Home » Rodents » Mouse Traps » Victor Mouse Trap M040 » All Reviews

Customer Reviews for Victor Mouse Trap M040

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   64
4 stars   4
3 stars   1
2 stars   1
1 star   0

Best of
the Best
Average Customer Rating
4.9 of 5 stars
(70 customer reviews)

Write a Review

Victor Mouse Trap M040
$12.48

Free Shipping!  Free Shipping!

Info / Buy Now


Sort By:

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 70 reviews)

  • 16 of 16 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   ONLY way to go
    By M.b. on 10/23/2008

    Thees Victor Mouse Traps are the ONLY way to go, as all the competitors' traps are not worth the trouble to buy and carry home. We have had Tom-Kat traps (ain't worth a darn) and some of the others on the market, and we keep going back to the "old standard", VICTOR, as it is the only trap that catches mice! Hard to find locally, so we are ordering via the Internet.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 9 of 10 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Worked like a charm
    By Jill on 11/12/2006

    I live on a farm. My hobby is to go out every day and get the hay for my loving animals. See, I had no problem with this, until I saw at least 20 mice scurrying around my hay stacks! They would burrow into them, and before you knew it, there isn't 20, but 50 in my hay! The horses and my other animals would eat them without knowing, and they would get terribly sick because of it! I then found the Victor Mouse Trap. That baby worked like a charm, and I now have no mouse problems, Thank you Victor Mouse Trap!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 9 of 9 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   The "Bomb"!!!
    By John on 01/21/2007

    Victor Mouse Traps are the "Bomb"...they never miss. The fastest and easiest way to get rid of those pests.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 8 of 8 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Tactics and VICTORy!
    By Hugh on 12/29/2012

    I recently had an annoying experience catching some lucky little pests, I have to say lucky with a little conferred intelligence to the rodents. I placed baited glue boards (banana scented) along a wall where the pest traveled (droppings were clues) and I saw the mouse walk AROUND them to hide behind some cabinets. I then used the snap traps I am endorsing here first baited with cheese (not big chunks mind you but globs pressed heavily on to the metal trigger so the pest could set off the trap). Nothing. No response. Found out that the mouse found another food source - had a stash of rice in a dark nook of a cabinet. I removed the food source and cleaned up the mess and stuffed and sealed any possible other entry points (cracks) with the copper mesh they sell here and some concrete or wood patch where necessary. Four days passed with very little activity until I saw "evidence" of its existence one Thursday morning. I was fed up. I added three more snap traps this time baited with peanut butter and a drop of vanilla extract and made sure there was no food of any kind available. Later that same day I heard VICTORy! The tactics of corraling and starvation worked and the little emaciated pest was tossed and a few hours later another was caught as well and I have not seen any since - that was two weeks ago from the time of this post. I ordered 'Provoke' just in case the other tactics didn't work so I have it just in case. I must thank the poster who suggested adding vanilla.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    2 of 5 Stars   M040 Mouse Trap
    By on 06/23/2013
    Verified Purchase

    The mice seem to avoid getting caught in the mouse traps with the big yellow piece of plastic where you put the peanut butter which is weird. The trap in this picture works great with the metal bait holder. Unfortunately, the traps that I received were NOT the same trap in this picture. :-(

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Victor-the only real mouse trap!
    By Freg on 08/17/2012
    Verified Purchase

    Bought a dozen of these Victor mouse traps because the Dollar store and Walmart only sell junk from China. All of it worthless, inferior garbage. Their mouse traps were weak, lost their slap power within a few days after being set. Mice walked away, ate their fill of cheese and peanut butter, threw the pretend mouse traps around and then laughed at me for buying such junk. I put two of the Victor traps out last night (the first night that I received them in the mail/quick shipping), and Mr. Mouse's head was squished flat this morning. He will no longer be leaving me his meese poops in my stove, microwave or drawers. I've already had his burial in my trash container this morning. My traps are still set/reset and I'm waiting to kill a few more of his closest meese friends, now that I've actually got a real meese trap with some slap and snap. The plastic ones that you squeeze the handles together to set are completely worthless like all traps made in China. Love these Victors, their the real deal, old time, tried and true, now I'm also looking to find a really strong metal handled fly swatter made in the USA with a plastic end. The metal ends scratch computer and TV screens if you slap a fly on them. Victor-the only real mouse trap! Made in the USA by Americans

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Finding a good mouse trap
    By Marty on 03/13/2016

    Cut every stinking Mouse in our house. One mouse that thought he was too fast for the Trap was hit in the head and died several inches from the trap!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   2nd best out there
    By Chris on 09/28/2012

