Home » Drain Flies » Drain Gel » All Reviews

Customer Reviews for Drain Gel

Rating Snapshot

5 stars   21
4 stars   2
3 stars   2
2 stars   1
1 star   8
 
Average Customer Rating
3.8 of 5 stars
(34 customer reviews)

Write a Review

Drain Gel
$22.05

Free Shipping!  Free Shipping!

Info / Buy Now


Sort By:

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 34 reviews)

  • 19 of 19 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Great results!
    By Carrie on 01/13/2007

    Had fruit flies for 5 months that I could NOT get rid of. I used Drain Gel once and overnight the flies were gone, just like that. The directions on the bottle say to use up to two weeks for best results, and I probably should have kept using it for safe measure, but one night worth of this stuff in all our drains took care of the problem. I haven't seen a single fly for 3 months.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 19 of 20 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Worked great!
    By Jon on 07/28/2008

    Great stuff. Works like a charm. I ordered the Drain Gel to treat problems with drain flies at my home and it worked great!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 14 of 14 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Drain-gel: Worked for me
    By R on 05/02/2010

    Had drain fly problem in my apartment for several months. Used sticky strips (collected lots of flies), used bleach in drains (had no effect) covered all drains when not in use, still had flies (no idea how they got past the covers). In desperation, decided to try this stuff. Put about one cup down kitchen and bathroom drains for two nights. No more flies. It's been almost two weeks now, still no flies.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 13 of 16 people found this review helpful:

    3 of 5 Stars   It worked but
    By Susan on 09/13/2008

    I ordered the Drain Gel and used it in all my drains for 5 days, just like the directions say to do. They were completely gone until about 4 weeks later, the moth flies were back. I would look for something that gets rid of them and keeps them away for longer than 1 month.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    In some environments such as restaurant kitchens where heavy and constant food prep is done, re-infestation may be inevitable. In these cases, the product label recommends to use 4 oz of drain gel every 2-3 weeks to maintain control.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 10 of 10 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Drain gel works!!
    By John on 07/08/2012
    Verified Purchase

    We had a real problem with drain flies at our home in Arkansas. It is our vacation home and it was a real chore to deal with these pests each time we arrived. I found Drain Gel online and gave it a try. It worked like magic and all the flies are gone. It is a relief to have a product on hand if the problem starts up in the future.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 8 of 8 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Amazing
    By Scherra on 05/24/2012
    Verified Purchase

    worked in 2 applications....easy as pie....I was amazed!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 7 of 7 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Got rid of drain flies
    By Rc on 09/24/2011

    We had drain flies that were overwhelming when we came home from vacation. 4 days of drain gel seems to have taken care of the problem--knock on wood. We didn't use the whole gallon so we're ready if they come back after another vacation. Definitely happy with this purchase

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 7 of 7 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Good stuff!
    By Claudia on 09/09/2011

    Drain Gel works if you follow the directions. It's easy to use but takes time with continuous doses over the week to 10 days. I would suggest purchasing twice the amount you think you need because it will be needed for the weekly doses at the end of treatment.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 6 of 6 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   WORTH THE MONEY!
    By Vicky on 11/10/2010

    I ordered a gallon of this stuff a couple of years ago when I discovered my rental had a drain fly infestation. I followed the directions and it worked great...didn't even use the whole gallon!! Recently, I became a homeowner (with an infestation) and will definately be using Drain Gel again!!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 6 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Drain Gel
    By Joretta on 10/23/2011
    Verified Purchase

    I used this product as instructed diligently but still had tons of gnats. I had nothing on my counter tops and cleaned everything each day with bleach. No food out at all. I really wanted this to work but was disappointed. Sorry

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 5 of 5 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Drain Gel
    By Tim on 06/20/2014

    Clings to drains, works perfectly to eliminate fly eggs and control reinfestation

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   So far so good
    By Jim on 06/01/2011

    It's only been a few weeks that we have been using drain-gel. and the results are good, no flies to report lets see if it holds true as the weather warms up. So far, very impressed,

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   So far ok
    By Jb on 06/29/2011

    Seems product worked as stated. Our problem has been reduced tremendous.  I found that you cannot skip any applications without a pest return.  I treat every drain every three days.  I gave it three stars because it does not eliminate the problem 100%, but does show a dramatic improvement

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 4 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    2 of 5 Stars   Drain Gel
    By Alma on 10/03/2010
    Verified Purchase

    Although this product reduced the problem immensely for a short time, it didn't stop the problem. I used the gel until it was all gone (8 days): by the 3rd day, I didn't seen any insects in my bathtub - I was thrilled and continued to use the gel as directed. By the 4th day, they began returning a few at a time. By the 6th day, they were back in numbers again, though not quite as many as before I used the gel. By the end of the bottle, they were back to parading around my bathtub - seems they developed a tolerance to the gel.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   DrainGel
    By Dawna on 11/28/2015

    Super fantastic~` kills drain flys super fast... so glad to be rid of them~~~I will always keep this product in my home and on hand :) thank you for how to use videos...

