowned those 2 rats in a bucket of water. This trap does not have enough spring force and I think it is inhumane, plus it is no fun to deal with a half dead rat.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 98 reviews)