    These really work, unlike competitors. However Victors traps with the yellow plastic bait tray are better with fewer false trips, though they are harder to set.v

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Effective, Inexpensive & Easy to Use
    By Carly on 02/11/2013

    There had been no mouse issue in the house until this colder winter. We had no experience in dealing with mouse control before purchasing the M040 case (72 traps). After doing some research online and watching the Victor Mouse Trap Youtube video, we decided to give it a try. ... We set up a trap with very thin layer of peanut butter on the trigger metal and put it under the kitchen sink where some mouse drops appeared. It got 100% result within 12 hours - one mouse was snapped and dead without suffering. We repeated 2 more nights/days and got 2 more mice. The reason for buying the 72-trap case was to dispose the trap after one use to avoid any possible complications.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Old school mouse traps
    By Tod on 03/30/2011
    Verified Purchase

    The newer mouse traps with the glue inside them only leave the hair of the rodent without the capture of the rodent. The old school traps, meaning the M040 traps, did the job within 24 hours.  Plus it kills them instantly unlike the newer liberal traps that just sometimes capture the rodents, and then they just simply starve to death!!!! So what's the sense in that??

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Set the trigger as light as possible
    By Rich on 05/10/2011

    The plastic trigger is the best. I don't use bait. Set the trigger metal arm so it just barely catches the plastic trigger. The plastic trigger if done right will be laying down almost flat.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Best Traps Ever!
    By Tim on 01/06/2011
    Verified Purchase

    I can not find these traps in stores and I don't need to look anymore now that I have found this site. They arrive ahead of the promised scheduled time. This trap works better than any trap I have ever used.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   fast and economical
    By Beth on 12/09/2010

    This is the second time I have ordered, both times the traps were shipped promptly, and the price is great!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   A Sweet Good-bye to Mice
    By Sue on 09/13/2010
    Verified Purchase

    I have had a mouse problem for ages... with them coming and going, especially during the winter in my attic. I've tried peppermint and all kinds of different traps, but I could still hear them. I finally decided that the old-fashioned trap was the answer, so I purchased the Victor trap with the little yellow plastic cheese type of plate. I baited it with peanut butter the first few times I used it, only to find the trap licked clean but not sprung. I even tried threading salami and bacon through the little holes in the "cheese." Again, the bait was eaten but the trap not sprung. I then decided that I was tired of feeding these mice and read the reviews for the M040 Victor traps on your website and bought a dozen. By this time, I had found droppings in my kitchen! I followed the instructions about setting several traps, not just one. Well, I put the second trap down near my fridge and turned away to put one on the cellar steps. I hadn't taken two steps toward the basement, when I heard the fridge trap snap! Success! I set a few more down in the basement and the next morning I had gotten another one. The rest of the traps have not been sprung and I haven't seen or heard a mouse since. These Victors are the BEST!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Victor Mouse Trap M040
    By Joe on 03/07/2011

    This is the best mouse trap on the market. I have been trying to catch a few mice over the period of about 2 months with no success using glue boards. Put out the Victor trap and in 5 days I have caught all the little critters.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Best trap out there
    By L. on 06/25/2014

    I have used so many other traps but to no success. The key to this trap is to NOT use peanut butter because the rat just licks it off but to use an actual peanut in the shell. Lodge the nut tight into the trigger and the rat will do all it can to break it free and WHAM! Mice and rats LOVE peanuts.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   clandestine pests
    By Ken on 03/16/2012

    I like to load and cock trap and place into a grocery bag with one corner cut out of the bag. When trap is tripped with mouse in it I through bag away. I rarely have any misses. Just keep bag away from windy areas.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   mouse trap
    By Rodney on 01/25/2015

    I like these better than the ones with the fake cheese on them. These are more sensitive.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 Stars   Best Mouse Trap In The World!
    By Diana on 01/22/2013
    Verified Purchase

    I have used the Victor Mouse Trap M040 for many years and when my old trusted ones finally wore out I went looking for new ones. None available in the local stores so I tried the new plastic "easy clean up" models. What a waste of money. I then went on line and Voila! There was my favorite trap! With my order carefully baited with peanut butter and set with the hair trigger that only the Victor Trap engineering allows, I am wiping out the mouse population of my barn! I am one very happy customer!! Thank you, Victor and Do My Own Pest Control!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 5 Stars   RELIABLE
    By Theodore on 01/17/2013
    Verified Purchase