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Excellent product
    By Vicky on 10/09/2015

    We had a horrible infestation of fruit flies in our drain/garbage disposal in the kitchen. I saw this product online and ordered it. We used it as directed and within 2 days all the fruit flies were gone. It was amazing. Thank goodness cause I was so sick of killing fruit flies. This was a miracle product.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Using Drain Gel for a drain fly infestation
    By Michael on 07/30/2010

    We recently experienced a sudden infestation of pesky drain flies, in both of our sinks in the master bedroom. We purchased two gallons of Drain Gel from DoMyOwnPestControl and used them as per the instructions. It took about ten days to use all of this liquid. Unfortunately, while there was a decrease in the drain flies, this somewhat expensive product by no means eliminated them. I would not recommend this product. We are now trying other methods.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Drain Gel
    By Bill on 07/11/2010

    I applied it as directed, and covered or closed the drains in 2 bathrooms for 2 days. Used in conjunction with Gentrol aerosol, which I sprayed around the floor and tank underside of 2 toilets, and along the joints and jambs of two shower stalls at the same time I was applying Drain Gel in the drains. There was only 1 drain fly to appear after opening the drains. Applied both Drain Gel and Gentrol aerosol again. No problems since; which was 3 weeks ago. Great stuff from my experience.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    3 of 5 Stars   Still have these critters
    By Elliott on 04/19/2012

    Have used up the gallon over the past week. Still have these flies. Lets hope the next gallon is more effective.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 4 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Drain Gel
    By Juan on 11/01/2011

    This product didn't work. It's true, I have fewer drain flies, but they are now much bigger. It's almost like this stuff gave them super strength.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 3 of 3 people found this review helpful:

    4 of 5 Stars   Drain Gel (American Bio)
    By Ss on 05/05/2011

    Based on all accessible info, this product appears to be better quality than most in that it has 5 strains of bacillus microorganisms and contains over 550 billion cells per gallon which are needed to reduce the bacteria laden bio film and digest the organic waste that is in our drains that flies feed and reproduce in. I do not know how this product compares with DF 5000 Drain Gel.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Did not work on drain/phorid flies
    By Kris on 06/04/2017

    No issues at all with the customer service or delivery time (as I paid extra for 2 day shipping), but this was expensive and did not work for drain flies/phorid flies at all.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    We apologize you are not seeing the expected results. However, Drain Gel only eliminates the built up debri inside the drain it self. Completely eliminating the drain flies/ phorid flies is a two step process. First, you use the drain gel to clean the drain and you can use that once a week to help maintain a clean drain. This takes away their breeding grounds. Second, you will need a pyrethrin aerosol spray to get rid of the adult flies. You use this spray as a space spray. Which is spraying the aerosol into the air instead of directly onto a surface. This will only work on the flies that are out during the application because this application does not leave behind a residual. What is left over from the space spray you can use as a spot treatment or direct treatment for the ones that weren't present during the space spray. We also have kit for the drain flies that contains all that you will need to eliminate them: http://www.domyownpestcontrol.com/drain-fly-kit-p-1052.html. Please read our Drain Fly Guide so you can implement a control program that will be very effective. This guide will teach you how to inspect drains and other areas that may be infested and how to best use the product you are using: http://www.domyownpestcontrol.com/drain-fly-identification-guide-a-515.html.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 2 of 2 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Great Product
    By Candace on 05/20/2017

    Great item! Worked as described!

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Drain Flies
    By Jeff on 02/16/2017

    do as directed and it works great

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Drain gel
    By Grant on 01/23/2017

    Am disappointed in this product. I have used as directed and it does not work.

    Expert Response  Expert response:
    Thank you for your comments! We are sorry that you are not satisfied with the results from the Drain Gel. When treating for drain flies, you do want to be sure you have the correct pest identification, and that you are treating all the areas where these flies are breeding for at least 5-7 days, using 4 oz. in each drain every time you treat. We have some great additional tips and videos in our Drain Fly Treatment article here: http://www.domyownpestcontrol.com/how-to-get-rid-of-drain-flies-a-517.html We are also happy to trouble shoot with you via Live Chat, email, or phone at 866-581-7378.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   The product and the sales staff
    By Nosson on 12/21/2016

    Drain Gel quickly and effectively cured the problem. Your telephone order taker was courteous and efficient. It couldn't be better

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   Great Product
    By B on 12/02/2016

    Great product . Used in the Drains of two Tubs and on the mechanical Parts inside a Commode that was dealing with Hard Well water .Drained and Applied product . Let Sit over night and BAM ! The toilet mechanisms work again like New . No more hanging up .. Went Back and Purchased two more for the FARM House ...

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Product did not work for me unfortunately
    By Amanda on 07/18/2016
    Verified Purchase

    After reading all the reviews I was excited to purchase this in hopes it would take care of my problem. Unfortunately it did not. I still have the same problem. Going to have to try and find something else again.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    1 of 5 Stars   Not so good
    By Eugene on 07/13/2016

    We followed the directions and the drain flies went away for a day but soon reappeared, have since ordered another product to try.

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

  • 1 of 1 people found this review helpful:

    5 of 5 Stars   attitude adjustment
    By Joseph on 06/19/2016

    used this several years ago when had a bad drain fly infestation . .took about a week to get the rascals under control and then another week to eliminate them this year, with the appearance of one puny looking fly, I gave the drain another dose . .so far the hive seems to have renounced its evil ways . .but I've got an eye on it with the proper medicine to hand

    Was this review helpful to you?  Yes No

Displaying 1 to 30 (of 34 reviews)