    The traps were sent very quickly and work as expected.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 5 Stars   victor mouse trap
    By Melissa on 07/04/2016

    most were fine, but a couple were missing a piece.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 Stars   Fast Shipping - The best traps
    By Bob on 12/16/2012

    This was shipped very fast; ordered on a weekend and had it within a couple of days. I could only find the traps with the plastic cheese bait - which mainly served to feed my growing mouse population in my garage. No where near sensitive enough. I even watched one mouse feeding off it. The first night I set out 4 of these and got four mice; in fact, I got 11 the first few nights, the bait was taken without it tripping only once. Is 72 too many? I live in a subdivision surrounded by a dairy farm; I prefer not to reuse if I can. I am sure I will use all of them over time - and no more looking in stores for them! I am very happy with my purchase from this company!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 Stars   A Great Trap for Mice
    By Terence on 10/11/2012

    These traps work and kill mice fast!(No suffering)These are easier to set than the yellow bait paddle ones from Victor because they are less sensitive they can be put in hard to reach places with out miss firing!The bait area is smaller so just bit a very small amount in the curved bait area so the mouse as to work at it and it will fire!These are the best traps to buy from Victor!Stay away from cheap knock offs!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 Stars   Original still the best.
    By Pat on 02/07/2016

    Everyone keeps trying to re-invent the mouse trap and the only ones we have had consistent success with are the original style. Price was reasonable and delivery fairly fast.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 Stars   Victor Mouse Trap M040
    By Jimbob on 09/15/2012
    Verified Purchase

    These are the old style wood traps with all metal feed station and spring trap. Do My Own Pest Control did a great job getting this product to me very quickly.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 Stars   Victor-the only real mouse trap! Again
    By Fredg on 08/20/2012
    Verified Purchase

    Caught one the first night the traps arrived and his slow friend the second. The two traps that I set are still set waiting for old #3 Mr. Meese straggler and his cheese and peanut butter eating friends. Have tried three different types of mouse traps over the last few years, the close pin squeeze to set type (worthless, you'd be better off using paper clips to gouge their eyes out or Cheese covered "No trespassing Mr. Mouse" signs). And mouse traps from China? Give your money to an alcoholic, it'll be better spent then on anything Made in China including their pretend mouse traps. Their (China) mouse traps have the strength of a dead butterfly, of zero value. My previous traps only slapped the mice and every one of them walked away laughing. The Victor traps squished their heads flat. The only good mouse is a motionless, flat headed, poppy eyed dead mouse. That makes old men like me happy. Fast shipping from Do My Own Pest Control and really strong springs in these Victor traps. I bought a dozen, so skip the other stuff, these things work.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 Stars   Very good mousetrap
    By Ronald on 09/06/2012

    They were renovating the apartment downstairs and two little field mice decided to move in with me. They were only here one day. These traps are easy to use and very effective.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 Stars   Old-Tyme Workhorse Does the Job
    By Snowtrekker7 on 09/02/2012
    Verified Purchase

    My problem was voles digging up my garden. I had purchased some Tomcat brand mouse traps at our local grocery store. After putting them into use, two of them broke, several set themselves off with nothing caught and 3 had the "cheese" square pop off. So I ordered a dozen Victor mouse traps with the metal bait station. Wow! I could see the difference right away. The Victor trap has a much more powerful spring mechanism and the metal parts and method of attachment to the wooden base are sturdier than the same on the Tomcat traps. When I put the Victor traps into use, I quickly caught 6 voles with no damage to the traps.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 Stars   Great Deal
    By Samuel on 12/10/2015

    I am very satisfied with your product. The first night I caught two mice with the same trap. One mouse after another. I released the first one far away from where I live and then placed back the same trap in the same place. I did not even put food on it. Both mice just stepped on it and got caught. I put 8 traps in total without food, but they both got caught on the same one. A few days later, another one got caught, also without food, and nothing else since. I am not into killing animals, so I released all of them. I am not sure the two first survived because their back was really bent. The last one had only one foot and its tail caught, and even though it still could not free itself, it was in pretty god shape. Depending how they get caught, and how long you leave them on the trap, they might die faster. I bought another trap before, the box with two entrance and the transparent top. I put food in it and nothing happened. I read that it works for other people. Victor Mouse Trap M040 worked for me, so I am very happy. The reason I did not put food, was because I was told that "Tootsee Roll" candies are like crack to mice, so I have been trying to buy those to be "luckier". I have a hard time finding them in the area.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 Stars   xxxxxxxxxx
    By R on 02/17/2013
    Verified Purchase

    Items as expected-shipped on time-what more can you expect?

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 70 reviews)